Oklahoma City, OK 
Dolese Youth Park Share
Uploaded By: Fraser Hole #6 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 395ft.   3 / 395ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Fun learning course

5+    3/27/2014   3/27/2014
Review By: Ajampalm
Played: 62  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a fun mix for intermediate level players that will offer some shot variety and plenty of feel good throws as well as a couple of driver holes.
Given the area I think this course is fun and I would be happy to come and play this as my local course.
Cons: Can be subject to very windy areas, but I suppose where isn't in Oklahoma.
Easy course for an advanced level player, but still a few holes that will require a good drive, and to have an amazing round you would need to drive and putt well.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course a number of times now, and always think its fun. Nothing special here, but a decent course and we have a good time playing a fast round here every time we're in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun in the City

2-4    2/7/2013   2/8/2013
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 51  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 3.8 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good Concrete Tees
Good Baskets
Benches at every Tee
Practice basket near Hole One
Decent Navigation
Good Fairways
Good Variety
Some Left, straight, right
Decent elevation change
Good Distance Variety
Good for RHBH, RHFH, LHFH, LHBH
Some challenge without being hard
Good risk/reward
Quick round
Good for beginners to advanced
Work on mids, drivers, putting
Multiple pin placements
Great use of the land available
Mostly good technical holes with a few chances to stretch out and crush your drivers.
Lots of fun
Loved the couple of elevated tees
Imaginative names for each hole (Nice touch)
Ample parking
Pavillion near parking good for Tourneys
Friendly locals

Favorite Hole(s): #5, #12, #15
Cons: Needs new tee signs bad
The signs that were there are vandalized
Needs a few directionals (2-3, 15-16)
Some tee pads were small (No big deal, they were big enough for me)
Some erosion problems need attention
Could use better walkways across the creek in a couple of spots
Could use more trashcasns
Usually is very crowded (The reason is that it is the most fun course in the city).
16, 17, 18 seem repetetive

Not very many cons, just a fun course
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun course in the city. Well worth the stop if in the city. Also worth a drive of a little ways if it has been a while since you played here. Bring a few buddies and play a while. You won't regret it.

Swing by D Mart just East of the park entrance. They have a huge selection of innova discs and a good selection of Dynamic Discs, along with some used discs.

My reviews are weighted heavily toward "fun factor" which this course has a lot of.

PM me and let me know how I can improve my reviews to be more "helpful.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    11/23/2012   11/23/2012
Review By: joshua323
Played: 103  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.2 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Location of pins were nice. Loved how each hole was named. The lay out was decent. I would love to play it again with the help of a local navigating the layout
Cons: Navigation for a first time playing the course made the fun level drop considerably
Other Thoughts: Signage signage signage

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

LOVE IT

1    10/25/2012   10/29/2012
Review By: soonerpa
Played: 35  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/9/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Gorgeous park. The holes are unique. I threw a multitude of shots which is always fun.The tree leafs are turning and really added to the setting on the cold blustery day I played. Still really enjoyed it even with 25 mph winds.
as mentioned below the holes are set with the longer tee to basket lengths. The granite inscribed with the tee hole #/name on each pad is a nice touch.

If I had to sum it up in one word I would say the course is FUN.
Cons: I really cant think of any. I suppose the tee signs could be updated and maybe directional signs from one hole to the next.
Other Thoughts: This time of year its a beautiful setting. The poison ivy seems to be minimal and the changing leaf colors on the trees make for a wonderful sight.

In my short time playing this is easily my favorite course to date. Cant wait to play it again.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

beware they are on the long tees

5+    10/21/2012   10/21/2012
Review By: losdizzel
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: As i said in the tile long tees .every year they change them to the long tees in october .Makes for a way different course more challenging
Cons: as i read in other comments they do need new signs ,keep eye on that disc at some holes gets scary in them woods
Other Thoughts: all ways alot of players so be patience

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and scenic!

1    6/18/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: Luke Francis
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are some challenging holes. A few of the baskets cannot be seen from the tee point. If you like a challenge you will love this course!
Cons: The signs for the holes are old and hard to read if they are even present. The course runs a bit confusing adding difficulty to new players. HINT* find a local to show you the turf!
Other Thoughts: Find a local to walk you through the course for the first time or join a group of players who are there. It can be difficult to navigate.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Ok, but we played better

1    4/3/2012   4/24/2012
Review By: dlopez916
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The layout was good. The park was pretty nice. Concrete pads were long and generous.
Cons: The course look neglected. They need signs, and new baskets. You could tell the course had heavy traffic, which is good, but requires more upkeep!
Other Thoughts: Would play again, and I enjoyed playing what the locals call "The Island"

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course for Sure!!!!

1    3/17/2012   3/19/2012
Review By: kcautoguy
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/15/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The layout and scenery is excellent. Very fun course to play and offers good difficulty. Tee-Pads are nice with good length.
Cons: Holes are a little on the short side except for the "monster". You rarely need a driver! If you haven't played this course before it's very difficult to navigate and the signs are horrible. Course needs new baskets and signs.
Other Thoughts: Lots of trees and lots of wind!!!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great park in the middle of OKC

1    7/22/2011   8/15/2011
Review By: C-Van
Played: 82  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2014
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of different types of holes. You have some holes with great wide open shots that allow you to practice your big armed shot. There are a good number of wooded shots that allow you to work on your accuracy. And there are even some fun elevated shots. This course is also smack dab in the middle of the community, something that I have always enjoyed in courses in the city. That could be a con for some people though. There are plenty of trash cans throughout the course, and the baskets and tees are well marked with signs. The course overall is well maintained.
Cons: Holes 1 and 2, and 15-18 are all kind of packed together in about an acre area at the beginning of the course. The rest of the course is well spread out, but those holes are kind of cramped (can be especially annoying if there are some terrible discers there, because you would need to be on the lookout for some wild discs). If you don't already know where the beginning of this course is, it could be difficult to find.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course, my favorite of the three I played in Oklahoma (I also played Paul's Valley Flightline and Griffin Park in Norman). Was a great park with a lot of locals out there playing on a Friday night. There is even a gas station nearby with a proshop inside of it with a GREAT selection of discs. If you live near Oklahoma City, which is actually a great disc golf city, you HAVE to check this course out.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Still My Favorate

5+    3/23/2011   3/28/2011
Review By: Daveharvey83
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This park maintained pretty well. Mostly friendly people that play the course, some really good locals out. The holes are routinely changed up to keep the course from getting stale. There is a good combo of lefts, rights, shorts and longs to keep to you on your toes. There is some beautiful scenery to play in now that everything is greening up.
Cons: There seems to be a growing trash problem, the local DG groups do a great job cleaning up when they can but the public needs to be somewhat more helpful on this. The city could also put some extra trash barrels out. With the warmer weather starting to peak out, there is also an increase in non-dg incursions into the course so be careful when you drive!
Other Thoughts: That greening up that I was talking about brings up a another point to the dg people playing the course. There are loads of places to loose your discs when it foliage gets thick and venturing out into can result in some poison ivy rashes. Watch those drives! Also, just a note for everyone out, remember the disc golf courtesy of letting the smaller groups and solos play through if they are nipping at your heels. It makes for a great course when everyone is getting along with each other.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.