Arden Hills, MN 
Bethel University DGC Share
Uploaded By: sunshay Hole #3
3 / 165ft.   3 / 260ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Approach



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Overrated

1    7/22/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 49  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
- A few very nice holes with mowed grass
- Some unique hole layouts making good use of elevation
- Nice teepads and baskets
Cons:
- Only 9 holes, and no signage
- A lot of wet, marshy areas, especially #4, which is very unforgiving
- A lot of places to lose a disc
Other Thoughts:
This course was rated 4/5, which seems too high compared to some of the other courses nearby, but it is very challenging. If you're a righty, hole #4 is a disc eater - very narrow fairway with trees on the right and a lake on the left

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 If I Were Younger, I'd Enroll!

1    7/17/2011   7/21/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one sweet nine hole course for the students here. The baskets are DGA with the red numbers facing the right way. It has great trapazoid teepads although a couple were a slightly smaller version. There are no signs although I was able to follow it easily with the help of the on-line map and by asking a future man of the cloth. Holes 1,2 & 3 play in a lovely section of the campus with green, rolling hills and old growth trees. 4 & 5 then play along wet marshy areas and then 6,7 & 8 play up the power lines. 9 and 10 were either brillant or confusing to me. I'll get back to them. The first three were absolutely charmingly, great disc golf holes. I loved them. # 4 was a fairly long straight hole (maybe 300 ft.) with wetland tight on the left side and not much of a fairway. The risk/reward here was scary. I liked # 5 a lot but not today after recent heavy rains. It's a tricky little downhill anhyser flip shot through some trees, probably only 160 ft, but today the water was up to within 10 feet from the basket. There was almost no room for error today. # 6 plays uphill then # 7 is a powerline bomb from an elevated, landscaped teebox. I got confused when I reached # 9. If you play it, you have to turn around and backtrack all the way back to play # 10. Or you can skip # 9 and end with # 10 which is a very cool finishing hole indeed. It's the signature hole here, IMO, about a 285 downhill throw through the trees to a basket in the lawn far below. I think maybe the idea here is; Where your dorm is might determine which hole you finish with? If you live this way in this dorm, finish with # 9. If you live in these dorms, finish with the signature hole # 10.
Cons: Besides the fact that it's private and we're all sneaking on and playing it. I observed a beer bottle on # 2. Either harr0140 left it or a seminary student wasn't following the rules. There were a couple of longer walkouts.
Other Thoughts: I saw some coeds of the female variety and they were smoking hot so I've decided if I were younger, this would be the school for me. A great little course to play and lovely coeds. I'd enroll, play golf by day and chase the christian cuties by night until they caught onto my scam. Then they would send my heathen behind out the back gate. Maybe tarred and feathered. Who knows? It might be worth it!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 The need to sneak?

2-4    6/26/2010   7/3/2010
Review By: a_beautifulplace
Played: 36  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.7 Years
7 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Very quiet
-Nice Campus
-Great layout (for the most part)
-A wide variety of challenges in shots.
-It has a pretty nice flow
-There is a lot of wildlife and the course offers a very nice hike
-I've never been caught playing there :P

All and all the pros of this course outweigh the cons, drastically.
Cons: -It's private
-They really need to mow a few sections
-^There is a lot of poison ivy/oak
-The tee boxes on some holes are very obvious, where on some it is very hard to find where the short/long/pro tees are.
-ONCE AGAIN, IT'S PRIVATE (A LITTLE SELFISH FOR A CHRISTIAN COLLEGE EH!?)
Other Thoughts: This course is very fun, and offers a feel unlike any other course in the metro. It is, however, unfortunate that it must be private. To anyone at Bethel College: Please reconsider opening your course to the public so others can enjoy this excellent course. You are one of two courses in the area (and there are a ton of courses around) that are PRIVATE (no option of even paying) Why is this? I know that a major concern is the crowd and litter that grows as you open it to the public, but with the right receptacles around, a lot of courses tend to stay pretty clean. You already have obvious foot traffic marks (which is inevitable at any course) I really would also like you to consider how hypocritical it is to be a Christian (Catholic?) College and won't share your precious Frisbee course with anyone on the outside.

I will continue to play your course and on a weekly basis. I will also continue to keep my foot traffic to a minimum and garbage to zero. Most frisbee golf players are very respectable of the land and mean no malice against yours!

7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course in A Clean Environment

5+    5/22/2008   5/23/2008
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 127  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/18/2009
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Three Tees for every hole: the white and blue, then red for short. Especially with the white/blue setup (see below) this course has a very nice variety of different, unusual, and even unique shots. Tunnel shots, steeeeeeeep uphill long drives (holes 6, 7 & 8), steep doglegs thru trees off the top of a hill, a super-long hole underneath giant power lines, this course has everything. The only thing this course is missing is a true water hole, since the lake only comes into play on hole 4, and the wide fairway and reeds make it very easy to stay out of the water. Lots of interesting hills. College keeps their campus well maintained (not neccesarily for DG).

