Oklahoma City, OK 
Dolese Youth Park - East Share
Uploaded By: Fraser Hole #11 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 277ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Dolese Mix

2-4    9/10/2016   9/21/2016
Review By: hotstang
Played: 163  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course.
Solid baskets.
Good large tees.
Benches on majority of the holes.
Large Mixture of shots to challenge all skill levels.
Existing older holes have multiple lines.
New holes a different story very tight.
Elevation used wisely.
Cons: Natural tees on new holes.
Signage is missing.
Not an easy flow with the new holes added.
Map needed.
More trashcans needed.
Other Thoughts: Hopefully much needed improvements are added when finished.
Port- A Jon.
Very nice park.
Playground and fishing nearby.
The new addition and split of the existing course is a work in progress.
Recommend playing both courses if in the area.
Courses complement each other nicely.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

lots to like

1    7/18/2016   7/18/2016
Review By: juswinginit
Played: 66  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you like to have a few open shots. this has course has it.
or maybe tight lines through the woods? that too.
If you like shaping long throws through trees. its here.
blind shots over scrub or around corners? got a couple.
If you like up hill and down hill shots- yes!
raised baskets, tree protected baskets, uh huh.
some ace run possibilities? sure thing.
long holes to test your arm? it tested mine.
some set up for hyzer, some for anny, some dead strait.
shade. benches. alot to like.
Cons: Do you like to know where the next tee pad is? not here
Numbers on the tee pads to match the map? nope

Really hard to follow. Map on this website is about half correct. Hole numbers at tee pads and baskets dont match. Could NOT have made it through if there was not a group ahead of us. Got separated toward the end, missed two holes, well I think, not sure really. Might have finished on a couple holes from the west course. If there is a new map somebody should post it.

a couple crazy small tee pads, like, 3' square.
a couple rickety baskets.
Other Thoughts: Fun course, just not visitor friendly from a navigation standpoint. I would give it a 4 if it had a map and signs that were correct.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun and clean!

1    4/10/2016   4/11/2016
Review By: Ginganinja
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Pretty good layout.
-allot of easy birdie/ace opportunities.
-good use of elevation
-don't have to mess with people not playing or traffic really.

Cons: -need to new signs bad.
-the course can get confusing to read but me and a buddy made it through pretty easy on our first attempt.
-basket are alright
Other Thoughts: The course is really fun and a nice walk in the woods and you don't really have to worry about losing your disc here! Fun course!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice Variety

2-4    2/21/2016   2/22/2016
Review By: AeroPurt
Played: 34  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice variety of hole layouts (short, long, lefty, righty, open, wooded).
- Baskets are in decent shape. I don't know if they meant them to be this way, but the baskets have an ombre look to them (white top fading to black bottom), looks pretty cool.
- Course is located in a public park in such a way that you don't have to worry about errant discs hitting walkers or children.
- Fishing and playgrounds nearby so it's great for families.
- Multiple pin locations on a few holes.
Cons: - I don't have any big complaints to speak of, maybe just update the baskets.
Other Thoughts: - Hole #14 (The Monster) in the long position should really be a Par 4. At 720', it takes two pretty good drives with distance drivers to be close enough to have a long look for par. Carding a 4 on this hole is pretty good. Carding a 3 on it is pretty incredible. Carding a 2 on it is virtually impossible.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course

1    11/8/2015   2/16/2016
Review By: Treehousebob
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great course.
Friendly locals.
Great use of land.
Unique holes.

Cons: A lot of trees were cut down and piled up.
The missing or half missing trees made the course a little ugly.
Other Thoughts: I thought this was a really fun course. The course was a lot more fun than it seemed like it was going to be.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Rare "DG-centric" Park

5+    8/15/2015   7/11/2015
Review By: armiller
Played: 36  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/3/2016
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Holes are well designed in a park where they don't feel like they're out of place; contrary to many parks, you're almost never throwing over joggers or other park visitors
-Seems to me like there's plenty of variation and challenge; birdies are very possible but only if you make your shots; it's one of those courses where you want to go back to reattempt those shots you missed or to try to recreate the great shots you made
-This course also has fewer spots to lose discs than some other courses I've played, and that makes it more friendly (for me) than courses requiring tons of water shots.
-Several holes have various pin locations, which are usually BOTH pretty good and provide different challenges. For holes where one pin location is clearly superior, the local guys typically leave the pins in the tougher locations.
-I usually play by myself, and I've met tons of local players on this course. Often, I tag along with someone else who has way more experience and throws way better, and then I invariably learn something from them about discs, technique, etc. In other words, this is where the local skilled players prefer to play in the OKC area.

