Oklahoma City, OK 
Dolese Youth Park - East Share
Uploaded By: Fraser Hole #1 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Overview



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Arcadia (B) is only other in 50 miles

5+    8/1/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: OKC444
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Heavily wooded, expertly laid out to maximize the terrain, multiple pin placements to allow for challenge and change... there are so many nice little touches present here (already noted in other reviews) that I could regurgitate but you've heard all that. But thing is... no other local disc course can tout half as many. This is by far the best OKC has to offer... and in the Metropolitan area you won't find another FREE course that's this good.
Cons: Summer time can bring out the bugs due to the courses proximity to Dolese Pond so bring some bug spray. Local youth have in the past utilized the park as a late night hangout and it has pushed the park authorities to remove many of the benches/tables/trashcans from the wooded areas. :(
Other Thoughts: I may eat my words one day after having played "80 courses in 10 states"... which I clearly haven't and others clearly have... but I say with no reservations that this course is underrated and is the most technical and challenging course short of Arcadia (Blue) within 50 miles. To the naysayer Pros who think it's too easy... it's a YOUTH PARK. I stand by my rating.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pins recently moved to short

5+    7/11/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: ManOnTheDoor
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * PINS RELOCATED TO "SHORT" PLACEMENT 2010/07/11. They said they would leave the short placement for a few months.
* Baskets are in good shape.
* Concrete pads for tee boxes also in good shape and have nice decorative markers with a number and hole name.
* Creative basket placement on 4 (long) has large elevation change and is tricky for new players.
* Blind shots from clearings into woods are interesting if you know the course and know where you are supposed to go (is a con if you don't know).
* Few holes where the Oklahoma wind plays a major factor.
Cons: * Desperately in need of some tree maintenance. It's apparently been a long time and there's lots of overgrowth.
* Signage is gone or vandalized.
* Blind shots from clearings into woods make for lots of scouting if you don't know the course (fun if you do know).
* Tons of mosquito bites during summer from the pond.
* Lack of trash cans.
* Lots of blind shots for beginners. For my novice group, there are a few holes where one person throws and another goes ahead and spots where it lands - especially on 3 and 4. (And yes, as we are getting better, we are getting a better feel of where the disc is going to go.)
* There is only a single port-a-potty near the 'island', but lots of woods for male players.
* There are a few holes that are along Meridian. Get a case of grip lock and you might get your disc run over. Most cars are OK, but every once in a while you get the jerk that screams and honks.
* The park is located with a bunch of youth soccer fields and baseball fields so the park itself (not necessarily the DG course) will get pretty busy during the sports seasons.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I ever played and have always judged any other course against this one. Everything from heavy woods with a narrow fairways to wide open spaces. This is a really fun course that should be a quick play (even with a group). It hosted a doubles tournament in July 2010 and had a big turnout. As noted above, the pins were moved to the "short" placement on July 11, 2010 and are expected to be at this placement for a while. On the south west corner of Meridian and 50th, there's a gas station with a fairly healthy selection of new and used discs.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The Pyramid of Putting Power

1    6/7/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 235  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 29.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This place does have some slight elevation, water (#5), OB (mostly roads), and a couple of mandos. This course has some great pin placements. Hole #4 comes to mind as it is on top of some kind "artsy" pyramid of steps (see photo). There are also some wide-open fairway shots that end up with baskets in the woods. Those were fun pin placements as well. There were enough holes requiring some accuracy skills to keep it interesting. The hole length variation and wooded to non-wooded holes was really nice. The tee pads are of the concrete type and parking was close to hole 1 and 18.
Cons: Many of these baskets are not visible from the tee pads, so you are forced to walk the holes before playing them for the first time. Navigation on your first time here will also require you to have a the map or a guide. Some of these tee pads are shaped, oddly and may even be under-sized. There are also a few spots where you will not be able to run past the front edge of the pad, due to design or location. The tee signs are in bad condition with wear and graffiti and some of them are in need of a distance check. It could have just been timing, but there seemed to be a few vagrants walking or "camping" out. They didn't mind moving when asked and it didn't seem unsafe or anything, but I just though I should mention it.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was fair once I got passed having to walk so many holes to find the basket. If I played this often, it would not be a big deal. I found the first 2 and last 3 holes kind of boring, but most of the rest of the course was kind of fun. I did enjoy my overall time here. I would imagine if you were in town, this is one of the must plays here.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/18/2010   5/20/2010
Review By: Basoos1
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Multiple pen placements, so the course can tend to change a little.
good place to take beginers, as you can't lose discs on the island (holes 1, 2, 16, 17, 18)
Cons: Bit of a left handed course
the middle of the course has some thick wooded areas, with lots of underbrush (easy to loose discs)

