Goldsboro, NC 
Stoney Creek Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: XCaliber Hole #13
3 / 137ft.   3 / 220ft.   3 / 268ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 White Tee

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
3.0 for the Front 10, 1.0 for the Back 8

1    9/17/2015   9/18/2015
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 43  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is really a tale of two courses. The front 9 plus 1 is a nice park-style golf course: relaxing, enjoyable, not overly challenging, but decent length. The back 9 minus 1 is an overgrown thorny mess.


1. The first 10 holes are very nice. They're not overly challenging to intermediate players and up, but they do have decent length that will test newer players and even intermediates. The holes are open, but there are mature trees guarding baskets and testing tee shots. If you like park-style golf -- no risk of losing discs, manicured grass, open -- you will like these holes.

2. Stoney Creek may have the best concrete tee pads I've ever played on. They're big trapezoids, the end of the tee pad (closest to the basket) being narrower than the very wide base of the tee pad (furthest from the basket). They're designed so players can approach their run-up from the left-hand side of the pad or the right-hand side and take all steps on the pad itself.

3. I liked the variety of holes (even on the back 8). There are good hyzer holes, anhyzers, par 4's with landing areas and "shortcut" fairways with a risk/reward element. The bones of the back 8 are really good, and I think this course could be a solid 3.0 or 3.5 with regular upkeep and if the underbrush and thorns were cleared out, however...
Cons: 1. The back 8 is completely overgrown. It's basically a giant briar patch. The thorns are really bad, and not just in the rough. Several holes have fairways that are overgrown with thorns and underbrush too. The risk of losing discs is very high. On the front half of the course, I was writing the review in my mind, thinking of things here or there that I would change. I was thinking 3.0 in my head for the front half. But then I got to the back half and nit-picky or player preference stuff flew out the window. The back 8 is a major problem and far outweighs the other issues with the course below. I would play this course again, because the front 10 holes are very enjoyable, but I would not play the back 8 unless or until major improvements are made. These improvements wouldn't necessarily be difficult either. The thorns and underbrush just need to be cleared (significantly), but I question whether ongoing maintenance will be able to keep pace, especially during the summer months. Seems like a losing battle with nature.

2. There are some crossing fairways on the front 9. In particular, one hole's tee pad is directly in the line of fire with an earlier hole's tee shot. No one else was on the course when I played, so it wasn't an issue, but some of the crossing fairways here are bad enough where it's a safety issue, not just a design or congestion issue.

3. Navigation was an issue for me. The course has great tee signs with the number of the hole, but there are not pictures showing you where the basket is from the hole. This was an issue for me on a couple of the front 9 holes, although it's fairly easy to figure out which basket you're throwing to, but on the back 9 it's an issue. Because of overgrowth and dogleg fairways, it's impossible to know where you're supposed to throw off the tee without walking way up the fairway first to locate the basket.

4. Circling back to the #1 con of this course, the thorns and underbrush, I found hole 17 to be completely unplayable. Thorns have taken over the fairway. I couldn't even find the tee pad. I tried to play it from the walkway to the left of the fairway, but still cut my legs up around the basket.
Other Thoughts: If you choose to play the back 8, play at your own risk (of losing a disc!) and wear long pants!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1    8/29/2015   9/1/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 258  Reviewed: 256  Exp: 4.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Front nine is a good park-style beginner course. There are three sets of tees and while they don't provide a world of difference in challenge and look, having them is nice, especially in a mostly open course that uses sparse trees instead of defined fairways to force shot shaping and allow a player to play 18 or even 27 without entering the back nine. This is a niner that would be great for any first time player to get an introduction to the game. It's flat and well maintained. Teepads, signs, baskets and navigation are all in great shape and an easy, frustration free round. Veterans won't find it terribly exciting but they shouldn't object to much other than the near constant interaction with walking paths.
Cons: The back nine should probably be pulled. It seems like they tried to put this in a few years ago but the manpower to do maintenance never materialized. The pictures show what the course once looked like but much of it is overgrown at this point. 17 and 18 are unplayable/unfindable. The rest of the course consist of difficult holes that are incongruous with the front nine. Anyone who could play the back nine would not want to play the front. Anyone who would enjoy the front nine should not step foot in the back. The vegetation has grown in to make incredibly tight fairways. And it is the worst type of rough imaginable. Thick, thick underbrush that a disc will slice through to bury itself if it is even a smidge off of the flight path. I only had one veer into that shule but it was one way too many.
Even before the overgrowth came in, what the navigation. Most of the paths to the next tee are purely guesswork. The 13 and 14 tees are next to each other which means that after 13 you walk directly backwards along the same fairway. After 15 there is a path that I assume leads towards 16....except they apparently gave up while creating it. The solution. Is to walk back up half of 15, skip over some woods to 12 and walk backwards to where the 11 tee was and continue along the walking path to find 16.
Speaking of 15, by moving the basket to where it should be, the best hole on the course could be created. Instead the first throw from the tee needs to land at that obvious basket location, then make a 110-degree turn to the second part of the fairway.(that part that you will have to walk back down towards anyways)
11 could have been the nicest hole on the course. An appropriate width but straight shot that doglegs half down the fair to the right and then over a small stream.....except the fairway is the walking path and the dogleg creates a blind throw at people potentially walking towards you.
Other Thoughts: Basically, there is a nice beginner niner here and the back 9 baskets should be pulled so that players aren't lured there.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Course Has Gone Downhill

