Disc Golf Center
Bristol, CT 
Page Park Share
Uploaded By: AgentJ Hole #16
3 / 250ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A Page from the Book of CT

1    8/20/2014   9/9/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 238  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 11.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Page Park in Bristol is fun, challenging, and has good tees, baskets, as well as a nice flow. The tees are concrete pavers, flat and even, and the baskets were DISCatchers in ok condition. Blocks under the baskets have arrows pointing to the next tee. Elevation changes are significant on many holes, and so are heavy woods. Also a bit of water on the course, nothing to intimidating. These are all good things to me. I played the long tees on the holes that had them, and I shot 58 (1 over par). Scored two on five holes, so being over par at the end was a bummer, but I remember it fondly still. My favorite holes off the first run were 1, 10, 11, 16, 17, and 18. Starting and finishing holes were both cool ones, and the quality is pretty good overall. 18 is a long drive through many trees and up the hill to the parking area, with the pin next to the humungous boulder. What a finish. There are only three par 4's, and short tees where necessary, so Page Park is fun and friendly for beginners, too.
Cons: I saw as much litter here as nearly any other park I can think of. Not taking away points for that, but detracts from an otherwise lovely park. The disc golf parking is a ways from the park entrance, but keep on the road and you'll see the kiosk. I got there eventually. The other park users may be close to parts of the course, around holes 9 and 12, maybe others. The map I printed online was helpful in navigation a couple of times. Signs would be a welcome addition to those who are not familiar with the course.
Other Thoughts: Page Park may not blow you away, but I bet you have a good time playing it. I certainly did. A cool place to get some good throws in. A very good course with some contrast to nearby, and also very good, Wickham Park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of the best courses in Connecticut

5+    10/26/2013   10/28/2013
Review By: chikago12
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/18/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Extremely well maintained. Course is clean, very nice concrete tiled tee boxes on every holes that feasibly could have them (some holes start on paths, so they couldn't put tee boxes in)

-Excellent mix of open and wooded holes. 6, 7, and 14 are the only truly open holes, but there a bunch of holes let you rip one if you have good control, most notably 13.

-Holes are interesting! Between forehands, backhands, thumbers, you'll need every trick in the bag to navigate this course successfully.

-Hole 12 over the lake might be my favorite hole in disc golf. Really fun shot where you get to just bomb it over the lake.

-Reasonably difficult. For someone who throws around 300', some of the hole length will be pretty difficult, especially stuff like hole 2, a par 3 430 footer.

-Beautiful scenery in a gorgeous park. Number 8 in particular in the fall is beautiful.

-Course is extremely well designed, where even the short holes are interesting. There are no 'throwaway' holes here. Perfect example of this is 15, a very short hole along a road. Shot could have been pretty boring, but the green is on a huge slope so you either can go for a dangerous birdie putt or play it safe and go for par.

-Big open field right next to the course for warming up. Warm up putting basket also available.

-Short tees on a lot of holes (2,5,6,9,12,13,18) , most notably 12, so you don't have to throw over the water (as much).
Cons: -Problem with returning discs that someone else mentioned is real. I've lost quite a few discs here, all tagged, and have only had a couple returned.
Other Thoughts: Now that I've been playing for almost a year, I've learned to appreciate Page even more. Challenging, but not overly so. Lot of love from the local community. None of the holes are throwaways. Every single one is memorable. Come here and golf!!!!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Worth traveling to

1    10/14/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: nstraz
Played: 56  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great tee signs and directions
Fair fairways
Great use of elevation changes
Long and short tees on some holes
Well kept grounds
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Stopped here while traveling down I-84. I was really impressed with the course and would definitely stop there again.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Made to be fun

5+    5/7/2013   5/9/2013
Review By: AgentJ
Played: 125  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Free to play, open year round dawn to dusk.
Plenty of off-street free parking.
Emphasis on fun shots at this medium difficulty course.
Tees and baskets placed on peaks and valleys throughout.
Excellent flat, paver stone, patio style tee pads.
Baskets (DISCatchers) are in excellent shape.
Variety of shots, balanced between right/left, short/long, early/late turns.
Nice tee signs and next tee signs.
Informative kiosk at hole 1, has course maps, league info for all the local courses, and other nice stuff.
Can play solo in about an hour.
Dedicated volunteers who care.
Cons: - Constant battle between DGers and litterers. We try very hard to keep the course clean, but you may come across broken glass.
- Some people have trouble finding the parking area near hole 1. It's WAY up at the very end of the park road. Just look for the kiosk.
- Some parts of the course adjacent to other park uses, so be careful and let others have right of way, we are the new kids on the block.
- No dedicated practice basket yet (maybe in 2013), but you can warm up on 18's basket which is only a few feet from the tee of 1.
Other Thoughts: Excellent challenge for beginner and mid-level players, with par 56 only attainable on a very good round.
Pro-level players can consider par to be closer to 50 or 51, and it is quite challenging to get lower than that. Tight lanes on the wooded holes, precarious basket positions, and lots of elevation changes keep most pro scores in check. You will need a variety of tee shots.
A counter-balance to the very difficult neighboring Panthorn and Wickham courses (both of which you should also go play).
The course has come a long way, the locals have proudly stepped up and supported this place, and it shows. The number of players and interest grows every year. 7/21/2013 will hold the first Page Park tournament.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great first time

