Bristol, CT
Page Park Share
Uploaded By: PageParkDG Hole #6 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 390ft.   3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
One of the best courses in CT

1    5/17/2012   5/18/2012
Review By: TBabb
Played: 44  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 8.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful park. The course is well designed with a number of elevation changes and tight technical shots. One shot over the pond. Great signage; I especially love the movie quotes on the bottom of the signs at each tee-box. Well kept course with a good mix of different types of shots.
Cons: A little mucky in some spots, but that's kind of a part of the game. Things get a little dicey if you land off the fairway. Sometimes people confuse the course with a hiking trail so you may have to watch out for a few casual walkers.
Other Thoughts: Definitely one of the best courses I've played on in CT, and probably one of my favorites ever. Make sure you drive up the park road a ways or else you'll have a tough time finding the beginning of the course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Great and Improving

5+    7/7/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: Muck Monster
Played: 31  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great to see the constant improvements to the course, the information kiosk with maps and score cards all the new tee boxes and signs make it a lot easer to get around and find the next tee for new comers, its like all the problems I've had at other course are solved here. It's a fun course for any skill level, lots of elevation change "Awesome" This course dances in and out of the wood with a stream through the course, great use of a beautiful park. Everything is so well maintained, the local disc golf community must really enjoy this course, great place to take your time and taken the outdoors. The baskets have the yellow band on top to make then very easy to see. . This is a great course, keep up the Improvements.
Cons: Watching out for random walkers, also it will be nice when all the tee boxes are in, it looks like there is going to be more soon. Maybe a water fountain at the building next to 10 would be nice.
Other Thoughts: This course is coming along well its only been here for a couple years and it moving along great . .A must if your in the area ..

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Heavily Wooded

2-4    6/19/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: FrechetteDL
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 6/22/2011
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Although wooded, it seemed that the tunnels between the trees were reasonably wide. It was typically easy to locate the hole, and I only rarely hit a tree. I will be back!
Cons: I got lost between two holes because one of the tiny arrows directing me was flipped backwards. A map would help a lot. Not suitable for those who have trouble with rough terrain.
Other Thoughts: I should have worn rain boots, not sneakers. Might be better after a few dry days in a row.
Update: Much better after a few dry days, but I lost a disc on 16, which is crowded with trees and now heavy undergrowth.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/20/2011   4/29/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 102  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 5.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Page Park gives you a mostly wooded course with some open areas. The use of elevation was very nice and not too steep. There is a natural flow so navigation is fairly easy.

Other Pros:
- short tees available on longer holes
- info kiosk at tee #1
- scenic and very clean
- variety (turns, open/wooded, up/downhill, distances)
- risk/ reward on pond hole #12
- challenging but fair
- baskets are in amazing shape
Cons: I liked the wooded part of the course so I was disappointed to play near backyards and buildings. I realize to include the open area shots that was needed.

Tee signs are lamenated paper tacked to a tree and do the job, I suspect these are temporary.

I personally loved the throw from the deck (#12), but casual disc golfers may be overwhelmed.
Other Thoughts: My most memorable/ favorite hole was #12, it's unique and challenging.

Hole #1's tee pad is amazing, they aren't all like that. It seems the locals are working very hard and eventually the entire course will have all the details to make this an amazing place.

Please keep me updated with all improvements.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  my home course

5+    3/10/2011   3/10/2011
Review By: addiscted
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The flow of the course makes it easy to get through a round in an hour and a half or less. The underbrush is well taken care of at this course making it hard to lose discs. I have been coming here since it was nine holes and in a very short time this has become one of the nicest 18 hole courses in Ct.
Cons: Watching out for random walkers in the summer is a must. The 12th pond hole needs a couple trees trimmed. There is one closer to the tee box and one that hangs over the pond, makes it easy to splash discs. The walks from 9 to 10 and 14 to 15.
Other Thoughts: Don't hesitate to play here, I've played a lot of New England this place holds it own.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/7/2012   10/18/2010
Review By: Juggalo Alex
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is easily accessible, easy to find, and the maps are very well plotted. Open enough to be great for an amateur player but not so open that it becomes too easy for an experienced golfer. Cleared brush and trees give pros and ams alike a chance at redeeming bad shots. The improved tee boxes have made many of the holes much better and I would love to see the rest of the course have them installed.
Cons: The fallen trees and down leaves from the fall have taken their toll on the playability of the course. It's nice to see that they've cut some of the downed limbs and removed some rubbish, but the course is still pretty beat up from the storms.

Boots would be a good idea when playing the course, seeing as water is in play most of your round.

Some holes seem to punish you to be on the green or in the fairway. Hole #4, #11, and #16 all have you either getting close and banging up your discs or putting you in the water (#12) for being within 20 feet so plan ahead and throw discs at these holes you don't care much for.
Other Thoughts: Word to the wise - do not use a grey or yellow disc if you're planning on throwing long distances, especially in the fall. They are the same color as the ground you're throwing over..