1    7/25/2015   7/25/2015
Review By: thedglove
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.3 Years
Pros: Nice mix of different types and lengths of holes
Rarely crowded
Cons: Overgrown grass
Really muddy after a rain
Several holes are now completely unplayable
Other Thoughts: This course was previously a great course, full of challenges and variety. This was when it first opened. Since then it has slowly deteriorated to the point at which it is today. It's always been a pretty muddy place, so I won't really comment on that except to give caution: wait at least 24 hours after a good rain because the whole place (and I mean the whole place!) will be extremely muddy. But the amount of overgrown plant life is out of control. Holes 17 and 18 used to be my favorite holes, but they are literally unplayable. You can't even find the tee on either and you can't find the hole on 17 either (well, you can see it, but you can't get there). The same problem is all over the back nine, specifically 11-18. Hole 11 isn't so bad, but after that it all goes downhill. One more problem is snakes. Water Moccasins and Copperheads. Lots of cotton mouths reside in the wetlands area around hole 8. I've seen tons and they've gotten worryingly close. And I've seen too many copperheads to wander into the back nine very often anymore.
All in all, it's a good course that's gone to pot because no one's taken care of it. The front nine is still pretty good, except I'd be careful around hole 8 because of the snakes. I still go at least 2 times a week, so it's better than nothing.

Decent Course

1    3/2/2014   3/3/2014
Review By: DiabolicalHeel
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -I did like the idea of having an open front 9 and a wooded back 9. The front flowed really well and let you really rip some shots.
-When the course flowed well, the front 9, it was easy to see where the next holes were.
-The 3 tee boxes provided 3 good options for the course based on your skill level.
-Has a practice basket to warm up putting before you start your round.
-Course has some cool mandos that make shots more interesting, yet still doable.
-The course does have many different lines so it didn't feel like you were playing the same hole over and over. It wasn't the most diverse course ever, but it did have some different hole layouts throughout the course.
-I liked how hole 17 and 18 played up against the creek.
Cons: -Back 9 has no flow at all. Without a course map it can become difficult to figure out the last 9 holes. It's especially confusing when trying to find the pin on hole 15 and finding hole 17 from 16.
-A few of the holes have you throwing across walking paths and could be hazardous if you aren't paying attention to people walking. Hole 11 is especially bad about this as the fairway is literally the walking path and the pin is around a bin. I had to wait 15 minutes for the path to clear of people before I could throw.
-Holes 1 and 18 all have the potential of hitting cars, though you'd have to have a pretty bad throw. On hole 1 I massively turned over my drive and came pretty close to putting my disc in the busy road. On hole 18 if you fade your shot badly(rhbh) you could potentially hit the parking lot. It's an outside shot of hitting cars but if a disc gets away from you it is possible.
Other Thoughts: It hadn't rained much, if at all, the week before I played this course yet a decent amount of the course was still flooded and soupy. The wooded areas weren't cleared much at all outside of the fairways. It's nit picky but it does make it quite easy to lose some discs. Overall, a course I would gladly play again if in the area but wouldn't travel outside of an hour just for the course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Good

5+    11/3/2013   11/5/2013
Review By: kingingkunsan
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: A mixture of open greens and fairways along with some real tight areas that require pinpoint accuracy. Huge Concrete tees with large hole number markers.
Cons: In the summer bring a can of bug spray. The layout is confusing on a few holes. Front 9 is a good design. Back 9 is horrible IMO. I do not mind playing in the woods but this is more like a briar patch. Although some has been cleared holes 11, 12, 13, 14, 16 have thick briars on one or both sides of fairway. So do not attempt to find a lost disc unless you are wearing a suit of armor. I avoid the back 9 usually and just play the front 9 a couple times. Much more enjoyable for me. Finally 1,5 and 18 are close to parking lot or road. Error in shot could end up on Ash St (4 lane busy road) or into a car in the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: You have to back track from 3 to get to 4 and from 4 to 5. Be careful on 10, you may end up in the fenced in dog park or with a real unfortunate shot in the gutter. Seriously, had one go in gutter. Luckily we were able to lift the grate off and reach the disc. 13 takes you away from the rest of the course, so you have to back track to get to 14. 15 to 16 seems like you are lost due to the lack of signs and the distance between them. Again 16 to 17 is almost 1/4 mile walk.

