North Plains, OR 
Horning's Hideout - Meadow Ridge Share
Uploaded By: Bob Horning Hole #10 (Taken 10/2009)
4 / 550ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 The Great God Father of Horning's Hideout.

1    7/14/2011   7/23/2011
Review By: ninja-don
Played: 29  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.3 Years
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Baskets here are all home made, painted bright yellow with giant black numbers on them (very easy to see), and well made at that, they catch disc very well... maybe beter than any other basket I've played.
- Tee signs are excellent!!! they are very nice and accurate. They also have the elevation change for each hole from tee to basket (EXAMPLE: +11ft or - 25ft), this was nice as it made me think about if I need more or less on my shot, which I rarely pay attention to otherwise.
- Tee pads were long, concrete, and had a good circular brush pattern for traction layed in them.
- There are some intense challenges on this course... let's start with plenty of MANDOS that will have you either throwing out of your confort zone. Then there are the trees... they seem to sometimes come out of no where to knock you disc down. Elevation changes are plenty hole #8 will have you hiking up a hill to throw downhill 420ft and 124 feet downhill, but don't let that fool you... that 420ft is trcky with trees a plenty, and a huge ridge of thick brush to the left that is sure to have you serching for you disc if you miss throw or bounce off a tree in the direction. And finally... some of the holes are just plain LONG!!! Bring you big guns for this one.
-You can get towles from the house were you pay. The towels are free to use, just bring them back where you got them.
- Normally a pay to play course is a con for me, but $3/person for ALL DAY and for ALL 3 courses... that is a deal!
- Drinking water available for free (not bottled).
- Porta-potties all over the place. Not so many on the courses but before and after for sure.
Cons: - I know it's not the courses fault, but plan accordingly to not have cell phone service here. (It works before you start down the dirt road so it's not that far to drive back out if you really needed to make a call).
- Also not needed, but kind of a con for me since this place is so great for disc golf is the fact that they don't have disc for rent or for sale. (This would really put them over the top in my book, as it is the only really major thing I think this place is missing).
Other Thoughts: - This is there prise course... it is hard but fun... do not miss this one if you have to choose, but smaller children or true beginner would probably be best left to the other two courses.
- Be prepared to drive down a narrow dirt/gravel road with blind corners. (I drove a lowered honda and made it just fine, but it wasn't ideal) I don't think there is any car that couldn't make it, just be ready for it.
- This is the Godfather of the Hideout. I played this course first and it was awesome!!! I still very much enjoyed the other two courses, but wish I had played them in reverse order from easiest to hardest.
- If you want a little less of a challenge and less of a hike try the Canyon Course, and if you want a cool down or warm up for this course you could try a quick (30-45min) round on the Highland course.
- Camping and fishing available here... I paid $15 dollars to camp on site... it was well worth it since I was in the middle of my trip and wanted to play all these courses.
- I was able to play all three courses after palying Pier Park and taking lunch and dinner breaks. If you have the energy... it's completely possible (and recommended) to play all three courses.

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Hiking and Hucking

1    7/4/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 120  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 6.6 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You'll know you're in for something special when you pay your daily fee (there is a bucket on the honor system) and turn around to see a gorgeous lake with a couple wood bridges crisscrossing the placid waters. You'd like to live at a place like this.

The course is every bit as awe-inspiring, but it may not leave you as calm. You will find out exactly what shots you can not confidently execute. But you'll love staring down the fairway planning out that shot.

There are big elevation changes on most holes, and the course forces you to putt at baskets on inclines (a huge plus in my book: risk/reward makes for better scoring spreads and more fun). The holes play long, even when they are not. A 250-foot uphill shot sounds reachable until you throw it. A 30-foot elevation increase will take the wind out of your drive.

The tee signs are excellent, showing distances, elevation changes, basket locations, and possible alleys. Nicely done. The homemade baskets are mostly a pro. Their bright yellow is very visible through the woods. They have three sets of chains, so spit throughs are almost impossible. But the bottom part of the basket is not as wide as normal baskets, so you won't get some makes that you would on normal baskets.

