Laingsburg, MI 
Sleepy Hollow State Park Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #1 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 338ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Sleepy Hollow State Park

1    6/23/2013   6/25/2013
Review By: jerohill57
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I think the course designer did a very good job utilizing the terrain given. Good mix of open and wooded holes, and usually challenging straight, forehand, and backhand shots.

Clean and well maintained course. Does not seem to get a lot of use. I played on weekend mornings in June and never had anyone in front of or behind me.

Most of the out in the open fairways are plenty wide and mowed.

I like that you can camp in the park and have easy drive to course. Campground is also very good with sites not sandwiched together.
Cons: Grass next to the fairways is tall and thick. So is most of the shrubs bordering the fairways. If you go off into the grass or shrubs it can take you a while to find your disc. If playing in a group you might want to take turns spotting for each other on quite a few of the holes.

As mentioned the tee pads are not the longest. Did not bother me since I do not need a big run up. Those that do will be bothered somewhat.
Other Thoughts: For other experienced players, I've only been playing a couple years, and I am in my mid 50s. My drives max out around 250-275. PDGA rating around 870. I shot 58 my first time keeping score here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very scenic.

2-4    5/26/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: Morlock
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The park is beautiful to look at, I can never get enough of "real nature"

All fairways and paths were cut, trimmed and clean!
A great variety of shots; almost used the whole bag :)
Cons: Tee pads are too short period. It looks like they have been in the ground since 2011 and it seems to be a common complaint. The locals need to work with the park to either add more concrete or at least bring up the dirt and pack it, so you have a longer run up. This will also prevent you from slipping off the front.

A few more key placed directional signs. Not a big deal, once you have played the course, but it is a simple and nice touch.

#10 and #11 tee pads should be pointed at the basket. The lines seem very forced and IMO make these two holes very weak.
Other Thoughts: As cool as #9 seemed on paper...the hole could be better. I found it more of a waste of time than a real challenge. A wider landing zone for your drive would improve this hole 100%. It would seem like a big bottleneck during tournament play as well. Great course and I'll be back for sure!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    4/6/2013   4/6/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic- Plays through the beach area and through the back woods of Sleepy Hollow State Park. Most areas are dg exclusive BUT the first couple holes and around the "extinct" parking lot are close to multi-use areas

Baskets- in great repair but could use some reflective tape to make more visible.

Teepads- A little small but all in good repair and nice and level

Variety- short, long, water, woods a little bit of everything here. many blind shots and risk v reward are the highlights here.

Uniqueness- #9 is a WOW hole. blind shot over a hill and the basket is on an isthmus between two ponds. there is so much awesomeness here to describe. it's a must see hole.

Routing/Nav- relatively easy, just follow the path, we missed #17 because the path wasn't as evident but played #18 which is a great finish hole.

Upkeep- Great hardly any trash here, there was a LOT of down trees and brush around which shows that people have been working on this course recently.
Cons:
Uncontrollables-- poison ivy and windy were the only whining points here.

Pads- a little short for some of the longer drives.

Other Thoughts: A beautiful course, with some more amenities and a little less price would move this course up the ranks a little more!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

