Bristol, CT 
Page Park Share
Uploaded By: PageParkDG Hole #18 (Taken 5/2010)
4 / 420ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Page Park

1    10/18/2014   10/20/2014
Review By: adlacro
Played: 69  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 8.6 Years
Pros: 18 holes with DIScatcher baskets in fair shape. Rather wooded with a few somewhat open holes. Wooden holes have definitive shooting lanes, but they can be tight in spots. Small casual stream will be in play on a few holes. Holes 2,5, and 18 are par fours from the long tees, but short tees are available. Trash cans available on a few holes. Scorecards available as ell as practice basket. Signature hole 12 offers an opportunity to throw over a signicant lake with left bailout for shorter arms. Good use of elevation on holes and fast greens.
Cons: Some of the baskets are misnumbered (hole one was marked nine for example). I personally will never be a fan of DIScatcher baskets because that name is a misnomer. It takes away space to make a putt and if you hit the band on top, it is likely to roll away. If this place got "real" baskets I would definitely rate this course a "4". In or after rain some of the hills will be muddy and quite treacherous to walk down.
Other Thoughts: Despite my rants about the basket type there isn't much to gripe about at Page. It is a solid course with a few standout holes and is worth a trip if one should be in the area. Tee pads are well done. Go out there and be a "Pagemaster"!


1    5/26/2014   6/1/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 206  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really interesting course with a ton of elevation changes and a pretty sweet variety of hole shapes and terrains. It boasts some real signature holes. Specifically, 18. What a finisher. Uphill, with the exposed boulder just to the left of the hole. It's a real challenge, both to hit the line to get into position and to hit what will inevitably be a sharply uphill putt. Most will find it difficult to dislike 1, with the drop off just after the tee and a rightward turn along the fairway as the disc slowly lowers to the ground. Finally, a small creek just before the basket. 11 is a variation on this theme, but the shot here is straight, there is no creek and the basket sits on a rise.

Most of the holes are very wooded, with tight fairways cut through the trees, (check out 10) but there are some wide open holes that provide a distinctly different challenge. 6 and 7 will let you air it out while hoping that your disc doesn't follow the slope to the right. 13 and 14 will give you two more chances to put something on a disc, but this time the fairways roll uphill.
Cons:
A few of the holes (ahem, 3) don't really feature a fairway. They traverse an area of scattered trees in which the underbrush has been mostly removed. I'd hate to cut down the trees required to make an actual route to the basket but as of now, they play as easy pars but birdies are entirely dependent on luck. The trees are dense enough that there is no true path to park one by basket, but spread out enough so that once you're halfway down the hole, there will be an easy approach from almost anywhere.

Additionally, there a ton of areas where the fairway is cut by a small muddy area on what seems to be a regular basis. There are typically some sticks placed there for people to walk over, but a top-notch course includes bridges or boardwalks over such areas.

Lastly, there are a few places where fairways pass close to other pieces of property. Occasionally a tee is just a line on a walking path. 9 is fairly ridiculous. The only path is directly over several facilities.


Quintessentially Connecticut course. A lot of great stuff here, with a few very flawed holes. Probably best-played in off times, so that the other park facilities are not being used. 12 is a nice carry. It's not as good if there is someone fishing in your flight path.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

2-4    9/19/2013   1/27/2014
Review By: DPGRAY1962
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful challenging course with one fairway completely over water. Great variety of fairways with lots of trees and only a few wide open ones.
Cons: Can be very wet and muddy in some places. Frequently had to hold play for hikers to pass by. One fairway is over a paved area and past a pavilion that is often a crowded area.
Other Thoughts: Great course that is definitely worth a try. In warmer weather bring bug spray as the mosquitoes can be a problem.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Can't stay away!

1    6/5/2013   6/5/2013
Review By: sneakytiki
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/10/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Somewhat heavily wooded with a good amount of elevation change, Page Park has a tendency to test your finesse. Several tees are nicely perched, giving you a view down into this serene, mossy, ferny wood tucked into the middle of Brisol CT in a most unexpectedly pleasant way.

Though many holes are wooded, there is always room to pick your favorite line, and when you do hit it just right it is very rewarding seeing your disc navigate its way through the trees.

The more open holes offer a chance to let it rip... stretch it out a bit. There are no SUPER long holes (only two par 4's, the rest 3's) but you are never left wishing there was a 650'er because the course keeps you sufficiently entertained.
Cons: It can get a bit damp and muddy at certain times... but this is New England... as long as you don't mind stepping in some mud, or digging your disc out of a little creek bed you should live.

The mix of hole layout could be better. You definitely do not need every weapon in your arsenal to get through a round here.

The tee signs could use some work. When they can be found, they are typically laminated paper or something like that, stapled to a tree. Some are missing.
Other Thoughts: Don't be fooled by the number of "water" holes listed here. All of them but one are just a small little stream running through the hole, not going to steal your discs. The one hole over the small pond in the park tests the nerves, but a long drive is not required to get over it, I usually throw a putter off the tee for an ace run, usually an easy birdie.

UPDATE: I've been noticing a lot of poison ivy. Be wary in the woods and scrub down after playing.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Page Turner

1    9/3/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: esdubya
Played: 95  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 19.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some fun shots, great terrain, well marked and easy to navigate.

