Disc Golf Store
Andover, MN
Bunker Hills Share
Uploaded By: Peach Hole #4 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 216ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Overall unimpressive

1    8/17/2013   9/2/2013
Review By: Rentadot
Played: 45  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.9 Years
Pros: Very little traffic (possibly due to the park fee or extreme heat when I played it)

Concrete tee pads are nicely sized
Cons: Several signs were missing, particularly on the blind holes.

Poison Ivy

Poison Ivy

Sand burrs and stickers in abundance!
Other Thoughts: I would play the course again if the poison ivy/sand burr issues could be resolved. And if the park district got the stolen/damaged signs replaced. Maybe some of the daily parking fee could be used for this purpose.

$5 to play..?

5+    7/31/2011   12/31/2012
Review By: elmexdela
Played: 54  Reviewed: 24
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete teepads. Signs help navagate easily. Good use of different kinds of shots needed. Field close by to play some ultimate. Some good dog leg lefts and rights.
Cons: Pay $5 to get in for parking to play 9 holes...Not worth your time if you don't have a season pass. Spend your money else where. You aren't missing out, ham lake is just a few miles away and is better and free.
Other Thoughts: On 8 I think it is, you can use a tomahawk over all the trees to get to the basket quicker just make sure you can throw it the needed distance (200ft + ish), otherwise you will have to have a wicked anny to get it around. And if your tomahawk comes up short you will be surrounded by woods but if successful you have a clear approach shot for the easy par! Watch out for the poison ivy! Bring bug spray.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome all around 9

5+    9/25/2012   9/27/2012
Review By: buzzkid
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hole 1 is an awesome for breaking out a big driver and not giving it full power so that you get a nice fade to the left at the end. Other shots I would try are using a nice stable to overstable fairway driver.

Hole 2 is a nice straight shot. You can also have some fun and do a big hyzer around the tree to the right if you are feeling ambitious.

Hole 3 is challenging technically because it is best suited for a short S curve. I use my Roadrunner on this one, drop the lip to about a 45 and shoot for the left side of the first tree and it usually ends up parking to the right of the basket. I have seen people thumber or tamahawk over as well. watch out for the little pond on the left of fairway.

Hole 4 is the classic gimmie ace run. 200 feet and slightly wooded. Really fun hole to empty the bag on and just try a ton of different shots.

Hole 5 plays through the woods and has a really nice hyzer line. Grab the same disc that you would use on hole 1 and keep it a little wide on the corner and you should be fine.

Hole 6 is a long straight shot that is fairly open. Whatever goes the farthest and you are most comfortable with should work. Try to stay to the more on the left side just to avoid hitting people walking in the park.

Hole 7 is great for longer hyzer flip ups. If you don't end up getting there with the first and land left, you will with the second.

Hole 8 is crazy! You can try overhanding over the trees directly to your right. I tend to follow the fairway and either forehand or go with a super understable disc on the first shot then play normally from there.

Hole 9 is another hyzer shot to an open fairway. The is a fun line I like to try every once in a while that is to the left and through some trees. If you bunk that shot, it is still pretty open and you will still have a shot at a birdie.

This course is really good for warming up before playing Blue Ribbon. There is usually a 5 dollar entry fee, but at the time I'm reviewing this, its free to get in. The tee pads are excelent and offer plenty of room for any shot you might want to do. The baskets are in great condition and the course is fairly well manicured for a park.
Cons: Poison Ivy is rampant here, luckily I am not affected by it. But for everyone else, i say wear pants and long sleave shirts. Also the pay thing is kinda annoying for the course only being a 9.
Other Thoughts: If the pay to play thing was not going on during the summer I am sure I would have played here more. Maybe doing some control on the amount of poison Ivy would help as well. Also, when you play this course you have it nearly all to your self, so enjoy the peace and quiet!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 MORE MOWER'S

5+    6/16/2012   6/22/2012
Review By: Foster
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Close (for me)
Not free to enter park (not busy)
Has all the normal left, right, long, short, bendy, uphill, downhill shots covered.
Cons: Poison ivy everywhere
Nearly no maintenance
Other Thoughts: It has been almost 1 full year since a new review of this course has posted, the last review was from roughly the 1st time I went here. In the past year I have played this course over 30 times. It is close to my house, very unpopulated & despite the lengthy list of CONS… I tend to find myself here most weekends. Past reviews detail the course layout, fairway lengths and challenges to approach the basket.

I will simply add a quick review of each hole as I have experienced it.

Since the 1st game I played here I have transitioned from RHBH to LHBH, I have gone from a single over stable distance driver to a mix of slower more accurate midrange & fairway drivers.

This course is tough not by design but by the lack of maintaince & over abundance of poison ivy limiting the risk you may have taken on certain shots. With all the obstacles and flight path's on this course I believe, once mastered will teach you every shot needed to play on most courses in the twin cities (except throwing over water).

Though the park mowed and sprayed for poison ivy in the last weekend, it is the 1st time that I have experienced a clean course. IMO that alone made the course a night and day difference that I could learn to enjoy.

My observations apply to Left Hand Back Hand throws (close to Right Hand Forehand Flick throws) and are simply to say what each hole has taught me about how to play it.

