Houston, TX
Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #5 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 180ft.   3 / 168ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Long/Green Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Church course

1    10/11/2013   10/11/2013
Review By: uwdiscgolf
Played: 59  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The PROS:

1. Quick easy course

2. New Baskets, not the DB 5 Lighting POS anymore.

3. Hole 1 and 6 begin and end near parking lot.

4. For a small six hole course this course actually offers a tiny bit of challenge on holes 5 and 6.

5. Multiple tee pads.
Cons: The Cons:

1. Only 6 holes here.

2. Tee posts are showing their age.

3. Some standing water between holes two-three.

4. Grass Tee Pads. They Are Not Very Worn So No Points Taken Off.
Other Thoughts: Memorial is short fun course that can be played in under 15 minutes. I was able to envision three more holes on the property. It would be a tight fit given that the course is already tight on room. With the addition of the new Discatcher basket in think that this course is bumped from a 1.5 to a 2.

Bring your Midrange and putters as this course doesnt really offer much room to air one out except for hole 3 and hole 4. I held back on those holes but still a nice chance to put some power behind a throw. Not a destination course , but still a fun fast pace course. As you could imagine that with only six holes there is little variety from hole to hole. Hole One Should Be Relocated So That It Doesn't Play So Close To The Building.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    11/14/2012   11/29/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 105  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This is a very small, short 6 holed course that was put on about 2 acres of land. The entire thing can be played very quickly.

-There are two sets of tees and all 12 tee signs are present and have the length of each hole written on them.

-This course can be very challenging. Andi Young did a great job with pin placements in the few trees that are present. The last 2 holes play in a very small wooded area, where shooting a 2 would be impressive.

-The new DisCathchers are great! It seems as if the old baskets gave people fits with their single layer of chains. I do not think anyone ever comes out here so the baskets should stay fresh and new looking for a long time.
Cons: In my opinion this is just too small of a land area to have a decent disc golf course. The course is probably designed to it's maximum potential but the land is much too small.

As mentioned before the first hole runs very close to the church and I was very cautious and careful not to hit the window.

The natural tees are great and you would hardly think anyone came out here to play this course! And you would think right.
Other Thoughts: This was a course to check off my list but I was impressed with it. This was easily the best <9 hole course I have played. It actually has a bit of challenge involved and can be finished in 15 minutes, if less.

Still, this is not nor ever will be a destination course. This is simply a good neighborhood course and unless you are a course bagger you should just leave this one be as there are much better places to play that are much closer.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Heavenly 6 Holer

1    2/6/2011   2/6/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 684  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Short quick play can be done with 1 round in 15 minutes alone.

2) Beginner friendly but not boring and wide open. These are the types of courses I would be hooked on if I was new to the game because they challenge you to execute shots even though they are short enought o allow you to get some birdies on occassion.

3) Dual tees which is a nice feature on a tiny little course like this.

4) Two posts mark tees both long and short tees and are numbered to help with navigation. Hole # and distance are listed ont he post.

5) Practice Basket is a welcome thing even on a short little course like this.

6) 2 holes are in the dense woods and really create some ticht technical shots, while 4 holes are what I consider to be "park like". They are played on a turfed fairways but they have large mature trees as obstacles too.

7) This is a fun course and you can technically play 12 different holes in one stop if you play both sets of tees.

8) Riser pole on top of these baskets are helpful with the number plate. They are homemade but still do the job.

9) Good design on a small property incorporating some variety. I am sure the church had the intent of having recreation for the people in the church and that was accomplished. I am curious what changed about the course from its original design, because as it is right now they did a great job with the design and implementation of the course.
Cons: 1) In-step baskets will deteriorate quickly due to their manufacturing and that they should not be left out all of the time. The seem ok now, but I would imagine it won't take long for them to begin peeling and rusting.

2) Hole distances do not allow for much distance throws. It is a tiny property I know, but it would have been nice to have one more open longer hole.

3) The area where the underbrush was recently cleared could use some levelling. W eplayed the day after some recent rains and there were puddles all over. A little drain tile or at least some grading of wood chips could make the course much easier to play through this area.

