Greencastle, IN 
Big Walnut Sports Park Share
Uploaded By: Matthew boals Hole #9
4 / 181ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 underated

1    7/31/2011   7/31/2011
Review By: bigronbowski
Played: 39  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.4 Years
Pros: Great place to work on power. Hole 5 is over 700 ft. Beautiful park was nearly empty on a perfect Sunday afternoon. Quality tee signs. Course was clean and dry. Baskets are like new.
Cons: The course starts and ends at the back of the park. I would recommend starting with 6 and ending at 5. The large open meadow that 6 of the nine holes plays through could use some trees. There was no course map anywhere; not online, not at the park, not anywhere. The tee pads are small.The distances and lack of map leave you wondering at times which basket to throw at (most notably on hole 6, it's the basket to the right. I threw into OB flower patch before I figured it out)
Other Thoughts: I didn't find the basket for 2 until after I played 9. It's in the thick bush pretty well straight north of the tee and there really is no line to the basket. I thought the course was an interesting mix of distances and I enjoyed just ripping discs with no fear of losing them. I would recommend playing this course of you happen through Greencastle.

 Not good

1    3/7/2011   3/14/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course mostly plays through a large open park with a couple holes in the woods. A few holes bring some small elevation changes into play, and two of the open holes have a tree in the fairway to make you shape your shot a little. There is some length variety, with three bombers that will require multiple drives, and some aceable holes mixed in.
Cons: The course starts and ends nowhere near the parking lots, but plays near one of them. I'm not sure why the first hole wasn't where hole 5 currently is so there isn't such a long walk to and from the course. The layout is odd at other times as well, and it's not always obvious where to go next. The tees are tiny, and the alternates don't change the hole at all. It almost would be better to take the two rubber mats and make one reasonably sized tee.

The course doesn't really do a good job of challenging any level of player. Beginners will hate the really long holes and how punitive the wooded holes are. More experienced players might be challenged by length, but in a boring way, and the rest of the course isn't interesting at all. The wooded holes, especially the first one, don't offer real fairways, and need some real cleaning and clearing to be real golf holes.
Other Thoughts: This wasn't the best piece of land to work with in the first place, and the design really doesn't make the best of what's there. The wooded holes are silly, and the 3 long bombs just don't fit the idea of a beginner friendly 9 hole park course at all. With some work and some changes, this could be a decent course, but as it is there's not a whole lot of fun factor.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Well, it's a course!?

1    5/3/2010   5/6/2010
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 189  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 20.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beginner course in a multi-use park. Bathrooms, playground with shelter by parking lot. All but two holes play in a open field with the wind being the only factor. As stated in other reviews two holes over 500 (598,565 ft.) and one at 745 ft. The two in the woods #2 122 ft. Blind shot. #9 181 ft. Tight fairway shot. See pictures. The rubber tee pads are short,but level when I played. New DGA Mach V baskets with basic signs.
Cons: First, the layout. I hope the parks dept. Kept the designer from making this a better layout,by restricting where the course could be built. If that's not it than the designer had never played before. Pull 2 or 3 holes that are in the field and put them into the woods. The flow of the course is another reason for a redeisgn.Obviously,the alt. Rubber tees in the open field only shorten the holes,and not that much. Why have them? No Course map.
Other Thoughts: Rather than putting another 9 in plant some trees. I'm not sure another 9 would be a worth it, at this park. Maybe a different city park. Pulling into the park go to the second parking lot,on the left. Walk the paved trail to the Eastside of the Baseball Fields. Take it to the "T" in the trail, #1 tee to the left. If you are in the area go out and play,atleast once a week. If your on a long road trip and you have some time get a few rounds in. The more the course gets played the better the chance of getting another 9. This will only be a good thing if all 9 go into the woods.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 G-castle Sport Park

2-4    9/14/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: crawdad62
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you're a bomber this is your course. For the most part it's wide open and long. Big throwers will be elated. If your driving isn't up to snuff you might find it intimidating. #3 & 4 are >500 par 4's. You either throw big or your short game is stellar.
Cons: Course could've been laid out a bit better. Hopefully that'll be taken care of with 9 more holes! Signage is a bit convoluted too. I'd like to see signs that point to the hole in play but as of now there's just a sign at the tee box which maybe pointing at the target..... or maybe not.
Other Thoughts: The wooded holes are sort of added on. #2 is absolutely none-aceable (at least with leaves on). #9 is okay (reminds me of some of the back 9 at Avon) but is extremely challenging. Most of what I've written seems somewhat critical and that's certainly not the case. I'm extremely pleased that we've got this course. Hopefully it'll go over and we can add to make it 18 in the future. I will say from what I've gathered the park director is open to suggestion and that is a good thing.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 New Course Greencastle

2-4    9/14/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: Dice
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice to have a course in this part of the state.

Takes about fifty minutes to play a round.

Will be mowed weekly I have been told.

New Rubber Tee Pads.

New Baskets.

Nice long holes (including three in the five hundred range) holes three, four, and five.

Two holes that will be relatively easy to ace; holes one and seven.

If the course increases in popularity there may be an expansion.
Cons: Layout is slightly convoluted; holes don't seem to follow an easy to predict order.

Holes two and nine (the woods holes) seem tacked on. They are short (play with your putter) and the path has not been beaten down enough. It has been clear cut.

The signage sucks. It's nice that it is there but the way it is laid out it is hard to predict where the pins are according to the signs. There is no overall course map anywhere in the park that I have seen. I have found is no park signage directing you to hole one. This maybe corrected as the course ages (it is only week one).

There are very few obstacles as of today. I have been assured that trees will be planted in the next months. But as for right now it does not add to the overall challenge of the course.

Lots to improve, but doable.
Other Thoughts: This course is new, just having one here is great, but there is still plenty to do. Some week night league play would be awesome.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.