1. I learned to throw under stable drives uphill but low. Too high on this drive and the fade will take me into the poison ivy rough off the tight right fairway. This hole set the light bulb off for me to use slower discs (stratus, buzzz) and focus on accuracy over distance. Clean landing path is at a premium and the basket is protected by pine trees and surrounded by a flat sugar sand field.

2. Downhill drives need to follow an s-curve from right to left in order to land near the unprotected basket without touching the bordering tree line. For me it is tough, but I learned to throw under stable discs with the coveted hyzer flip. This allows me to throw right; the disc turns left to avoid the trees and finishes to the right in the center of the fairway. This is the only hole I have birdied.

3. Nearly the same hole as #2 but longer and the fairway is protected in the center by a couple tall trees. This hole teaches bending a line around the center trees without hitting the tree line left or right. The lower fairway plays slightly uphill to the basket tucked in the right side; long puts are needed to keep me on par.

4. Very cool tunnel shot with many pine tree trunks to knock you off course. This hole reinforced the strategy of discing down to a mid range off the tee and losing some distance for a clean landing on the fairway past most obstacles. The basket is protected by mature trees (trunks) and play is easy after getting through the drive. Somehow I never end up where I need to be for a clean birdie and always par or bogie if the drive is bad.

5. This hole is a LHBH nightmare as it curves sweeping left the whole way. The left rough is really bushy, the right rough is all poison ivy and the fairway is a series of tall tree trunks like hole #4. The Stratus and Meteor under stable mid range discs have been critical to all pars I have thrown on this hole. Learning to overpower under stable discs on a clean line has been the biggest gift I have received on this hole. I have also thrown putters and blowfly discs on this hole and realized that if you are going to hit a tree these discs will minimize the damage.

6. Long 600 or so feet on a straight slow uphill, half way through the border tightens up to a wide tunnel with overhanging canopy on both sides. This hole is my least favorite as it rewards long straight shots, something I have yet to learn. The danger of landing on the bordering bike/hike trail off the right side is a mental block and I have come close to hitting people. I use this hole to work on drives but tend to always bogie or double bogie, I have hit pat only one time.

7. Cool hole that starts with a downhill drive with plenty landing room to the left (no good for LHBH) and then turns uphill to the right through a short but tight tunnel. The basket is placed to the rear left and protected by a tree in front and a flat field of sugar sand. This hole requires me to drive under stable discs to the leftt, and under stable mids to curve left through the tunnel.

8. No tee sign, long 90* right turn around or over a thick wooded poison ivy field. Once through the rough stuff the bowl shaped fairway opens up to a challenging but open basket near the top of the bowl. I hate the drive but love throwing mids and putters on the upshot.

9. Short drive to a 90* left turn with a few shortcut paths to cut the corner. I struggle on this hole and tend to play it with midrange discs; it will add a stroke but tends to keep me out of the woods where crazy bounces happen all the time. The basket is unprotected and surrounded by a very deep loose sugar sand field.
This hole ends facing the tee box for hole #1.

IMO this course is good for locals who want a quick 9 without waiting in line. There is no wasted space between holes but with the lack Of players you feel like every hole is separate. If you have not reached the point of throwing straight, the poison ivy WILL leave you frustrated.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Top 9 Hole Course

5+    8/17/2011   8/24/2011
Review By: Aim For The Chains
Played: 101  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -GREAT signs from hole to next tees
-Solid tee's boxed-in
-Fun Layout with different shots required
-Not Busy
-Longer distances than most other 9 hole courses (not many ace runs)
-Fun round every time played
Cons: -Apparent lack of improvements and maintenance with original idea seeming to be for an 18 hole course but funds were not there.
-Poison Ivy everywhere (but this is MN.. where ISNT there poison ivy? just dont drag your feet around!)
-Rough, Rough!
-Only 1 tee per hole with footage on signs slightly off
Other Thoughts: Does not compare well to other pay-to-play courses but obvious the course was going to be expanded and should be. Another 9 holes would make this course GREAT and worth the fee. At this point yes the pay to play is a little much but it is only ONE fee per car so less than other pay-to-play around and really a nice 9 hole course for any caliber of player. If the fees are going back into the course as well as for future development then there should be no issue paying here as this park has potential and the room to put in more holes than any course in the state. Seems like a forgotten course of the N. Metro!

Other reviews are too hard on this course IMO as it is more fun than really any other close 9 Hole course specially those along the 10/94 trip to St. Cloud which are a JOKE. Solid course with even better potential. Give it a chance!

www.facebook.com/DiscGolfMN

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/1/2010   6/18/2011
Review By: Sargentgeneral
Played: 80  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4 Years
Pros: - Nice tee pads
- Great signs
- Not too much traffic
- Nice to have disc golf in the area
Cons: - TONS of poison ivy
- Missing basket on 6 last I played
- Not worth the pay to play
- Newer course that needs the get played more to develop
Other Thoughts: Great to have a course in the area, but this is not the type of pay to play course I would play frequently. Poison ivy becomes a real problem, but great signage and tee pads help out a little to make the course respectable.

