Middlesex, VT 
Wrightsville Beach Share
Uploaded By: philvil Hole #7 (Taken 8/2012)
4 / 272ft.   4 / 360ft.   4 / 403ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Approach



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A Great Course @ a Great Facility

5+    8/27/2014   8/29/2014
Review By: jspring
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Lots of pros! The course is simply fun to play and asks players to throw many different shots, right, left, long, powerful, short, and with touch. Good blend of uphill and downhill shots and open and tightly wooded. A mix of easy Par 3s that are "must gets" with difficult Par 3s where a 2 would gain you a stroke on the field. There are also three Par 4s out there that add to the variety of this enjoyable course.
+Hole 3 and 14 are beautiful signature holes that blend seamlessly with the land they are on. Near perfect design IMO that makes it seem like the land was forged for this purpose alone. #3 is one of my favorite holes in all of disc golf.
+The course is part of a locally run, multi-use state park. This means it gets great maintenance attention. Everything looks crisp and buffed out when I play. It also means there are other non-DG users. This is a PRO because the course is designed so well that I haven't seen any issues between disc golfers and other park users. Well done, smart design.
+This is a course with 4 tee pads on every hole (some times shared) which is a system I love and believe is a great help in growing the sport. Reds for beginners, whites for intermediates, blues for advanced, and golds for pros.
+The other amenities the park provides are great. Really nice beach for swimming. Great reservoir for boating. Picnic tables and pavilions for outings and tourneys. Great parking. Bathrooms are there too.
Cons: -Tee pads are not great, but not bad. They use a nice mix of crushed stone that packs well when maintained. Some need to be made slightly larger and some need to be re-leveled and re-packed. I have seen them in great shape and not so great shape so I think it depends on the proximity of prior maintenance. The pads are very playable, but just could be improved.
-Closes at dusk. Sometimes I have felt rushed because the attendant locks the gate. I get why, its just not a Pro when you are traveling to get there and need to be out or get locked in.
-There are a few design quirks but they only a few! Hole #1 is super beautiful, but a tweener. I think it is supposed to be a Par 4. That is the case on a few of the par 4s. There are also a few holes where lanes aren't clearly defined. You are left wondering what the correct play is when there are lots of small gaps. Potentially a pro, or non-con for some players, but IMO there should be a fair lane that gets you a desired result on every hole. I'm thinking about Holes 5 and 17 here. Very nit-picky as I don't dislike those holes, but think a few tweaks would improved them immensely.
Other Thoughts: This is a course I play fairly often and never get sick of. Lots of fun shots that will inspire you to come back and play, or to throw more discs.
Very friendly staff and course designer!
Cheap! Definitely worth the small fee to play!
Consistently improves through time. I know that feedback is taken seriously and acted upon. I expect it to earn a 4.5 rating from me someday soon!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

fun course

2-4    8/18/2014   8/26/2014
Review By: discrun
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
Pros: I thought this was a really fun course to play. There are a few holes that are a bit short and some throws from the golds are a bit tight but all in all still really fun. I like courses like this to help build players confidence. very beginner friendly.
Cons: inconsistent tee boxes. not al are level and they vary in size.
Other Thoughts: I think if they put some time into the gold tee boxes and thinned just a few trees off the tee pads this would be a stellar course

Great Time

2-4    8/18/2014   8/19/2014
Review By: rcj333
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: When you are in central VT you typically hear about Smugs, North Calais, Center Chains etc, But Wrightsville is a great course in its own right. Maybe not as long as Brewster Ridge or North Calais, It is a fun and interesting course that will appeal to a wide range of skill levels. Good use of terrain and great mix of holes. Very well maintained with nice gravel tees. Played from Golds and Blues and had a great time. Mixed experience level groups will have fun as all 4 tees are well marked and in site of each other.
Cons: Getting from hole to hole is easy if you pat attention to the little arrows on the baskets. You miss that you may get confused. Tees on occasion felt a little short, but not a huge deal. Also signage was a little light. I like basic idea of where the hole is and distance. All these were minor cons in my book.
Other Thoughts: The crew there does a great job of keeping this course in great playing condition. Plenty of other stuff to do at Wrightsville as the beach is right there, they have bbq stands, and you can rent boats. You really can make a day of it with the family and friends

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great course, almost free

1    6/29/2014   7/2/2014
Review By: polishedmarvel
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice variety, well designed holes, beautiful walk around the course, multiple tees to adjust difficulty.
Cons: It's 'pay to play' which isn't my favorite, but $5 for 2 people is less than I spent on gas getting here :)
Other Thoughts: If only it were closer to Burlington...

