Bristol, CT
Page Park Share
Uploaded By: PageParkDG Hole #10 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 200ft.   3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Course

2-4    9/19/2013   1/27/2014
Review By: DPGRAY1962
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.9 Years
Pros: Beautiful challenging course with one fairway completely over water. Great variety of fairways with lots of trees and only a few wide open ones.
Cons: Can be very wet and muddy in some places. Frequently had to hold play for hikers to pass by. One fairway is over a paved area and past a pavilion that is often a crowded area.
Other Thoughts: Great course that is definitely worth a try. In warmer weather bring bug spray as the mosquitoes can be a problem.

Can't stay away!

1    6/5/2013   6/5/2013
Review By: sneakytiki
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12 Years
This review was updated on 6/10/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Somewhat heavily wooded with a good amount of elevation change, Page Park has a tendency to test your finesse. Several tees are nicely perched, giving you a view down into this serene, mossy, ferny wood tucked into the middle of Brisol CT in a most unexpectedly pleasant way.

Though many holes are wooded, there is always room to pick your favorite line, and when you do hit it just right it is very rewarding seeing your disc navigate its way through the trees.

The more open holes offer a chance to let it rip... stretch it out a bit. There are no SUPER long holes (only two par 4's, the rest 3's) but you are never left wishing there was a 650'er because the course keeps you sufficiently entertained.
Cons: It can get a bit damp and muddy at certain times... but this is New England... as long as you don't mind stepping in some mud, or digging your disc out of a little creek bed you should live.

The mix of hole layout could be better. You definitely do not need every weapon in your arsenal to get through a round here.

The tee signs could use some work. When they can be found, they are typically laminated paper or something like that, stapled to a tree. Some are missing.
Other Thoughts: Don't be fooled by the number of "water" holes listed here. All of them but one are just a small little stream running through the hole, not going to steal your discs. The one hole over the small pond in the park tests the nerves, but a long drive is not required to get over it, I usually throw a putter off the tee for an ace run, usually an easy birdie.

UPDATE: I've been noticing a lot of poison ivy. Be wary in the woods and scrub down after playing.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Page Turner

1    9/3/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: esdubya
Played: 93  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 18.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some fun shots, great terrain, well marked and easy to navigate.

You can tell this course is a labor of love by the locals, and it seems to be a work in progress. I had a great time playing my one round out here.
Cons: A few holes have some safety concerns, such as throwing off walking paths and over or near picnic areas.
-That one hole where you throw over an abandoned basketball court that is fenced in. Not a big fan of that hole..
-A few too many blind holes.
Other Thoughts: Page Park is better than most courses out there, but at the same time it is slightly frustrating because there is a potential here for a better course.

Just a few basket location and/or tee location tweaks would go a long way here to make this course 4.5-5 rated.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice Park

1    6/3/2012   6/5/2012
Review By: aktmjcor
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely laid out. Good versatility with elevation. Some open holes and my favorite #12 over the pond! Plenty of birdie ops. Fairways were clean, baskets were on the new side. Was easily accepted by 3 locals Sean, Tim and Dave! they showed me around.
Cons: without my guides, some of the tees could be hard to find. Tight wooded holes (too many) would like to see some more open. Some very short holes too. One hole throws over a blacktop (OB) and past a pavilion which had people under it. A bit of a hazard but we had an audience!
Other Thoughts: overall I liked the park alot. I wish I were closer (NJ) I would play this park often. I hear it is one of the best aside from Wickham Park about an hour from Bristol.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Heavily Wooded

2-4    6/19/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: FrechetteDL
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 6/22/2011
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Although wooded, it seemed that the tunnels between the trees were reasonably wide. It was typically easy to locate the hole, and I only rarely hit a tree. I will be back!
Cons: I got lost between two holes because one of the tiny arrows directing me was flipped backwards. A map would help a lot. Not suitable for those who have trouble with rough terrain.
Other Thoughts: I should have worn rain boots, not sneakers. Might be better after a few dry days in a row.
Update: Much better after a few dry days, but I lost a disc on 16, which is crowded with trees and now heavy undergrowth.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/20/2011   4/29/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 102  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 5.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Page Park gives you a mostly wooded course with some open areas. The use of elevation was very nice and not too steep. There is a natural flow so navigation is fairly easy.

