Disc Golf Store
Oklahoma City, OK 
Dolese Youth Park Share
Uploaded By: Fraser Hole #3 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 270ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Overview



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Righteous Homie Park

5+    2/7/2011   2/7/2011
Review By: notBOB
Played: 127  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 10.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: RIghteous homie park- bring your crew and throw down for dubs yo!

-Dolese is a must if your in the area
-long and short pin locations per hole- all fun
-plays thru the entire city park, next to the lake- lots of varying terrain
-well balanced open and tight, left and rights
-the "monster" speaks for itself- loooong yo
-holes 11, 12 leading into the monster are badass in the woods w/ elevation
-each hole has a unique name and message- super sick
-D mart holdin down the disc selection a block away
Cons: -gets packed afternoons to evenings give er take
-goofball hangout, bums and shit
-brush can get thick seasonally, ticks, whatever..
-slick tee boxes in the sand- certain boxes have grooves making it a bit better
Other Thoughts: Nicest course in the city..

props to the OKCDGA for their input

can always count on a good time, runnin into the bros out at Dolese no doubt..

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite Course in the City

5+    10/13/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: Apoth
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Out of all the courses in the OKC metro, this is my favorite. It's more complex and interesting than Will Rogers Park, but not as punishing as Tye F. Cunningham.

Varied mix of holes allowing for all shots. First two holes and last three are fairly open, the remainder of the course plays in and out of woods with several blind shots, some elevated shots, and a few holes that you can bomb on if you've got the arm. Multiple pin placement allows for varied play, but the difficulty ratchets up substantially on the "long" placement. So much so that it can add 5-10 strokes to my score.
Cons: Not in bad shape, but not in the absolute best shape with many signs missing. Can be crowded at times. "Long" pin placement ratchets up difficulty a little too much on some holes (hole 7 and 15 come to mind). Some possibility to lose discs on the wooded holes, but not much. Kite Hawks can make your life miserable on holes 16 and 17 during the summer months.
Other Thoughts: Good course with a nice mix of difficulty. Two shops sell discs within about 2 miles (D-Mart and Fred's) and you can find most every disc you want between these two shops. This course doesn't have a tremendous "wow" factor, but its solid and fun.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Pins recently moved to short

5+    7/11/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: ManOnTheDoor
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * PINS RELOCATED TO "SHORT" PLACEMENT 2010/07/11. They said they would leave the short placement for a few months.
* Baskets are in good shape.
* Concrete pads for tee boxes also in good shape and have nice decorative markers with a number and hole name.
* Creative basket placement on 4 (long) has large elevation change and is tricky for new players.
* Blind shots from clearings into woods are interesting if you know the course and know where you are supposed to go (is a con if you don't know).
* Few holes where the Oklahoma wind plays a major factor.
Cons: * Desperately in need of some tree maintenance. It's apparently been a long time and there's lots of overgrowth.
* Signage is gone or vandalized.
* Blind shots from clearings into woods make for lots of scouting if you don't know the course (fun if you do know).
* Tons of mosquito bites during summer from the pond.
* Lack of trash cans.
* Lots of blind shots for beginners. For my novice group, there are a few holes where one person throws and another goes ahead and spots where it lands - especially on 3 and 4. (And yes, as we are getting better, we are getting a better feel of where the disc is going to go.)
* There is only a single port-a-potty near the 'island', but lots of woods for male players.
* There are a few holes that are along Meridian. Get a case of grip lock and you might get your disc run over. Most cars are OK, but every once in a while you get the jerk that screams and honks.
* The park is located with a bunch of youth soccer fields and baseball fields so the park itself (not necessarily the DG course) will get pretty busy during the sports seasons.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I ever played and have always judged any other course against this one. Everything from heavy woods with a narrow fairways to wide open spaces. This is a really fun course that should be a quick play (even with a group). It hosted a doubles tournament in July 2010 and had a big turnout. As noted above, the pins were moved to the "short" placement on July 11, 2010 and are expected to be at this placement for a while. On the south west corner of Meridian and 50th, there's a gas station with a fairly healthy selection of new and used discs.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Best in the City

5+    12/3/2009   12/10/2009
Review By: lschrock
Played: 38  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most fun of the Oklahoma City area, great tee/pin placement with multiple pin settings on all but 1 and 18. Fairways stay pretty well maintained, a couple of opportunities to lose a disc in an OB if not careful. Loads of shot variety, both short and long. Some short and technical, some long. Tee pads have names printed in the concrete for each hole. (i.e. lefty heaven on 13) Can always find someone to play with, people are really friendly. Course utilizes a lot of trees, even though we lost quite a few during an ice storm. Whole course is lightly wooded, with a couple of holes completely in the woods. There is one hole with an anhyzer water hazard, borders the pond.
Cons: Tons of litter. Not many people respect the course, it's really too bad, because it's a great course. Stickers are bad on a couple of holes during the summer months, as well as mosquitos. Look out for poison ivy in season, it's as thick as I've seen it. Signs are in bad condition, and a couple of holes are hard to find.
Other Thoughts: Regular weekly minis, will be posted on the board near hole 1. Usually can play the course with a couple of friends in 1 1/2 hours. During the spring/early summer there are some small hawk/kites that will dive bomb you on hole 16/17 from the trees. Look out, some people have gotten some nice scalp cuts. I hit one with a putter.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 well balanced

