Bristol, CT 
Page Park Share
Uploaded By: PageParkDG Hole #1 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 285ft.   3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Page Turner

1    9/3/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: esdubya
Played: 95  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 19.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some fun shots, great terrain, well marked and easy to navigate.

You can tell this course is a labor of love by the locals, and it seems to be a work in progress. I had a great time playing my one round out here.
Cons: A few holes have some safety concerns, such as throwing off walking paths and over or near picnic areas.
-That one hole where you throw over an abandoned basketball court that is fenced in. Not a big fan of that hole..
-A few too many blind holes.
Other Thoughts: Page Park is better than most courses out there, but at the same time it is slightly frustrating because there is a potential here for a better course.

Just a few basket location and/or tee location tweaks would go a long way here to make this course 4.5-5 rated.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great first time

1    6/29/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: ryan35
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great layout, easy to find next tee. Good elevation changes. Signs on trees for basket location and distance. Baskets in good locations. Barely ever was there a tree in my way of getting a good drive. Great mix of long and short holes. imo great for newer players and experienced ones should like it too
Cons: Maybe I was thrown off by manchester but some par 5's could be 4's. I am no expert but did well my first time here. Hole with water not too difficult but I hyzerd ten feet off the bank into the water. Hole ten was a little tight with trees but the rest were more than manageable. make sure you keep driving to the very back parking lot, beyond the pool. parked in back but wasnt far enough so walked holes 15-18 to get over to 1 since I had never been before
Other Thoughts: Granted I have only been playing a few months and have only been to 6 courses so far in CT. Could be my favorite so far. Manchester was great as well. this one was a little more forgiving, wouldnt consider it a "pro course" but probably the most fun I have had yet. Will be back much more. Where I am located its a bit closer than the manchester course so its easier for me to get to.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Park

1    6/3/2012   6/5/2012
Review By: aktmjcor
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely laid out. Good versatility with elevation. Some open holes and my favorite #12 over the pond! Plenty of birdie ops. Fairways were clean, baskets were on the new side. Was easily accepted by 3 locals Sean, Tim and Dave! they showed me around.
Cons: without my guides, some of the tees could be hard to find. Tight wooded holes (too many) would like to see some more open. Some very short holes too. One hole throws over a blacktop (OB) and past a pavilion which had people under it. A bit of a hazard but we had an audience!
Other Thoughts: overall I liked the park alot. I wish I were closer (NJ) I would play this park often. I hear it is one of the best aside from Wickham Park about an hour from Bristol.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best courses in CT

1    5/17/2012   5/18/2012
Review By: TBabb
Played: 50  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 9.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful park. The course is well designed with a number of elevation changes and tight technical shots. One shot over the pond. Great signage; I especially love the movie quotes on the bottom of the signs at each tee-box. Well kept course with a good mix of different types of shots.
Cons: A little mucky in some spots, but that's kind of a part of the game. Things get a little dicey if you land off the fairway. Sometimes people confuse the course with a hiking trail so you may have to watch out for a few casual walkers.
Other Thoughts: Definitely one of the best courses I've played on in CT, and probably one of my favorites ever. Make sure you drive up the park road a ways or else you'll have a tough time finding the beginning of the course.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great and Improving

5+    7/7/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: Muck Monster
Played: 32  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great to see the constant improvements to the course, the information kiosk with maps and score cards all the new tee boxes and signs make it a lot easer to get around and find the next tee for new comers, its like all the problems I've had at other course are solved here. It's a fun course for any skill level, lots of elevation change "Awesome" This course dances in and out of the wood with a stream through the course, great use of a beautiful park. Everything is so well maintained, the local disc golf community must really enjoy this course, great place to take your time and taken the outdoors. The baskets have the yellow band on top to make then very easy to see. . This is a great course, keep up the Improvements.
Cons: Watching out for random walkers, also it will be nice when all the tee boxes are in, it looks like there is going to be more soon. Maybe a water fountain at the building next to 10 would be nice.
Other Thoughts: This course is coming along well its only been here for a couple years and it moving along great . .A must if your in the area ..

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Heavily Wooded

2-4    6/19/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: FrechetteDL
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 6/22/2011
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Although wooded, it seemed that the tunnels between the trees were reasonably wide. It was typically easy to locate the hole, and I only rarely hit a tree. I will be back!
Cons: I got lost between two holes because one of the tiny arrows directing me was flipped backwards. A map would help a lot. Not suitable for those who have trouble with rough terrain.
Other Thoughts: I should have worn rain boots, not sneakers. Might be better after a few dry days in a row.
Update: Much better after a few dry days, but I lost a disc on 16, which is crowded with trees and now heavy undergrowth.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/20/2011   4/29/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Page Park gives you a mostly wooded course with some open areas. The use of elevation was very nice and not too steep. There is a natural flow so navigation is fairly easy.

