North Plains, OR 
Horning's Hideout - Meadow Ridge Share
Uploaded By: Adam Schneider Hole #16 (Taken 9/2009)
5 / 930ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee: 800+ feet through a field, then a backtracking mando to the left down toward the creek



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Fun and Scenic!

1    10/10/2014   10/11/2014
Review By: Scott64a
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well laid out, lots of challenging holes. Being a pro course, they had to have a par 5 on it. Hole 16 delivers. 930 ft!
This course has a lot of really scenic views and is a real blast to play.
Cons: This course is really hard to find when walking in from the parking area. I was told, "Go down behind the bathrooms and walk up the road a little bit." Turns out, that's not enough info to find it. I wandered around the fish pond and met a fellow who was working the turf for erosion control, and he got me to where I need to be. Turns out it was Bob Horning, who is a really nice guy. They need to put some signs up showing how to get to this course.
Other Thoughts: If you are planning to play 54 holes at this group of courses, play this course second and finish with the Canyon. This course is a solid hike and will wear you out a little.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Imbalanced, but fun

1    7/8/2013   10/7/2014
Review By: superberry
Played: 169  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 16.5 Years
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Scenic secluded beauty. The setting is very nice, basically a larger recreation area resort style place that has three disc golf courses. There are times though that weddings and other events take precedence and close portions of the disc course.
Risky greens with baskets perched on or near ridges for fear of rollaways with missed putts.
Pay to play keeps the trash factor down, and they have a great restroom facility and other amenities on site. Not much for refreshments though and we should have planned something to eat for lunch better.
Elevation along the ridge was great and kept things interesting as the only real variety amongst the woods. Uphill, downhill, sidehill, ridge to ridge, etc. all sorts of holes scattered along and over the ridge.
Cons: Imbalanced in terms of variety. It's really nothing more than a very wooded course. The one long open hole didn't appeal to me with its shepherd hook approach to the green.
The baskets cannot be PDGA approved, I think there is some mistake. The inner basket diameter dimension must have been referenced from the outside edge of the old wheel they are constructed of. They did not seem "up to par" the entire day, definitely did not play or catch like other PDGA approved targets.
I didn't get a sense for risk/reward on many holes. What I mean is there wasn't a smaller gap cutting across the dogleg, or offering a shorter flight to the pin if you chose to try and throw right at the pin. he fairways were mainly defined with various wider curved fairways and sporadic trees scattered in the midst.
Signs. While they were nice and aesthetically appealing, I feel they did not do a good job truly depicting the routes through the abundance of trees. After throwing down the wrong "airway" to hidden pins a few times, I found myself walking down almost all fairways to see the pins.
Hazards and other water features really don't come into play on this course except maybe a few really bad throws near the end (not including the pond holes which aren't part of the regular layout).
Overlap and interference on the holes 10-13 was pretty bad. I don't remember exactly, but two of those holes seemed to parallel each other for a portion of the fairway, and I believe hole 12 or 14 plays back toward those same fairways along the edge of the field. This area was also hard to navigate, but my biggest con was the overlapping interference potential.
Other Thoughts: I was very excited to play this complex on my way into Portland. I was still very glad I played, but I probably wouldn't go out of my way to play if on business or travelling with the family. I'd have focused my efforts on getting to Whistlers Bend and/or Milo.
With that being said, I played both the harder courses on a super hot day, but still had a great fun day. I was horribly underwhelmed by this Meadow Ridge course mainly because I crave variety, not just holes through tight woods. It was just monotonous after a while, and the undergrowth was also pretty thick which took a while looking for discs shanked off trees.
Honestly I couldn't believe it was ever even close to being a Top 10 course! It's not a bad course, don't get me wrong. It was also fun, but it sorely lacked the variety and diversity to make a gorgeous top 10 course.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Play 18 holes on Endor

1    9/23/2014   9/23/2014
Review By: Moose33
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 2.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: To tell you all the pros wouldn't exactly do this place justice, so I'll walk you through the experience.

I was driving in from Portland and you go far off the beaten path through some country back roads and the you turn down into the canyon and your no longer on some wooded backroad. No, you are decending down a series of double back turns onto the forest moon of Endor from Return of the Jedi.

I don't know how they got it here but the is Endor just an hour west of Portland. Who knew?

At the bottom of the hill it opens up to a large field on your right and on the left is a small shed and a painted bus, by which there are instructions to stop. A gentleman comes out of the shed and you give him your day fee. For the amenities they offer $4 isn't much.