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/4/2010   3/4/2010
Review By: Spackler
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mixture of long/short holes but only one hole that is really long. Some wooded and some relatively open and a few with nice elevation changes. Dries out faster than most courses in the area. Some good technical holes but nothing that most players will have a difficult time with.
Cons: Tee pads tend to be short and signs are either missing or illegible. Can get very busy on weekends and around quitting time on weekdays. Parts of the course are a little difficult to navigate, even finding the next tee box can require a little searching on a couple of holes.
Other Thoughts: Pretty well balanced course as far as left/right & long/short goes. Overall a decent course that's pretty fair. Just try to play it early on the weekends.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 nice variety

2-4    12/16/2009   12/19/2009
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 236  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -concrete tees and good baskets
-variety of different kinds of holes, some very short and technical, some partially open with trees and a few wide open bombers
-the technical holes are a lot of fun, interesting basket placements
-some minor elevation utilized
-basket elevated on a pyramid on #4
-water danger on #5
-lots of blind holes
-nice map here at DGCR
-gas station around corner at 50th/meridian has great selection of discs, new & used
Cons: -design is a little awkward, the flow works but it's not great.
-some of the obstacles are a little over the top, hole 5 comes to mind.
-signs are all vandalized and illegible, very troublesome on the blind holes
-navigation can be tricky: clustered baskets in opening/ending portion of course, longish & not obvious walk from 5 to 6 and 15 to 16, some have a path from basket to next tee (6 to 7). bring a map for sure
Other Thoughts: This is a nice little public park course with a good variety of holes. There are a lot of trees and brush and they frame many of the fairways nicely. Most of the holes are mostly open but with some trees but there are also several tighter, technical holes and a couple bombers (only one is totally open, #14). There are a couple elevated tees (3-5) and two throws across a ravine (7,12). There are mostly straight fairways but favors lefty on 5 holes, righty on 1. Many baskets are tucked into a treeline, usually on the right side (6,8,10,11,14,15). Distances are short to moderate, only 3 holes over 400.

Navigation can be a bit of an issue as there are many blind baskets (3,4,6,7,8,10,13,14,15) but the signs are totally vandalized and many are fairly worthless. Definitely bring a map, the one here is great and mostly black and white so it won't drain your printer ink.

Some of the design decisions I have to wonder about. Hole 5 is a great hole: elevated tee, water to the right, options for lines. But there is a big tree directly in front of the tee. Some might not mind this kind of "early trouble" but I thought it was a little much, especially given how much other stuff is going on here on this hole. The course seems to overly rely on blind baskets to spice up what would otherwise be straight and boring holes.

Overall, a fun course. Not extremely challenging but definitely has something to offer most players. Check out the "D-Mart" around the corner and see their disc selection.

Almost forgot, friendly locals too. I jumped in on a doubles round with 3 other guys after playing a solo round.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Best in the City