You can tell this course is a labor of love by the locals, and it seems to be a work in progress. I had a great time playing my one round out here.
Cons: A few holes have some safety concerns, such as throwing off walking paths and over or near picnic areas.
-That one hole where you throw over an abandoned basketball court that is fenced in. Not a big fan of that hole..
-A few too many blind holes.
Other Thoughts: Page Park is better than most courses out there, but at the same time it is slightly frustrating because there is a potential here for a better course.

Just a few basket location and/or tee location tweaks would go a long way here to make this course 4.5-5 rated.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Park

1    6/3/2012   6/5/2012
Review By: aktmjcor
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely laid out. Good versatility with elevation. Some open holes and my favorite #12 over the pond! Plenty of birdie ops. Fairways were clean, baskets were on the new side. Was easily accepted by 3 locals Sean, Tim and Dave! they showed me around.
Cons: without my guides, some of the tees could be hard to find. Tight wooded holes (too many) would like to see some more open. Some very short holes too. One hole throws over a blacktop (OB) and past a pavilion which had people under it. A bit of a hazard but we had an audience!
Other Thoughts: overall I liked the park alot. I wish I were closer (NJ) I would play this park often. I hear it is one of the best aside from Wickham Park about an hour from Bristol.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Heavily Wooded

2-4    6/19/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: FrechetteDL
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 6/22/2011
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Although wooded, it seemed that the tunnels between the trees were reasonably wide. It was typically easy to locate the hole, and I only rarely hit a tree. I will be back!
Cons: I got lost between two holes because one of the tiny arrows directing me was flipped backwards. A map would help a lot. Not suitable for those who have trouble with rough terrain.
Other Thoughts: I should have worn rain boots, not sneakers. Might be better after a few dry days in a row.
Update: Much better after a few dry days, but I lost a disc on 16, which is crowded with trees and now heavy undergrowth.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/20/2011   4/29/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 105  Exp: 6.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Page Park gives you a mostly wooded course with some open areas. The use of elevation was very nice and not too steep. There is a natural flow so navigation is fairly easy.

Other Pros:
- short tees available on longer holes
- info kiosk at tee #1
- scenic and very clean
- variety (turns, open/wooded, up/downhill, distances)
- risk/ reward on pond hole #12
- challenging but fair
- baskets are in amazing shape
Cons: I liked the wooded part of the course so I was disappointed to play near backyards and buildings. I realize to include the open area shots that was needed.

Tee signs are lamenated paper tacked to a tree and do the job, I suspect these are temporary.

I personally loved the throw from the deck (#12), but casual disc golfers may be overwhelmed.
Other Thoughts: My most memorable/ favorite hole was #12, it's unique and challenging.

Hole #1's tee pad is amazing, they aren't all like that. It seems the locals are working very hard and eventually the entire course will have all the details to make this an amazing place.

Please keep me updated with all improvements.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, heavily wooded

2-4    6/28/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: leemurr6208
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are a lot of different styles of holes, some are shots that take you uphill, some are downhill, and some are wide open in a field. The course is very clean and well maintained, giving you a great experience during play.
Cons: The only con is the lack of bridges/or crossings over the few small rivers/brooks. you have to get a little wet if you want to play this course. A few of the holes have "hidden" goals, which makes it difficult as a first time player of the course, to know where to aim... No bathrooms or water fountains at all along the course, can be very frustrating at times
Other Thoughts: I enjoy the course very much, my girlfriend & I will come back as much as we can, living only a few minutes away from page park helps.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Off to a Good Start

1    4/16/2010   4/18/2010
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/1/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Taking into account how new the course is, there are a lot of quality features in place. Page Park has a mix of both wooded and open fairways incorporating elevation changes. The course that requires finesse throws over unbridled power on many holes, but also offers opportunities for bomber drives.

Water was factored into several holes and ranged from a bubbling stream to an all-or-nothing (e.g. risk vs. reward) drive from a deck across a pond.

The course is located in large park in a suburban setting and is very easy to get to. Course navigation was fairly easy as well. Additionally, the signage was very detailed and helpful and contained information about not only the distance from tee to pin, but the elevation change as well. Another helpful navigation device were the pavers with arrows pointing to the next tee. Well worn paths were good indicators of the expected flow of the course.

Numerous elevation changes came into play, forcing careful disc and shot selections. Variations include dangerously challenging up throws to laser-precise drives down long, wooded hills. Further complicating these factors on the more wooded holes were the very tight (but visible) lanes.

As would be expected from a new course, the baskets were in pristine condition and positioned very well on the vast majority of the holes.

Page Park was very clean. Not much (if any) litter was visible. It's obvious that the locals have pride in and take good care of their course.
Cons: A few safety concerns popped up at the course. Some holes played near to back yards, others were too close to roads and walking paths. Yet another hole required a drive across a basketball court and another was very close to a park building and sitting area.

While finding the park itself was quite easy, finding the first tee box was a bit difficult. Signs within the park would be helpful for those that have never played or been to Page Park.

On the holes that did cross the little stream, some type of bridge or crossing would have been helpful. There were also a few holes that seemed to be waterlogged and muddy, although I'm not sure how much could be done to mitigate this.
Other Thoughts: I originally rated Page Park at 3.0 when it was a nine-hole layout. Since the change to 18-holes, this course has clearly gone the distance toward fulfilling its potential and is a testament to those that work on the course.

Like I said the first time I reviewed this course, I plan on playing Page Park again the next time I'm in the area and it gives central CT a great place to play disc golf.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.