On the facility there are three courses of varying difficulty, a small lake where you can fish, camp sites, areas where you can host events like concerts and weddings and the like. Pretty cool place overall.

So to get to the Meadow Ridge course you park off to the right of the entrance and walk up the hill to the right of the lake. At the top of the hill there is a metal pavilion with some sort of mechanisms in it, of their purpose I am ignorant but they looked like very exciting.

The first tee is just to the right of that.

The first thing you notice on hole number one is holy trees batman. You feel like your discs are the storm troopers, they almost catch Luke Skywalker and them Boom! A tree!

You'll probably hit some.

It's an incredibly techical course and you need to pick your lines with care as kick puts can put you OB on a lot of holes.

It's just beautiful and the elevation changes are extreme. Number 8 has you throwing down what feels like the side of a mountain and the are several big upshots like number 11.

The signature hole has to be 16 where you have an open field bomb on a 960 ft par 5 that ends with a heavily gaurded pin and if you miss left at any point or really at all while putting your going to end up in the gorge.

Every teepad was nice and big and most well textured. There's several places with benches and picnic tables, and you'll want to use those. Some of the holes require mountain goat balance and its a pretty good hike.

Every tee has great signage with the recommended path and OB, Mando and next teepad marked.

Pay attention to the next teepad direction part.

Baskets look homemade but catch pretty well. They have a big solid bottom that looks like a really deep truck wheel. They ring like a bell when you nail one and its a good feeling.

The trees are amazing. It was raining during my road and I may get pneumonia but it was worth it, amazing course.

The corse was immaculate and maintained amazingly. One of the best I've ever seen.
Cons: You need to be in decent shape to play this course. That's not a real con overall, but a small caviat for older or very young players or anyone with ailments, this course is not kind to your body with its many steep hills and right paths.

A few spots it's hard to find the next tee, 6 to 7 and 8 to 9 come to mind. So pay really good attention to the signage by the teepads.

The shape of the baskets threw me off at first. Is never seen a bottom like that and it took a couple holes to adjust.

The fils that 13-16 play over has been ravaged by moles but the rest of the course is immaculate.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play, if your in the Portland area make a trip, you will not regret it, this place is simply sublime.
The owners make it a true desination that is sure to stick with anyone who plays it.

Guys if you read this, Thank You! It's an amazing place.

And don't pet the peafowl,they are pretty but happier left alone.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

It was 95 degrees!

1    8/11/2014   8/13/2014
Review By: FrankWilliams
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The tee signs were great. They had distance and elevation as well as par and the location of the next tee from the basket.

The underbrush was mostly cleared away, enough to be challenging, but not so dense that discs would be easily lost.

The dense forest was beautiful to play though, with lots of elevation changes and no graffiti or trash.

There were clean bathrooms with sinks and flushing toilets and enough room to change.
Cons: Several of the par 3 were over 400' through heavy foliage, which should be par 4 if playing at a blue tee rating.

There were several holes with mandatory trees indicated on the tee signs, but with no corresponding sign on any tree, so I was left guessing which tree was the mandatory. This was inconsistent as there were other holes that had trees with a mandatory sign attached to them.

From the basket on several of the holes you could not see the next tee so several times I wandered about looking for the next tee. The locations are clearly posted on the tee signs though, so don't forget to look.

Several of the chains were poised on the edge of a steep slope, which nearly mandated a light touch putting, but the custom chains run down to the edge of the rims, and I had several touch puts that hit the center of the chains dead on, and proceeded to slide down the chains to the edge of the rim and drop out.
Other Thoughts: There is about a mile of a winding gravel road down to the parking area, so low clearance vehicles use caution.

There is a $4 per person (not per vehicle) usage fee.

The custom baskets ring just like a tonal when you strike the bottom rim. After just playing a few tonal courses up in the Vancouver area I had got to liking that gong sound, but here I was punished for hearing it.

Peacocks and peahens wandering around the parking area were fun to try to get a photo of.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Be ready to hike...