1    3/19/2009   4/26/2009
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a wide range in hole type variety which change during a round by the handful. Some are flat with massive trees and well defined fairways like the "island." I started out playing with a local who informed me that he was only going to "play the island" which is holes 1,2, 16, 17, and 18. These island holes are all surrounded by a park street that is near a parking lot which is right at the start finish area. My compliments for a design that allows for players to play a few holes if they so desire. Another characteristic here, is small rolling hills with very interesting manmade elevated tee boxes and one nifty manmade elevated pyramid like basket position. These holes are near the pond at the beginning of the round. Then there are another set of holes that are tightly wooded near a shallow creek that have some decent elevation changes on either banks of the creek. The other aspect at Dolese is an open park setting that is sprinkled in and around the back when the course gets away from the creek, these mostly have long distances.

All of these different characteristics make for a well balanced and transition type of round. Each hole has a decent if not interesting basket placement and tee positions. Take for example number ten which by most standards would be open and boring, but they have the basket guarded by the creek-side vegetation after forcing you to bomb it out in the open which saves the hole and make it unique. This type of thought is evident throughout the course. The balance of the courses combines a park and natural setting, sort of a best of both worlds. This park has all the normal park amenities, there is parking overflow parking as well as other things to do to keep the non golfers in your party interested. When I played in March there was a porta john on the course.
Cons: Dolese, when I played, was very busy. It took me two attempts to bag this course, the first time was on a Friday close to the afternoon and it was such a madhouse that I went on to other courses knowing by the lines of people that I saw that it would take too far long to play properly. I came back on a Monday morning and there were still good sized groups. Each course transition has a new set of traffic flow issues, that naturally somehow thin out near the end. I would call this an urban course in that you will see people, there is not much in getting away from them. All of the people I encountered were very nice.

Even with a map handy, I got lost. I got somehow turned around and the next thing I knew, I skipped a hole. I guess there could be better signs, but I should take some of the blame for this too, since I'm not the brightest player to ever read a map. The course is kept in one side of the park and as a result there is a few filler holes.
Other Thoughts: This is the best OKC course that I played during my recent trip. Not too difficult of a round but honest and well balanced, the way a course should be. It is very close to Will Rogers Park, if this one happens to be busy are you are looking to bag another course. A well rounded course that is suitable for all skill types!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A fun round a disc play

5+    12/15/2008   2/9/2009
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 177  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Not too thick not too open just right.Course flows well,Fairways are well defined,starts off easy gets harder later.
Cons: This is the first disc golf course I ever played I have nothing bad to say about it.
Other Thoughts: Coda Hatfields original Home course.Gives you a good feeling to walk thru Dolese park,a decent disc golf sanctuary.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course!

1    12/8/2007   11/6/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 10.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've only played this course once, but I had the pleasure of playing through with some very kind locals (including Joe Rotan, owner of Twisted Flyer).

The first few holes were in a flat but moderately wooded area - mostly short, but enough trees to keep it interesting. There were several holes with a good amount of elevation in play, others with thick underbrush, one blind shot, and several semi-open shots that allowed you to air one out. Great variety in type of shot required and distance required.

2 holes really stood out to me, but I can't remember the hole numbers. One played next to the street and was open for the first 3/4 of the hole, before playing downhill into a grove of trees. There's a picture posted of the other...tightly wooded, playing down then back uphill.
Cons: Could be difficult to find a few of the baskets, but again, I had some exprienced locals with me when I played, so this wasn't an issue.

There was one hole in particular where the basket you're supposed to throw to was out of sight, but another hole's basket was clearly visible...so even with the locals showing me through, I still managed to throw to the wrong basket :)
Other Thoughts: I definitely plan on going back here the next time I'm in Oklahoma City!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bring a Local

1    10/25/2008   10/27/2008
Review By: gsw_03
Played: 76  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As stated previously, this course has well-maintained fairways and a good mixture of short/technical and long/open holes. Great variety of shots can be thrown on most holes, but accuracy is paramount due to heavy shules in some areas. If you have played the course before and know the lines, there are plenty of scoring opportunities. The granite slab at the back of each tee box with the Hole # and Nickname is a very nice touch that I had not seen before. The lake also makes for some very nice views.
Cons: It is easy to get lost on the course, since many holes are not necessarily right next to each other. Some holes are long with pins tucked into the woods or around a dogleg, making a walk down the fairway almost mandatory. Lack of a course map near #1 does not help.
Other Thoughts: This is a course I would play regularly if I lived in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.