A few holes of note:

#7: One of the tighter holes. You have a tight uphill shot where going too far or short will leave you with few options. It's a hard right dogleg at the top of the hill followed by a gentle left to right to the hole. The gaps are there, but if you get overaggressive you have just crappy outshots to get you to the narrow fairway.

#10: This is one of the flatter holes, but it's a bear. You have to throw a long left to right shot to a landing area. When you're talking about landing areas, you're usually talking about a well-designed course. Then it's a long right to left curve to get in sniffing distance of the hole. If you're a pro, you might have a shot at a 3 on this 550-foot hole. If you're a mortal and drift off the fairway, good luck.

#8: It's the one with the 124-foot drop. If you can thread the needle, it's a thrilling hole. If you hit an early tree like I did, the hole becomes deflating pretty quickly (more from the wasted potential than anything). It's a steep hike down, tough on even healthy knees.
Cons: Each hole has just one basket position. This isn't a huge con (there are two other courses on the property, after all), but multiple positions are commonplace with the top courses.

The gaps on the fairways are demanding, which is good, but sometimes whether you hit them depends more on luck than skill, which is less good. The aforementioned #8's fairway requires precision over 400 feet, which I don't think is realistic even for players much better than I am. And #14 has one too many trees in your way, keeping you from safely landing in sunlight.

I wish they could have incorporated the lake. Could have had an epic hole or two.
Other Thoughts:
I'll discuss hole #16 here since it's not a pro or con. The mando is not as gimmicky as I feared it might be (there are no reasonable way into the woods until shortly before the mando, so it's not forcing a long way around just for the heck of it). But any mando that isn't off the tee can deliver the most boring shot in disc golf: the 20 foot hyzer around the mando tree when your approach falls just short. Happened to me. Yawn. Still, the fairway has some strategy with trying to place your drives on the crests of the rolling hills, and there is some strategy with the mando that I apparently failed. The hole ends nicely, too.

This is probably the best designed course in Oregon. It will let you know exactly what your weaknesses are. My score was like Donna Summer: it got into the 80s, but it really should have stayed in the 70s.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 An Interesting Experience. . .

1    7/12/2011   7/14/2011
Review By: austoroc
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 10.6 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The wonderful aspects of this course has to do with the variety of the holes along with the challenges that comes with it.

You truly will want to dig deep in your disc golf bag for discs that may work best for a particular shot you are facing. Unlike many courses you may have played at, many of the shots you will have to make will force you to use different throwing techniques, different standing positions (or kneeling for that matter), and you will also have to think a bit more about your strategies.

Cons: The navigation from hole to the next hole was sketchy on few occasions, but it's nothing to seriously gripe about.

I found some of the paths I was required to walk to between holes somewhat tedious. You'll need to be careful about walking downhill on some of the steep hills. (such as on hole #8!) I imagine when it's dry and dusty, erosion will be an issue because many of those paths (downhill or uphills) would benefit from having some homemade "stairs" (for lack of better word) being built.

I think it would be very beneficial if the course had additional shorter tee pads for each hole to make the course a bit easier for some people who wanted to experience Meadow Ridge but did not have the arms to throw far. (especially on the 16th hole!)
Other Thoughts: I found this course to be an very interesting experience, as I don't think I ever remember playing at a course that had so many elevation changes.

While I am not a seasoned pro, I have enough experience that I can enjoy this course. I just find this course a bit too tough to enjoy if I had brought friends who may not be serious disc golfers.

I would want to play at some other classic courses before even considering giving this course a score higher than 4. Based on my own playing experiences, I would rate this to be excellent, because it's truly an original course with abundant challenges for the best players while still enjoyable for people like myself.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A Quick Review in Haiku and Bad Limericks

2-4    6/9/2011   6/9/2011
Review By: Nodosaurus
Played: 41  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.7 Years
11 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Spring brings some new growth
Beauty surrounds the whole course
My score grows well, too

Eight, top of the world
Time spent finding a lost disc
great day, so who cares.