1    8/9/2013   8/10/2013
Review By: reed2020
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great tee pads and signs. Very challenging course which requires all types of shots. Every tee sign gives the direction to the next tee box. This course requires you to hit your lines. Trash cans throughout the course and they get used. Very little trash throughout the course.
Cons: The only con I would really give to any course at Horning's is that some fairways are close, or parallel and it can get a little congested at times, but this is a small factor in the overall experience.
Other Thoughts: Bring plenty of food and snacks, as this course is a good workout. You hike up and down the mountain throughout the entire thing. Locals are friendly and helpful. This course would be very tough to play solo, but could be done. Extra set of eyes are helpful on the holes. Many of the holes are big and can be broken up into placement shots. Unless you have a CANNON, I would recommend playing many of the holes in sections. If you get off the fairways, you can get buried. I would recommend this course to anyone looking for a good challenge. This is not for beginners, or casual players. They may not have a lot of fun on this course, as it could become real frustrating to them. This is Oregon's Discgolf Utopia and should be a stop for anyone passing through.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Difficult and Fun

1    6/2/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: Rusty Shackleford
Played: 27  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a tough course but it is well designed. There is a way (or two) to get to the basket from every tee, but not an easy way.

There's a lot of variation. All of the holes are interesting and require a little thinking.

Tee pads, signs, baskets are all excellent. I actually like these baskets better than any others I've played both because the yellow stands out and for the nice bell sound they can make.
Cons: Roll aways! The hills are so steep putters will roll to the bottom of them if you overshoot the basket and a lot of the baskets are in front of steep downhills. On a hot or wet day chasing a disc down a hill then playing back up gets old fast.

Hole #6. I'm really not a fan of throwing up steep hills, but it's part of the game.
Other Thoughts: This is among the must play courses in Oregon.

With nice onsite camping and 3 x 18 courses Horning's is not to be missed.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Loved It

1    3/16/2013   3/28/2013
Review By: joshkns
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Elevation
-No Non Disc Golf Traffic
-Great Baskets, Awesome Teepads & Signs
-Great Flow
-Clean
-Course Forces a variety of Shots
-Restrooms
-Onsite Camping
Cons: None For Me
Other Thoughts: After reading other reviews I was almost dreading playing this course, just because im not really that good of a player. I must say it is a tough course but I had a blast playing it. Even with the great elevation the way the trails are set up you don't feel beat up walking to the higher up holes.
I really wish other courses had the same teepad signs, makes life so much easier for the shot and finding the next teepad.
The one other thing which I Don't consider a con is you should defiantly play with someone else or have a spotter this course.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Treeeeeeeesssss!

2-4    2/9/2013   2/12/2013
Review By: Ocelotl
Played: 35  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.1 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Let me start this out by saying this is by far the best, hardest, most challenging (occasionally frustrating) course Ive ever had the pleasure to play.

-Shot variety- I only had a small travel bag with me when I played here, I was WOEFULLY underequipped to handle the variety of shots needed to get pars, let alone birdies here. Bring your full bag of tricks to the meadow course, and be prepared to use it all.

Tee Signs/Pads- Large, clean cement pads with very detailed signs to keep you on track, all pertinent info including directions to the next tee are listed, really well done.

-Highlight Holes:
#7, Long dogleg right that keeps turning down to a basket perched on the edge a hill, all through a pretty damn tight window. I dont think ive ever seen a hole challenge me to throw this particular shot, I did not succeed at all, but had fun trying!
#8, top of the world shot, 400+ft down hill through the trees to a mostly hidden basket, I could stand there all day and launch discs, one of the holes I was bummed to be playing by myself because it is really hard to track discs that get off track.
#10, Another very challenging dogleg right that just kicks your ass if you get off line at all. And again another shot I had never been challenged to throw before. While not the case with everyone I enjoy playing some holes that I just cant seem to get right, challenging me to improve.

-Scenery, set way up in the hills in north plains this place is nothing short of spectacular, long vistas, tons of trees, a lake, and river, something to stare at in every direction.
Cons: My only nit to pick would be a better sign pointing the way to 1's tee pad, I ended up wandering around a little looking for it, but all in all nothing to make the day less than awesome.
Other Thoughts: I played two solo rounds on this course, there is enough blind shots and hidden hills that it is a pretty tough solo round. Got lucky enough to speak to Bob H. who was working on a construction project near the parking lot and had a few pointers on a couple holes, listen if you get the opportunity it is well worth your time.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Intermediate/Expert

