Oklahoma City, OK
Dolese Youth Park Share
Uploaded By: Fraser Hole #5 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 330ft.   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun learning course

5+    3/27/2014   3/27/2014
Review By: Ajampalm
Played: 54  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a fun mix for intermediate level players that will offer some shot variety and plenty of feel good throws as well as a couple of driver holes.
Given the area I think this course is fun and I would be happy to come and play this as my local course.
Cons: Can be subject to very windy areas, but I suppose where isn't in Oklahoma.
Easy course for an advanced level player, but still a few holes that will require a good drive, and to have an amazing round you would need to drive and putt well.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course a number of times now, and always think its fun. Nothing special here, but a decent course and we have a good time playing a fast round here every time we're in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    11/23/2012   11/23/2012
Review By: joshua323
Played: 93  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Location of pins were nice. Loved how each hole was named. The lay out was decent. I would love to play it again with the help of a local navigating the layout
Cons: Navigation for a first time playing the course made the fun level drop considerably
Other Thoughts: Signage signage signage

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Challenging and scenic!

1    6/18/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: Luke Francis
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are some challenging holes. A few of the baskets cannot be seen from the tee point. If you like a challenge you will love this course!
Cons: The signs for the holes are old and hard to read if they are even present. The course runs a bit confusing adding difficulty to new players. HINT* find a local to show you the turf!
Other Thoughts: Find a local to walk you through the course for the first time or join a group of players who are there. It can be difficult to navigate.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The Pyramid of Putting Power

1    6/7/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 207  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This place does have some slight elevation, water (#5), OB (mostly roads), and a couple of mandos. This course has some great pin placements. Hole #4 comes to mind as it is on top of some kind "artsy" pyramid of steps (see photo). There are also some wide-open fairway shots that end up with baskets in the woods. Those were fun pin placements as well. There were enough holes requiring some accuracy skills to keep it interesting. The hole length variation and wooded to non-wooded holes was really nice. The tee pads are of the concrete type and parking was close to hole 1 and 18.
Cons: Many of these baskets are not visible from the tee pads, so you are forced to walk the holes before playing them for the first time. Navigation on your first time here will also require you to have a the map or a guide. Some of these tee pads are shaped, oddly and may even be under-sized. There are also a few spots where you will not be able to run past the front edge of the pad, due to design or location. The tee signs are in bad condition with wear and graffiti and some of them are in need of a distance check. It could have just been timing, but there seemed to be a few vagrants walking or "camping" out. They didn't mind moving when asked and it didn't seem unsafe or anything, but I just though I should mention it.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was fair once I got passed having to walk so many holes to find the basket. If I played this often, it would not be a big deal. I found the first 2 and last 3 holes kind of boring, but most of the rest of the course was kind of fun. I did enjoy my overall time here. I would imagine if you were in town, this is one of the must plays here.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/18/2010   5/20/2010
Review By: Basoos1
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Multiple pen placements, so the course can tend to change a little.
good place to take beginers, as you can't lose discs on the island (holes 1, 2, 16, 17, 18)
Cons: Bit of a left handed course
the middle of the course has some thick wooded areas, with lots of underbrush (easy to loose discs)

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/4/2010   3/4/2010
Review By: Spackler
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mixture of long/short holes but only one hole that is really long. Some wooded and some relatively open and a few with nice elevation changes. Dries out faster than most courses in the area. Some good technical holes but nothing that most players will have a difficult time with.
Cons: Tee pads tend to be short and signs are either missing or illegible. Can get very busy on weekends and around quitting time on weekdays. Parts of the course are a little difficult to navigate, even finding the next tee box can require a little searching on a couple of holes.
Other Thoughts: Pretty well balanced course as far as left/right & long/short goes. Overall a decent course that's pretty fair. Just try to play it early on the weekends.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 nice variety

2-4    12/16/2009   12/19/2009
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 179  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -concrete tees and good baskets
-variety of different kinds of holes, some very short and technical, some partially open with trees and a few wide open bombers
-the technical holes are a lot of fun, interesting basket placements
-some minor elevation utilized
-basket elevated on a pyramid on #4
-water danger on #5
-lots of blind holes
-nice map here at DGCR
-gas station around corner at 50th/meridian has great selection of discs, new & used
Cons: -design is a little awkward, the flow works but it's not great.
-some of the obstacles are a little over the top, hole 5 comes to mind.
-signs are all vandalized and illegible, very troublesome on the blind holes
-navigation can be tricky: clustered baskets in opening/ending portion of course, longish & not obvious walk from 5 to 6 and 15 to 16, some have a path from basket to next tee (6 to 7). bring a map for sure
Other Thoughts: This is a nice little public park course with a good variety of holes. There are a lot of trees and brush and they frame many of the fairways nicely. Most of the holes are mostly open but with some trees but there are also several tighter, technical holes and a couple bombers (only one is totally open, #14). There are a couple elevated tees (3-5) and two throws across a ravine (7,12). There are mostly straight fairways but favors lefty on 5 holes, righty on 1. Many baskets are tucked into a treeline, usually on the right side (6,8,10,11,14,15). Distances are short to moderate, only 3 holes over 400.

Navigation can be a bit of an issue as there are many blind baskets (3,4,6,7,8,10,13,14,15) but the signs are totally vandalized and many are fairly worthless. Definitely bring a map, the one here is great and mostly black and white so it won't drain your printer ink.

Some of the design decisions I have to wonder about. Hole 5 is a great hole: elevated tee, water to the right, options for lines. But there is a big tree directly in front of the tee. Some might not mind this kind of "early trouble" but I thought it was a little much, especially given how much other stuff is going on here on this hole. The course seems to overly rely on blind baskets to spice up what would otherwise be straight and boring holes.

Overall, a fun course. Not extremely challenging but definitely has something to offer most players. Check out the "D-Mart" around the corner and see their disc selection.

Almost forgot, friendly locals too. I jumped in on a doubles round with 3 other guys after playing a solo round.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Dolese Park

1    5/27/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: RocCityDiscer
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 11.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of variety. Tight wooded shots, short technical shots and long wide open bomb opportunities. Multiple hole locations for every hole also add to the variety and keep things fresh for local players.

Course starts of pretty bland with "cookie cutter" holes but gradually gains in difficulty into some very unique holes.
Cons: Very crowded. In a large park with lots of activity. I played on a Wednesday afternoon and the course was pretty full. Didn't have to wait too many times, and the locals were friendly and its good they were there cause i needed to be pointed in the right direction a few times.

There are signs on every hole but they are basically unreadable due to vandalism / graffiti.
Other Thoughts: Concrete tee pads with a stone inset with the hole number and a nickname for the hole add a nice touch. No water hazards really to speak off make it tough to lose discs here !!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Dolese - Wooded and Thick, but Good!

5+    7/31/2009   3/11/2008
Review By: DG_Wizard
Played: 20  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a nice getaway. The holes are challenging, mostly due to the avoidance of trees and foliage. It gives the feel of taking a nice hike into the woods. Nice job of elevation changes. I love the island and the ability that it adds to just play a few holes.
Cons: This course is thick in places. When the foliage grows up, you can lose a disc easily. Some holes have a unique design requiring pinpoint accuracy through a maze of trees and foliage. Some of the throwing lanes are a bit more narrow than I am used to, but I do like the course a lot.
Other Thoughts: Perhaps I was a bit critical of this course initially. I have played it a few times since, and I enjoy it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.