Eighteen ended my round
worn out, I have to sit down
Soon, I play again
Cons: Sixteen is a far basket to git,
The fairway has no trees to hit,
but the OB right of the way
cost me two throws that day,
four over, now I'll throw a fit.
Other Thoughts: No offense to anyone, but there are plenty of quality reviews for this great course.

11 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 huge challenge!

1    5/20/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: DutchViking
Played: 46  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.7 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: World Class Course at a World Class facility!
18 very tough holes for the Serious Disc Golfer that will test every aspect of your game as well as you temper (at times) Definitely designed for pros and masochists, but amateurs will do fine also
Great tee pads and Unique but functional baskets--i didn't really have an issue with the baskets, I think they add character to the facility

Uphill/Downhill/Left/Right/Tight Windows/Low Ceilings/Big and Little Dog legs/Tight and Technical/Long and Open/Everything! Tons of variety and no easy or filler holes.
Very clean and well placed port-O-pottys
Consistently this course rewarded skill and not luck

Standout Holes:
#1 Lets you know what you are about to get into! Very tight windows for a very controlled anhyzer or hyzer down hill to a well protected basket with a sharp drop off behind and the terrain practically invites a roll away. I took a 4, luckily.

#6 Uphill and with narrow fairway and unforgiving rows of trees on both sides, AND big dog leg left about 150 feet with plenty more danger with trees and possible rolling down the hill. My par shot chained out.

#8 421 ft. with 124 below makes this a pretty cool shot already, but add huge trees and crazy tight routes and it becomes epic. Then add the incredible views of a lush green valley surrounded by huge tree spotted hills and it becomes unforgettable. It didn't matter that I carded a 5 after my par shot went past the basket and down into the meadow, I was insanely high on disc golf. Loved it!

#10 550 ft Par 4 was the most brutal hole on the course, except for the 930 footer #16. 150 down a tree lines fairway, then huge dog leg right and slightly uphill for 350 ft. THIS ONE WILL EXPOSE EVERY WEAKNESS OF YOUR GAME! It may very well take you down a peg,

#18 this is an awesome and memorable ending hole. It starts as clear meadow that narrows sharply with trees on both sides and the basket on a hill. Very tough to hit that line and get it near enough to the basket to have a chance for deuce. Play for a tough par.

Cons: I did not really care for the 930 footer, long and straight for 850 and then hope and pray to get it close to the basket for a 5. Blind pin location after 3 drives did not help.
Possibly a few navigation issues at 1 or 2 spots, but I was playing with very few on the course with the rain coming. This can and I'm sure will be fixed with simple, well placed arrows.
Other than that not much to gripe about, period. this course really is special, just like the whole property.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course and property lived up to its hype. Course is beautiful (especially at the top of the world shot #10) and very tough and a huge variety of shots, any player will have their work cut out for them if they are going to finish their round at par. Also, only $3!! they could probably charge more, but I feel that this course is in line with most disc golfers' motto; keep it cheap! This place is worth so much more than that, and all who have played here should feel truly grateful. Plan to spend all day here and bring a lunch and drinks.

I only played this course once, and although I normally like to review after a couple of rounds, this course really made a very strong impression on me. That being said, this course really kicked my ass, but I also had quite a few shots that rocked.

Rating this against all other disc courses I have played, only the Legendary DeLaVeaga in Santa Cruz compares. I rated them both 5. Plan a trip so you can see what we all are raving about.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

"Mountain" Ridge

2-4    7/15/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 184  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 22.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/16/2013
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a mountain man's course without having to take a chairlift to get your elevation! The incidentals such as the first rate tee signs and tee pads pale in comparison to the adventure ahead. The course winds through mature conifer forest and along wooded roads and a field or two to boot. It has epic length and elevation change (sometimes extreme) on every single hole. Finally, the pin positions are often set on steep hillsides, so there's never a dull moment (see this in Cons, too).

