North Plains, OR 
Horning's Hideout - Meadow Ridge Share
Uploaded By: Bob Horning Hole #13 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee, 325' long, 30' rise



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 huge challenge!

1    5/20/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: DutchViking
Played: 46  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.3 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: World Class Course at a World Class facility!
18 very tough holes for the Serious Disc Golfer that will test every aspect of your game as well as you temper (at times) Definitely designed for pros and masochists, but amateurs will do fine also
Great tee pads and Unique but functional baskets--i didn't really have an issue with the baskets, I think they add character to the facility

Uphill/Downhill/Left/Right/Tight Windows/Low Ceilings/Big and Little Dog legs/Tight and Technical/Long and Open/Everything! Tons of variety and no easy or filler holes.
Very clean and well placed port-O-pottys
Consistently this course rewarded skill and not luck

Standout Holes:
#1 Lets you know what you are about to get into! Very tight windows for a very controlled anhyzer or hyzer down hill to a well protected basket with a sharp drop off behind and the terrain practically invites a roll away. I took a 4, luckily.

#6 Uphill and with narrow fairway and unforgiving rows of trees on both sides, AND big dog leg left about 150 feet with plenty more danger with trees and possible rolling down the hill. My par shot chained out.

#8 421 ft. with 124 below makes this a pretty cool shot already, but add huge trees and crazy tight routes and it becomes epic. Then add the incredible views of a lush green valley surrounded by huge tree spotted hills and it becomes unforgettable. It didn't matter that I carded a 5 after my par shot went past the basket and down into the meadow, I was insanely high on disc golf. Loved it!

#10 550 ft Par 4 was the most brutal hole on the course, except for the 930 footer #16. 150 down a tree lines fairway, then huge dog leg right and slightly uphill for 350 ft. THIS ONE WILL EXPOSE EVERY WEAKNESS OF YOUR GAME! It may very well take you down a peg,

#18 this is an awesome and memorable ending hole. It starts as clear meadow that narrows sharply with trees on both sides and the basket on a hill. Very tough to hit that line and get it near enough to the basket to have a chance for deuce. Play for a tough par.

Cons: I did not really care for the 930 footer, long and straight for 850 and then hope and pray to get it close to the basket for a 5. Blind pin location after 3 drives did not help.
Possibly a few navigation issues at 1 or 2 spots, but I was playing with very few on the course with the rain coming. This can and I'm sure will be fixed with simple, well placed arrows.
Other than that not much to gripe about, period. this course really is special, just like the whole property.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course and property lived up to its hype. Course is beautiful (especially at the top of the world shot #10) and very tough and a huge variety of shots, any player will have their work cut out for them if they are going to finish their round at par. Also, only $3!! they could probably charge more, but I feel that this course is in line with most disc golfers' motto; keep it cheap! This place is worth so much more than that, and all who have played here should feel truly grateful. Plan to spend all day here and bring a lunch and drinks.

I only played this course once, and although I normally like to review after a couple of rounds, this course really made a very strong impression on me. That being said, this course really kicked my ass, but I also had quite a few shots that rocked.

Rating this against all other disc courses I have played, only the Legendary DeLaVeaga in Santa Cruz compares. I rated them both 5. Plan a trip so you can see what we all are raving about.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

"Mountain" Ridge

2-4    7/15/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 177  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 22.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/16/2013
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a mountain man's course without having to take a chairlift to get your elevation! The incidentals such as the first rate tee signs and tee pads pale in comparison to the adventure ahead. The course winds through mature conifer forest and along wooded roads and a field or two to boot. It has epic length and elevation change (sometimes extreme) on every single hole. Finally, the pin positions are often set on steep hillsides, so there's never a dull moment (see this in Cons, too).

Exciting and memorable holes:
#1 - a downhill tunnel shot through the woods with the basket having a decent slope behind it let's you know the challenges ahead.
#8 - a top of the world shot- steep downhill through thick woods. Take a moment at the picnic table at the tee to absorb the hole and surrounding views!
#10 - works it way up an old road that will punish any errant throws. A hole that can be a round changer!
#16- throw your first few throws through a rolling field then "fishhook" left down a forested slope to hope for a 5.
Cons: Takes a while to get through this one. It's a workout as well. But you're playing disc- so is there any real complaints!

