Disc Golf Center
Oxford, MA
Hodges Village Dam DGC Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #1 (Taken 2/2010)
3 / 252ft.   3 / 453ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 "B" Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Land of Confusion

1    11/2/2013   11/10/2013
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 102  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 5.9 Years
Pros: You approach the course on a winding road along a lake, but the course and the real beauty is on the other side of the dam.

Holes 2 and 3 are decent wooded holes that play next to a beautiful lake backdrop. There was a marsh in the foreground, ducks paddling around the lake, and changing leaves in the background on the other side of the lake. Your parents probably had a painting like this in their living room.

The hole across the spillway (apparently hole 8, even though the basket says hole 10) is a great hole. The tee pad is tucked in some trees atop a hill, and you throw down across a spillway to a tree-protected green on the other side. It doesn't require a huge arm to get across, but the water will get in your head. Scenic, fun hole.

Many of the holes had alternate tee pads. I like this idea, but there are a lot of issues here to be addressed before multiple tee pads are considered.
Cons: Navigation was bad. Really bad. The map on this site is hand-drawn, and not very carefully drawn. I spent 20 minutes looking for the 5th hole's tee pad and finally discovered it on the bridge. I threw the 6th hole, lost my disc briefly in the tall, thorny brush (most of which was dying; I can't imagine how awful this hole is in the summer), only to discover the basket isn't even there. I saw a pole where I assume either the 6th or 7th basket should be, but I never found either.

Making everything more confusing, the numbers on the baskets don't match the tees (all of the numbers I'm using in this review correspond to the tee sign; but they don't match the map or what you'll see in other reviews). Most of the tee signs you see in the pictures on the site were not there when I played.

I also never found the first hole. There is a sign pointing toward the first tee…but the sign was laying on the ground. I didn't see any map in the parking lot or even the mention of a disc golf course. You could easily come here and have no idea there is a course.
Other Thoughts: I'll happily update my review if/when some improvements are made. If you are a local, please PM me if you have a better map or understand what is going on here. Given some of the prior reviews (from reviewers I respect), I assume that upkeep has fallen off over the past couple years.

This is a great piece of land, similar to the nearby Buffumville Lake. There is a really fun course waiting to be completed here. Or maybe it's already there. But we need more than a Goonies-level map to find it.

 Hidden "Gem"

5+    3/18/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: Osmo
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Hidden gem of sorts. When Buffum is stacked at the tee boxes hodges is always open. Very easy course with mostly wooded holes but a few open shots. Hole 2 and 8 are the best it has to offer. Would make a great 18 hole course if they ever add them back.
Cons: Baskets are in bad shape. Tee boxes are a little rough at times. Holes are not marked out very well first timers will have a hard time finding all the holes.
Other Thoughts: ADD 9 MORE HOLES!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    10/16/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: bradharris
Played: 68  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2012
Pros: As with the other Army COE dam courses in the area, the grounds here are well maintained. Grass is mowed and fairways kept relatively clear.

The tee shot on hole 8 is one of the most fun shots I've ever had. The tee is tucked just inside the tree line, high on a hill. The hole plays out over the channel to a protected green. If you want a shot at a two, clearing the channel is not enough, placement is key.

The nine holes are well designed and fair. I'm not a huge fan of hole nine. It's tricky and tends to be more of a frustration than a test. But the rest are fun and creative.

For a nine hole course, there is quite a bit of variety here between wooded and open holes.
Cons: Baskets aren't in great shape. There's definitely potential for spit outs or bounce outs.

Natural tees can be hard to find at times (look for #6 on the bridge and #1 at the very end of the dam).
Other Thoughts: This would make a really solid 18 hole course. However, as a nine-holer, it is lacking the "wow factor" that would make it a viable option over some of the other local courses. However, there are some fun holes here and it makes a nice quiet supplement to nearby Buffumville.

 September 2011

1    9/17/2011   9/21/2011
Review By: kthibodeau1
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Potential. Nice scenery and nice variety of holes/shot selection. Not crowded.
Cons: This course was impossible to navigate without any proper signs. The course is in disrepair and needs some upkeep.

One hole is missing the basket and it is difficult to know where it starts. Little orange flags are the only indication of a tee box at multiple holes. There is quite a bit of flood damage.
Other Thoughts: It sounds like last year this was a great course to play. This year it is more frustration than it is worth.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/20/2011   5/5/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 102  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a typical 9 hole course with so much potential. There are dual tees for many holes and awesome scenery to take in. The navigation is fairly straight forward. I played this course before heading to Buffumville, I saw one other player here and Buffumville was packed.

Other Pros:
- nice hand made tee signs
- natural tee pads in great shape
- good variety for 9 holes
- elevation usage
- risk/reward (water in play)
- very close to a 27 hole course
- plenty of room to expand
Cons: The course needs some TLC in the wooded fairway areas. I noticed one basket marked with a high teen number and I was confused for a moment.

