North Plains, OR 
Horning's Hideout - Meadow Ridge Share
Uploaded By: Bob Horning Hole #2 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee: 390' long, 11' drop, dogleg right



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
It was 95 degrees!

1    8/11/2014   8/13/2014
Review By: FrankWilliams
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The tee signs were great. They had distance and elevation as well as par and the location of the next tee from the basket.

The underbrush was mostly cleared away, enough to be challenging, but not so dense that discs would be easily lost.

The dense forest was beautiful to play though, with lots of elevation changes and no graffiti or trash.

There were clean bathrooms with sinks and flushing toilets and enough room to change.
Cons: Several of the par 3 were over 400' through heavy foliage, which should be par 4 if playing at a blue tee rating.

There were several holes with mandatory trees indicated on the tee signs, but with no corresponding sign on any tree, so I was left guessing which tree was the mandatory. This was inconsistent as there were other holes that had trees with a mandatory sign attached to them.

From the basket on several of the holes you could not see the next tee so several times I wandered about looking for the next tee. The locations are clearly posted on the tee signs though, so don't forget to look.

Several of the chains were poised on the edge of a steep slope, which nearly mandated a light touch putting, but the custom chains run down to the edge of the rims, and I had several touch puts that hit the center of the chains dead on, and proceeded to slide down the chains to the edge of the rim and drop out.
Other Thoughts: There is about a mile of a winding gravel road down to the parking area, so low clearance vehicles use caution.

There is a $4 per person (not per vehicle) usage fee.

The custom baskets ring just like a tonal when you strike the bottom rim. After just playing a few tonal courses up in the Vancouver area I had got to liking that gong sound, but here I was punished for hearing it.

Peacocks and peahens wandering around the parking area were fun to try to get a photo of.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Be ready to hike...

1    8/9/2013   8/10/2013
Review By: reed2020
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great tee pads and signs. Very challenging course which requires all types of shots. Every tee sign gives the direction to the next tee box. This course requires you to hit your lines. Trash cans throughout the course and they get used. Very little trash throughout the course.
Cons: The only con I would really give to any course at Horning's is that some fairways are close, or parallel and it can get a little congested at times, but this is a small factor in the overall experience.
Other Thoughts: Bring plenty of food and snacks, as this course is a good workout. You hike up and down the mountain throughout the entire thing. Locals are friendly and helpful. This course would be very tough to play solo, but could be done. Extra set of eyes are helpful on the holes. Many of the holes are big and can be broken up into placement shots. Unless you have a CANNON, I would recommend playing many of the holes in sections. If you get off the fairways, you can get buried. I would recommend this course to anyone looking for a good challenge. This is not for beginners, or casual players. They may not have a lot of fun on this course, as it could become real frustrating to them. This is Oregon's Discgolf Utopia and should be a stop for anyone passing through.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Difficult and Fun

1    6/2/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: Rusty Shackleford
Played: 25  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a tough course but it is well designed. There is a way (or two) to get to the basket from every tee, but not an easy way.

There's a lot of variation. All of the holes are interesting and require a little thinking.

Tee pads, signs, baskets are all excellent. I actually like these baskets better than any others I've played both because the yellow stands out and for the nice bell sound they can make.
Cons: Roll aways! The hills are so steep putters will roll to the bottom of them if you overshoot the basket and a lot of the baskets are in front of steep downhills. On a hot or wet day chasing a disc down a hill then playing back up gets old fast.

Hole #6. I'm really not a fan of throwing up steep hills, but it's part of the game.
Other Thoughts: This is among the must play courses in Oregon.

With nice onsite camping and 3 x 18 courses Horning's is not to be missed.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Loved It

1    3/16/2013   3/28/2013
Review By: joshkns
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Elevation
-No Non Disc Golf Traffic
-Great Baskets, Awesome Teepads & Signs
-Great Flow
-Clean
-Course Forces a variety of Shots
-Restrooms
-Onsite Camping
Cons: None For Me
Other Thoughts: After reading other reviews I was almost dreading playing this course, just because im not really that good of a player. I must say it is a tough course but I had a blast playing it. Even with the great elevation the way the trails are set up you don't feel beat up walking to the higher up holes.
I really wish other courses had the same teepad signs, makes life so much easier for the shot and finding the next teepad.
The one other thing which I Don't consider a con is you should defiantly play with someone else or have a spotter this course.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Treeeeeeeesssss!

2-4    2/9/2013   2/12/2013
Review By: Ocelotl
Played: 35  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.1 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Let me start this out by saying this is by far the best, hardest, most challenging (occasionally frustrating) course Ive ever had the pleasure to play.

