Spokane, WA 
Four Mound - Cape Fear Share
Uploaded By: Sgt_Mac Hole #10 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 328ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Soul Crusher

2-4    7/10/2013   10/25/2013
Review By: Phlick
Played: 44  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 32.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: *Tough
*Great baskets / Pads / Signage
*Private
*One of Three AWESOME courses
*Destination course
Cons: *Private - not always open, check with Gordy before planning a trip out
*Remote
Other Thoughts: I made an effort to get out and play a lot of highly rated courses over the past Summer (Milo, Hornings, Pier among others), and of all the courses/tournaments I travelled to and played in, the Lilac City Open at Four Mounds was my favorite event of the year, even though I probably had my worst rated round there. Cape Fear is one of three courses on the 'resort', and is probably the most rugged and demanding of the three. Bring your boots, your water and your "A" game, because these courses will test your limits.

I don't have much to add to JR Stengle's awesome review (Seriously - great job!), he's covered it all. Only wanted to add my own vote for 5 stars, this course (all three really) deserves more recognition than what they have, honestly one of the best - if not THE best - destination resorts I've ever visited. Thanks for sharing your course with us Gordy - can't wait to play out here next year!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Cape Fear/Jumanji @ Four Mound Reserve

2-4    5/27/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 181  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 14.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Cape Fear DGC is one of three wilderness courses located on the Four Mound Reserve in Spokane, Washington. This course is the most dynamic of the three, incorporating intense elements with extreme terrain. Cape Fear's eighteen hole layout plays through lush grassy meadows, thickly lined pine forests, and massive rock outcrops and valleys. Every hole on this course takes precision and power, with holes ranging from 250-500+ feet and are, according to Gordy, ALL par 3's!

With the addition of nine extra holes, Cape Fear turns in to Four Mound Reserve's most famous, or perhaps infamous, "Jumanji" course. This 27 hole layout is used mainly for tournament play and is why world class players such as Feldberg, Leiviska, Hokum and Crabtree travel every year from all over to come and play. As other reviewers have stated, this place truly is magical.

Navigation for both Cape Fear and Jumanji are the easiest to follow on the Reserve with signs and benches at every hole. Tee pads have all been updated with fly pads from the recent LCO and are in great shape. Baskets are a mix of galvanized metal baskets that are name brand, with two sets of chains and very durable. Large orange cones and/or flags are on top of each basket helping players locate each basket.

Favorite Hole(s):
Cape Fear: Hole # 9
Jumanji: Holes # 3, 4, 6, 8, 23,
Cons:
Because this course is private and doesn't have the constant flow of money coming in to improve the amenities, Gordy has to spend a lot of his own time and money to make the upgrades needed to keep it at a championship caliber level. He is constantly updating the 50+ baskets and tee pads he has on site, along with the clubhouse/restrooms, mowing of the fairways, and general upkeep of the courses. His generosity is insurmountable, along with his wife Jaymee who like Gordy, are very passionate and selfless in what they do. Over time with more donations and time spent from the local club on course maintenance, this course will get better over time.
Other Thoughts:
I have played over 150 courses in 13 states and 3 countries thus far and find Four Mound Reserve to be one of the best all-around destination spots I have been to yet! With camping minutes away from three championship caliber courses, this should be on everyone's "wish list", especially if you live in the Pacific Northwest.

Spokane is a beautiful city with a ton of quality disc golf courses, restaurants and lodging, making it a fantastic vacation spot whether you are a "weekend warrior" or a family man. Locals are very friendly and the SDGA takes a lot of pride in their courses through hard work and quality tournaments. It is always a pleasure for me to travel over the Cascades from Seattle to Spokane and I look forward to the next opportunity I get!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Cape Fear # 9 Is The Most Intimidating Hole in Disc Golf!

1    5/28/2011   6/4/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 654  Reviewed: 595  Exp: 36.1 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cape Fear is somewhere around two hours of wilderness survival training made most enjoyable by the fact that you are testing your manhood (and you too, ladies who dare) against somewhere around 7000 feet of one of the scariest, toughest disc golf courses imaginable. Cape Fear plays up and down Gordy's mountains, across valley's and grassy meadows, through pine forests and features two or three "thread the needle" downhill throws.
But easily the signature hole is #9, Cape Fear itself. For all but the top pros, this has got to be the most intimidating hole in all of disc golfdom. It's 533' to the basket visible across a huge crevice cutting in front of you and probably 100 feet down. To the left is the Grand Canyon. If you happen to hyser left, forget it, your disc is gone forever. The crevice extends too far right to attempt and play around it that way. It's a major hike down into this crevice and back up even with a well placed drive. I asked a top pro about playing it and he replied, " Oh, it's not that tough. You just hyser a drive out right and let it fade back. You should be able to land close to the basket everytime." Yeah, no problem! If you can hyser your drive out there 500 feet with pinpoint accuracy.