4) It is only 6 holes, no room for more holes at all, this is a packed as they could put it in. This is a negative but it does not lose points because of this in my opinion.

5) No aces were hit and this was part of the reason we chose this course as one of our stops. It was short and it game my wife a chance to make some runs, but noone hit any. Again no points docked for this con!

6) Literally no elevation change on the entire course.

7) The risk of hitting the building on the first shot creates a poor design characteristic. I mean how many beginners throw short and left (right where the building is). I like it because I have control but it is not a good hole for beginners or the wall/windows of the church.

8) Natural tees were actually in pretty good shape. . . probably because noone plays this course. They will wear out over time though so this is a negative.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course, it isn't a championship course but not all courses need to be. It is fun to play and actually has a decent amount of challenge for such a small course. I truly do not really dock a course points because it is fewer than 9 or 18 holes while some do. it is a negative but I cannot take points away from it because of that reason, so my rating may seem higher than others because of that.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Sweet

2-4    5/20/2010   5/22/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/8/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a surprisingly fun course. If you want casual play with a chance to get an ace, this is the perfect place, and once you come to terms with the limitations of the course you really can enjoy yourself. Plus five and six are a challenge still for most levels to make bird on due the tight lines you're forced to shoot.

Duel tees and a moderate level of trees are about the best thing to look forward to here. Even a beginner level course goes up in my book if I have two options to play from. Plus you can play a round in about fifteen minutes, so this is a good central Houston location to hit on your lunch break.

BEST HOLE/S: #5; #6
Cons: InStep baskets suck so badly I don't know where to begin. The midget black sheep of the basket world, these single chain posers spit more than your redneck grandpappy. The crazy part is that they aren't much cheaper than the Mach II baskets, so why anyone would not spend the extra few bucks to have quality baskets is beyond me.

The whopping 1000' course is simply too short to make a competitive round. You'll have to play it twice to get your money's worth. Granted, please understand that this negative is when compared to a normal course. I think the church understood what that their goal was, and that was to have a short family friendly course for the church goers, so these negatives don't matter much in that sense.

WORST HOLE/S: #1
Other Thoughts: This is truly a beginners course, which is really what the land and church was looking for. Holes five and six give you some tree work, and the others give you a chance to modify and perfect that mid range shot that is so handy. The short flat length is ideal for new players, families, and people wanting some practice. I will say though that six okay holes is a much better idea than the nine bad holes that previously were in the ground. The land is simply not conducive to more than about six holes.

Given the fact that five and six were good holes, and that there are two tee locations, it's gives this place that half star bump from being poor to passable. Just know coming in that you're in for a quick and easy round that is more practice than anything. Ultimately, I will say that the church did about as much as they could with what they had, and anytime you increase the DG density of an area, it's a good thing.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth your time

1    3/24/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: cheesy_gordita_crunk
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course is very easy to navigate. There is a color printed map op the course right by the first hole. They did make good use of the very limited space and managed to install 6 holes.
Cons: The layout is awful. Whoever designed this course obviously has no understanding of disc golf and how discs fly. Some of the holes have ridiculous lines that no disc would ever hit. The first hole is tucked right behind the church, making breaking a window a definite possibility.

The baskets are crappy instep single chain baskets. Good luck hitting chains from far out and having your disc stay in.
Other Thoughts: All in all I think this course is not worth your time. It is short and boring

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Lunch Break Quickie

5+    12/31/2009   1/13/2010
Review By: snotgiggle
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Really good use of limited space and much improved from the previous layout. Lots of trees to improve your finesse shots and yet a couple of holes can still have the distance to let you wing it.

- Can be a 12 hole course if you play both A and B tees.

- Well mapped and easy to navigate.

- I've colliding with windows on the first hole and no one has come to yell at me or anything, so no worries it seems if you botch the first hole.
Cons: - Lots of tree stumps in the wooded area, watch your step or you'll face plant in the mud.

- A couple places get pretty soggy after it rains, could stand to have a retention hole somewhere. As this is a church's front yard, not sure how feasible that would be.
Other Thoughts: It's only 6 holes and I usually like to play longer courses than this one as I like a lot of variety and playing both tees at this course doesn't deliver that variety. However, if you need a quick fix for your golfing withdrawals this is a great course to play!

