North Plains, OR 
Horning's Hideout - Meadow Ridge Share
Uploaded By: Bob Horning Hole #11 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Approach



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 What more could you want?

1    10/2/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: Crazydriver
Played: 103  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.4 Years
12 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great rural setting; camping available. This course has a little bit of everything. Long holes, shorter holes, up hill, down hill, technical, open. You'll need to have all those shots with you. This course will challenge you. There is also two other easier courses to play on the premises. Baskets are solid and catch well. If you hit short they make a really cool "bong" sound, like ringing a bell.
The course was pretty easy to follow and I understand that they have improved their signage to make it better.
Cons: You don't want to go when Horning's is having one of those music festivals, unless you're into the music. If you don't like climbing, this one is not for you. Lots of up and down here.
Other Thoughts: This course is designed to be difficult. Whiners need not apply. You could take some bogies here. I did. Still, it is a nice collection of cool holes and challenging shots. I enjoyed it immensely.

12 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Stunning beauty, near perfection

1    11/26/2009   12/1/2009
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2010
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great hole layouts, tremendous variation in shot shape and good use of the varying terrain.
Some of the best variance of elevation in all of Oregon.
Several stunning signature holes. Most notably hole #8, easily one of the coolest "top of the world holes" around.
Excellent, large teepads with grating, which is a big help in a wet forest landscape.
Beautiful tee signs.
Great, true par 4's with one true par 5, these are holes that really challenge you to plan out your shots to make a good par. Not just free birdies for the big arms.
Very challenging, gold level course.
2 other excellent courses on the property making it a top travel destination, being fairly close to downtown Portland.
Large variations in distance allow good players with a bit less distance to compete with the big arms.
Tests every aspect of your game, both physically and mentally.
Cons: Though the baskets have received an upgrade from the first two courses, they're not quite as consistent in catching as production baskets.
Just a couple of holes feel like there's no real fairway, just a wall of trees; a few open drives might have added some variety.
No signage indicating direction to first tee.
Easy to lose track of discs-- not a huge issue if you use spotters on the bigger holes.
Safety might become an issue, but only in large course-filling tournament scenarios as they are largely isolated incidents.
Other Thoughts: Bob Horning's third course is easily his best, each course seems to build on the small mistakes. The course is very well thought out, it easy to see the attention to detail that goes into both the minor aspects as well as the larger goals of the course. A number of the holes were truly memorable after the first time through, some for their visual spectacle and some more for the technical challenge. Hole 7 is a great example, the gap is just wide enough to tempt you to rip a big drive, but their is trouble all along the way, as well as a sharp drop off if you run a longer putt at the basket. Obviously, hole 8 is fantastic, a lesser course designer might not have picked that shot out of the dense Horning's forest.

Horning's is quickly becoming a top NW disc golf destination and I heartily recommend traveling to reach this forested haven. The 3 dollar fee is very justified because so much maintenance goes into these cool courses. Just a few tweaks could be made to bump this course up to the 5 star range, it'll be interesting to see how the course ages, as well as how tournaments might work out now that the property houses 54 holes.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Prime.....

2-4    11/27/2009   10/25/2009
Review By: Oregon_Nole
Played: 32  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/28/2009
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Awesome hole and course design. Good flow to the holes, mixing ups, downs, lefts, and rights.
*Great concrete tees.
*Beautiful setting
*None of those boring, wide open holes. The only one that slightly fits this category is 16, you know, the 900 foot par five, and even on this hole, the last 100 feet is in the trees.
* #8 is one of the coolest Top-of-the-world shots I've gotten to take.
*I don't know if it was because the rest of the course was so amazing, or if my putting is just that bad, but I really didn't notice a huge difference in how the home-made baskets played, compared to the usual baskets... Plus, they stuck out, almost obscenely (but that's good in the trees), and they made this horrible "THUNK" that seemed to ring throughout the forest, letting everyone know you just biffed a putt.
*Nearly half the holes are situated on this terraced hill with BIG pines, reminiscent of the trees at Pier. The terraces make for really cool flight paths on the side-hill shots, and its cool that most putts don't run the risk of running WAY downhill (see #13 at Whistler's Bend)

*****Updated***** 11-27-09
*Tee Signs are amazing. Nearly EVERY TREE is represented, and most holes have multiple suggested flight paths.
*#13 has a Mando which takes the porta-potty out of play.
*Gravel has been laid on some of the more erosion-prone areas.
Cons:
*There's a couple places (the walk out of 9 to 10 comes to mind) where some better placed navigational signs would make it easier and safer.