You will not be put to sleep at Sleepy Hollow

1    7/22/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 704  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Hole # and distance only on the tee-sign. I like to see more information but they also provided scorecards with a general map of the hole, so I cannot fault them entirely for being so basic on the tee-sign. I did also appreciate the educational signs included at each tee, discussing something about the natural creatures and such in the state park. What a great idea for bringing your entire family along on the disc golf course.
2) Poison Ivy sign at the first tee shows they want to educate the park users. I am unsure if they are doing anything to eradicate the troublesome noxious weed, but at least they make people aware that it is out there.
3) Excellent variety of hole types with wide open, prairie, prairie with a few key trees, water in play, moderately wooded and tightly wooded holes. Oh did I forget to mention that elevation is used on every hole! There isn't anything else you need to be added to this course to complete the experience.
4) Elevation is used outstandingly well on many of these holes. I love how just some subtle rolling terrain can alter a shot. I also love dramatic elevation change up and down. It really makes you think about your shot from beginning to end.
5)
6) #9 is one of the most unique holes I have come across. There is a peninsula after your drive that is about 20' wide sloping both directions with another 8-10' of unmaintained rough along the water. Basically the peninsula is about 30' wide and depending on where your drive or second shot end up could leave you with a 100' upshot to a small area. I nearly got to the bottom of the hill and the beginning of the peninsula with my drive, but I ended up having to toss out, layup with my upshot and take a 4. I was thrilled!
7) Practice basket is available before the first hole. I didn't even walk over to it because we were on a mission to play this and at least 1 more course on our long drive back to WI.
8) There is a nice variety of shots needed here. You have to be able to work the disc both ways.
9) Garbage bags at the beginning of the course are intended for park users to be able to pack out what they bring in to the park. There also were a couple of bins I noticed throughout that you can place those bags if you fill it up by the time you leave the course. I find it hard to believe but it is an option.
Cons: 1) #9 is a bit dangerous because you need to walk back down the peninsula to get to the walkway to #10. It is already a blind shot so the people on the tee might have no idea when you are actually clear and a great drive could easily get down to you.
2) Poison Ivy was spotted in a few places on the course.
3) $8 entry for a non-resident vehicle is a little much for just a round of disc golf. They realize though that they offer so much more in the park so they cannot very well just charge a few $ for the round only. I have paid more for worse courses so it isn't a huge deal and as long as you are more than 1 person per vehicle it isn't out of line.
4) Tee-pads are slightly small for my liking. I am short and do not have a big runup so if I notice it, that means others will find them much too short.
5) Tall prairie grass mixed with spotty shrubs and dense weedy areas can really cost some time looking for discs. More of a frustration than anything else.
Other Thoughts: This is another park with the potential to be awesome. It is fun, challenging, scenic, and diverse . . . but it could use a little more maintenance, the prairies could be cleaner, the rough could be more forgiving, and the Poison Ivy could be controlled. All in all though it still is a great course with a great design. I think this course could be as high as a 4.0 to 4.5 disc if the issues get resolved. I am only going to give this course a 3.5 but it would quickly take the jump up to 4.0 and if all things were corrected maybe it would become a 4.5 disc.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 nice course, beautiful views

1    4/1/2012   5/1/2012
Review By: Mac423
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -best view of any putting green i have ever seen
-very clean course, with trashcans, and bags available to help clean up!
-camping, boat rental ect all available in the park during summer
-Nice mix of hole layouts, nothing repetitive
-played early spring, long rough was a non-issue
-Hole 9 may be a beast, but we found 2 new discs in the pond retrieving our bad throw!
-Scorecards and maps available at start of course
Cons: -hole 9 is a beast..
-wind can be an issue on holes close to water.
-After hole 9, you must walk back up the fairway a bit to reach the trail to #10.
Other Thoughts: This is a course everyone should play several times each summer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

5+    10/1/2011   10/21/2011
Review By: starskeeter
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - It's located in a state park in the middle of nowhere.
- The course layout allows for a variety of shots. Some holes for the power arms 2, 15, 17, 18. Some holes for more technical skilled shots 4-7.
- Good use of elevation.
- The course is used only for disc golf, so no one to get in your way during your round.
- Just enough use that the rough is well trampled, but not so much that you constantly have to wait behind many other players.
- The course is well maintained by the park. I come here often and almost never see trash.
Cons: - It's located in a state park in the middle of nowhere.
- The rough is pretty thick on some holes.
- Hole 9, while it is fairly amazing, is nearly impossible to par (at least for me).
Other Thoughts: The zero disc and one and a half disc reviews are utterly ridiculous. This course, while not perfect, is very good. I have played on a number of courses, and this one is in my top 5. For what it's worth, I think that Sleepy Hollow has the best course in the Lansing area, and it is a course that is worth traveling a little for.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/16/2011   8/16/2011
Review By: SAxDrc
Played: 23  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-beautiful scenery.
-very well maintained. i didn't see any trash, fairways were mowed.
-excellent signage. it had hole number and distance as well as an interesting fact about area wildlife on every sign.
-cement tee pads.
-shots were challenging but fair.
-hole 9 was awesome. its a nearly 400' blind shot. the pin is on a 10 foot wide peninsula with nasty swamp on both sides. rewards good shots, punishes bad
-a DNR guy welcomed us to the park and told us where to find the disc golf course and wished us luck
Cons:
-most of the long shots are to the right. so either BH anhyzer or FH hyzer. I would have liked to have seen a bit more variety
-tee pads were a bit short.
-if you throw a disc in the swamp, it is gone forever. luckily I didn't
Other Thoughts: great course. far exceeded my expectations. I don't know how it only has a 3 disc average rating at the time of this review.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 not worth the drive