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Wright on...

5+    11/4/2013   11/4/2013
Review By: JimBailey175
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Beautiful setting. Plays around scenic Wrightsville Reservoir with some great views, particularly from #2 basket (when the leaves fall) and all of #15.
+Good use of natural features and elevation. Plenty of shot variety off the tee.
+Wooded but fair with clean, makeable lanes.
+Caretakers keep the course clean and well-groomed. For the most part the rough is pretty tame and its hard to lose a disc here.
+Short and sweet! Several ace opportunities but your driver(s) won't collect dust either.
+Sandy swim beach is a great place for kids or a post-round dip in-season.
Cons: -Can be very wet seasonally. Caretakers do a good job mitigating this with many installed timber bridges and stepstones but a poorly placed shot may result in mud-stuck boots.
-Natural and stone dust tee pads are in good condition but it would be helpful if many of them were expanded.
-Distances and/or hole layouts at each tee would be helpful (mostly a first-time problem).
Other Thoughts: RHBH players will complain (with reason) that it favors lefties and righty flicks but there are more than enough straight shots and righty hyzers to make up for it (like bombs on new #5 and #17).

The water is more of a backdrop than an obstacle. It doesn't really come into play unless you implode on #15.

Wrightsville has enough unique holes to make it really fun to play. Definitely worth a stop if you're in the area or inclusion in a DG road trip with some of the other great courses in central / northern VT.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Quintessential Vermont Course

1    8/10/2013   8/17/2013
Review By: bosoxbrent
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.1 Years
Pros: - Very clean course and as well maintained a course as I've run across in a long time.
- Fun for players of all levels. We brought my cousin who has never played disc golf before and the course was easy enough for her to pick up how to play, but challenging enough for my father and I to enjoy playing.
- Course plays at varying lengths. With 4 tee boxes to choose from on most holes, if you want to play all 18 holes, but only have an hour, it is possible to play using the red tees.
- Mostly wooded, but open enough where you aren't frustrated by hitting a tree on every throw.
- Good mix of elevation and flatland to play on.
- There are definitely a few holes that are aceable. New to disc golf and looking for your first ace? This might be a good place to start.
Cons: - There are a few places that get pretty wet and muddy. Even after it hadn't rained for a few days, when we played there were some muddy spots on the course. I can imagine it gets pretty wet out there after good thunderstorm or a few days of rain.
Other Thoughts: This was my first time playing any course in Vermont, but having spent a great deal of my youth in Vermont, I can tell you this is exactly what I would expect a Vermont course to look like. Good mix of hills, trees, and even some dried out wetland areas. I really enjoy playing this course and don't mind paying the $2 to play.

woods & water

5+    6/1/2013   6/1/2013
Review By: Collin
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 4 tees per fairway, very well maintained, you won't spend any time searching for a disc.
Great layout of facilities and course. Mostly dry, you throw over the wet spots. The tee pads are leveled crushed stone. Off season parking. Dogs allowed from Labor Day to Memorial Day.
Cons: Once every few years the entire course can be underwater (literally), the water usually recedes in a few days.
Other Thoughts: This is an amazingly scenic course, with a great variety of terrain and shots. There's lots for the entire family to do here too.

Season Pass is just $19.00 individual, $39.00 for a family.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 "Beach"in' course, man

2-4    11/8/2009   11/8/2009
Review By: chairman63vt
Played: 77  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 36.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 3 tees per hole.
- Good variety of shots called upon.
- Room, and plans to expand to 18 next year (2010). (#'s10, 11, and 12 cleared, #18 almost done; 12 still needs tees marked)
- Very clear fairways thru the woods, yet still has trees in play.
- Picnic area and beach on site.
Cons: - Some tees aren't leveled (yet?).
- Crossing fairways
- 11th, and 12th, fairways were boggy and wet while I was there. (Not yet sure if this is seasonal, or only an issue after rainy spells.)
Other Thoughts: For a brand spanking new course, this is a very clear and clean playing one. Congrats to the park administration for putting so much work (with volunteer help) into this course. I am not generally a fan of crossing fairways, but in this case I have to admit that for now visibility is good at both crossings and the designer has stated that if it becomes a problem, they can be shortened after the full 18 are in. While the homemade tone pole targets are clever (upside down sap buckets bolted to posts), they do at times make putting extra challenging.

Expansion to 18 holes is done, and baskets are in!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center