Bristol, CT 
Page Park Share
Uploaded By: PageParkDG Hole #3 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 310ft.   3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Approach



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Page Park

1    10/18/2014   10/20/2014
Review By: adlacro
Played: 64  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 8.4 Years
Pros: 18 holes with DIScatcher baskets in fair shape. Rather wooded with a few somewhat open holes. Wooden holes have definitive shooting lanes, but they can be tight in spots. Small casual stream will be in play on a few holes. Holes 2,5, and 18 are par fours from the long tees, but short tees are available. Trash cans available on a few holes. Scorecards available as ell as practice basket. Signature hole 12 offers an opportunity to throw over a signicant lake with left bailout for shorter arms. Good use of elevation on holes and fast greens.
Cons: Some of the baskets are misnumbered (hole one was marked nine for example). I personally will never be a fan of DIScatcher baskets because that name is a misnomer. It takes away space to make a putt and if you hit the band on top, it is likely to roll away. If this place got "real" baskets I would definitely rate this course a "4". In or after rain some of the hills will be muddy and quite treacherous to walk down.
Other Thoughts: Despite my rants about the basket type there isn't much to gripe about at Page. It is a solid course with a few standout holes and is worth a trip if one should be in the area. Tee pads are well done. Go out there and be a "Pagemaster"!

A Page from the Book of CT

1    8/20/2014   9/9/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 238  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Page Park in Bristol is fun, challenging, and has good tees, baskets, as well as a nice flow. The tees are concrete pavers, flat and even, and the baskets were DISCatchers in ok condition. Blocks under the baskets have arrows pointing to the next tee. Elevation changes are significant on many holes, and so are heavy woods. Also a bit of water on the course, nothing to intimidating. These are all good things to me. I played the long tees on the holes that had them, and I shot 58 (1 over par). Scored two on five holes, so being over par at the end was a bummer, but I remember it fondly still. My favorite holes off the first run were 1, 10, 11, 16, 17, and 18. Starting and finishing holes were both cool ones, and the quality is pretty good overall. 18 is a long drive through many trees and up the hill to the parking area, with the pin next to the humungous boulder. What a finish. There are only three par 4's, and short tees where necessary, so Page Park is fun and friendly for beginners, too.
Cons: I saw as much litter here as nearly any other park I can think of. Not taking away points for that, but detracts from an otherwise lovely park. The disc golf parking is a ways from the park entrance, but keep on the road and you'll see the kiosk. I got there eventually. The other park users may be close to parts of the course, around holes 9 and 12, maybe others. The map I printed online was helpful in navigation a couple of times. Signs would be a welcome addition to those who are not familiar with the course.
Other Thoughts: Page Park may not blow you away, but I bet you have a good time playing it. I certainly did. A cool place to get some good throws in. A very good course with some contrast to nearby, and also very good, Wickham Park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    5/26/2014   6/1/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 206  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really interesting course with a ton of elevation changes and a pretty sweet variety of hole shapes and terrains. It boasts some real signature holes. Specifically, 18. What a finisher. Uphill, with the exposed boulder just to the left of the hole. It's a real challenge, both to hit the line to get into position and to hit what will inevitably be a sharply uphill putt. Most will find it difficult to dislike 1, with the drop off just after the tee and a rightward turn along the fairway as the disc slowly lowers to the ground. Finally, a small creek just before the basket. 11 is a variation on this theme, but the shot here is straight, there is no creek and the basket sits on a rise.

Most of the holes are very wooded, with tight fairways cut through the trees, (check out 10) but there are some wide open holes that provide a distinctly different challenge. 6 and 7 will let you air it out while hoping that your disc doesn't follow the slope to the right. 13 and 14 will give you two more chances to put something on a disc, but this time the fairways roll uphill.
Cons:
A few of the holes (ahem, 3) don't really feature a fairway. They traverse an area of scattered trees in which the underbrush has been mostly removed. I'd hate to cut down the trees required to make an actual route to the basket but as of now, they play as easy pars but birdies are entirely dependent on luck. The trees are dense enough that there is no true path to park one by basket, but spread out enough so that once you're halfway down the hole, there will be an easy approach from almost anywhere.

Additionally, there a ton of areas where the fairway is cut by a small muddy area on what seems to be a regular basis. There are typically some sticks placed there for people to walk over, but a top-notch course includes bridges or boardwalks over such areas.

Lastly, there are a few places where fairways pass close to other pieces of property. Occasionally a tee is just a line on a walking path. 9 is fairly ridiculous. The only path is directly over several facilities.


Quintessentially Connecticut course. A lot of great stuff here, with a few very flawed holes. Probably best-played in off times, so that the other park facilities are not being used. 12 is a nice carry. It's not as good if there is someone fishing in your flight path.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

2-4    9/19/2013   1/27/2014
Review By: DPGRAY1962
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful challenging course with one fairway completely over water. Great variety of fairways with lots of trees and only a few wide open ones.
Cons: Can be very wet and muddy in some places. Frequently had to hold play for hikers to pass by. One fairway is over a paved area and past a pavilion that is often a crowded area.
Other Thoughts: Great course that is definitely worth a try. In warmer weather bring bug spray as the mosquitoes can be a problem.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of the best courses in Connecticut

5+    10/26/2013   10/28/2013
Review By: chikago12
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/18/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Extremely well maintained. Course is clean, very nice concrete tiled tee boxes on every holes that feasibly could have them (some holes start on paths, so they couldn't put tee boxes in)

-Excellent mix of open and wooded holes. 6, 7, and 14 are the only truly open holes, but there a bunch of holes let you rip one if you have good control, most notably 13.

-Holes are interesting! Between forehands, backhands, thumbers, you'll need every trick in the bag to navigate this course successfully.

