Disc Golf Store
North Plains, OR 
Horning's Hideout - Meadow Ridge Share
Uploaded By: Bob Horning Hole #14 (Taken 10/2009)
4 / 575ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 field throw



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  The Best Around

1    8/4/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: Harry Caray
Played: 46  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: -Really nice mixture of shots...forehand and backhand
-Unique holes...utilizes the terrain well
-Owners are 'friendly"
Cons: -None...if you have complaints about this course or how rugged it is, you should cease disc golfing
Other Thoughts: This course is of course a real challenge, but it isn't unfair. Good shots are rewarded...bad shots aren't. I'd love to see a PDGA event come to this course

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent. Truth.

5+    7/22/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: Jessenumber1
Played: 32  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.4 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Elevation changes make long wooded holes play comfortably. Pin placement is perfect with few places you won't have a clear shot within the 10m ring. Signage is the best I've ever seen with all trees correctly marked and flight paths laid out.
Cons: Occasionally bugs are a factor. Some holes have a little big of a hazard in steep drop-offs and heavily wooded areas. But those can hardly be considered cons.
Other Thoughts: No better place to play in Oregon. 3 courses with increasing difficulty makes for a perfect 2 in the AM and 1 in the PM with a lunch in between.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/10/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: Scottycb1
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great Course
Use of Elevation
Excellent Fairways even on tough holes
Lot of thought put into design
Tough Course
Great use of par 4's and 1 par 5
Cons: NOT BEGINNER FRIENDLY, there is 2 other courses at Hornings that can be played by beginners.

A little rough if you get off trails
Other Thoughts: I went out there with another buddy of mine who is also a pro and we were amazed by the layout of this course. The combination of long and medium range holes that force you to throw every shot in your bag was great. The camphost warned us that it would take 3:30 to 4:00 hours to play. It took the 2 of us just over 2 hours at a pretty laid back pace. The park does cost 3 dollars to play but when a course like that is built money will never be an issue for dedicated players.

GO PLAY THIS COURSE, Its one of Oregon's best up there with Milo Mciver and Whistlers Bend

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Awesomeness

1    7/9/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: Bdugan85
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Everything was marked an easy to find, only had to pay $6 bucks for 2 people all day, 3 different course to choose from, cheap snacks an drinks, you can go fishing or a 30 min boat ride afterwards, Absolutely the BEST COURSE I HAVE EVER PLAYED ON!!
Cons: wear bug repellent if its hot out, and watch for stinging nettles off the fairways (they hurt!).
Other Thoughts: Go there, NOW, GO, HURRY, ITS AMAZING AND SO MUCH FUN!! LEAVE ALREADY...

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/24/2010   6/7/2010
Review By: dscglf4
Played: 61  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.3 Years
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -18 well thought-out and very challenging holes
-elevation,and alot of it, there are no level holes
-good balance as far as up/down,left/right and open/wooded
-LARGE grippy tee pads
-"Platinum"level professional tee signs
*Par
*distance
*elevation change in +/-
*very detailed map with flight path
-great looking/catching homemade baskets, i havent had any kick-out or blow-through
-couple of Porta-potties centrally located,and trash/recycle cans every few holes

one of the finest courses anyone could ever play,if not THE FINEST!


Cons: few more benches is all i can think of
Other Thoughts: Horning's Hideout is an awesome place,3 great 18 hole courses,ponds,fishing,paddle boats,peacocks...concerts,camping,etc.
my buddy and me have been to Hornings about 20+ times,only played canyon course twice, but we play highland and meadowridge every time.

meadowridge is a very fair and challenging course,that will test anyone at any level.every shot has nice clean fairways,even on the tree shots,there are good openings to the pin's.
there is not one shot that i dislike,each and everyone of them are great,long downhill,short uphill,big hyzers,big anhyzers,rollers and thumbers,you hafta 'bring it'.there are no 'gimme' shots here,you hafta take em(when you can lol)
then there are the pin placements like #1,3 and 7,even if you get through the trees and have a look,it drops off behind the pin,there are quite a few pin placements that have roll-away slope(lol again)

this is tied for my favorite course,the other being Milo




9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/30/2010   6/3/2010
Review By: nonono
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: this is the big park at hornings hideout with par 4 and 5 holes everywhere. good land with hills and lots of trees and long holes to make things really hard so if you like challenge this is the place.good signs teepads baskets. good views if you bring a camera
Cons: the same as the good things hard hills long holes. no cellphone service and a long drive to the course in the middle of nothing so 15 minutes from food or gas or grocerys stores.
Other Thoughts: my buddy took me here not to long ago and i gotta say it was fun but hard so if you not like challenge it could be bad for you.

4 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 This Course Tests Your Golf Skills And Your Physical Stamina!