 Good course when its not swamped

2-4    7/14/2013   9/1/2013
Review By: Hollywood
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I like the variety of basket placements, from the fairly open, tall ceiling lanes on the front part of the course, to the more technical, tighter woods baskets on the back.
Cons: It was a swampy mess the last time I played this course. That is to be expected since it was put in to utilize the land following the destruction of Hurricane Floyd. Its a nice course that continues to be developed and enhanced, just be sure to play it when it hasn't rained recently.
Other Thoughts: In the summer, carry bug spray and use it frequently. If its rained recently, the bugs are out in force and you will need extra socks and shoes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Decent course

5+    5/4/2013   6/2/2013
Review By: djray5000
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very good front 9 with a lot of open space. Pedestrian traffic is minimal.
Cons: Thick grass and narrow paths on the back 9 make it easy to lose a disc, especially on holes 11 and 16.
Other Thoughts: Take caution around holes 5 and 18 the holes are near the parking lot.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 First Run

1    1/18/2013   1/18/2013
Review By: clementsjd1
Played: 47  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good mixture of holes ranging from open to moderately wooded, to heavily wooded. Very close proximity to the highway. Very easy to navigate.
Cons: No bathrooms, was heavily flooded, No distance to basket markers, or signs for which tee belongs to which basket.
Other Thoughts: Looks like the course is still getting some work done to it, i am not sure though as this was my first play through, could really use some distance to pin signs, as I choose my disc off of that fact. Other than this very well designed course.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Many improvements

5+    12/11/2012   12/12/2012
Review By: seanlindsay
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice concrete pads (white tees - all holes)
-Good variation between open/straightforward holes and tight/wooded holes
-Course seems vastly improved from previous, older reviews
-Easily visible numbers at each hole, easy to navigate
-Holes set up for a variety of paths (conservative/risky & RHBH/RHFH)
Cons: -Back 9 is clearer than in the past, but could still be cleared further
-Flat (Eastern NC)
-Hole 13 has you walk back down the fairway to reach 14
-Hole 15 is hard to locate/play unless you are with someone that is familiar with the course
Other Thoughts: Hearing the plans for future work on this course, it seems like things will continue to improve. The local club hosted their first tournament this year and seem dedicated to addressing the known issues.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    11/3/2012   11/4/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 massive concrete tee pads set in a city park. We're talking huge trapezoidal monstrosities that no one should complain about.

Nice new baskets that are visible and catch well.

Signs at each pad with a huge number on them. Very visible, even from Virginia.

Front 9 is in a family friendly park setting with trails, benches and a children's play area.

Nicely cared for green grass and large trees dot the front 9. Very scenic and each hole has multiple paths to the basket. Fairly forgiving early on at this course.
Cons: Walking paths and other park users can be almost anywhere on front 9. Be aware of where you are throwing.

Back 9 is still a work in progress and new.

Navigation can be a little tricky in spots on the back 9.

Hole 13 and 15 have tee pads that seem to be misplaced or crooked. Or the baskets are in the wrong place. Not sure. Hopefully this will be cleaned up.
Other Thoughts: The front 9 of Stoney Creek is your basic city park course. Probably a great place to bring your girlfriend, wife, children or dogs. There happens to be a disc golf there, so you can have some fun too. Nothing exciting or memorable with the holes or design.

The back 9 seems to be done, but there are some strange things going on there. Hole 13 is a weird RHBH anny route that starts out with the tee pad facing about 90 degrees in the wrong direction. Maybe the basket is being redesigned or moved?? Then you must walk back the length of 13's fairway to get to 14. This could be a safety issue, plus it adds a little bit to the walking.

Hole 15 is another misaligned pad with a narrow path, fairway or something through the woods to the basket. The basket is not visible from the pad, and it would take several acts of God or luck to navigate the path with a disc. I hope this hole gets some attention too.

Hole 16 is a short straight hole that seems like a simple filler to cut down on the long walk to 17.

17 is a decent hole, but there is what appears to be an OB creek to the right and both side of the fairway are roped off to prevent damage to newly planted trees. Chances are the path is too narrow for many golfers and trees with be harmed. The fairway is a nice RHBH anny route to a basket position in some trees. Pretty hole if it can survive.

18 is a longer hole that also has the creek bed on the right. But about half way to the basket is the parking lot on the left. This could be a dangerous hole also. Be sure not to park your care on that side when you pull in!

The back 9 has some potential, but right now it needs some redesign work. It is confusing and a little mixed up at this point.

Hopefully as this course gets cleaned up a little it will be improved, and the back 9 will be something players look forward to. Right now it will just leave you shaking your head.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.