-Hole 12 over the lake might be my favorite hole in disc golf. Really fun shot where you get to just bomb it over the lake.

-Reasonably difficult. For someone who throws around 300', some of the hole length will be pretty difficult, especially stuff like hole 2, a par 3 430 footer.

-Beautiful scenery in a gorgeous park. Number 8 in particular in the fall is beautiful.

-Course is extremely well designed, where even the short holes are interesting. There are no 'throwaway' holes here. Perfect example of this is 15, a very short hole along a road. Shot could have been pretty boring, but the green is on a huge slope so you either can go for a dangerous birdie putt or play it safe and go for par.

-Big open field right next to the course for warming up. Warm up putting basket also available.

-Short tees on a lot of holes (2,5,6,9,12,13,18) , most notably 12, so you don't have to throw over the water (as much).
Cons: -Problem with returning discs that someone else mentioned is real. I've lost quite a few discs here, all tagged, and have only had a couple returned.
Other Thoughts: Now that I've been playing for almost a year, I've learned to appreciate Page even more. Challenging, but not overly so. Lot of love from the local community. None of the holes are throwaways. Every single one is memorable. Come here and golf!!!!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Worth traveling to

1    10/14/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: nstraz
Played: 56  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great tee signs and directions
Fair fairways
Great use of elevation changes
Long and short tees on some holes
Well kept grounds
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Stopped here while traveling down I-84. I was really impressed with the course and would definitely stop there again.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great course, constantly improving

5+    7/6/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: Flyngtuna
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great, well maintained course that gets better every time I visit. Whoever maintains this course does a terrific job - lots of woods, but there's rarely debris and now there's a tee-box on nearly every hole.

There are only a few open holes to really let loose, most of the holes require more control than distance.
Cons: Not a lot of complaints regarding the course - I will say lost discs seems less likely to find their way home here than any other course I've played. Between my friends and I we've lost ~4-5 discs (all tagged) and only 1 has been returned to date.
Other Thoughts: Great course with challenges for experienced players but not too tricky for beginners. A good mix of woods, open holes, and a great water hazard on 12 for added fun.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Can't stay away!

1    6/5/2013   6/5/2013
Review By: sneakytiki
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/10/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Somewhat heavily wooded with a good amount of elevation change, Page Park has a tendency to test your finesse. Several tees are nicely perched, giving you a view down into this serene, mossy, ferny wood tucked into the middle of Brisol CT in a most unexpectedly pleasant way.

Though many holes are wooded, there is always room to pick your favorite line, and when you do hit it just right it is very rewarding seeing your disc navigate its way through the trees.

The more open holes offer a chance to let it rip... stretch it out a bit. There are no SUPER long holes (only two par 4's, the rest 3's) but you are never left wishing there was a 650'er because the course keeps you sufficiently entertained.
Cons: It can get a bit damp and muddy at certain times... but this is New England... as long as you don't mind stepping in some mud, or digging your disc out of a little creek bed you should live.

The mix of hole layout could be better. You definitely do not need every weapon in your arsenal to get through a round here.

The tee signs could use some work. When they can be found, they are typically laminated paper or something like that, stapled to a tree. Some are missing.
Other Thoughts: Don't be fooled by the number of "water" holes listed here. All of them but one are just a small little stream running through the hole, not going to steal your discs. The one hole over the small pond in the park tests the nerves, but a long drive is not required to get over it, I usually throw a putter off the tee for an ace run, usually an easy birdie.

UPDATE: I've been noticing a lot of poison ivy. Be wary in the woods and scrub down after playing.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Best coure

5+    4/4/2013   5/11/2013
Review By: jared18
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Amazing course best course kept in great condition and all around a nice walk and a great time if you have been playing for a while if you have not i would stay away. You do find discs i found my sp line squall there amazing disc favriote disc in my bag!
Cons: Some holes are very tricky you cant really find them and some are really hard. You do not get a score card or on some holes there are not sheets. The water hole i lost 2 discs you can get it caught in the tree's easy and it goes in the water tough lie.
Other Thoughts: My family lives in connecticut and i live in NC my experience there was amazing id love to do it again.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Made to be fun

5+    5/7/2013   5/9/2013
Review By: AgentJ
Played: 123  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Free to play, open year round dawn to dusk.
Plenty of off-street free parking.
Emphasis on fun shots at this medium difficulty course.
Tees and baskets placed on peaks and valleys throughout.
Excellent flat, paver stone, patio style tee pads.
Baskets (DISCatchers) are in excellent shape.
Variety of shots, balanced between right/left, short/long, early/late turns.
Nice tee signs and next tee signs.
Informative kiosk at hole 1, has course maps, league info for all the local courses, and other nice stuff.
Can play solo in about an hour.
Dedicated volunteers who care.
Cons: - Constant battle between DGers and litterers. We try very hard to keep the course clean, but you may come across broken glass.
- Some people have trouble finding the parking area near hole 1. It's WAY up at the very end of the park road. Just look for the kiosk.
- Some parts of the course adjacent to other park uses, so be careful and let others have right of way, we are the new kids on the block.
- No dedicated practice basket yet (maybe in 2013), but you can warm up on 18's basket which is only a few feet from the tee of 1.
Other Thoughts: Excellent challenge for beginner and mid-level players, with par 56 only attainable on a very good round.
Pro-level players can consider par to be closer to 50 or 51, and it is quite challenging to get lower than that. Tight lanes on the wooded holes, precarious basket positions, and lots of elevation changes keep most pro scores in check. You will need a variety of tee shots.
A counter-balance to the very difficult neighboring Panthorn and Wickham courses (both of which you should also go play).
The course has come a long way, the locals have proudly stepped up and supported this place, and it shows. The number of players and interest grows every year. 7/21/2013 will hold the first Page Park tournament.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.