Other Thoughts: I LOVED every hole, which is rare, I usually have one or two holes that I feel were "fillers", but some of my favorites
#1- 325' Elevated tee, straight/slight left through BIG evergreens, about 20' drop tee to pin, which is located on the edge of a steep drop.
#7-425' Par 4, Dogleg right, on a nice fairway through THICK trees to a guarded pin.
#8-420', 120' drop, through high ceiling trees, on the edge of a clear cut (OB) giving you a great view of the canyon (REALLY AWESOME in the fall)
#10-550' Par 4, gradual, sweeping dogleg right on about a 10' wide fairway for first 1/2, straightens out for second 1/2 to a guarded pin.
#12, 405' with 45' drop. Elevated tee, fairway down a gully boardering a steep wooded hillside on your left and the terraced hill on your right. Pin on left side of the fairway, slight, slight uphill.
#14, 575' Par 4, 54' drop. First 1/2 (and most of the drop) through a low ceiling, second 1/2 boarders open field (depending on your drive....) to a pin on a narrow terrace.
#16, 930' Par 5. First 800' through an open, undulating field, to mando tree, dropping back on itself into the trees, near a creek (not sure why, but this green was just a magical place)
#18, 425', first 300' or so across an open field, to a pin located in the trees, about 15' uphill.

Honestly, I've played all the "big" courses in Oregon (Milo, Whistler's, Pier, Dexter, etc) and Meadow Ridge has replaced all of them as my favorite course I've ever played. If it had nicer (is that a word?) tee signs and stairs, this course would be an easy 5 disc rating.

I played Milo the day before I played this course, and my mood was almost diametrically opposed on each course. I went back to Milo to give it a second chance (I wasn't all that impressed the first time I played) Well, I spent twenty minutes looking for the first tee, then ten minutes looking for #2, that just put me in a crap mood for a while. Don't get me wrong, there are some fantastic holes at Milo, but, IMO, its too open to get all the rave reviews it gets.

Now at Hornings Hideout, I had a smile on my face nearly the entire day, and the most on this course. I'm really not sure why, maybe it was because it was a beautiful day (those become rare in the fall round these parts) but this was one of the only courses I've ever played that I enjoyed EVERY hole, and the experience FAR exceeded my expectations.

Give this course a couple years to come into its own, and I see it knocking off Milo and Whistler's for #1 in Oregon, and that's a BIG statement.

If you're in the Portland Area, I implore you to check this course out, and unless you're a retarded monkey, I guarantee you won't be disappointed.

Side note- The course is really nice and thin now (late november) and will be so until spring, so any of those nice winter days, go check it out, it will make it much easier once the green comes back.....

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Horning's Hideout = HEAVEN

5+    6/5/2011   10/12/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 202  Reviewed: 194  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/7/2013
22 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The new gold course is in and playable now folks! YIPPEEE!

We start on tee pad number one looking in on a three hundred foot or so downhill shot through some of the tightest lines I have ever seen, great start I was happy right away. Early on the course is fairly short compared to the rest of it, especially the back nine which gets very long and very technical the whole way through. The course is only brushy off the fairway, the fairways have been worked on very nicely so no underbrush and are pretty open which I can't say for the fairways in the air, lots of tree and other obstacles. Hole eight was probably my favorite hole on the course, you are on this huge bluff looking down at a hole probably with a hundred and fifty foot drop and four hundred and twenty feet away with trees the whole way! Hole sixteen is the nine hundred and thirty foot hole, the only hole on the course that is open, at least for the first eight hundred feet anyway, then there is a mando right, then you come back towards the tee pad but back in the tree line, very long, very tough and very fun. The course is as technical as I have ever seen a course and it's long as well, tons of challenge here. I like that most of the fairways there have more than one or two paths to the basket and they take skill to get where you are trying to go, more so than luck with some very technical courses. The tee pads are superb, very grippy, long and wide. They have made the baskets a little different from the other two courses, since the PDGA made a new requirement they met that requirement and the baskets on this course catch better than the other two, they also have three lines of chains, not just two and they will catch a lot of sloppy putts like the other baskets usually did not. I just want to say that Bob Horning and the rest of the Horning's crew are really good at designing courses and put in so much work to make the place look great, Horning's Hideout now has a course for every skill level.
Cons: Some of the fairways get close to each other which could be a problem in a tournament situation. Some could argue that some of the fairways are a little less defined then some people want but the Horning's crew is letting players beat in the course over time instead of taking out trees and bushes and then regretting it later.