Exciting and memorable holes:
#1 - a downhill tunnel shot through the woods with the basket having a decent slope behind it let's you know the challenges ahead.
#8 - a top of the world shot- steep downhill through thick woods. Take a moment at the picnic table at the tee to absorb the hole and surrounding views!
#10 - works it way up an old road that will punish any errant throws. A hole that can be a round changer!
#16- throw your first few throws through a rolling field then "fishhook" left down a forested slope to hope for a 5.
Cons: Takes a while to get through this one. It's a workout as well. But you're playing disc- so is there any real complaints!

Some of the pin placements are a bit sadistic and do add some of luck factor (to memory #1,3, 7, 12, 15.) There have been several occasions where we "played it safe", to insure that a miss would insure a safe landing - and the disc caught an edge and just rolled, rolled away into oblivion.
Other Thoughts: Just a couple suggestions on a couple of holes:

#6 - the straight uphill narrow shot that has a L-shaped dogleg left. There is OB along the top far edge of the fairway. I don't see the reason for the OB, other than it may divide property lines. If you land up, I believe you have been punished adequately due to the trees that block a clear shot to the pin. Otherwise, I think the OB could go away.
#14 - the straight downhill shot out into the field. There is just one fir tree at the end of the fairway alley, right in the middle, that prevents the player from having the opportunity to really get one out into the field. Perhaps this is to protect the #16 fairway that shares the field. It would be a nice reward if that tree was removed to allow a very precise shot through that narrow opening. (pro - a better hole / Con - danger for the #16 fairway)

Combine this course with the experience of being able to camp out and soak in the outdoors and you've got true Destination Disc Golf. They also have a stocked trout pond on site, and they will rent out poles for you as well.

Bob Horning and his mom are usually somewhere on site - say hi to them as you go by. They are super nice folks!

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Meadow Ridge

2-4    12/5/2010   12/10/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.7 Years
31 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
The Meadow Ridge Gold Course in North Plains, Oregon, was the third course installed at Horning's Hideout. It was developed by Bob Horning in 2009, and helped to complete the epic trilogy, thus making Meadow Ridge one of the premier championship caliber courses in the northwest if not the world! Similar to the Canyon Course, this course utilizes the mixed terrain, including extreme elevation at times, ever so tight fairways, and open fields. First timers who come here truly get to experience what the northwest is all about. The course primarily plays in the woods with the exception of the 930 foot Par 5, which still ends in the woods after throwing over several hundred feet of rolling hills. Most holes require precision off the tee, with accurate upshots, and precise putts. Those who are less accurate will find deflections devastating to their score, and become rather frustrated with their overall experience. The course is most appropriate for advanced and open players, but intermediate will do just fine as long as you know what you're in for.

The homemade yellow baskets are fantastic up here in the northwest. With the grey sky and heavily wooded surroundings, these things pop out which makes it easier for those less familiar with the course. They seem to catch fairly well and have large black numbers on the side of the basket to help with navigation. The cement tee pads are truly some of the best I have had the privilege of playing on. They are extremely grippy, and are roughly 5 x 12 feet ( with the exception of hole #16 which is 5 x 16 feet), which allows enough room for a big run up. The tee signs, similar to the other two courses, are designed by Houck, and are the most accurate signs I have seen to date. The information on the tee signs show elevation changes +/-, par, distance, ob's, and obstacles down to the last tree. You couldn't ask for more.

The design of the course was extremely well thought out, allowing for 14 Par 3's, three Par 4's, and one Par 5. Holes range in distance from 255 - 930 feet, averaging about 390 feet per hole. Although several holes stood out during my round, holes # 8 and # 18 were my favorites. Hole #8 as many others have stated utilizes the most elevation on the course, throwing 420 feet with a 120 foot drop. To make things more difficult, the multiple lines toward the pin require precision all the way down or some serious luck. Hole #18 is over 425 feet, with the first 300 feet in an open meadow, but closes quickly into the woods again where there is an elevated basket that is heavily guarded. On this hole it takes both power and accuracy to score well on.
Cons:
Because this course is only a year old, there is still some trimming to do on some of the fairways. Although I felt that the majority of fairways were well developed and provided multiple approaches to the pin off the tee, I still felt like a few needed some work (i.e. hole #6).