1    9/13/2012   11/29/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 418  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set on private property that is set up for a few different activities. But, it seems like if the course is open, then there won't be any interference by default! There are three pretty distinct areas of this course; there are holes in denser woods with rough, holes within heavily populated patches of tall, shorn tree trunks, and some holes that are more in the open bordered by forest.
- #1 kicks it off in some very dense woods; there are a couple tight lines to get down the basket; either hyzer or anny around and through the trees. #6 is a brutal hole; straight ahead and straight UP, with a sharp turn left at the top of the (first) hill. #7 is a dogleg right with a pretty generous fairway off the tee, but the second half of the hole has a multitude of trees to weave between to reach the basket. #8 is the tightest hole of them all; with some tiny tiny gaps to get down to the bottom. Perhaps a super wide RHBH anny around everything? Too risky probably. #10 is probably the nastiest hole out here; a skinny RHBH anny/flex shot off the tee between two rows of tall trees. If you made it through, you then have the choice to go high&right or low&left around a thick clump of trees. All of these holes have a ton of trees to avoid, and also has forest to provide some nasty rough.
- A good amount of the holes don't have as much forest to worry about, but a whooole lot of tree trunks to navigate. #3 to start; with a couple different RHBH anny lines to get to the basket. #4 has a pretty open hyzer line up to a small green, #5 is a sharp, blind hyzer around and through a lot of trees, #11 and #13 are uphill through the trunks, and #12 is a long gentle hyzer. While some of the holes demand a RHBH hyzer line, there is also the opportunity to find creative shapes through the tree trunks. Just have to stay clean.
- Plenty of holes have some more open space to work with, but usually provide gaps or windows to hit at some point to bring the challenge. The back half of #2 is pretty open, but you have to throw a flick or anny a good distance to get out of the woods. #9 is another flick shot, but the basket is tucked up into the woods after a gap. #14 is a nice downhill hyzer, but again, there are some very tight gaps to get through just to make it down to the open area. #16 is a MEGA bomber, with forest on the left, which eventually ends with a button hook finish around a mando, into a forested depression by a small creek. #17 and #18 are kind of similar, a pretty open shot off the tee, with the basket tucked uphill in a diminishing gap in the forest. #17 isn't quite as deep, but #18 is long and well protected.
- As you might have gathered, there are a ton of elevation changes at this course, from start to finish. A few holes are in the 'meadow', but the majority are on the 'ridge'. Downhill shots range from the extreme on #8, to very good on #9, #12, and #14. Uphills include the sick vertical gain on #6, and the tough ones on #4, #11, and #13. Just to name a few. The only holes that might be considered flat are #15 and #16. Plenty of places where errant shots can encounter some nasty rollaways/sloping rough. #8 for sure, dangerous out to the left, and #9 if you go long. #10 is sloped left off the tee; if you can't make it out of the tunnel your next shot could be next to impossible. #18 also warns of the gulch to the left.
- The sloping terrain also leads to some precarious basket locations, of course. #1 behind the pin, #4 has a small, elevated green, #7 has a slope behind the basket, #9's is on top of a slope, #15 is also on a slope; definitely keeps things interesting from start to finish. Also some protected pins due to trees and small gaps.
- Gold level course with gold level hole lengths. #16, obviously, at a huge 930' with the hook back at the end. #10 at 550' is sick due to the tight line off the tee and the obstacles before the pin. #14 at 575' isn't too bad as long as the first shot is clear of all the nastiness, due to the big downhill slope. #18 plays long too, at 425', with the tight uphill approach. There are some shorter holes as well, to offer some birdie opportunities, but lots of trees and blind pin locations don't make them easy.
- Homemade baskets are sweet! Tee signs are very nice, as well as the teepads. Navigation can be a little tricky in some spots, with a few different baskets/tees in sight, so the map can help save some time the first time through.
Cons: - A few of the holes are crammed pretty tight in one spot; mainly holes #4, #11, #12, #13, #10. Some OB areas help to prevent shots from wandering too far, but I could see the area being very crowded when the course is crowded.
- A few minor, nit-picking things, like some barbed wire behind #6, and a gravel road through some holes. Also no water present, and some might find the course a little hyzer-heavy. No big deal on any of these, really.
Other Thoughts: - What more is there to say? This course is for real. The only knocks are some cramped areas, and maybe a teeny little bit hyzer-heavy. Definitely designed for advanced players - the more advanced the better!

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Lots of fun

1    9/30/2012   10/25/2012
Review By: hukdiscs
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of different types of holes with great use of the varied terrain.
Nice concrete pads, quality baskets, and tee signage.
Course layout made sense, limited wondering between holes.
Not Crowded, even on a perfect sunny sunday, and with three different courses to play there are always options.
Cons: We were given some vague and confusing directions by an employee as to were to begin, which is way past where the main parking lot is and we did not see any signs to point you in the right direction. Not a big deal really.
There are plenty of places one could lose a disc, but neither my wife or myself lost any.

Other Thoughts: Some maps or additional signs would be nice, but it was a fun and very challenging course.
Could easily get messy during the rainy season, both the course and the road in.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.