I lost a grey DisCraft specialty disc that was a gift. If anyone finds it, please call the number on the disc (505 463-9122). The sentimental value far exceeds what it costs to replace it.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Picturesque course

2-4    9/2/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: maninthebox
Played: 47  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 26.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice course, with a good diversity of holes. Most are wooded, with enough open holes to mix it up. A nice mix of difficult holes with enough birdie opportunities thrown in to help boost morale. Great use of elevation, with many uphill and downhill holes. Short tees are located on many of the longer holes, which is great for novice players. Laminated tee signs appear at each tee box, both short and long, and they have all the pertinent information and then some (including elevation change). All basket areas have arrows pointing the direction to the next tee. The course itself is very picturesque and fun to walk, with a small stream that runs through numerous holes and creates a small hazard. Sure, bridges would be a plus, but the stream is small enough to easily step over or play from if your disc lands there. Not really an issue at all.
Cons: Hole 12, which is completely unplayable for most casual golfers, and the only major drawback to this course. The entire hole is over the pond and not only that, there are many large tree branches which overhang the pond directly in front of the basket. So even if you throw an accurate shot that clears the pond, there is a very good chance these tree branches will intercept your drive and dunk it 20 feet into the murky pond, never to be seen again.
Other than hole 12, there isn't too much to complain about. Many holes have long walks between them. Without the numerous arrows pointing the way, it would be nearly impossible to follow, and even with the arrows (and a printed out course map), I still had some trouble finding a few of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a very cool course, probably my 2nd favorite in the state, after Wickham Park. Some holes have very narrow fairways, but that is normal for a new course and should open up over time. Finding the first hole was a little tricky. After entering the park, go past the first (paved) parking area on the right, which is next to the Page Park sign. There will be another (gravel) parking area on the right just inside the woods line, which is where the course starts.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, heavily wooded

2-4    6/28/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: leemurr6208
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are a lot of different styles of holes, some are shots that take you uphill, some are downhill, and some are wide open in a field. The course is very clean and well maintained, giving you a great experience during play.
Cons: The only con is the lack of bridges/or crossings over the few small rivers/brooks. you have to get a little wet if you want to play this course. A few of the holes have "hidden" goals, which makes it difficult as a first time player of the course, to know where to aim... No bathrooms or water fountains at all along the course, can be very frustrating at times
Other Thoughts: I enjoy the course very much, my girlfriend & I will come back as much as we can, living only a few minutes away from page park helps.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course - good workout

1    6/19/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: tkorner
Played: 32  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice, tight, technical wooded course. Seems very new and may open up a bit with more use. Open holes were challenging because of tee and pin placements. No gimme holes. Baskets are awesome.
Cons: Better tee boxes would be a huge add and would make this a top notch course. Perhaps this is in the works already?
Other Thoughts: Definitely a course I would go back and play again. Great to see more and more courses in CT.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Off to a Good Start

1    4/16/2010   4/18/2010
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/1/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Taking into account how new the course is, there are a lot of quality features in place. Page Park has a mix of both wooded and open fairways incorporating elevation changes. The course that requires finesse throws over unbridled power on many holes, but also offers opportunities for bomber drives.

Water was factored into several holes and ranged from a bubbling stream to an all-or-nothing (e.g. risk vs. reward) drive from a deck across a pond.

The course is located in large park in a suburban setting and is very easy to get to. Course navigation was fairly easy as well. Additionally, the signage was very detailed and helpful and contained information about not only the distance from tee to pin, but the elevation change as well. Another helpful navigation device were the pavers with arrows pointing to the next tee. Well worn paths were good indicators of the expected flow of the course.

Numerous elevation changes came into play, forcing careful disc and shot selections. Variations include dangerously challenging up throws to laser-precise drives down long, wooded hills. Further complicating these factors on the more wooded holes were the very tight (but visible) lanes.

As would be expected from a new course, the baskets were in pristine condition and positioned very well on the vast majority of the holes.

Page Park was very clean. Not much (if any) litter was visible. It's obvious that the locals have pride in and take good care of their course.
Cons: A few safety concerns popped up at the course. Some holes played near to back yards, others were too close to roads and walking paths. Yet another hole required a drive across a basketball court and another was very close to a park building and sitting area.

While finding the park itself was quite easy, finding the first tee box was a bit difficult. Signs within the park would be helpful for those that have never played or been to Page Park.

On the holes that did cross the little stream, some type of bridge or crossing would have been helpful. There were also a few holes that seemed to be waterlogged and muddy, although I'm not sure how much could be done to mitigate this.
Other Thoughts: I originally rated Page Park at 3.0 when it was a nine-hole layout. Since the change to 18-holes, this course has clearly gone the distance toward fulfilling its potential and is a testament to those that work on the course.

Like I said the first time I reviewed this course, I plan on playing Page Park again the next time I'm in the area and it gives central CT a great place to play disc golf.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.