 Not quite worth the pay to play

1    6/13/2011   6/12/2011
Review By: deadbody
Played: 90  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 9 good holes. Nice tee pads and baskets. great maps at the start of each hole. some good different challenges. Long bomber, hard turns, lots of trees.
$5 to get into the park, pretty well maintained.
Cons: Poison Ivy. Lots of it. All over. Not really worth $5, just 9 holes with very little replay value. Not a bad course, a pretty good small town type 9. Not easy, but not challenging enough to justify a lot of play.

Not really beginner friendly, my son who has been playing for a few years was having some troubles and I even ended up carding a 6 on the bomber hole after yanking my drive way right.
Other Thoughts: Tough rough if you miss the fairways, a good challenge if you are out there for something else. Not worth paying $5 just to play though. Not enough holes to make a day out of playing this course, and Blue Ribbon Pines is not that far down the road.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Less than the sum of its parts

5+    11/20/2010   5/16/2011
Review By: JoshEpoo
Played: 66  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bunker Hills DGC offers pretty satisfying golf to advanced level players, yet it falls short of it's potential. The holes themselves are pretty interesting. There are multiple "over routes" for players thinking outside the fairway.

Hole 1: The fairway is straight for 280' and then doglegs left to a basket situated 50' away from the bend, out in the open. There is also a big [RHBH] anhyzer route that goes over the rough on the left side of the fairway, but if you don't get pin high you are boned.

Hole 2: Downhill, slight dogleg right to a basket tucked away on the right side of the fairway. Play the fairway or throw a spike hyzer over the tree line on the right.

Hole 3: Downhill shot. Throw a high flex shot/anhyzer/thumber/etc. over all the obstacles or weave your way through a pretty technical fairway to a strategically located pin.

Hole 4: Hit the big gap straight ahead through a hallway lined with trees, or hit the smaller gap on the right which then opens up for an easy ride to the basket.

Hole 5: 250' hyzer skip shot. Lots of trees but a simple line [for RHBH]. Throw whatever you want, but throw it with lots of hyzer and play the skip.

Hole 6: 600' straight bomber. The first 375' plays slightly uphill and is wide open. The next 200' plays slightly downhill through a 60' wide tree-lined fairway.

Hole 7: Plays straight 300' to a small, tough-to-hit gap, then 95' more to a pin protected by a lone bushy tree that makes the hole really difficult to deuce.

Hole 8: Extreme dogleg right. 175' down a tightly wooded fairway then another 150' to a basket on a slope. There is an over route short cut for those bold enough to take it. It's the only way to deuce the hole other than a 125'+ throw-in from the fairway.

Hole 9: A 400' booming hyzer. Tough to reach the pin in one even for those with the arm because of the angle of the fairway and the trees obstructing the tee shot.

I enjoy the holes here. There aren't any gimme 2's, but there are a lot of challenging birdies for advanced level players.
Cons: Technically, playing the course is free, but you have to pay $5 to park because it's a regional park. That cost is hard to justify if you're just going to be playing disc golf.

This is an intermediate to advanced level course, but those people aren't going to pay the money to play these 9 holes. There is only 1 tee/pin position on each hole and the replay value just isn't high enough to stay here all day.
Other Thoughts: If they added another 9 holes of comparable quality, this course would easily rate a 3.5+ instead of the 1.5 I'm giving it right now, and it would merit making the trip for the disc golf alone.

I've never had any problems with the poison ivy that others have encountered here but I always play Bunker around Thanksgiving.

If you're going to be swimming at the Wave Pool, playing with your kids at the playgrounds, or patronizing any of the other parks services, by all means, play a round of disc here. If not, skip it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/9/2010   8/15/2010
Review By: CReb
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging. Alot of blind holes.
Cons: I hate this course. When I played it seemed as though the only work they do to it is to scoop up horse crap. I came out with bad poison ivy, I stayed pretty well on the path. $5 is not worth it when we are spoiled with courses like BRP. I am not impressed at all. I found it extremely hard to find discs. Really long grass, downed tress, etc.
Other Thoughts: The hole up the wood chipped path was not there.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Simple isn't always best.

1    7/12/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: Peach
Played: 106  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course made great use of signs to guide you throughout play. This was quite helpful even though the course layout was quite intuitive.

During my round I believe I was the only person on the course so if you're looking for solidarity this is your course.

A great course for beginners to the sport as it will provide them a slight challenge without overwhelming them.
Cons: With no elevation changes and nearly every hole being a straight shot this was a terribly boring course. This layout was so simple that I left my first round shooting negative. My personal feeling is that this should never be possible on a course you are shooting "blind". This says a great deal about the simplicity of the design when I cannot drive over 280 feet.

The brush was a bit unwieldy although not unbearable. Some light lawn maintenance would make this course much more pleasing on the eyes.

The park charges a $5 parking fee. I am a strong proponent of pay-to-play courses as they generally produce wonderful results. This is an exception. Charging anything to play this course is outlandish. The course is too simple, too unkempt and too short to feel justified in paying for.
Other Thoughts: The course is fair if you're a local resident although not worth the drive if you have to spend more than 15 minutes in transit.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.