Some of the pin placements are a bit sadistic and do add some of luck factor (to memory #1,3, 7, 12, 15.) There have been several occasions where we "played it safe", to insure that a miss would insure a safe landing - and the disc caught an edge and just rolled, rolled away into oblivion.
Other Thoughts: Just a couple suggestions on a couple of holes:

#6 - the straight uphill narrow shot that has a L-shaped dogleg left. There is OB along the top far edge of the fairway. I don't see the reason for the OB, other than it may divide property lines. If you land up, I believe you have been punished adequately due to the trees that block a clear shot to the pin. Otherwise, I think the OB could go away.
#14 - the straight downhill shot out into the field. There is just one fir tree at the end of the fairway alley, right in the middle, that prevents the player from having the opportunity to really get one out into the field. Perhaps this is to protect the #16 fairway that shares the field. It would be a nice reward if that tree was removed to allow a very precise shot through that narrow opening. (pro - a better hole / Con - danger for the #16 fairway)

Combine this course with the experience of being able to camp out and soak in the outdoors and you've got true Destination Disc Golf. They also have a stocked trout pond on site, and they will rent out poles for you as well.

Bob Horning and his mom are usually somewhere on site - say hi to them as you go by. They are super nice folks!

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Meadow Ridge

2-4    12/5/2010   12/10/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 183  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 14.3 Years
31 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
The Meadow Ridge Gold Course in North Plains, Oregon, was the third course installed at Horning's Hideout. It was developed by Bob Horning in 2009, and helped to complete the epic trilogy, thus making Meadow Ridge one of the premier championship caliber courses in the northwest if not the world! Similar to the Canyon Course, this course utilizes the mixed terrain, including extreme elevation at times, ever so tight fairways, and open fields. First timers who come here truly get to experience what the northwest is all about. The course primarily plays in the woods with the exception of the 930 foot Par 5, which still ends in the woods after throwing over several hundred feet of rolling hills. Most holes require precision off the tee, with accurate upshots, and precise putts. Those who are less accurate will find deflections devastating to their score, and become rather frustrated with their overall experience. The course is most appropriate for advanced and open players, but intermediate will do just fine as long as you know what you're in for.

The homemade yellow baskets are fantastic up here in the northwest. With the grey sky and heavily wooded surroundings, these things pop out which makes it easier for those less familiar with the course. They seem to catch fairly well and have large black numbers on the side of the basket to help with navigation. The cement tee pads are truly some of the best I have had the privilege of playing on. They are extremely grippy, and are roughly 5 x 12 feet ( with the exception of hole #16 which is 5 x 16 feet), which allows enough room for a big run up. The tee signs, similar to the other two courses, are designed by Houck, and are the most accurate signs I have seen to date. The information on the tee signs show elevation changes +/-, par, distance, ob's, and obstacles down to the last tree. You couldn't ask for more.

The design of the course was extremely well thought out, allowing for 14 Par 3's, three Par 4's, and one Par 5. Holes range in distance from 255 - 930 feet, averaging about 390 feet per hole. Although several holes stood out during my round, holes # 8 and # 18 were my favorites. Hole #8 as many others have stated utilizes the most elevation on the course, throwing 420 feet with a 120 foot drop. To make things more difficult, the multiple lines toward the pin require precision all the way down or some serious luck. Hole #18 is over 425 feet, with the first 300 feet in an open meadow, but closes quickly into the woods again where there is an elevated basket that is heavily guarded. On this hole it takes both power and accuracy to score well on.
Cons:
Because this course is only a year old, there is still some trimming to do on some of the fairways. Although I felt that the majority of fairways were well developed and provided multiple approaches to the pin off the tee, I still felt like a few needed some work (i.e. hole #6).

During certain times of the year the growth can get somewhat thick off the fairways as well, so a spotter is a must if you want to keep your disc.

To be honest though, I felt the locals have done a phenomenal job installing and maintaining this course and I really couldn't find a whole lot that needed to be improved.
Other Thoughts:
I played this course this past June and was blown away by Horning's Hideout but couldn't make up my mind on what to rate it. I told myself that I needed to play it again before I could write a review so that I could spend a little more time analyzing the course hole by hole rather then HH as a whole. If I were to give HH an overall rating it would easily be a 5.0 due to the way that each course compliments one another. However, I felt that no one course was a 5.0 all by itself. Over time as the course continues to build character it could easily be a possibility, but for now I feel there is still a little room to grow.

