Oklahoma City, OK 
Dolese Youth Park - East Share
Uploaded By: Fraser Hole #3 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Nice Variety

2-4    2/21/2016   2/22/2016
Review By: AeroPurt
Played: 32  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice variety of hole layouts (short, long, lefty, righty, open, wooded).
- Baskets are in decent shape. I don't know if they meant them to be this way, but the baskets have an ombre look to them (white top fading to black bottom), looks pretty cool.
- Course is located in a public park in such a way that you don't have to worry about errant discs hitting walkers or children.
- Fishing and playgrounds nearby so it's great for families.
- Multiple pin locations on a few holes.
Cons: - I don't have any big complaints to speak of, maybe just update the baskets.
Other Thoughts: - Hole #14 (The Monster) in the long position should really be a Par 4. At 720', it takes two pretty good drives with distance drivers to be close enough to have a long look for par. Carding a 4 on this hole is pretty good. Carding a 3 on it is pretty incredible. Carding a 2 on it is virtually impossible.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great course

1    11/8/2015   2/16/2016
Review By: Treehousebob
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great course.
Friendly locals.
Great use of land.
Unique holes.


Cons: A lot of trees were cut down and piled up.
The missing or half missing trees made the course a little ugly.
Other Thoughts: I thought this was a really fun course. The course was a lot more fun than it seemed like it was going to be.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Rare "DG-centric" Park

5+    8/15/2015   7/11/2015
Review By: armiller
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/3/2016
Pros: -Holes are well designed in a park where they don't feel like they're out of place; contrary to many parks, you're almost never throwing over joggers or other park visitors
-Seems to me like there's plenty of variation and challenge; birdies are very possible but only if you make your shots; it's one of those courses where you want to go back to reattempt those shots you missed or to try to recreate the great shots you made
-This course also has fewer spots to lose discs than some other courses I've played, and that makes it more friendly (for me) than courses requiring tons of water shots.
-Several holes have various pin locations, which are usually BOTH pretty good and provide different challenges. For holes where one pin location is clearly superior, the local guys typically leave the pins in the tougher locations.
-I usually play by myself, and I've met tons of local players on this course. Often, I tag along with someone else who has way more experience and throws way better, and then I invariably learn something from them about discs, technique, etc. In other words, this is where the local skilled players prefer to play in the OKC area.

-More than a few highlights:
2) long shot through or around trees; a very tough two
3) blind shot; usual pin location needs a great anny putter shot, high forehand hyzer, or overhand
4) another blind hole, tempting many ace runs; one location is on a mound, making the ace run a risk/reward decision
6) very tough two; not short, trees in the way, and basket is dogleg right under a tree canopy; this is a good example of how the holes tend to require a perfect drive AND long putt to birdie; this one also frequently requires a brilliant upshot to save par after a less-than-perfect tee shot
7) shooting across a usually dry creek bed; get under some low branches but keep it high enough to fade right toward the basket
8) the "floater" - requires a good right to left fade or skip to get under some low branches toward the basket
10) one of the longer drives; in the long position, the basket is nestled in behind some bushes, so it's one of those holes that's guaranteed to test your upshot/mid placement, even if your drive was good - tough birdie!
11) short but good example of the course requiring a good line; can throw a big hyzer over trees if you have the arm, but there's a nice line to the basket around some trees
12) across a creek again, uphill - good Comet type shot that needs to be very straight or left-to-right
14) the Monster! - this is a very long hole, even in the "short" position; slight uphill drive to a fairly tricky approach shot when the basket it in among the trees
15) not long; but the fairway requires a pretty perfect shot to get close; the green is nice and sheltered by elm trees? (see picture)
18) a nice short hole; very ace-able, but there's OB long to punish overthrows, and the fairway is crowded, so it's anything but easy

I could really include every hole! I'm currently out of the OKC area, and this is the course I miss most.
Cons: -Sometimes the course is very muddy and mosquito-ridden after heavy rains and flooding (this is rare but not unheard of in wetter spring seasons)
-It can be extremely busy on weekends or evenings, so I generally try to play at less crowded times
Other Thoughts: This is a well-designed course. Many courses feel like someone put baskets in a park wherever they would fit. This course, on the other hand, feels like the park is designed to fit the disc golf (other than 1 or 2 of the "island" holes -- 1, 2, 16, 17, and 18 -- which can be a little repetitive or not as challenging). Dolese captures the essence of disc golf: requires skill in a variety of shots and encourages players to improve in all aspects of their game. It's not a course where a backhand-only or forehand-only player will be comfortable rethrowing the same shot. New players will be punished for errant shots but also experience the thrill of throwing some good ones.

There is a practice putting basket, which is nice, and an open field nearby, perfect for practicing drives. Restrooms are near the parking area.

