Bristol, CT
Page Park Share
Uploaded By: PageParkDG Hole #7 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 345ft.   3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Great Course

2-4    9/19/2013   1/27/2014
Review By: DPGRAY1962
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.9 Years
Pros: Beautiful challenging course with one fairway completely over water. Great variety of fairways with lots of trees and only a few wide open ones.
Cons: Can be very wet and muddy in some places. Frequently had to hold play for hikers to pass by. One fairway is over a paved area and past a pavilion that is often a crowded area.
Other Thoughts: Great course that is definitely worth a try. In warmer weather bring bug spray as the mosquitoes can be a problem.

One of the best courses in Connecticut

5+    10/26/2013   10/28/2013
Review By: chikago12
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/31/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Extremely well maintained. Course is clean, very nice concrete tiled tee boxes on every holes that feasibly could have them (some holes start on paths, so they couldn't put tee boxes in)

-Excellent mix of open and wooded holes. 6, 7, and 14 are the only truly open holes, but there a bunch of holes let you rip one if you have good control, most notably 13.

-Holes are interesting! Between forehands, backhands, thumbers, you'll need every trick in the bag to navigate this course successfully.

-Hole 12 over the lake might be my favorite hole in disc golf. 175 feet, dead center. Throw it straight and low or a soldier ain't coming home. EDIT - I've since realized that the best route on this hole is to hyzer over the lake and let it skip in on the bank. Further adding to the awesomeness of the hole!

-Reasonably difficult. For someone who throws around 300', some of the hole length will be pretty difficult, especially stuff like hole 2, a par 3 430 footer.

-Beautiful scenery in a gorgeous park. Number 8 in particular in the fall is beautiful.

-Course is extremely well designed, where even the short holes are interesting. There are no 'throwaway' holes here. Perfect example of this is 15, a very short hole along a road. Shot could have been pretty boring, but the green is on a huge slope so you either can go for a dangerous birdie putt or play it safe and go for par.

-Big open field right next to the course for warming up. Basket for 18 is right by the start and can be used as a warm up pin for putting.

-Short tees on a lot of holes (2,5,6,9,12,13,18) , most notably 12, so you don't have to throw over the water (as much).
Cons: -Some of the holes feel unnecessarily punishing. The upshot on 2 and the tee shot on 3 in particular don't seem to have a real alley and are more of a throw it and pray sort of hole, although I still really love 3 because if you get through it all it's pretty satisfying. 16 also sort of feels this way. EDIT: Since realized that I was just bad. The alleys are there, and they are plenty big, you just need to know how to manipulate your disc. 3 just go wide left and let the disc turnover towards the green, 16 same thing.

-Problem with returning discs that someone else mentioned is real. I've lost quite a few discs here, all tagged, and have only had a couple returned.
Other Thoughts: Now that I've been playing for almost a year, I've learned to appreciate Page even more. Challenging, but not overly so. Lot of love from the local community. None of the holes are throwaways. Every single one is memorable. Come here and golf!!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Worth traveling to

1    10/14/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: nstraz
Played: 56  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great tee signs and directions
Fair fairways
Great use of elevation changes
Long and short tees on some holes
Well kept grounds
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Stopped here while traveling down I-84. I was really impressed with the course and would definitely stop there again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course, constantly improving

5+    7/6/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: Flyngtuna
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great, well maintained course that gets better every time I visit. Whoever maintains this course does a terrific job - lots of woods, but there's rarely debris and now there's a tee-box on nearly every hole.

There are only a few open holes to really let loose, most of the holes require more control than distance.
Cons: Not a lot of complaints regarding the course - I will say lost discs seems less likely to find their way home here than any other course I've played. Between my friends and I we've lost ~4-5 discs (all tagged) and only 1 has been returned to date.
Other Thoughts: Great course with challenges for experienced players but not too tricky for beginners. A good mix of woods, open holes, and a great water hazard on 12 for added fun.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Can't stay away!

1    6/5/2013   6/5/2013
Review By: sneakytiki
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12 Years
This review was updated on 6/10/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Somewhat heavily wooded with a good amount of elevation change, Page Park has a tendency to test your finesse. Several tees are nicely perched, giving you a view down into this serene, mossy, ferny wood tucked into the middle of Brisol CT in a most unexpectedly pleasant way.

Though many holes are wooded, there is always room to pick your favorite line, and when you do hit it just right it is very rewarding seeing your disc navigate its way through the trees.

The more open holes offer a chance to let it rip... stretch it out a bit. There are no SUPER long holes (only two par 4's, the rest 3's) but you are never left wishing there was a 650'er because the course keeps you sufficiently entertained.
Cons: It can get a bit damp and muddy at certain times... but this is New England... as long as you don't mind stepping in some mud, or digging your disc out of a little creek bed you should live.

The mix of hole layout could be better. You definitely do not need every weapon in your arsenal to get through a round here.