1    6/29/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: ryan35
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great layout, easy to find next tee. Good elevation changes. Signs on trees for basket location and distance. Baskets in good locations. Barely ever was there a tree in my way of getting a good drive. Great mix of long and short holes. imo great for newer players and experienced ones should like it too
Cons: Maybe I was thrown off by manchester but some par 5's could be 4's. I am no expert but did well my first time here. Hole with water not too difficult but I hyzerd ten feet off the bank into the water. Hole ten was a little tight with trees but the rest were more than manageable. make sure you keep driving to the very back parking lot, beyond the pool. parked in back but wasnt far enough so walked holes 15-18 to get over to 1 since I had never been before
Other Thoughts: Granted I have only been playing a few months and have only been to 6 courses so far in CT. Could be my favorite so far. Manchester was great as well. this one was a little more forgiving, wouldnt consider it a "pro course" but probably the most fun I have had yet. Will be back much more. Where I am located its a bit closer than the manchester course so its easier for me to get to.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  my home course

5+    3/10/2011   3/10/2011
Review By: addiscted
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The flow of the course makes it easy to get through a round in an hour and a half or less. The underbrush is well taken care of at this course making it hard to lose discs. I have been coming here since it was nine holes and in a very short time this has become one of the nicest 18 hole courses in Ct.
Cons: Watching out for random walkers in the summer is a must. The 12th pond hole needs a couple trees trimmed. There is one closer to the tee box and one that hangs over the pond, makes it easy to splash discs. The walks from 9 to 10 and 14 to 15.
Other Thoughts: Don't hesitate to play here, I've played a lot of New England this place holds it own.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/7/2012   10/18/2010
Review By: Juggalo Alex
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is easily accessible, easy to find, and the maps are very well plotted. Open enough to be great for an amateur player but not so open that it becomes too easy for an experienced golfer. Cleared brush and trees give pros and ams alike a chance at redeeming bad shots. The improved tee boxes have made many of the holes much better and I would love to see the rest of the course have them installed.
Cons: The fallen trees and down leaves from the fall have taken their toll on the playability of the course. It's nice to see that they've cut some of the downed limbs and removed some rubbish, but the course is still pretty beat up from the storms.

Boots would be a good idea when playing the course, seeing as water is in play most of your round.

Some holes seem to punish you to be on the green or in the fairway. Hole #4, #11, and #16 all have you either getting close and banging up your discs or putting you in the water (#12) for being within 20 feet so plan ahead and throw discs at these holes you don't care much for.
Other Thoughts: Word to the wise - do not use a grey or yellow disc if you're planning on throwing long distances, especially in the fall. They are the same color as the ground you're throwing over..

I lost a grey DisCraft specialty disc that was a gift. If anyone finds it, please call the number on the disc (505 463-9122). The sentimental value far exceeds what it costs to replace it.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Picturesque course

2-4    9/2/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: maninthebox
Played: 48  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 27.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice course, with a good diversity of holes. Most are wooded, with enough open holes to mix it up. A nice mix of difficult holes with enough birdie opportunities thrown in to help boost morale. Great use of elevation, with many uphill and downhill holes. Short tees are located on many of the longer holes, which is great for novice players. Laminated tee signs appear at each tee box, both short and long, and they have all the pertinent information and then some (including elevation change). All basket areas have arrows pointing the direction to the next tee. The course itself is very picturesque and fun to walk, with a small stream that runs through numerous holes and creates a small hazard. Sure, bridges would be a plus, but the stream is small enough to easily step over or play from if your disc lands there. Not really an issue at all.
Cons: Hole 12, which is completely unplayable for most casual golfers, and the only major drawback to this course. The entire hole is over the pond and not only that, there are many large tree branches which overhang the pond directly in front of the basket. So even if you throw an accurate shot that clears the pond, there is a very good chance these tree branches will intercept your drive and dunk it 20 feet into the murky pond, never to be seen again.
Other than hole 12, there isn't too much to complain about. Many holes have long walks between them. Without the numerous arrows pointing the way, it would be nearly impossible to follow, and even with the arrows (and a printed out course map), I still had some trouble finding a few of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a very cool course, probably my 2nd favorite in the state, after Wickham Park. Some holes have very narrow fairways, but that is normal for a new course and should open up over time. Finding the first hole was a little tricky. After entering the park, go past the first (paved) parking area on the right, which is next to the Page Park sign. There will be another (gravel) parking area on the right just inside the woods line, which is where the course starts.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course - good workout

1    6/19/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: tkorner
Played: 32  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice, tight, technical wooded course. Seems very new and may open up a bit with more use. Open holes were challenging because of tee and pin placements. No gimme holes. Baskets are awesome.
Cons: Better tee boxes would be a huge add and would make this a top notch course. Perhaps this is in the works already?
Other Thoughts: Definitely a course I would go back and play again. Great to see more and more courses in CT.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and improving

5+    11/10/2009   12/9/2009
Review By: Aubin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice park with tons of non-DG stuff for family trips. Challenging terrain, lots of elevation up and down, some tough pin placements and a nice stream through the course. Very quiet and secluded, great place to take your time and concentrate. Nice balance of shots and lengths, easy to play a quick nine. Beautiful brand new baskets. Course Pro/contact who is dedicated and will only improve the course. Most importantly, it is a fun course no matter your skill level.
Cons: It's a Northeast wooded course; can be tight and unforgiving, might be discouraging for beginners or those used to open holes. A few wet areas and steep slopes, wear good shoes. Leaves are thick in the fall. No tee pads right now, but tee areas are not that bad for natural.
Other Thoughts: Must admit, I'm a bit biased as I know the designer here and helped work a little on the course, but I think it's an honest review. UPDATE: with the full 18 holes in, I can say this is one of if not my favorite course in the state of CT. With the addition of a few nice open holes and some new amazing holes (ski hill hole and pond crossing stand out), this course should be on your play list.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.