1    6/1/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
22 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The third and baddest of the three Horning's courses is a gold rated course playing mostly across and around one of the many hills on the property. The concrete tee pads are oversized and extremely grippy. They are 12 ft. long except the pad on the 930 ft. # 16. It measures 16 ft. long, that additional length is much needed for the bombs you'll need to throw on this monster. The signs are superd, giving the distance, par, flight path and elevation loss/gain on each hole. This is a wonderful piece of Oregon timberland on which to build a course. The baskets are the homemade yellow design with the catch basin made from truck rims. They catch well but probably not quite as good as manufactured ones. They do make a pleasant melodious tone when a disc falls in them. They are extremely bright and easy to spot through the forest at a distance. This course is not for beginners, novices, newbies, most children, wimps, the overweight, heart patients. WARNING-This course is not handicapped assessiable in any way. This will be one of, if not the, most physically demanding course you'll ever play. And on top of the physical demands, the course is extremely technical and long. It has two par 4's and the aforementioned 930' # 16.
Cons: The major con for me is a major pro for many. It is a pro rated course. It's so extremely difficult and physically demanding that many players won't play it a second time. There is a very fine line between fair and lucky. Throwing 420' downhill through a very narrow line and having to hold that line all the way to basket flirts with lucky in my book.
Other Thoughts: So is Horning's the # 1 Disc Golf destination is Oregon? With three courses of widely varying difficulty awaiting you, the answer is a resounding YES. In the Northwest. Once again, an easy YES answer. In the entire US of A? I haven't played some of the other mutiple course layouts but I'm willing to go out on a limb and say, Hornings Hideout is undoubtably one of the top 5 Disc Golf Destinations in the US.

Now on to the next question? Does Meadow Ridge merit a star 5 rating? Is it the top course in Oregon? Not in my humble opinion. A course that is so incredibly difficult (both golf skill wise and physically) so limits it's clientele. There's no water here. It's not nearly as scenic as Whistlers Bend or even Dexter. So I'm giving it merely a "Phenomenal" rating of 4.5. I'm ready to take the heat.

22 of 25 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Course - Challenging

5+    5/16/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: murphomatic
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This is one of my most favorite courses. Extraordinarily challenging, many wooded holes, many blind holes, lots of area, lots of difficult terrain makes this more of a serious woodland hike than a simple disc golf session. 18 holes, one of which is 925 ft from tee to pin, makes it a nice, long course. Good signage and concrete tees on every hole.
Cons: The pars ratings on some of the holes are a bit ridiculous. The trees can be a bit frustrating when you're chopping them down with your disc on every single drive. It's a bit of a drive to get out there, but worth it.
Other Thoughts: Love this course! I love to head out to Horning's and play a round on the Canyon course to warm up, and then switch up to Meadow Ridge. By the end of the day, I've gotten one hell of a workout in. Makes for a good fun way to do cardio.

3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 The new champ

2-4    12/15/2009   1/3/2010
Review By: senatorjoe
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 2/24/2010
7 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Variety, challenge, thoughtfullness. Each and every hole utilizes the very best elements. Each teepad provides opportunities and punishes any lack of focus.
I had written before in my review that the course needed a water hole, then I found #19 and it is now a perfect course.
Cons: I live in Portland, so the drive, but this course makes me want to go west and live in North Plains.
Other Thoughts: Thanks for giving us a Northwest gem. PDX is a disc golf destination, and Horning's Hideout is the disc gold equivelent of a swanky ball golf resort.

7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 The Gold Course

5+    11/29/2009   12/16/2009
Review By: Hippy007
Played: 42  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.2 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has large tee pads. These tee pads are 5 feet 6 inches by 12 feet but hole #16 has a 16 foot long one. There are great signs for all holes that show you the distance and elevation change to the basket. These also show flight paths trough the tee with all tee mark by there location of all the tree of the course. Split rail fences and gravel around the tee box's give them a great polished look. Paths and trail to all the teepads have been cleared and most have gravel to help with traction.
Cons: Long walk up hill to tee #1. There are not that many I can think of other then a few walkouts. Some of them are a little long and up hill.
Other Thoughts: This is the 3rd course on the Horning's property and it's Gold Course. It plays up and down and all over the side hill of the property. After you walk up to the the 1st tee and get set to have a great round. You then play across and up the main hill, across a ridge, and then down. This brings you to the 8th tee which is a 420 foot long and a 124 feet down. On the toe of the 8th tee pad Bob wrote the names of all the people that help put this in. After this you hit the longer holes on this long course. The 2 par 4's and the par 5 all in the back 9. When you get to hole #16 you look down at one of the biggest tee pads around and a very long rolling open farway. It is one of the few open holes on this mostly wooded course. At the end of the farway you curl around the manditory tree, swoop down into trees and down by the creek to the basket. This bring you to the end, that takes most groups about 3-4 hours to play.

I am one of the Horning's Crew that has helped Bob install all the courses on the property. It was great fun going out and seeing him clear us an other course on the property. Then we went to work pouring all the concrete and clean up of the work zone that it became.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.