Disc Golf Store
Harrah, OK
Harrah Lions Park Share
Uploaded By: MiketheGoalie Hole #9 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / --   3 / 182ft.   3 / 286ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 White Tee: Basket is dogleg left



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Very Fun 9-holer

5+    8/23/2012   12/14/2012
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 51  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great baskets
Multiple tees
Great use of available land
Bathrooms
Love the elevation changes
Quick rounds
Ace chances
Play both tees for 18 holes
Playground area for kiddies
Simple logical navigation
Multiple lines to the basket. Take your chances.
Decent risk/reward
Great for beginners all the way to pros working on shaping their midrange lines.
Good to take family or newbies to
Ample parking
Well shaded most of thje day in the summer (except #8)
Hole 9 is a great way to finish with a challenge.
Fun fun fun

And there is a hole on hole 8.

Favorite Hole(s): #2, #9
Cons: Natural tees
Can have ticks (bring DEET)
Playground doesn't come into play but stray kids might get in the way.
A little short (NBD for me, the trees make it challenging enough for fun.)
Other Thoughts: When I go I play both tees to get in 18. The tees aren't for apart but still give you a different challenge because of the angles. Great little 9-hole course. Hit it for a quick round on lunch or drive from the city to play it through a couple of times. Its well worth the drive to get there. I have been back every chance I get to be in the harrah area. The fun factor on this course is pretty high. It will draw you back for another chance to shoot lower.

With concrete pads and tee signs this course would easily be a 3.5-4, its that much fun.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun Short Course

5+    5/10/2012   5/16/2012
Review By: Cap-Tan
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love this course, great use of elevation! Baskets are nice and there are two sets of tees(although there is not a considerable distance difference) Great for beginners all the way to pros! I've only been playing for about a year and I shot 6 under on the full 18 shooting from both sets of tees, which is good for me considering I usually finish +. Multitude of lines to take on most holes!
Cons: Hole 6...haha and when its hot out there are tons of ticks!! i always check my socks and legs before each tee off.
Other Thoughts: I love this course, I wish they would put in concrete tee boxes tho...

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Elevation Matter

5+    8/16/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: MiketheGoalie
Played: 32  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Excellent use of elevation throughout course.
-Moderately wooded and forces the player to make precise throws to get to playable upshots and putts.
-Balanced for Lefties and Righties
-Easy to Navigate
-Quick
-Pristine baskets
-Pavilions, garbage cans and a water pump. Nicely maintained playground for the kids.
Cons: -Bit of a drive from OKC metro.
-Short holes
-Dirt tees (not a big deal, but some will complain...)
-Little difference between White and Blue tees on most holes.
-#6 is a tad on the WTF side.
-Brambles and heavy woods on #8/#9.
-Still needs some beating in (paths) in some areas.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course per say, just not a great one. Excellent use of available land, especially the elevation. There is a "creek" in play on the first six holes, but I haven't seen any water in a month. It is the summer though. There are enough trees and thick bushes to force you to really control your release and approach however, there isn't anything overly challenging if you moderate your power in favor of control. I think the designer missed an obvious opportunity to add a little length on #8. It could be backed up toward the hole another 50-80 feet easy. The trees on this course are TOUGH hardwood. Even dinky-looking branches will stop your disc dead.
Quick Walkthrough:
-#1 is pretty straightforward tunnel shot. No Blue tee apparent.
-#2 is the first use of elevation and forces a controlled LH fade.
-#3 from the side of the pavilion is another tight tunnel with elevation in play as you try to squeeze through one opening into the clearing containing the pin.
-#4 Like #2 but a little longer.
-#5 Same theme as before, with a few more "strategically placed" trees.
-#6 Try to throw through the canopy and up a hill over/through a grove or lay up and throw up a hill and over/through a grove. A blind hole where the pin is directly in front of you...
-#7 Pretty standard tunnel shot, but there is a LHBH skip line that can be taken as well.
-I'm pretty sure every species/variety of thorned plant makes its home along the right side of #8.
-#9 Blue is the proverbial "Thread the Needle" tunnel shot. Canopy is too thick for OH and you're shooting 100% blind.


9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Short & Sweet

1    6/8/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: jrcamp001
Played: 198  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 17.9 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Excellent use of available land in a multi-use park. Lots of trees and good use of the creek. Excellent baskets. Good signage on baskets and tees. Easy to follow layout. Alternate tees provide more challenging shots.
Cons: #5 is a bit close to the pavillion and brings a bat-box into play. Tee signs need distances.
Other Thoughts: Short course - excellent for beginners and a quick round.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Close to home...