5+    12/3/2009   12/10/2009
Review By: lschrock
Played: 38  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 15.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most fun of the Oklahoma City area, great tee/pin placement with multiple pin settings on all but 1 and 18. Fairways stay pretty well maintained, a couple of opportunities to lose a disc in an OB if not careful. Loads of shot variety, both short and long. Some short and technical, some long. Tee pads have names printed in the concrete for each hole. (i.e. lefty heaven on 13) Can always find someone to play with, people are really friendly. Course utilizes a lot of trees, even though we lost quite a few during an ice storm. Whole course is lightly wooded, with a couple of holes completely in the woods. There is one hole with an anhyzer water hazard, borders the pond.
Cons: Tons of litter. Not many people respect the course, it's really too bad, because it's a great course. Stickers are bad on a couple of holes during the summer months, as well as mosquitos. Look out for poison ivy in season, it's as thick as I've seen it. Signs are in bad condition, and a couple of holes are hard to find.
Other Thoughts: Regular weekly minis, will be posted on the board near hole 1. Usually can play the course with a couple of friends in 1 1/2 hours. During the spring/early summer there are some small hawk/kites that will dive bomb you on hole 16/17 from the trees. Look out, some people have gotten some nice scalp cuts. I hit one with a putter.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/24/2009   8/25/2009
Review By: okiebullgod
Played: 65  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: baskets in good shape
shot variety
mowed fairways
good for any skill level
water fountain with spicket for filling bottles near east parking lot
good signage, but long baskets shown on signs have been removed.
Great tee pads with hole numbers
easy to follow (except for 5)
Cons: lots of short holes
plays away from parking lot (bring water)
Other Thoughts: Dolese is another enjoyable OKC course similar to Will Rogers, where you don't get much room to use your big drives, but your scores look great. 14 is allows you a big drive. I throw alot of RHBH so all of the short anny holes on the front 9 help to perfect my bh anny. There are several holes that allow different shots/paths. It is a fun course that can be played in a little more than an hour.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Dolese Park

1    5/27/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: RocCityDiscer
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 14.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of variety. Tight wooded shots, short technical shots and long wide open bomb opportunities. Multiple hole locations for every hole also add to the variety and keep things fresh for local players.

Course starts of pretty bland with "cookie cutter" holes but gradually gains in difficulty into some very unique holes.
Cons: Very crowded. In a large park with lots of activity. I played on a Wednesday afternoon and the course was pretty full. Didn't have to wait too many times, and the locals were friendly and its good they were there cause i needed to be pointed in the right direction a few times.

There are signs on every hole but they are basically unreadable due to vandalism / graffiti.
Other Thoughts: Concrete tee pads with a stone inset with the hole number and a nickname for the hole add a nice touch. No water hazards really to speak off make it tough to lose discs here !!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 well balanced

1    3/19/2009   4/26/2009
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a wide range in hole type variety which change during a round by the handful. Some are flat with massive trees and well defined fairways like the "island." I started out playing with a local who informed me that he was only going to "play the island" which is holes 1,2, 16, 17, and 18. These island holes are all surrounded by a park street that is near a parking lot which is right at the start finish area. My compliments for a design that allows for players to play a few holes if they so desire. Another characteristic here, is small rolling hills with very interesting manmade elevated tee boxes and one nifty manmade elevated pyramid like basket position. These holes are near the pond at the beginning of the round. Then there are another set of holes that are tightly wooded near a shallow creek that have some decent elevation changes on either banks of the creek. The other aspect at Dolese is an open park setting that is sprinkled in and around the back when the course gets away from the creek, these mostly have long distances.

All of these different characteristics make for a well balanced and transition type of round. Each hole has a decent if not interesting basket placement and tee positions. Take for example number ten which by most standards would be open and boring, but they have the basket guarded by the creek-side vegetation after forcing you to bomb it out in the open which saves the hole and make it unique. This type of thought is evident throughout the course. The balance of the courses combines a park and natural setting, sort of a best of both worlds. This park has all the normal park amenities, there is parking overflow parking as well as other things to do to keep the non golfers in your party interested. When I played in March there was a porta john on the course.
Cons: Dolese, when I played, was very busy. It took me two attempts to bag this course, the first time was on a Friday close to the afternoon and it was such a madhouse that I went on to other courses knowing by the lines of people that I saw that it would take too far long to play properly. I came back on a Monday morning and there were still good sized groups. Each course transition has a new set of traffic flow issues, that naturally somehow thin out near the end. I would call this an urban course in that you will see people, there is not much in getting away from them. All of the people I encountered were very nice.

Even with a map handy, I got lost. I got somehow turned around and the next thing I knew, I skipped a hole. I guess there could be better signs, but I should take some of the blame for this too, since I'm not the brightest player to ever read a map. The course is kept in one side of the park and as a result there is a few filler holes.
Other Thoughts: This is the best OKC course that I played during my recent trip. Not too difficult of a round but honest and well balanced, the way a course should be. It is very close to Will Rogers Park, if this one happens to be busy are you are looking to bag another course. A well rounded course that is suitable for all skill types!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.