I am so impressed with this entire facility however, and feel it is an honor to play disc golf at one of the premier disc golf destinations in the world! The owners are some of the most genuine and selfless people I have ever met and have put a lot of time and money in to this place so that we can enjoy the game we love. Thank you!

31 of 31 people found this review helpful.

 Bring Advil

1    11/13/2010   11/19/2010
Review By: Tiets1
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 30.6 Years
3 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Elevation, Great Tee Pads, Great signage, Utilizes all your throws; Tough baskets (and unique) you better hit those chains; must be accurate or you will pay.
Cons: Need a spotter on several holes which can be tough when you all want to stay at the tee; Basket areas on many holes positioned on the edges of drop-offs which force you to play short of baskets.
Other Thoughts: This was my first time out to this course and you can not help but smile the entire way around! Best to play with someone who has played before (none of us had) and that makes it very difficult to select drivers and know where to aim and or how much to rip it or place your throws. On several holes, i threw way too far on blind doglegs, thinking "if I would have know I would have never thrown like that" But, next time, wow, it is going to be great!!!

3 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Premier Spot to Play Disc

1    9/22/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: bigdank
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 23 Not
Pros: Three courses to play. Easy, Medium, Hard. I have played all three in one day multiple times and I love it more every time I play.
Cons: The baskets take some getting used too. I would prefer Pro Baskets over the Home Made.
Other Thoughts: No other places around like HH

1 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 Best of the Northwest!

1    9/8/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: Daffron24
Played: 150  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.8 Years
15 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tucked away in the country of Oregon, Hornets Hideout is an amazing campus of 3 memorable courses. Meadow ridge is the most difficult of the 3 as it is rated a gold level course. This being said, it is not a beginner course. You will be challenged in every single way.
The course winds through a nice mix of open and wooded areas that flow seamlessly through the entire property. The well-defined fairways along with amazing tee sign which show exactly where the holes are, hole length, and even elevation change make this a course easy to follow. All of the baskets are custom (I think old cars rims at are painted). Tee pads are clay which have amazing grip. The course maintained very well by the owners who are very friendly and helpful.
The course uses every hill, tree, and whatever else you can think of to the fullest. The elevation on this course allows for you to be tested shooting up hills as well as down them. One of the most memorable holes on this course was #8. This top of the world shot is a 420' shot downhill that is slightly wooded and a very fun shot. It has difficulty along with a very scenic view of Oregon's beautiful trees. Meadow ridge is designed for every dg to be tested using all of the shots in the book as well as gives the dg'er to shoot at a variety of distances. This course is mainly technical, but does offer a few open shots.
The grounds offer restrooms, running water, camping on site, as well as plenty of parking the grass….just don't run over a peacock.
The overall challenge of this course is a 5/5. The overall challenge of this course along with everything this course as well as the other two offer make this one of the best courses in the world and quite possibly the best course in the Northwest.
Cons: The only real con for me was finding the course. I am not from the Portland area and I had a hard time finding the course.
Other Thoughts: Meadow ridge is a premier dg destination. The atmosphere of the course is amazing. The friendly locals help make this experience something you'll always remember. This picturesque course will be a course you'll tell all of your friends about. Make sure to bring your walking shoes, bug spray, and an umbrella.

15 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Oregon's Most Challenging Disc Golf

2-4    6/24/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.1 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Following a nice drive west from Portland, one veers off into the countryside and eventually finds themselves winding down into a canyon road with strange bird calls echoing all around (peacocks, of all things!) and a group of buildings with a nice hippy farm commune-like vibe going on...all very good and very nice.

This course is among the most challenging I've ever played, and also has some of the most unique holes of any course in the history of the sport. There are long holes through dense forest. Even longer holes through a rolling meadow. Lots of up and down through mixed open and tight foliage, pick a route and cross your fingers! A signature downhill hole (#8) through heavy woods (this is not common amoung top-of-the-world-like holes). The nastiest right dog leg down-up combo I've ever seen (#9) that is intensely challenging even though it is short.