-Shot variety- I only had a small travel bag with me when I played here, I was WOEFULLY underequipped to handle the variety of shots needed to get pars, let alone birdies here. Bring your full bag of tricks to the meadow course, and be prepared to use it all.

Tee Signs/Pads- Large, clean cement pads with very detailed signs to keep you on track, all pertinent info including directions to the next tee are listed, really well done.

-Highlight Holes:
#7, Long dogleg right that keeps turning down to a basket perched on the edge a hill, all through a pretty damn tight window. I dont think ive ever seen a hole challenge me to throw this particular shot, I did not succeed at all, but had fun trying!
#8, top of the world shot, 400+ft down hill through the trees to a mostly hidden basket, I could stand there all day and launch discs, one of the holes I was bummed to be playing by myself because it is really hard to track discs that get off track.
#10, Another very challenging dogleg right that just kicks your ass if you get off line at all. And again another shot I had never been challenged to throw before. While not the case with everyone I enjoy playing some holes that I just cant seem to get right, challenging me to improve.

-Scenery, set way up in the hills in north plains this place is nothing short of spectacular, long vistas, tons of trees, a lake, and river, something to stare at in every direction.
Cons: My only nit to pick would be a better sign pointing the way to 1's tee pad, I ended up wandering around a little looking for it, but all in all nothing to make the day less than awesome.
Other Thoughts: I played two solo rounds on this course, there is enough blind shots and hidden hills that it is a pretty tough solo round. Got lucky enough to speak to Bob H. who was working on a construction project near the parking lot and had a few pointers on a couple holes, listen if you get the opportunity it is well worth your time.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Intermediate/Expert

1    9/13/2012   11/29/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 417  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set on private property that is set up for a few different activities. But, it seems like if the course is open, then there won't be any interference by default! There are three pretty distinct areas of this course; there are holes in denser woods with rough, holes within heavily populated patches of tall, shorn tree trunks, and some holes that are more in the open bordered by forest.
- #1 kicks it off in some very dense woods; there are a couple tight lines to get down the basket; either hyzer or anny around and through the trees. #6 is a brutal hole; straight ahead and straight UP, with a sharp turn left at the top of the (first) hill. #7 is a dogleg right with a pretty generous fairway off the tee, but the second half of the hole has a multitude of trees to weave between to reach the basket. #8 is the tightest hole of them all; with some tiny tiny gaps to get down to the bottom. Perhaps a super wide RHBH anny around everything? Too risky probably. #10 is probably the nastiest hole out here; a skinny RHBH anny/flex shot off the tee between two rows of tall trees. If you made it through, you then have the choice to go high&right or low&left around a thick clump of trees. All of these holes have a ton of trees to avoid, and also has forest to provide some nasty rough.
- A good amount of the holes don't have as much forest to worry about, but a whooole lot of tree trunks to navigate. #3 to start; with a couple different RHBH anny lines to get to the basket. #4 has a pretty open hyzer line up to a small green, #5 is a sharp, blind hyzer around and through a lot of trees, #11 and #13 are uphill through the trunks, and #12 is a long gentle hyzer. While some of the holes demand a RHBH hyzer line, there is also the opportunity to find creative shapes through the tree trunks. Just have to stay clean.
- Plenty of holes have some more open space to work with, but usually provide gaps or windows to hit at some point to bring the challenge. The back half of #2 is pretty open, but you have to throw a flick or anny a good distance to get out of the woods. #9 is another flick shot, but the basket is tucked up into the woods after a gap. #14 is a nice downhill hyzer, but again, there are some very tight gaps to get through just to make it down to the open area. #16 is a MEGA bomber, with forest on the left, which eventually ends with a button hook finish around a mando, into a forested depression by a small creek. #17 and #18 are kind of similar, a pretty open shot off the tee, with the basket tucked uphill in a diminishing gap in the forest. #17 isn't quite as deep, but #18 is long and well protected.
- As you might have gathered, there are a ton of elevation changes at this course, from start to finish. A few holes are in the 'meadow', but the majority are on the 'ridge'. Downhill shots range from the extreme on #8, to very good on #9, #12, and #14. Uphills include the sick vertical gain on #6, and the tough ones on #4, #11, and #13. Just to name a few. The only holes that might be considered flat are #15 and #16. Plenty of places where errant shots can encounter some nasty rollaways/sloping rough. #8 for sure, dangerous out to the left, and #9 if you go long. #10 is sloped left off the tee; if you can't make it out of the tunnel your next shot could be next to impossible. #18 also warns of the gulch to the left.
- The sloping terrain also leads to some precarious basket locations, of course. #1 behind the pin, #4 has a small, elevated green, #7 has a slope behind the basket, #9's is on top of a slope, #15 is also on a slope; definitely keeps things interesting from start to finish. Also some protected pins due to trees and small gaps.
- Gold level course with gold level hole lengths. #16, obviously, at a huge 930' with the hook back at the end. #10 at 550' is sick due to the tight line off the tee and the obstacles before the pin. #14 at 575' isn't too bad as long as the first shot is clear of all the nastiness, due to the big downhill slope. #18 plays long too, at 425', with the tight uphill approach. There are some shorter holes as well, to offer some birdie opportunities, but lots of trees and blind pin locations don't make them easy.
- Homemade baskets are sweet! Tee signs are very nice, as well as the teepads. Navigation can be a little tricky in some spots, with a few different baskets/tees in sight, so the map can help save some time the first time through.
Cons: - A few of the holes are crammed pretty tight in one spot; mainly holes #4, #11, #12, #13, #10. Some OB areas help to prevent shots from wandering too far, but I could see the area being very crowded when the course is crowded.
- A few minor, nit-picking things, like some barbed wire behind #6, and a gravel road through some holes. Also no water present, and some might find the course a little hyzer-heavy. No big deal on any of these, really.
Other Thoughts: - What more is there to say? This course is for real. The only knocks are some cramped areas, and maybe a teeny little bit hyzer-heavy. Definitely designed for advanced players - the more advanced the better!