1    3/7/2010   3/7/2010
Review By: DG_Wizard
Played: 20  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very close to the house. I'm so glad it was put in. I live less than 5 miles away, and until now, I have always had to drive 30 minutes or so to play. This course is well maintained, and the convenience of it is awesome. I met the course designer while playing today, and he has plans to add bridges, possible new holes, and possibly even start a league here. I'm so glad to see this course pop up in this area. The course is challenging due to trees and elevation changes. Now if the bigger parks in Choctaw and Harrah would just follow the lead of this quaint course, this could really become a popular spot for DG!
Cons: This course is way too short. There isn't a lot of room on the land he had to work with, but he has made the most of it. I think eventually we will see concrete tee pads, but for now it's just dirt. #6 is a ridiculously tough shot, but it helped in adding difficulty to the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is up-and-coming. You can see where there are plans for bridges, and some benches are starting to appear. I enjoyed my round. My 12 year old son even had several chances for par on a few holes. There is a definite ambiance playing here. It has a very "home town" kind of feel. Beginners, pros, and those in-between can enjoy a round and take advantage of the quick play. We finished 9 holes in about 30 minutes. I look forward to possibly making this my home course and playing league if/when it is available. There are also picnic pavilions and a kid playground which make it ideal to bring the family.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course

2-4    3/2/2010   3/2/2010
Review By: okiebullgod
Played: 41  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a pretty good fun factor and several tees/holes that will challenge you. If you've ever played Little Axe and Will Rogers, this course is short and well kept like LA and plays back and forth over a creek from elevated tees to elevated baskets much the way Will Rogers does. The course has brand new Mach 2's. Do play this course from both pin locations. Although they had limited space and most of the blue and white tees aren't separated by much distance, they made good use of space and angles. Some of the white tees have more difficult lines or lack thereof than the blue tees do. As Roc1time said, 6 is crazy. It's a must get lucky hole with a low ceiling near the tee, then a creek bed with a big cluster of tall hardwoods standing guard in front of the basket. Thumber works on this hole from the white tee, but you still have to have some Treesus to park it. I would say the blue tee on hole 9 would be the signature hole here. This tee is recessed back in the woods about 50 feet from the open fairway, and plays over a creek surrounded by trees, through a small window at the far side of the creek from the tee. It's an easy shot with something stable if you can hit the line/window. If not, you're looking at some strokes.
Cons: Playing across a creek bed makes for a soggy round when there has been rain. multiple bridges should be the next task here.
Other Thoughts: There really isn't anywhere to lose plastic, the course is fun while still somewhat challenging, beginner to pro will have fun here. The city of Harrah and the Harrah Lions have done a nice job with this park. Thanks

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Close and good

1    12/13/2009   12/18/2009
Review By: mikeb
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice little 9 hole. Makes good use of the terrain, so there's a good variation of uphill and downhill shots. Alt tees make for some interesting challenges. Playground in the middle of the park within sight of just about every hole should you take children along who won't be playing with you. Most everything is marked fairly well.
Cons: The previous reviewer stated "Hole 6 is kind of stupid", I will agree...it is pretty much just a straight on shot into a variety of trees, shrubs, and thorny stuff (I managed to find a nice hole in it on my drive and was able to par it quite easily, but not before I'd snagged my pants on a row of thorns). I found a few different spots that had a fair amount of thorns, so either keep a watchful eye or wear long pants. No water fountains or restrooms, so bring your own beverage and go before you get there. Holes 8 & 9 aren't with the rest of the course; you have to play 1-7 and then go across the parking lot and back a little ways to get to hole 8 and then come back towards the parking lot for 9.
Other Thoughts: So far it is the closest course to be created near me and it does have some good challenging holes. If you are just getting into the sport, it might be a nice place to work on some of the shots you'd need for a course like Will Rogers (parts of the course remindeded me a bit of Will Rogers in the fact there was a good amount of up and down, though the holes were generally shorter). While most of the tee areas are pretty straight forward, putting numbers on the posts to where you see the numbers from the side you should be teeing off from would help (again 5 & 7 weren't immediately clear to me). Now if we could just get a course in Choctaw Creek Park.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 COOL

5+    10/2/2009   10/4/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 12.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very cool little 9 holer. Everything is labeled very well and very easy to follow. The tees are marked with blue and white posts marking each tee. The navigation is very easy as well for first timers which is always a plus. The dual tees change it up enough making it fun yet challenging. I am a fan of natural pads which they have on this course. There is lots of shade due to most of the course weaving through the trees. There are alot of different shots not only in the park but of most of the holes making for options for everyone playing. The elevation is used very well for being such a small park as well.
Cons: Hole 6 is kind of stupid. There isnt relly a line and its just a throw it straight and hope it goes through the the big wall of foliage. I am no a fan of Mach 2's which are here but they were ok. The grass was a little tall but not horrible. Lots of the burrs thatare painful when marking you lie or picking up your disc.
Other Thoughts: My good friend lives minutes away from which is neat because we were about a half an hour away from golf before. It is super cool that a little town put in such an effort with this course. There is a little playground in the area for the little ones that dont want to play golf.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.