This course will punish everyone at some point, and over 3 rounds you'll face nearly every kind of difficult shot that this sport can muster. We also played part of a round with some pros and saw how a truly good player can rise to the challenge of crowded fairways and long tosses, the necessity of landing tough upshots, nailing long putts through traffic, etc..

Nasty OBs, challenging mandos, huge risks, etc., all await the thrower. I lost my favorite putter on #8 after kicking far left off a tree, but they later found it and are holding it for me at the main house (can't wait to go back and claim it, and play again!).

Hole 16: This was a tough hole, truly a par 5. It plays over some rolling hills in the relative open, then around a tree in a gorge to the left and back the other way in the valley. Wow! You'll need three well-placed 300-400' drives to get up to the landing position, then a very controlled upshot back down the valley in the other direction in order to make par. Getting it in the basket in 4 throws would be a phenomenally well-played hole.

I must say I love the signage, the custom baskets (what great yellow paint!), the tees, and the craftsman-like atmosphere created about the course and the property in general. This place really is a special oasis away from the rest of the world. And you can go play 2 other very fun 18 hole courses on the same property when you've cut your teeth on Oregon's best/most challenging course and want a more casual round.
Cons: They were still doing a lot of maintenance on the course when I was there, hacking out some undergrowth and doing some burns. This was a bit distracting, even if it didn't directly impact the holes we were playing at the time.
Other Thoughts: This is a new course through pretty rough foliage. I feel like the "rough-around-the-edges" aspect of the course is something that will improve with use and time. Foot traffic will better define fairways. Undergrowth and debris will be cleared out (it should anyways, to prevent fires). Regular maintenance will find an equilibrium, it is a learning process.

This is not a course for newer players...I would recommend this only to ~850/900-rated and up.

Use spotters! If you don't, I guarantee you will lose a disc (or more).

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Can't call it perfection

2-4    6/20/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: discallday
Played: 112  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2010
12 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: It's all been said before...
The tee pads are super long and grippy
Excellent tee signs with distances and directions to the next tee pad.
Here, we have par fours and fives
All sorts of elevation changes (and some interesting natural (?) tiered fairways)
No lack of "challenge"
SOME nice vistas
The course has some yet to be developed potential
Cons: Obviously, I disagree with many of the other reviewers, so here it goes…

Though the staff has clearly put an admirable amount of work into this course, I think a number of the holes are inherently flawed due to lack of flight-path definition. Holes 4, 11, 13, and the first bit of 16 require uphill chucks through undefined fairways (these are either too dense or too wide open). Hole 8 is fun, but as others have said, it's a bit of a crap shoot (as is 14, with all the branches). 1 is even a bit of a crap shoot, but I think I like it simply because it's the first hole, and I haven't been worn down yet.

It's a little easy to lose discs on this course because parts are simply impossible to maintain; and I wouldn't ask anybody to try to keep the entire course maintained because of the elevation and already loose earth. Too much trimming will contribute to the erosion problems I think the staff must already be fighting. But as a result of the terrain, many of the holes are not pure gems (as one reviewer says), but are actually just not that fun to play. (Please note that my problem is not necessarily with disc loss potential, but with impracticality - and consequent lack - of optimal course maintenance).

While this course asks one to execute a wide range of shot types, too many of the holes do not give you sufficient choice about how you get to the basket. I'm talking about multiple well defined fairways, and shot choices per hole. Multiple options are what keep a course fresh. Holes that limit choice have the tendency to become boring after a few rounds. The "perfect course" should have few to none of these.
I agree with Valkyrie Kid that Meadow Ridge is not quite scenic enough. I need some more variety in terms of vegetation, and water if I'm going to give something a 5 disc rating.

*update - oh, and isn't there only one set of pin placements?
Other Thoughts: This course is tough. I'm sure others will think that I'm a wimp for voicing my relative disapproval of this course that has yet to receive only one review under 4.5. But a course is not laudable merely on the basis of requiring difficult shots, possessing extreme elevation changes, and innovative tee-pads and baskets.

The two other on-site courses definitely make Hornings' a wonderful disc golf destination, but each course should be rated by itself.

I think this course has definitely improved since it first opened (duh), and will continue to improve gradually, with maturity. But right now, I must disagree with the throng and it's criteria for perfection. Meadow Ridge might get there someday, but since I believe there is a lot of room for improvement, I have to say that it is not there yet.

