Pagosa Springs, CO 
Reservoir Hill DGC Share
Uploaded By: giles Hole #15 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 206ft.   3 / 286ft.   3 / 286ft.   3 / 206ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Great town and great course

2-4    8/2/2016   8/2/2016
Review By: docnakona
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gorgeous natural course with pines on big time Signal Hill
Not crowded
Generally very well signed
A couple of awesome downhills where Height/altitude matter to clear big ponderosa pines.
Free and right downtown
Wildlife and views
Cons: A couple of holes 12 & 17 esp were hard to find.
Lightning in summer afternoons-- you can be exposed up here.
Altitude .... Takes about 2.5-3 miles to clear the course and O2 is thin

Other Thoughts: Lovely tourist town with great folks...one of my favorite spots in the world.
Good mountain biking on same course (but they do a nice job of separating bikers and players ).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun Mountain Course

1    7/17/2016   7/24/2016
Review By: DiscChaserDoug
Played: 92  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- well maintained
- good signage at beginning and at each hole
- not a lot of ground clutter
- always a clear route to basket (which I couldn't always hit)
- challenging for technical game, but not discouraging
- electronic map available (be sure to have a copy)
Cons:
- 2 courses, which means lots of tee signs which can be confusing (be nice if each course had the top part of the pole with the tee sign painted different colors - i.e.: one course red and one blue)
- stones around tee pads can cause issues at end of throws
Other Thoughts: Really different from courses I play in Kansas including the elevation. I really enjoyed this course and would encourage anyone to play it that has the opportunity. I've never seen anything quite like Hole 12!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun and Challengeing

1    7/30/2015   9/24/2015
Review By: mikesh1975
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is very well maintained. There is full signage that is easy to understand. The baskets are visible through the trees and most of the underbrush is gone. This course takes more finesse than power.
Cons: Trees!
Other Thoughts: I've played on a few heavily wooded courses and this by far the best maintained. The flow from hole to hole is intuitive so it was easy to find the next hole.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My wife and I loved this course ...

2-4    7/27/2014   7/29/2014
Review By: GregInTheCanyon
Played: 31  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/27/2015
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I think the spacing of the trees on this course is one of the best wooded courses I've seen.
Cons: I thought the signage was better than many, but think something at each basket showing where the next tee is would be helpful. At nice dry times the dirt tees were fine, at other times concrete pads or blocks might be nice.
Other Thoughts: The reason I give this course a 4.5 is that it is the best we've done for my wife and I to play together and really enjoy. On many holes the trees are a "great equalizer" between our drives, and it met my wife's two main criteria which are 1. Not likely to lose a disc and 2. Not swampy and snake free.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/11/2014   7/15/2014
Review By: Canis Lupis
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Thoughtful lay out. Good mix of required shots for RH FH&BH. Not too long or short. Seems to be well maintained. Beautiful pine forest
Cons: Signage isn't great. There were times when you had to do a bit of wandering to find the tee. Some holes could afford to have some trees removed and a fairway established.
Other Thoughts: Very solid course. I was driving through for work and decided to stop and play. Not disappointed! Some course in SW CO can be suspect, but I would definitely play this one again.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Techinical

2-4    6/19/2014   6/20/2014
Review By: fireodie
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Fun traditional Colorado Mountain Course. Starts with good technical shots and ends with fun open shots.
Cons: Hole 12 is difficult to find at first- follow the trail to the tee box up and to the south of tee 11.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

5+    9/9/2012   10/3/2012
Review By: markmcc
Played: 164  Reviewed: 154  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/2/2013
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course set in a high elevation pine forest. Virtually all drives require hitting gaps in trees, and some of the holes are very tight. There is significant elevation change across the course, with Hole 12 being a signature downhill hole with over 100' of drop.

Good Chainstar baskets and excellent tee signs for both sets of tees.

This was already a great course, but the addition of a second set of tees (Raven tees) have made it even better. For me, the original tees (Eagle tees) are plenty challenging, and I was afraid that a more difficult second set would be too much for my game, but that's not the case. The Raven tees are generally about the same distance, but offset left or right to give a different line that is often a bit tighter. A few of the Raven tees add significant distance (77' on Hole 7, 84' on Hole 16), but the alternate tee on Hole 12 is actually 200' shorter, so it isn't all about distance. The Raven tee on Hole 2 is interesting in that it is oriented 90 degrees from the Eagle tee, creating a 90 degree dogleg right to the basket.
Cons: The tee pads are natural dirt and can get pretty gummy and slick with rain. They are currently flat and well marked, but they can get rutted up with use.