Other Pros:
- short tees available on longer holes
- info kiosk at tee #1
- scenic and very clean
- variety (turns, open/wooded, up/downhill, distances)
- risk/ reward on pond hole #12
- challenging but fair
- baskets are in amazing shape
Cons: I liked the wooded part of the course so I was disappointed to play near backyards and buildings. I realize to include the open area shots that was needed.

Tee signs are lamenated paper tacked to a tree and do the job, I suspect these are temporary.

I personally loved the throw from the deck (#12), but casual disc golfers may be overwhelmed.
Other Thoughts: My most memorable/ favorite hole was #12, it's unique and challenging.

Hole #1's tee pad is amazing, they aren't all like that. It seems the locals are working very hard and eventually the entire course will have all the details to make this an amazing place.

Please keep me updated with all improvements.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  my home course

5+    3/10/2011   3/10/2011
Review By: addiscted
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The flow of the course makes it easy to get through a round in an hour and a half or less. The underbrush is well taken care of at this course making it hard to lose discs. I have been coming here since it was nine holes and in a very short time this has become one of the nicest 18 hole courses in Ct.
Cons: Watching out for random walkers in the summer is a must. The 12th pond hole needs a couple trees trimmed. There is one closer to the tee box and one that hangs over the pond, makes it easy to splash discs. The walks from 9 to 10 and 14 to 15.
Other Thoughts: Don't hesitate to play here, I've played a lot of New England this place holds it own.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/7/2012   10/18/2010
Review By: Juggalo Alex
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is easily accessible, easy to find, and the maps are very well plotted. Open enough to be great for an amateur player but not so open that it becomes too easy for an experienced golfer. Cleared brush and trees give pros and ams alike a chance at redeeming bad shots. The improved tee boxes have made many of the holes much better and I would love to see the rest of the course have them installed.
Cons: The fallen trees and down leaves from the fall have taken their toll on the playability of the course. It's nice to see that they've cut some of the downed limbs and removed some rubbish, but the course is still pretty beat up from the storms.

Boots would be a good idea when playing the course, seeing as water is in play most of your round.

Some holes seem to punish you to be on the green or in the fairway. Hole #4, #11, and #16 all have you either getting close and banging up your discs or putting you in the water (#12) for being within 20 feet so plan ahead and throw discs at these holes you don't care much for.
Other Thoughts: Word to the wise - do not use a grey or yellow disc if you're planning on throwing long distances, especially in the fall. They are the same color as the ground you're throwing over..

I lost a grey DisCraft specialty disc that was a gift. If anyone finds it, please call the number on the disc (505 463-9122). The sentimental value far exceeds what it costs to replace it.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Picturesque course

2-4    9/2/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: maninthebox
Played: 48  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 27.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice course, with a good diversity of holes. Most are wooded, with enough open holes to mix it up. A nice mix of difficult holes with enough birdie opportunities thrown in to help boost morale. Great use of elevation, with many uphill and downhill holes. Short tees are located on many of the longer holes, which is great for novice players. Laminated tee signs appear at each tee box, both short and long, and they have all the pertinent information and then some (including elevation change). All basket areas have arrows pointing the direction to the next tee. The course itself is very picturesque and fun to walk, with a small stream that runs through numerous holes and creates a small hazard. Sure, bridges would be a plus, but the stream is small enough to easily step over or play from if your disc lands there. Not really an issue at all.
Cons: Hole 12, which is completely unplayable for most casual golfers, and the only major drawback to this course. The entire hole is over the pond and not only that, there are many large tree branches which overhang the pond directly in front of the basket. So even if you throw an accurate shot that clears the pond, there is a very good chance these tree branches will intercept your drive and dunk it 20 feet into the murky pond, never to be seen again.
Other than hole 12, there isn't too much to complain about. Many holes have long walks between them. Without the numerous arrows pointing the way, it would be nearly impossible to follow, and even with the arrows (and a printed out course map), I still had some trouble finding a few of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a very cool course, probably my 2nd favorite in the state, after Wickham Park. Some holes have very narrow fairways, but that is normal for a new course and should open up over time. Finding the first hole was a little tricky. After entering the park, go past the first (paved) parking area on the right, which is next to the Page Park sign. There will be another (gravel) parking area on the right just inside the woods line, which is where the course starts.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.