12 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 A PNW heavy hitter

5+    5/1/2010   8/27/2010
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/21/2011
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Horning's Hideout Meadow Ridge is the "big kid" course of the Horning's complex. Like its smaller brother, Canyon, it offers mixed terrain and holes which vary from wide open fields to tight, almost ultratight woods and flat to extreme up and downhill holes. With a few exceptions, many of them fixable, the design is immaculate with holes mostly designed to challenge the gold level player.

Design - As stated above, many of the holes on this course were designed specifically with a gold level skill set in mind. An example of this comes early on the 2nd hole which is a long right fading RHBH turnover under a low-ceiling of pines. This shot requires either a long-distance RHFH through a moderately tight gap or a hyzer flip RHBH or equivalent which needs to challenge the relatively low-ceiling AND can maintain turn angle for the full flight - definitely not beginner or intermediate level skills! Other holes, like #1 are available to intermediates through open players and are just a matter of execution and percentages (with more skilled players just birding more often).

Overall, players at all skill levels will appreciate the most of the holes out here but may find some holes, like #2 or 18, above their reasonable skill level for consistent under par scoring, playing instead for easy (and perhaps boring) pars.

A few Oscar contenders - Holes 8, 10, and 18 stand out in my mind as "cream of the crop" type holes which won't soon be forgotten. I'll focus on 18 as the other two are mentioned frequently in previous reviews. Hole 18 is a 425ft bomb over an open field into a moderately tight uphill corridor of woods. To the left side, the hole is lined from start to finish by an OB line and steep drop off to a river valley. Longer throwing players may be able to reach this hole with an ultra high speed disc but will be playing a risky percentage game in terms of fading or skipping OB left. The gold-level bomber who can navigate this hole with a controllable fairway driver will be able to reap the birdie reward while minimizing the risks that high-speed disc throwers must take for a chance at 2. A great example of the hidden subtlety I'd argue some of these holes have.

Teepads - Yes a special shout-out to the course designers for creating the best tee pads I've ever had the privilege to play on! Anyone know who made these and how they made them - it would be great to distribute far and wide to other course designers/parks to serve as a model.
Cons: A few clunkers - Here is the main reason why my review does not rate this course a '5'. There are several holes which stand out in my mind as classic filler holes which don't add much to the course (ex. hole 15) with one in particular being a straight-up disaster (hole 9). Hole 9 is sandwiched in-between two of the most enjoyable holes on the course (mentioned in the "Oscars" section). The tee shot is a sharp left to right downhill arc around a tree line to the right side of the fairway. Almost all halfway decent shots land at the base of a small hill which jackknifes back right against the players throw, and because of this lack of separation the hole really boils down to who is able to make a 60-80' putt up the hill through small trees which guard the pin. In my three rounds here, I've seen 6 pars and 1 four and I'd expect that this sample is actually more diverse than the actual scoring distribution. I'm guessing nearly 85% of players get an easy par here with 5% birdies and 10% bogeys. It is clearly a filler hole to reach the next tee, but in my opinion only detracts from the course.

Another few holes could use a bit of careful trimming to open up lines off the tee. I always advocate for a very slow process over years to make these types of adjustments (much harder to regrow than to chop!) and perhaps this is exactly what the designers are in the process of doing so I'm not detracting for it in this review.
Other Thoughts: One of the fun parts about playing through this course is the different shadows of other courses you find here. I stepped up to several of the holes and immediately thought of courses which they are reminiscent of (Grange Darkside, Maple Hill, Hawk Hollow, Pulaski Top (KY)). Truly among great company, the Meadow Ridge course and the Horning's complex, while not quite 'top 10' material, is hard to beat for a fantastic disc golf experience.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  The Best Around

1    8/4/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: Harry Caray
Played: 46  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: -Really nice mixture of shots...forehand and backhand
-Unique holes...utilizes the terrain well
-Owners are 'friendly"
Cons: -None...if you have complaints about this course or how rugged it is, you should cease disc golfing
Other Thoughts: This course is of course a real challenge, but it isn't unfair. Good shots are rewarded...bad shots aren't. I'd love to see a PDGA event come to this course

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.