The tee signs could use some work. When they can be found, they are typically laminated paper or something like that, stapled to a tree. Some are missing.
Other Thoughts: Don't be fooled by the number of "water" holes listed here. All of them but one are just a small little stream running through the hole, not going to steal your discs. The one hole over the small pond in the park tests the nerves, but a long drive is not required to get over it, I usually throw a putter off the tee for an ace run, usually an easy birdie.

UPDATE: I've been noticing a lot of poison ivy. Be wary in the woods and scrub down after playing.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best coure

5+    4/4/2013   5/11/2013
Review By: jared18
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Amazing course best course kept in great condition and all around a nice walk and a great time if you have been playing for a while if you have not i would stay away. You do find discs i found my sp line squall there amazing disc favriote disc in my bag!
Cons: Some holes are very tricky you cant really find them and some are really hard. You do not get a score card or on some holes there are not sheets. The water hole i lost 2 discs you can get it caught in the tree's easy and it goes in the water tough lie.
Other Thoughts: My family lives in connecticut and i live in NC my experience there was amazing id love to do it again.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Made to be fun

5+    5/7/2013   5/9/2013
Review By: AgentJ
Played: 123  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Free to play, open year round dawn to dusk.
Plenty of off-street free parking.
Emphasis on fun shots at this medium difficulty course.
Tees and baskets placed on peaks and valleys throughout.
Excellent flat, paver stone, patio style tee pads.
Baskets (DISCatchers) are in excellent shape.
Variety of shots, balanced between right/left, short/long, early/late turns.
Nice tee signs and next tee signs.
Informative kiosk at hole 1, has course maps, league info for all the local courses, and other nice stuff.
Can play solo in about an hour.
Dedicated volunteers who care.
Cons: - Constant battle between DGers and litterers. We try very hard to keep the course clean, but you may come across broken glass.
- Some people have trouble finding the parking area near hole 1. It's WAY up at the very end of the park road. Just look for the kiosk.
- Some parts of the course adjacent to other park uses, so be careful and let others have right of way, we are the new kids on the block.
- No dedicated practice basket yet (maybe in 2013), but you can warm up on 18's basket which is only a few feet from the tee of 1.
Other Thoughts: Excellent challenge for beginner and mid-level players, with par 56 only attainable on a very good round.
Pro-level players can consider par to be closer to 50 or 51, and it is quite challenging to get lower than that. Tight lanes on the wooded holes, precarious basket positions, and lots of elevation changes keep most pro scores in check. You will need a variety of tee shots.
A counter-balance to the very difficult neighboring Panthorn and Wickham courses (both of which you should also go play).
The course has come a long way, the locals have proudly stepped up and supported this place, and it shows. The number of players and interest grows every year. 7/21/2013 will hold the first Page Park tournament.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Page Turner

1    9/3/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: esdubya
Played: 93  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 18.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some fun shots, great terrain, well marked and easy to navigate.

You can tell this course is a labor of love by the locals, and it seems to be a work in progress. I had a great time playing my one round out here.
Cons: A few holes have some safety concerns, such as throwing off walking paths and over or near picnic areas.
-That one hole where you throw over an abandoned basketball court that is fenced in. Not a big fan of that hole..
-A few too many blind holes.
Other Thoughts: Page Park is better than most courses out there, but at the same time it is slightly frustrating because there is a potential here for a better course.

Just a few basket location and/or tee location tweaks would go a long way here to make this course 4.5-5 rated.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great first time

1    6/29/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: ryan35
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great layout, easy to find next tee. Good elevation changes. Signs on trees for basket location and distance. Baskets in good locations. Barely ever was there a tree in my way of getting a good drive. Great mix of long and short holes. imo great for newer players and experienced ones should like it too
Cons: Maybe I was thrown off by manchester but some par 5's could be 4's. I am no expert but did well my first time here. Hole with water not too difficult but I hyzerd ten feet off the bank into the water. Hole ten was a little tight with trees but the rest were more than manageable. make sure you keep driving to the very back parking lot, beyond the pool. parked in back but wasnt far enough so walked holes 15-18 to get over to 1 since I had never been before
Other Thoughts: Granted I have only been playing a few months and have only been to 6 courses so far in CT. Could be my favorite so far. Manchester was great as well. this one was a little more forgiving, wouldnt consider it a "pro course" but probably the most fun I have had yet. Will be back much more. Where I am located its a bit closer than the manchester course so its easier for me to get to.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice Park

1    6/3/2012   6/5/2012
Review By: aktmjcor
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely laid out. Good versatility with elevation. Some open holes and my favorite #12 over the pond! Plenty of birdie ops. Fairways were clean, baskets were on the new side. Was easily accepted by 3 locals Sean, Tim and Dave! they showed me around.
Cons: without my guides, some of the tees could be hard to find. Tight wooded holes (too many) would like to see some more open. Some very short holes too. One hole throws over a blacktop (OB) and past a pavilion which had people under it. A bit of a hazard but we had an audience!
Other Thoughts: overall I liked the park alot. I wish I were closer (NJ) I would play this park often. I hear it is one of the best aside from Wickham Park about an hour from Bristol.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.