Other Pros:
- short tees available on longer holes
- info kiosk at tee #1
- scenic and very clean
- variety (turns, open/wooded, up/downhill, distances)
- risk/ reward on pond hole #12
- challenging but fair
- baskets are in amazing shape
Cons: I liked the wooded part of the course so I was disappointed to play near backyards and buildings. I realize to include the open area shots that was needed.

Tee signs are lamenated paper tacked to a tree and do the job, I suspect these are temporary.

I personally loved the throw from the deck (#12), but casual disc golfers may be overwhelmed.
Other Thoughts: My most memorable/ favorite hole was #12, it's unique and challenging.

Hole #1's tee pad is amazing, they aren't all like that. It seems the locals are working very hard and eventually the entire course will have all the details to make this an amazing place.

Please keep me updated with all improvements.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, heavily wooded

2-4    6/28/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: leemurr6208
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are a lot of different styles of holes, some are shots that take you uphill, some are downhill, and some are wide open in a field. The course is very clean and well maintained, giving you a great experience during play.
Cons: The only con is the lack of bridges/or crossings over the few small rivers/brooks. you have to get a little wet if you want to play this course. A few of the holes have "hidden" goals, which makes it difficult as a first time player of the course, to know where to aim... No bathrooms or water fountains at all along the course, can be very frustrating at times
Other Thoughts: I enjoy the course very much, my girlfriend & I will come back as much as we can, living only a few minutes away from page park helps.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Off to a Good Start

1    4/16/2010   4/18/2010
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/1/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Taking into account how new the course is, there are a lot of quality features in place. Page Park has a mix of both wooded and open fairways incorporating elevation changes. The course that requires finesse throws over unbridled power on many holes, but also offers opportunities for bomber drives.

Water was factored into several holes and ranged from a bubbling stream to an all-or-nothing (e.g. risk vs. reward) drive from a deck across a pond.

The course is located in large park in a suburban setting and is very easy to get to. Course navigation was fairly easy as well. Additionally, the signage was very detailed and helpful and contained information about not only the distance from tee to pin, but the elevation change as well. Another helpful navigation device were the pavers with arrows pointing to the next tee. Well worn paths were good indicators of the expected flow of the course.

Numerous elevation changes came into play, forcing careful disc and shot selections. Variations include dangerously challenging up throws to laser-precise drives down long, wooded hills. Further complicating these factors on the more wooded holes were the very tight (but visible) lanes.

As would be expected from a new course, the baskets were in pristine condition and positioned very well on the vast majority of the holes.

Page Park was very clean. Not much (if any) litter was visible. It's obvious that the locals have pride in and take good care of their course.
Cons: A few safety concerns popped up at the course. Some holes played near to back yards, others were too close to roads and walking paths. Yet another hole required a drive across a basketball court and another was very close to a park building and sitting area.

While finding the park itself was quite easy, finding the first tee box was a bit difficult. Signs within the park would be helpful for those that have never played or been to Page Park.

On the holes that did cross the little stream, some type of bridge or crossing would have been helpful. There were also a few holes that seemed to be waterlogged and muddy, although I'm not sure how much could be done to mitigate this.
Other Thoughts: I originally rated Page Park at 3.0 when it was a nine-hole layout. Since the change to 18-holes, this course has clearly gone the distance toward fulfilling its potential and is a testament to those that work on the course.

Like I said the first time I reviewed this course, I plan on playing Page Park again the next time I'm in the area and it gives central CT a great place to play disc golf.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Designer's Review

5+    4/17/2010   4/17/2010
Review By: PageParkDG
Played: 35  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Defer to objective opinions! I designed and built this course 2009.
- The cons are being diligently worked on.
- This Spring/Summer will install the other 9 DISCatchers, new signage, a new kiosk, and 18 paver stone tee pads.
Cons: On-site bathrooms are sometimes locked up and not always accessible. Working on this issue with Parks Department.

Signage, while currently lacking, is being completely redone and will include next tee signs, tee signs, and sponsor signs this Spring (2010). For now it is manageable but you may have to look around a little, having a map can't hurt! New holes are not yet marked.

Natural tees.

Nine baskets, nine tree objects.
Other Thoughts: Please no cutting of any plant life on the course, especially the mountain laurels (CT State Flower) and the rhododendrons (very important to our park).

A walk through the holes. Check the hole info. section to see the recreational pars and competitive pars.

Hole 1 - 280' long, ~45' elevation drop. Wooded, moderately tight. Left to right flight path. Basket sits just across the small casual stream, green has a sort of false front sloped (back to front) and upshots can spill back down into the stream.