Very pretty setting, and its never been close to crowded when I've been there This course is a hidden gem, though it is clear that the students who made this course went through a lot of effort to make it happen, and continue to work with administrators to keep it going.
Cons: With all the variety and challenges on this course, it is on the brink of greatness. However, in some cases, it seems like the course is too hard (blue tee on hole 6 requires a loong tomahawk up a hillside just to get to where the green starts.

Also, some of the tees are very hard to find. They should post a map. Some of the stone block tees buried in the groud are hard to find, and many of the painted on distances are rubbed off the tees. I have added what hole lengths are still ledgible on the tees, and paced out the rest. Added 180ft to hole 7's posted distance because the tees reflect the old basket placement (a 180ft difference)

The Course designers have expressed a need to keep changing the course, and making it a little more difficult each time, which is unfortunate since the pin and tee placements are wonderful just the way they are. The only thing removing them from perfection is the lack of signage and the large pathes of long grass in the middle of some fairways.

(ed: 6/12/08) The never seems to be mowed, and keeps getting longer. Its like playing in a cornfield if you land off the fairway, if cornfields had itchweed and poison ivy in them. Wear longsleeves.

Since the tees are hard to find, heres a guide for the whites and blues, the reds are all pretty easy to find ( usually about 150 ft from pin)

TEE PLACEMENT GUIDE

HOLE 1: Both will shoot at basket through a gap in the wall of trees separating hole #2 from view of the parking lot.
White- Dirt patch just right of the walking path as you leave parking lot, near sewer cover.
Blue- From white tee, turn right, and follow the mowed strip along the black fence-thing parallel to edge of parking lot. You will shoot with little drainage ditches in front of and behind you.

HOLE 2:
White- From Basket 1, go left along hillside, just in front of treeline closer to parking lot walking path
Blue- to the right of Basket 1 a bit downhill, by the walking path closer to lake (the one you cross for hole 3)

HOLE 3:
White-in low area btw hills of baskets 1 & 2, (close to Blue tee #2) shoot across jogging path, thru gap in trees on riverbank (where there are stepping logs to cross), dogleg right to pin,
Blue- on same side of creek as pin, (cross walking path downhill from pin #2) shoot straight slight left fade, creek & trees on right, wooded hill on left

HOLE 4:
Whit- closer to playgorund, on the raised area by the park bench
Blue-the worn dirt spot by the lakeshore/reeds (path from hole 3 leads to them, youll see worn spot on left, uphill to the right behind a tree is other)

HOLE 5:
Blue- slightly left of lakeside path from previous basket
White- Climb hill on your right (before canoe rack) to get to small stone wall

HOLE 6:
White- just left of lakeside path from previous basket
Blue- furhter down lakeside path, blue will be on left (yes its a tough drive up the hill)

HOLE 7:
Blue- Concrete pad next to woods on the right near pin 6,
White- Stone wall area by woods on left, just uphill from blue tee #6

HOLE 8:
Blue- obvious concrete tee pad on the right just after vegetable garden
White- Before garden, follow trail into woods on the left, pin is on second rise, looking out over, the big marshy valley with long grass, and a narrow strip mowed on the right

HOLE 9: This can be tricky to find at first. From pin 8, follow gravel path to the right, through woods, back towards concrete tee for blue #8 & garden
White- is back by the vegetable garden past to Blue tee #8 (follow thin strip of grass up the hill btw garden and treeline at hills edge),
Blue- turn left into the parking lot at the bottom of the hill just below the garden.
In both cases, shoot across road into open field, & watch for joggers and cars!!
Other Thoughts: There's no "long tee" just white & blue, then red is the short ones.

As confirmed by one of the students in charge of its design, neither white or blue is the "long tee". Varies from hole to hole, but it is designed so that playing the nine whites is comparably difficult to playing the blues. Thus the course is meant to be played as 18, or an equally hard 'back' and 'front' nine, rather than just hard, medium and easy tees for 9.
The best way to do 18 is play all blues then all whites, or vice versa. The two sets play differently from each other on every hole, and one is significantly harder in most cases, but trust me it evens out in the end.

Use a spotter, especially on holes 6-8, or be prepared to look for a long time in the woods and long grass for your disc

!!!!!!!!Most importantly, remember that this course is at a Christian College & Seminary, so be respectful and keep the controlled substances and lewd behavior at home, or they will close this amazing course!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.