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Lots of fun

1    9/30/2012   10/25/2012
Review By: hukdiscs
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of different types of holes with great use of the varied terrain.
Nice concrete pads, quality baskets, and tee signage.
Course layout made sense, limited wondering between holes.
Not Crowded, even on a perfect sunny sunday, and with three different courses to play there are always options.
Cons: We were given some vague and confusing directions by an employee as to were to begin, which is way past where the main parking lot is and we did not see any signs to point you in the right direction. Not a big deal really.
There are plenty of places one could lose a disc, but neither my wife or myself lost any.

Other Thoughts: Some maps or additional signs would be nice, but it was a fun and very challenging course.
Could easily get messy during the rainy season, both the course and the road in.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Great God Father of Horning's Hideout.

1    7/14/2011   7/23/2011
Review By: ninja-don
Played: 29  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.1 Years
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Baskets here are all home made, painted bright yellow with giant black numbers on them (very easy to see), and well made at that, they catch disc very well... maybe beter than any other basket I've played.
- Tee signs are excellent!!! they are very nice and accurate. They also have the elevation change for each hole from tee to basket (EXAMPLE: +11ft or - 25ft), this was nice as it made me think about if I need more or less on my shot, which I rarely pay attention to otherwise.
- Tee pads were long, concrete, and had a good circular brush pattern for traction layed in them.
- There are some intense challenges on this course... let's start with plenty of MANDOS that will have you either throwing out of your confort zone. Then there are the trees... they seem to sometimes come out of no where to knock you disc down. Elevation changes are plenty hole #8 will have you hiking up a hill to throw downhill 420ft and 124 feet downhill, but don't let that fool you... that 420ft is trcky with trees a plenty, and a huge ridge of thick brush to the left that is sure to have you serching for you disc if you miss throw or bounce off a tree in the direction. And finally... some of the holes are just plain LONG!!! Bring you big guns for this one.
-You can get towles from the house were you pay. The towels are free to use, just bring them back where you got them.
- Normally a pay to play course is a con for me, but $3/person for ALL DAY and for ALL 3 courses... that is a deal!
- Drinking water available for free (not bottled).
- Porta-potties all over the place. Not so many on the courses but before and after for sure.
Cons: - I know it's not the courses fault, but plan accordingly to not have cell phone service here. (It works before you start down the dirt road so it's not that far to drive back out if you really needed to make a call).
- Also not needed, but kind of a con for me since this place is so great for disc golf is the fact that they don't have disc for rent or for sale. (This would really put them over the top in my book, as it is the only really major thing I think this place is missing).
Other Thoughts: - This is there prise course... it is hard but fun... do not miss this one if you have to choose, but smaller children or true beginner would probably be best left to the other two courses.
- Be prepared to drive down a narrow dirt/gravel road with blind corners. (I drove a lowered honda and made it just fine, but it wasn't ideal) I don't think there is any car that couldn't make it, just be ready for it.
- This is the Godfather of the Hideout. I played this course first and it was awesome!!! I still very much enjoyed the other two courses, but wish I had played them in reverse order from easiest to hardest.
- If you want a little less of a challenge and less of a hike try the Canyon Course, and if you want a cool down or warm up for this course you could try a quick (30-45min) round on the Highland course.
- Camping and fishing available here... I paid $15 dollars to camp on site... it was well worth it since I was in the middle of my trip and wanted to play all these courses.
- I was able to play all three courses after palying Pier Park and taking lunch and dinner breaks. If you have the energy... it's completely possible (and recommended) to play all three courses.