This course is surprisingly challenging for only 6 holes. No punches were pulled in making it as varied and fun as possible.

The designer really pays attention to detail and is open to criticism so I know this course will only get better with time!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short but sweet

1    12/20/2009   12/20/2009
Review By: jsc430
Played: 113  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course designer has done an exceptional job at using what little space he was provided. There is a mail box with color printed course maps at the first tee and there are tee markers at every box, so for navigability this course gets 5/5. The players before me replaced their maps when they finished so that myself and others could reuse them. It will be a quick round at Memorial DGC, so if you're in a hurry or just feel like a short round, this is your place. The long boxes added some different looks, some of the same but just having an additional 6 is a huge pro for this course. This course doesn't seem to be very busy as there were no other groups on perfect Saturday afternoon.
Cons: To state the obvious, there are only 6 holes, which is a bit of a disappointment since the natural geography of this part of Houston makes it a great candidate for a premier course. Also, even the long boxes are a little short. From either box on #1, one of the church buildings is bordering "the danger zone" although, one of the previous reviewers has mentioned that church is not concerned with damage. I played the long and the shorts and had an opportunity to take some practice throws from both tees. I hit the building twice, once form each box. Lucky for me no glass shattered. Hole #4 will stay soggy for a few days after a good rain. Natural tees may be an understatement - watch out for small stumps in the ground!
Other Thoughts: This course is a very quick play since form the short tees its less than 1500 ft. An experienced dg player has a very good chance at 2 from the shorts on 1-4 and a good opportunity at birdie on 5 and 6. The longs boxes also offer similar birdie looks. This is not a destination course but if its on the way to another course it's a GREAT warm up. If you have an afternoon open for dg in NW Houston, I would suggest Memorial - TC Jester - Agnes Moffit for a trio that provides increasing difficulty and length.
I would really like to give this course a 2.5/5 but its distance takes away from its replay value.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Decent neighborhood course

5+    10/25/2009   10/2/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 183  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2010
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Decent property with lots of trees from which to make some short, but challenging and interesting holes. Two heavily wooded holes are tough for any level player, four more open holes can be easy birdies for Intermediate players. Dual tees give a different look at each hole and enhance the course's playability. Good beginner course with very low chance of losing a disc. Nice tee signs with distances marked, numbered baskets, and "next tee -->" signs help navigation; but with the online map here it's impossible to get lost.
Cons:
Budget InStep baskets are single chain and shallow tray. Hole #1A's fairway is precariously close to the church building and windows, although church has stated they're not concerned with breakage it still makes you nervous taking the shot. Watch your footing: there's a few rough patches including a recessed old sprinkler box that has caved in.
Other Thoughts:
The course was completely redesigned in October 2009 with the help of a professional course designer. If you played in early October or before give this course another look.

Not a destination course but a decent little neighborhood course.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Very Fun Course

5+    1/13/2010   9/30/2009
Review By: allen
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 1/13/2010
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a short course but it is indeed pretty difficult because it has a lot of trees!! This course got me on several holes with its many trees. I shot a 56 (par is 54) which i was pleased with at this grand opening tournament.
There is finally an up to date course map which helped me navigate this course better.
I played it through 3 times which made a nice 18 (I played the green tees, then brown, then green again).
Cons: This is only 6 holes but like I said, there are another 6 alternate tees and if you play through 3 times its a decent 18.
Heads up, the baskets are as advertised, InStep, lower budget baskets (I did not have a problem with them...just be advised).
Other Thoughts: I had a lot of fun out on the course, I will definitely play it again soon...especially if I'm in a time crunch, it is a good location and a quick 6 only takes about 20 minutes!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/29/2009   9/29/2009
Review By: jrcamp001
Played: 198  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 17.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Surprisingly good distance
Good use of trees
Cons: Too many holes cross each other. I think this would be a course that would be well served by fewer holes, a lot like BridgePoint.
Play is dangerously close to the building and windows on 2 holes.
Other Thoughts: Distances on the tees would be nice
Baskets need double chains
"Next Tee" markers near the baskets would help the flow.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.