Hole 2 - 430' long, ~25' elevation rise. Wooded/partially open. Plays straight and flat along a paved out-of-service park road (road not OB) for the first 200', the turns left about 65 degrees, and starts climbing uphill. Basket on a sloped (right to left) green with some small guardian trees and a mt. laurel very close to the basket.

Hole 3 - 340' long, ~35' elevation drop. Wooded, moderately tight. Plays mostly straight, if anything gentle L to R. Drop off immediately below the tee, but rises up again 3/4 of the way down the fairway before dropping off again at the basket. Provides for a 'valley' shot. Sloped (front to back) green.

Hole 4 - 145` long, ~15' elevation rise. Wooded,tight. The most aced hole on the course plays straight up a gradual hill, with guardian trees on the right side near the basket. Sloped (back to front) green plus the hill create some roll away problems.

Hole 5 - 290', ~10' elevation drop. Wooded/partially open. Plays left to right. Have to hit the initial gap at 60' away, but it opens up after that.

Hole 6 - 500', ~20' elevation rise. Wooded, tight. Plays along an existing hiking trail, straight up a gradual hill for the first 300'. Turns about 30 degrees right, then starts to gradually go down hill for the remaining 200'. The left side rough slopes (right to left) steeply away from the fairway. Basket in a small tree grove right side of the fairway.

Hole 7 - 540', ~5' elevation rise. Open/sparse trees. The out-of-service paved (not OB) road lines the left side of this fairway. Most notable obstacle is a disc eating cedar is in the middle, adjacent a clump of mature trees. Basket is left side of the fairway in a grove of trees. Left of the cedar and next to the road half way down the fairway is a patch of briars, these get bad and should be avoided or risk losing a disc or worse...

Hole 8 - 330' long, ~60' elevation drop. Wooded/partially open. Plays straight down an old ski hill. Nothing sneaky just pure disc control. Tee set back a bit for added difficulty.

Hole 9 - 290' long, 10' elevation rise. Open/sparsely wooded. Plays right to left over a paved area (used to be a b-ball court). A fence crosses the fairway about 170' in, so low shots will be stopped. Basket left up the hill, green slopes (back to front).

Hole 10 - 275' long, 13' elevation rise. Wooded, moderately tight. Plays left to right up hill into a natural opening with the basket right at the edge of a steep slope (front to back/left to right).

Hole 11 - 250' long, ~35 elevation drop. Wooded, moderately tight. A cool (if I do say so myself) downhill straight shot, over a walking path (watch for walkers!) and casual stream. Tighter near the tee and basket, a little more open in the middle.

Hole 12 - 140' long, 6' elevation drop. Plays over the corner of the OB pond. Too far right, it's gone splash. Basket in the grass area near the pond.

Hole 13 - 375' long, ~5' elevation rise. Wooded/partially open. Straight flight the whole way, or there is a left route option. Fairway slopes (left to right) toward the pond, there are plenty of trees between fairway and pond, still, getting wet is possible on this hole with an errant shot. End of the fairway opens up to a meadow with some nice flowering trees. Basket is on a small slope (back to front) at the beginning of the meadow.

Hole 14 - 350' long, 20' elevation rise. Open. Up hill right to left shot, tee from under a dogwood tree, throwing into the natural green surrounded by mountain laurels and rhododendrons. The in-service paved road right and straight is OB. All in-service roads are OB.

Hole 15 - 170' long, 5' elevation drop. Open/sparse trees. Right to left short hole, playing along the in-service OB road. Slopes steeply (right to left) the length of the fairway. Many times you are putting with a drop off behind the basket.

Hole 16 - 265' long, 30' elevation drop. Wooded, very tight. Plays straight and downhill, with a lot of trees to get in the way. A giant rhododendron guards the green from the front right. Basket set about 2' from the casual stream.

Hole 17 - 165' long, flat. Wooded, very tight. Short tricky hole with multiple options. The most direct route is the tightest, or you can toss left to right over the large rhododendron for a look. The casual stream "S"s up the middle of the fairway, with the basket about 6' from said stream.

Hole 18 - 450' long, 45' elevation up. Wooded, tight. The big finish, a relentless up hill, constantly left to right turning, tight fairway. A giant boulder sits atop the hill guarding the left side of the fairway, and also provides primo seating for spectators to watch 18. The fairway continues to pinch tighter until about the top where the boulder is. At the top it opens up a little for your upshot, but now slopes (left to right).

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.