Other Cons:
- soggy, muddy areas
- water on #8 can be swift which can make retrieval impossible
- some holes are tricky to find the exact tee you want (hole #6 has a tee on the bridge)
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole was #8, a 390 foot throw from a hill over the run off from the nearby dam.

The first tee was tricky to find for a first timer, keep driving up until you cannot drive any further and park in that lot. Walk to the road you cannot drive on and turn right, follow that until you see tee #1.

Nice course, hope they expand!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 very varied

5+    6/4/2010   6/6/2010
Review By: eatyourchildren
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Absolutely balanced 9 hole course. The course sets up a shot for everywhich way you lean. Hole 8 is daunting from the tee but richly rewarding.
Cons: Needs a garbage can at hole 5, 6, or 7, otherwise it seems trash begins to pile up. Actually wrote this review to help encourage that garbage can come into play.
Other Thoughts: This course pairs very well with the front 9 at buffumville dam. The 2 courses are just minutes away from each other.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 great 9 hole

1    5/31/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: dyland34
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amazing 9 hole course and with a lot of work i may enjoy it more than some 18 holes, great mix of wooded sections and open holes, fairly easy to navigate hole 1 is down the road to your right once you find hole 1 your fine and its easy to play great atmoshpere also close to a lot of other course making this a must stop when playing other courses
Cons: some holes are way to woody and some what tough to find hole one dont bother looking at the bulletin board there nothing on it. some holes have disc killers and hole 8 has rocks made of razors(killed my eagle) fairways pretty cramped
Other Thoughts: really cool 9 hole and would be nice to see some improvements and see others playing the course with a little work and some TLC this could be an awesome course

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 B+ = Be Bery Bery nice 9 holer!

1    2/27/2010   3/3/2010
Review By: Dave242
Played: 363  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 19.9 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B
(The course has several long wooded holes that are classic DG holes (4 & 7) and some shorter technical holes (2 & 3). These add some good teeth to the course.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == C+
(Overall this course is a little long for me - 1, 4, 5 & 9 are "downside holes" - I have no hope to reach them with my drives, but are short enough where the upshot is a gimme.....so my only scoring variation is by me screwing up. 2 is very short (albeit very pretty and fun), so over half the course is ho-hum in this area.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == A-
(As stated in #1, 2, 3, 4 & 7 are classic wooded hole and are balance out well by some longer open holes. Down hill bomber hole (8) is my favorite as the creek that crosses the hole does mess with you (especially if you are not comfortable consistently reaching 300'). There is some nice use of elevation to keep things interesting in this area.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B+
(The superb beauty of the woods and pond/swamp and stream is somewhat offset by the stark and imposing dry dam. Seclusion is wonderful as the course sits in the back of the park you are playing behind the dam and you can not see any houses (other than on hole 1 and at basket 9 you do see the park houses.) It is a great place to just get away and unwind!)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == D+
(Small bonus points for having hole 9 as a par-5 3-throw hole - probably 800' and uphill, although it is marked as 600'. Not a great hole, but narrow enough between the woods on the left and the rocks of the dam on the right (if you play those as OB) to force 3 accurate drives.)
Cons: This course has kinda bad flow between hole 5 and 7-8 which are across the creek. It was made worse since I played after a huge rain and snow-melt and the water was very high (7-8' above normal levels), so the bridge to tee 6 was under water.....and baskets 4 & 5 were in the lake.

It is a pity that this course is not a full 18 since the land is perfect for a course and most the existing holes are great holes. The map that is in the files section shows plans for expansion......great news!
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well this course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. See my profile for specifics on my rating philosophy.

I fancy myself as a connoisseur of good course design and I am a competitive Blue level (950-ish rated) with mid-level power (accurate to 300' with max D of 360'). Since I have played a decent number of courses (150+ 18-hole, 90+ 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me…..and that's the fun of things here.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Best nine hole course I have played

1    2/23/2010   2/23/2010
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 73  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 5.6 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The navigation is pretty straightforward and the paths in between holes are lined with chopped down timbers. The signage for the tee boxes and next tee signs are placed very well and almost impossible to miss. The tee pads are also some of the best natural tees that I have ever seen. They are almost totally level and are lined with 4x4's. Although the use of mando's and OB might be construed as gimmicky, this course has jut enough to make it fun and challenging. Hole eight has to be the signature shot over the dam water. That shot ups this course on beauty alone. The mix of holes between wooded and open is pretty fair. Also the dual tees will make for an interesting eighteen.
Cons: There are cut down trees in several of the holes fairways which could impede a low drive. Some of the baskets are in various stages of disrepair (I even had a putt fall through the bottom of basket one due to broken welds). Some of the tee pads for the alternate tees are hard to find. The basket numbers are also wrong. There is no map posted on the bulletin board.
Other Thoughts: Hole four shoots next to a lake and there is a bird observatory next to the tee pad. There are also walking trails throughout the dam. To get to hole six you must cross the bridge. The course was really windy especially near the water so be careful. Once you park near the ranger station go towards the house and you will see a sign that points you to the first tee (which is on the upper road at the end).

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.