During certain times of the year the growth can get somewhat thick off the fairways as well, so a spotter is a must if you want to keep your disc.

To be honest though, I felt the locals have done a phenomenal job installing and maintaining this course and I really couldn't find a whole lot that needed to be improved.
Other Thoughts:
I played this course this past June and was blown away by Horning's Hideout but couldn't make up my mind on what to rate it. I told myself that I needed to play it again before I could write a review so that I could spend a little more time analyzing the course hole by hole rather then HH as a whole. If I were to give HH an overall rating it would easily be a 5.0 due to the way that each course compliments one another. However, I felt that no one course was a 5.0 all by itself. Over time as the course continues to build character it could easily be a possibility, but for now I feel there is still a little room to grow.

I am so impressed with this entire facility however, and feel it is an honor to play disc golf at one of the premier disc golf destinations in the world! The owners are some of the most genuine and selfless people I have ever met and have put a lot of time and money in to this place so that we can enjoy the game we love. Thank you!

31 of 31 people found this review helpful.

 Bring Advil

1    11/13/2010   11/19/2010
Review By: Tiets1
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 31 Years
3 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Elevation, Great Tee Pads, Great signage, Utilizes all your throws; Tough baskets (and unique) you better hit those chains; must be accurate or you will pay.
Cons: Need a spotter on several holes which can be tough when you all want to stay at the tee; Basket areas on many holes positioned on the edges of drop-offs which force you to play short of baskets.
Other Thoughts: This was my first time out to this course and you can not help but smile the entire way around! Best to play with someone who has played before (none of us had) and that makes it very difficult to select drivers and know where to aim and or how much to rip it or place your throws. On several holes, i threw way too far on blind doglegs, thinking "if I would have know I would have never thrown like that" But, next time, wow, it is going to be great!!!

3 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Premier Spot to Play Disc

1    9/22/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: bigdank
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 23 Not
Pros: Three courses to play. Easy, Medium, Hard. I have played all three in one day multiple times and I love it more every time I play.
Cons: The baskets take some getting used too. I would prefer Pro Baskets over the Home Made.
Other Thoughts: No other places around like HH

1 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 Best of the Northwest!

1    9/8/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: Daffron24
Played: 153  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.2 Years
15 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tucked away in the country of Oregon, Hornets Hideout is an amazing campus of 3 memorable courses. Meadow ridge is the most difficult of the 3 as it is rated a gold level course. This being said, it is not a beginner course. You will be challenged in every single way.
The course winds through a nice mix of open and wooded areas that flow seamlessly through the entire property. The well-defined fairways along with amazing tee sign which show exactly where the holes are, hole length, and even elevation change make this a course easy to follow. All of the baskets are custom (I think old cars rims at are painted). Tee pads are clay which have amazing grip. The course maintained very well by the owners who are very friendly and helpful.
The course uses every hill, tree, and whatever else you can think of to the fullest. The elevation on this course allows for you to be tested shooting up hills as well as down them. One of the most memorable holes on this course was #8. This top of the world shot is a 420' shot downhill that is slightly wooded and a very fun shot. It has difficulty along with a very scenic view of Oregon's beautiful trees. Meadow ridge is designed for every dg to be tested using all of the shots in the book as well as gives the dg'er to shoot at a variety of distances. This course is mainly technical, but does offer a few open shots.
The grounds offer restrooms, running water, camping on site, as well as plenty of parking the grass….just don't run over a peacock.
The overall challenge of this course is a 5/5. The overall challenge of this course along with everything this course as well as the other two offer make this one of the best courses in the world and quite possibly the best course in the Northwest.
Cons: The only real con for me was finding the course. I am not from the Portland area and I had a hard time finding the course.
Other Thoughts: Meadow ridge is a premier dg destination. The atmosphere of the course is amazing. The friendly locals help make this experience something you'll always remember. This picturesque course will be a course you'll tell all of your friends about. Make sure to bring your walking shoes, bug spray, and an umbrella.

15 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.