The Chainstar baskets have no color band at the top, so can be tricky to spot on this well-shaded course. A local told me that the city fathers didn't want the Innova baskets with the big yellow band, as this is a multi-use park and they wanted to keep the baskets a bit more discrete. Fair enough...
Other Thoughts: Great Colorado mountain town, and a couple of stores carry a good assortment of discs.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The Hill

5+    8/3/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: giles
Played: 166  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 19.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/26/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Reservoir hill is a great spot for a disc golf course. Located close to down town Pagosa Springs in the San Juan Forest and playing on the side of a mountain/hill. A beautiful setting with huge ponderosa pines, abundant wildlife and the occasional view of Pagosa Springs. The holes offer a good variety of distances to keep it interesting with no holes on flat ground. A few interesting pin placements give you something to think about. Most holes have a one or more defined lines to get into birdie range. Great tee signs and baskets with a map, bulletin board and lost and found box at the first tee. Natural tee boxes have been in good shape every time I've played and the local club guys make an effort to maintain them. The locals have also put in nice steps where needed. The borders of the natural tees are well defined so you don't end up with the tee area creeping forward like it tends to do when not defined. The front 9 plays mostly up the hill then the back 9 gets you back down in 3 holes so while you are continuously walking up and down you only have to deal with the hike all the way up once. The walks from basket to tee are not too bad except for a few of the later holes. Most tee boxes have some type of seating for a much needed rest on this mountain course. A set of alternate tees (no tee signs) give you a fresh look at the course, but may be hard to figure out without a guide.
Cons: A few thoughts on what would really set this course off nicely. Tee signs need an arrow by the basket showing the general direction of the next tee. Some of the uphill hole's tee boxes could use more leveling, I'm not a fan of having to do a run-up up-hill to throw up a hill.
Things that probably can't be changed that take away from this wonderful course. No parking at the course. You have to park midway up the hill at the gate and follow the road up to the course, the great view of Pagosa Peak on the way back down does do a little to alleviate this inconvenience. Holes 5, 11 & 13 are fluky and take more luck than skill to find a gap in the trees to get the birdie. The current design has no two-shot par 4 holes. A good player, with a little luck, is looking to score a 2 on every hole. Even with a good variety of distances and left and right turning holes I only use 1 driver 1 mid and 1 putter to play this course. Mando sign on 18 (to keep you off 12's basket) keeps disappearing. The alternate tees don't have signs and are laid out in a way that would make it dangerous for people to be playing different tees on a busy day (though this is not likely a problem as I've never seen more than a few groups on the hill at once). Not really a con, but Reservoir hill is a popular place and you will almost always have someone else on the hill either riding a MTB, walking their dog or out hiking so be aware of your surroundings. Course is closed for camping and baskets pulled during the folk festivals that take place on Reservoir Hill, so if you are making a trip to play the course check the dates for other events.
Other Thoughts: It is really cool to see how Pagosa Springs embraced disc golf. Most outdoor store carry discs. The main signs in town have a disc golf basket with an arrow pointing to the course. The local Pagosa Disc Golf club is trying to raise funds for a second course on the other side of town. If you are looking for a vacation spot to get out of the summer heat, I would recommend Pagosa Springs.
Despite the throw and hope factor on a few hole and the lack of par 4 holes, this is one of my favorite courses and has great replay value.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  reservoir hill

1    6/6/2012   6/11/2012
Review By: rockstardr
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging course for a beginner like myself but lots of fun. Lots of trees make for interesting shots and tons of shade over the whole course.
Cons: Some of the tee boxes were hard to find and not all of the walking paths were clearly visible. Although there are very convenient roads going up reservoir hill, we weren't allowed to use them. We had to park by the community center and hike up the hill only to learn that numerous fiddle toting campers were not only driving on the course but parking in the middle of it.
Other Thoughts: Make sure there isn't anything special going on at reservoir hill before you play. We showed up during a folk music camp and ended up throwing over, around, and into tents, RV's, and vehicles from about hole 8 through hole 11. Whoever thought camping on a disc golf course was a good idea was an idiot.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/14/2012   5/13/2012
Review By: tcumpton
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very fun Course. Hit your lines and you will be rewarded. Distances vary so you can throw anything from putters to very long range drivers. Beautiful environment and a lot of excersize envolved. Definitely be back to this course very often. Very easy to find next tee pads.
Cons: A couple of holes have trees down the middle of the fairway so you basically throw and hope you dont hit a tree. Play good, score good. Play bad, score horrible.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.