Hole nine is a bad hole. It is a left to right down the hill that makes every players drive land in the same spot and then it's all about a short upshot. This hole has little chance for a 2 or a 4 and is a classic example of trying to get to the perfect amount of 18 holes.
Other Thoughts: This course has it all and with the other two courses on site this is the best one stop destination for disc golf in the Northwest right now, props to all of the people who have played a roll in building and maintaining this wonderful piece of land. Remember there are lots of ups and downs so bring some sturdy shoes with you and prepare for a hike. Newbies scores will be higher than my asteroids arcade scores from the nineteen eighties so keep this in mind!

*UPDATE*

The course has new signs and lots of the issues have been taken care of making this course even better.

22 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 Truly Epic

5+    10/3/2009   10/4/2009
Review By: 360DiscGolfer
Played: 70  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2010
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Huge mountain course with tons of length and challenge
- Massive and highly textured concrete tee pads are some of the best
- Brand new baskets with better chain and lip design than the other homemade Horning's baskets (these meet PDGA standards)
- Unique and interesting hole designs go up, down and literally backwards at times (hole 16 dips in on itself)
- Professional signs are now in and are very high quality with distance and elevation change noted
- Lots of elevation, multiple elevated tee pads, downhill and uphill shots
- Beautiful grounds with lots of nature and awesome views
- Brand new picnic bench with a great view on hole 8
- Two other sweet courses on site!
Cons:
- Basket's are homemade, they are top notch for homemade but still not as good as Mach III's
- Not many benches
- Can be muddy and but now has stairs for certain areas
- With only a few trash cans there is already trash on the ground, please pack it in - pack it out
- Some areas can be a disc eater if your shot is errant
Other Thoughts: Overall an amazing course. I played here 3 days in a row and didn't even touch the two other courses on site (which are great of course). This journey is not for the faint as it can take quite a while, with 3 golfers it took us almost 3 hours. Bring a map or play with a guide as some of the trails to the next pad are not obvious from the pin. So much length and variety makes this course one of the best I have played in NW Oregon.

Favorite hole: #8 - A steep hike up the trail gives you a great view of the hills in the distance. The hole is a 420' par 3 but has a 124' drop! A great "top of the world" shot with a tight fairway through the trees. I also fell in love with hole 12's elevated tee pad and it's fairway that you have to pull a tight hyzer through the trees down the the basket with the road cone on top.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 What is next?

1    9/27/2009   9/28/2009
Review By: kinfolkfan
Played: 96  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 9.2 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Let me start off by saying I love Hornings Hideout. There staff, there other TWO disc golf courses and there venue for wonderful music are all top notch. That being said on to the 3rd course. The place you start is the tee pad so that is where I will start. The tee pads are very grippy concrete and very long and wide. Maybe the best tee boxes I have played on. The lay out offers every type of shot one could ask for. There are tiny holes, impossible angles, wide open fields for the big arms to air out, little ups, big ups, little downs big downs, you name it. The lay out also brings you back near where you began which is important to me. There were temp signs and the next tee was always easy to find. The house by the lake has cheap sodas and icey treats for after the wonderful disc golf.
Cons: One con that I found was if it were busy or tournament time, there maybe some danger spots for cross fire. I am not really sure if that is true, because it was not busy when we went. Other than that the home made buckets could cause a little heart ache but hey thats part of the gameif you ask me. The length of the course maybe a con if you are lazy or just looking for and easier 18. Try the highlands course on the other side of the Hideout it will be more your style.
Other Thoughts: This is going to become a real destination for disc golf I believe. You can camp here it and it is fairly priced. There are 3 wonderful 18 hole courses for breakfast, lunch and dinner. You can rent paddle boats and do some trout fishing. There are volleyball nets and practice baskets. If you are ever in the Portland area make sure and put Hornings Hideout on the list.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center