It's hard to review the Cape Fear course without mentioning the Jumanji Course in the same review. The Jumanji Course is a 27 hole monster which incorporates most of the 18 holes of Cape Fear plus another nine devious creations from the mind of Gordy. Because it shares baskets and holes with Cape Fear, it can't be listed as a seperate course. I believe it's just used as a tournament course.
Cons: As with the other courses here at Four Mound, the teepads are carpet and inconsistent at best. Some are great, flat, level and perfect for the holes they are made for. Others were worn, rolled or otherwise, not up to the overall standards of this great facility. The signs between Cape Fear and Jumanji were confusing at times. When I played it, the course was set up for tournament Jumanji and the next tee signs all pointed that way. There were a couple of Cape Fear holes that looked to be abandoned, # 10 under the power lines following the Cape Fear hole and one other.
Other Thoughts: This course (or these two courses, Cape Fear and Jumanji) are even more of a wilderness challenge and physical workout that the Porcupine course. They will not only tire you physically but will wear you down mentally with their constant length and difficulty. There are no breather holes here. As others have said, bring boots, water, snacks, your stool, compass, snakebite kit, survival blanket, Rambo knife, signal flares, matches, etc. etc. etc. You'll love it and you'll want to return for more punishment.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Gordy has heaven at his back door...

5+    6/28/2010   11/28/2010
Review By: General Scales
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Four very beautiful and challenging courses. Each course has at least one signature hole. Very secluded and peaceful. A challenge of every aspect of your disc golf game and your physical conditioning. Owned by some of the coolest people. A wonderful disc golf paradise.
Cons: So very easy to get lost, skip holes, start playing another course. Unstable and sometimes treacherous tee pads. So very easy to lose discs so bring extra plastic. Everything is a par three and there are many that should be fours due to extreme difficulty. I don't live there.
Other Thoughts: The signature hole for Cape Fear is breathtaking, intimidating and fun! Till you accidently hyzer out a righty backhand. A positive side effect is you will see your disc fly a very long way. Negative being you are not getting it back. Porcupines signature hole is very mean and you will feel like a rockstar if you par it. Make sure you talk to Gordy and Jaymie. They will let you know the starting points, smoking policy, whose out that day, etc. They may even play a round with you. The five dollars you pay goes back into the courses. Be respectful. Bring supplies and lots of them. Say thanks when you leave because you are going to come back.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Stay all day and play and play

1    9/27/2009   10/28/2009
Review By: Crazydriver
Played: 103  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.3 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Multiple courses; Tee pads well marked, once you find the first one. The layout is well thought out. This course is quite challenging. Beautiful views. We played on Sunday and had the course to ourselves. It is nice to play without dodging other park users.
Cons: The rugged ground does not make for fast playing. The setting is so nice that there is no need to hurry. The access road from the main road to the parking area is a little rutted, easily passable with a pickup or SUV but you's want to pick your path carefully with a car, and don't try to take anything that has been lowered.

Other Thoughts: It's a great destination for a day of disc golf.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Four Mound Baby Yeah!

1    9/27/2009   9/29/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 200  Reviewed: 192  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2011
25 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Four Mound, wow where to start on this one? Four Mound is easily one of the best pieces of private property to make and play disc golf on. There are currently four on site courses (Hawk, Cape Fear, porqupine and Jumanji) but they are not separate courses entirely. Cape Fear and Jumanji are the same course up until around hole six then they split off into their own section of the property for a while, and then the back nine of Cape Fear and the third nine of Jumanji (Jumanji is twenty seven holes) re connect with each other. Cape Fear is one of the biggest, hardest, craziest and most fun courses I have ever had the opportunity to play. All of the holes on the course with the exception of a few were at least four hundred to five hundred feet long AND technical. A lot of great downhill throws with little worry of losing a disc. Hole nine on the Cape fear course was an almost six hundred foot throw across a canyon, it is hard to explain in words just how beautiful and painful this hole is to play, probably one of the favorite holes ever I have played, don't forget to bring plastic for the purpose of losing because there are lots of chances to throw off of cliffs and such. The course doesn't get alot of play being that it is located in such a remote place but that is part of the beauty of it, the only other group out there was playing with the owner, Gordy who by the way was very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Every tee has signs and a bench and the course is well marked with flags of different colors leading you to the right tee for the right course which is really nice because without this we would have been lost. I don't properly know how to describe this place to tell you the truth, it is so magical it is something you just have to experience for yourself, which I highly recommend.
Cons: Well with so much good it is hard to put this course down much, basically because the good out weighs the bad. The first thing is this is not a course for people who don't like long grueling walks up hill and down on uneven rugged terrain. This is NOT a "park" course, it's not even in the same planet as a park course, let there be no mistaking that this is a very rugged wilderness course and you feel that way when you are there, I find this to be a good thing but others may not feel that way. Lots of wind here as you are up in the mountains pretty much and it can be brutal at times. Some of the teepads are rubber and some are pieces of carpet or concrete or dirt or whatever and you need to be careful when doing run ups sometimes. It's too bad that it's only open at certain times because I think more play out here could cut a couple of better paths for easier walking. Some may find that paying $5 a car per day is a con but trust me it's so worth it to play here, I think everyone should experience it once at least.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the most unique places to play disc golf I have ever encountered. Cape Fear kicked my butt hard, it was one of the hardest courses I have ever played in my life, it's almost along the same lines as Milo Mciver State Park in Oregon, not quite as long but lots more technical. I will say this to you all who plan to play here: BE PREPARED FOR ANYTHING AND EVERYTHING! You are going to want to bring sunscreen, lots of food and tons of water, sunglasses, your disc golf stool and maybe an umbrella and look out for rattlesnakes, I didn't encounter any but be careful anyway. This course made my trip for me, I didn't expect anything this magical and I was pleasantly surprised by this place, a must stop in the Spokane area, great job Gordy, excellent! You can't go wrong with 144 acres of disc golf, I mean the place has it all.

25 of 26 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.