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Hiking and Hucking

1    7/4/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 110  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 6.3 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You'll know you're in for something special when you pay your daily fee (there is a bucket on the honor system) and turn around to see a gorgeous lake with a couple wood bridges crisscrossing the placid waters. You'd like to live at a place like this.

The course is every bit as awe-inspiring, but it may not leave you as calm. You will find out exactly what shots you can not confidently execute. But you'll love staring down the fairway planning out that shot.

There are big elevation changes on most holes, and the course forces you to putt at baskets on inclines (a huge plus in my book: risk/reward makes for better scoring spreads and more fun). The holes play long, even when they are not. A 250-foot uphill shot sounds reachable until you throw it. A 30-foot elevation increase will take the wind out of your drive.

The tee signs are excellent, showing distances, elevation changes, basket locations, and possible alleys. Nicely done. The homemade baskets are mostly a pro. Their bright yellow is very visible through the woods. They have three sets of chains, so spit throughs are almost impossible. But the bottom part of the basket is not as wide as normal baskets, so you won't get some makes that you would on normal baskets.

A few holes of note:

#7: One of the tighter holes. You have a tight uphill shot where going too far or short will leave you with few options. It's a hard right dogleg at the top of the hill followed by a gentle left to right to the hole. The gaps are there, but if you get overaggressive you have just crappy outshots to get you to the narrow fairway.

#10: This is one of the flatter holes, but it's a bear. You have to throw a long left to right shot to a landing area. When you're talking about landing areas, you're usually talking about a well-designed course. Then it's a long right to left curve to get in sniffing distance of the hole. If you're a pro, you might have a shot at a 3 on this 550-foot hole. If you're a mortal and drift off the fairway, good luck.

#8: It's the one with the 124-foot drop. If you can thread the needle, it's a thrilling hole. If you hit an early tree like I did, the hole becomes deflating pretty quickly (more from the wasted potential than anything). It's a steep hike down, tough on even healthy knees.
Cons: Each hole has just one basket position. This isn't a huge con (there are two other courses on the property, after all), but multiple positions are commonplace with the top courses.

The gaps on the fairways are demanding, which is good, but sometimes whether you hit them depends more on luck than skill, which is less good. The aforementioned #8's fairway requires precision over 400 feet, which I don't think is realistic even for players much better than I am. And #14 has one too many trees in your way, keeping you from safely landing in sunlight.

I wish they could have incorporated the lake. Could have had an epic hole or two.
Other Thoughts:
I'll discuss hole #16 here since it's not a pro or con. The mando is not as gimmicky as I feared it might be (there are no reasonable way into the woods until shortly before the mando, so it's not forcing a long way around just for the heck of it). But any mando that isn't off the tee can deliver the most boring shot in disc golf: the 20 foot hyzer around the mando tree when your approach falls just short. Happened to me. Yawn. Still, the fairway has some strategy with trying to place your drives on the crests of the rolling hills, and there is some strategy with the mando that I apparently failed. The hole ends nicely, too.

This is probably the best designed course in Oregon. It will let you know exactly what your weaknesses are. My score was like Donna Summer: it got into the 80s, but it really should have stayed in the 70s.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 An Interesting Experience. . .

1    7/12/2011   7/14/2011
Review By: austoroc
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 10.3 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The wonderful aspects of this course has to do with the variety of the holes along with the challenges that comes with it.

You truly will want to dig deep in your disc golf bag for discs that may work best for a particular shot you are facing. Unlike many courses you may have played at, many of the shots you will have to make will force you to use different throwing techniques, different standing positions (or kneeling for that matter), and you will also have to think a bit more about your strategies.

Cons: The navigation from hole to the next hole was sketchy on few occasions, but it's nothing to seriously gripe about.

I found some of the paths I was required to walk to between holes somewhat tedious. You'll need to be careful about walking downhill on some of the steep hills. (such as on hole #8!) I imagine when it's dry and dusty, erosion will be an issue because many of those paths (downhill or uphills) would benefit from having some homemade "stairs" (for lack of better word) being built.

I think it would be very beneficial if the course had additional shorter tee pads for each hole to make the course a bit easier for some people who wanted to experience Meadow Ridge but did not have the arms to throw far. (especially on the 16th hole!)
Other Thoughts: I found this course to be an very interesting experience, as I don't think I ever remember playing at a course that had so many elevation changes.

While I am not a seasoned pro, I have enough experience that I can enjoy this course. I just find this course a bit too tough to enjoy if I had brought friends who may not be serious disc golfers.

I would want to play at some other classic courses before even considering giving this course a score higher than 4. Based on my own playing experiences, I would rate this to be excellent, because it's truly an original course with abundant challenges for the best players while still enjoyable for people like myself.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.