 Fun in the City

2-4    2/7/2013   2/8/2013
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 52  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.8 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good Concrete Tees
Good Baskets
Benches at every Tee
Practice basket near Hole One
Decent Navigation
Good Fairways
Good Variety
Some Left, straight, right
Decent elevation change
Good Distance Variety
Good for RHBH, RHFH, LHFH, LHBH
Some challenge without being hard
Good risk/reward
Quick round
Good for beginners to advanced
Work on mids, drivers, putting
Multiple pin placements
Great use of the land available
Mostly good technical holes with a few chances to stretch out and crush your drivers.
Lots of fun
Loved the couple of elevated tees
Imaginative names for each hole (Nice touch)
Ample parking
Pavillion near parking good for Tourneys
Friendly locals

Favorite Hole(s): #5, #12, #15
Cons: Needs new tee signs bad
The signs that were there are vandalized
Needs a few directionals (2-3, 15-16)
Some tee pads were small (No big deal, they were big enough for me)
Some erosion problems need attention
Could use better walkways across the creek in a couple of spots
Could use more trashcasns
Usually is very crowded (The reason is that it is the most fun course in the city).
16, 17, 18 seem repetetive

Not very many cons, just a fun course
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun course in the city. Well worth the stop if in the city. Also worth a drive of a little ways if it has been a while since you played here. Bring a few buddies and play a while. You won't regret it.

Swing by D Mart just East of the park entrance. They have a huge selection of innova discs and a good selection of Dynamic Discs, along with some used discs.

My reviews are weighted heavily toward "fun factor" which this course has a lot of.

PM me and let me know how I can improve my reviews to be more "helpful.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 LOVE IT

1    10/25/2012   10/29/2012
Review By: soonerpa
Played: 37  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/9/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Gorgeous park. The holes are unique. I threw a multitude of shots which is always fun.The tree leafs are turning and really added to the setting on the cold blustery day I played. Still really enjoyed it even with 25 mph winds.
as mentioned below the holes are set with the longer tee to basket lengths. The granite inscribed with the tee hole #/name on each pad is a nice touch.

If I had to sum it up in one word I would say the course is FUN.
Cons: I really cant think of any. I suppose the tee signs could be updated and maybe directional signs from one hole to the next.
Other Thoughts: This time of year its a beautiful setting. The poison ivy seems to be minimal and the changing leaf colors on the trees make for a wonderful sight.

In my short time playing this is easily my favorite course to date. Cant wait to play it again.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 beware they are on the long tees

5+    10/21/2012   10/21/2012
Review By: losdizzel
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: As i said in the tile long tees .every year they change them to the long tees in october .Makes for a way different course more challenging
Cons: as i read in other comments they do need new signs ,keep eye on that disc at some holes gets scary in them woods
Other Thoughts: all ways alot of players so be patience

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course for Sure!!!!

1    3/17/2012   3/19/2012
Review By: kcautoguy
Played: 18  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/15/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The layout and scenery is excellent. Very fun course to play and offers good difficulty. Tee-Pads are nice with good length.
Cons: Holes are a little on the short side except for the "monster". You rarely need a driver! If you haven't played this course before it's very difficult to navigate and the signs are horrible. Course needs new baskets and signs.
Other Thoughts: Lots of trees and lots of wind!!!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great park in the middle of OKC

1    7/22/2011   8/15/2011
Review By: C-Van
Played: 97  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2014
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of different types of holes. You have some holes with great wide open shots that allow you to practice your big armed shot. There are a good number of wooded shots that allow you to work on your accuracy. And there are even some fun elevated shots. This course is also smack dab in the middle of the community, something that I have always enjoyed in courses in the city. That could be a con for some people though. There are plenty of trash cans throughout the course, and the baskets and tees are well marked with signs. The course overall is well maintained.
Cons: Holes 1 and 2, and 15-18 are all kind of packed together in about an acre area at the beginning of the course. The rest of the course is well spread out, but those holes are kind of cramped (can be especially annoying if there are some terrible discers there, because you would need to be on the lookout for some wild discs). If you don't already know where the beginning of this course is, it could be difficult to find.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course, my favorite of the three I played in Oklahoma (I also played Paul's Valley Flightline and Griffin Park in Norman). Was a great park with a lot of locals out there playing on a Friday night. There is even a gas station nearby with a proshop inside of it with a GREAT selection of discs. If you live near Oklahoma City, which is actually a great disc golf city, you HAVE to check this course out.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Still My Favorate

5+    3/23/2011   3/28/2011
Review By: Daveharvey83
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This park maintained pretty well. Mostly friendly people that play the course, some really good locals out. The holes are routinely changed up to keep the course from getting stale. There is a good combo of lefts, rights, shorts and longs to keep to you on your toes. There is some beautiful scenery to play in now that everything is greening up.
Cons: There seems to be a growing trash problem, the local DG groups do a great job cleaning up when they can but the public needs to be somewhat more helpful on this. The city could also put some extra trash barrels out. With the warmer weather starting to peak out, there is also an increase in non-dg incursions into the course so be careful when you drive!
Other Thoughts: That greening up that I was talking about brings up a another point to the dg people playing the course. There are loads of places to loose your discs when it foliage gets thick and venturing out into can result in some poison ivy rashes. Watch those drives! Also, just a note for everyone out, remember the disc golf courtesy of letting the smaller groups and solos play through if they are nipping at your heels. It makes for a great course when everyone is getting along with each other.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in OKC

1    3/15/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: Lorider680
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: -Great variety
-technical
-easy to follow(especially with course map link)
_
Cons: -can get crowded woth newbs
-located in youth park
Other Thoughts: Thsi is the best course in OKC. Well maintained and a must for anoyone in the OKC area.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.