1    5/24/2011   5/25/2011
Review By: LEFTY360
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
6 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: The first five holes played near the beach, wich made for a nice start,
There were DRY scorecards with maps available at the first tee. I have played many courses where they either had none or a box of soggy paper.
Course layout did not leave any long hikes from one hole to the next, yet the holes did not interfere with oneanother.
Though most holes were fairly open, a wide variety of shots were used.
Cons: The deep rough that is used on most of the course, spent more time looking for my disc than playing.
The cement tee pads were a nice gesture, but were too small and mostly not level. It made long shots on the open holes dificult.
Hole nine was a bit much. With a long narrow blind turn on the fairway and a huge water hazard it felt out of place on this course.
The trees in the fairway on hole seven were covered in thick poison ivy vines, as were most of the back wooded holes.
There were beer cans littered near most of the tees after hole six, not nice to look at, especialy when out with my wife and daughter.
Other Thoughts: This course has potential and was fairly dry for this time of year, but is in need of some serious upkeep. I would not recomend going out of your way to play this course. If you are already in the area...Well, every course is worth playing at least once.

6 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Need played a course that bad

1    5/24/2011   5/25/2011
Review By: AKasprzak
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 26 Not
Pros: The first 4 or 5 holes were nice.
Cons: the tee pads are small you fall off them. The grass was so tall it took you longer to find your dics even if you watch were it landed, would recomend multipul spoters with tall flags. there water hazard was rediculous. the lay out looks like it was made with a blindfold on. The distance on the hole are all wrong. Litter and beer cans every there, not family friendly.
Other Thoughts: I would not recomend this course to anyone. We drove 2 hours to play it based on reviews and will never go back again. We have played courses all over michigan and have never walked away that dispointed. If they took the time to take care of this park it could be nicer but they need to redo there whole course.

3 of 29 people found this review helpful.

 The Legend

1    8/4/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: BucketBonanza
Played: 47  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 12.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course plays along Lake Ovid on a nice segment of state park. The first few holes run you by the beach which is a pretty good way to start the round. The fairways are fairly tight and well mowed here and on the other holes that don't use forest floor for fairway. The course features a good mix of wooded and open terrain as well as elevation. Hills leading up to buckets, hills leading down to buckets, left buckets, and right buckets all form a well varied course. Roughs are tall, but not overwhelmingly thick or dangerous to human skin. Bright coloured discs and skilled shots should suffice, but the luxury of a spotter would certainly be a welcomed amenity for some. Water comes into play on hole 9 which seems to be a fitting signature hole requiring some care to keep discs from the water. Holes feature concrete tee pads and signs with distances. Each tee sign also features a general education blurb with factoids about the particular woodland creature that best represents each individual hole. Examples are Blue Racer, Turkey, Owl Prowl, Black Locust, etc. The course was clean on the day of this review. A trash bag dispensary can be found at the start of the course. Conscientious players can obtain a sack for collecting refuse which can later be dumped in one of the trash bins located along the course. Nice feature. Navigation was generally intuitive with only a few minor hiccups at 8 and 16. The treachery of hole 9 is apparently either oft avoided or accidentally missed as a path is wearing in from 8 basket directly to 10 tee which has the potential to draw a courageous player off course.
Cons: Apart from the slight directional issues in two spots, there aren't many things wrong with the course. The open beach holes were very breezy which is likely a common occurrence there. This factor should be prepared for with a heavy and true disc and enjoyed as a natural nuance that gives the course character. Once within the confines of the woods and up into the hillside, it is barely noticeable to nonexistent.
Other Thoughts: For some intangible reason, Sleepy Hollow does seem to lack the elusive X Factor that would elevate it beyond excellence and above the 4 disc rating. As it stands it teeters on very good to excellent, or 3.5 to 4 discs with a heavy lean toward the 4 disc status. It ultimately earns excellence with its charm and is well worth a play and even worth a bit of travel for the enthusiast. Bring six bucks or have a state park sticker. Very enjoyable. Three cheers for nature!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.