-More than a few highlights:
2) long shot through or around trees; a very tough two
3) blind shot; usual pin location needs a great anny putter shot, high forehand hyzer, or overhand
4) another blind hole, tempting many ace runs; one location is on a mound, making the ace run a risk/reward decision
6) very tough two; not short, trees in the way, and basket is dogleg right under a tree canopy; this is a good example of how the holes tend to require a perfect drive AND long putt to birdie; this one also frequently requires a brilliant upshot to save par after a less-than-perfect tee shot
7) shooting across a usually dry creek bed; get under some low branches but keep it high enough to fade right toward the basket
8) the "floater" - requires a good right to left fade or skip to get under some low branches toward the basket
10) one of the longer drives; in the long position, the basket is nestled in behind some bushes, so it's one of those holes that's guaranteed to test your upshot/mid placement, even if your drive was good - tough birdie!
11) short but good example of the course requiring a good line; can throw a big hyzer over trees if you have the arm, but there's a nice line to the basket around some trees
12) across a creek again, uphill - good Comet type shot that needs to be very straight or left-to-right
14) the Monster! - this is a very long hole, even in the "short" position; slight uphill drive to a fairly tricky approach shot when the basket it in among the trees
15) not long; but the fairway requires a pretty perfect shot to get close; the green is nice and sheltered by elm trees? (see picture)
18) a nice short hole; very ace-able, but there's OB long to punish overthrows, and the fairway is crowded, so it's anything but easy

I could really include every hole! I'm currently out of the OKC area, and this is the course I miss most.
Cons: -Sometimes the course is very muddy and mosquito-ridden after heavy rains and flooding (this is rare but not unheard of in wetter spring seasons)
-It can be extremely busy on weekends or evenings, so I generally try to play at less crowded times
Other Thoughts: This is a well-designed course. Many courses feel like someone put baskets in a park wherever they would fit. This course, on the other hand, feels like the park is designed to fit the disc golf (other than 1 or 2 of the "island" holes -- 1, 2, 16, 17, and 18 -- which can be a little repetitive or not as challenging). Dolese captures the essence of disc golf: requires skill in a variety of shots and encourages players to improve in all aspects of their game. It's not a course where a backhand-only or forehand-only player will be comfortable rethrowing the same shot. New players will be punished for errant shots but also experience the thrill of throwing some good ones.

There is a practice putting basket, which is nice, and an open field nearby, perfect for practicing drives. Restrooms are near the parking area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Best course in OKC Metro

5+    8/7/2014   8/8/2014
Review By: rerun32
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Extremely fun course
Easy & hard pins
Discs rarely lost
Names for every hole add a little fun
Good variety of open and blind holes
Follows itself pretty well
Easy to find
Fun for all levels of players
Doesn't get boring after playing multiple times
Always people to play with
Cons: Signs graffitied on
Basket on hole 4 is very small
No idea as to when baskets are on hard pins or easy pins
16,17,18 are very repetitive
Not a lot of room in main parking lot
Other Thoughts: This course is very fun and always worth a play. My one request of this course is to have some kind of guide as to when baskets are on hard or easy pins.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun learning course

5+    3/27/2014   3/27/2014
Review By: Ajampalm
Played: 87  Reviewed: 8
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a fun mix for intermediate level players that will offer some shot variety and plenty of feel good throws as well as a couple of driver holes.
Given the area I think this course is fun and I would be happy to come and play this as my local course.
Cons: Can be subject to very windy areas, but I suppose where isn't in Oklahoma.
Easy course for an advanced level player, but still a few holes that will require a good drive, and to have an amazing round you would need to drive and putt well.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course a number of times now, and always think its fun. Nothing special here, but a decent course and we have a good time playing a fast round here every time we're in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in the City

2-4    2/7/2013   2/8/2013
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 54  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good Concrete Tees
Good Baskets
Benches at every Tee
Practice basket near Hole One
Decent Navigation
Good Fairways
Good Variety
Some Left, straight, right
Decent elevation change
Good Distance Variety
Some challenge without being hard
Good risk/reward
Quick round
Good for beginners to advanced
Work on mids, drivers, putting
Multiple pin placements
Great use of the land available
Mostly good technical holes with a few chances to stretch out and crush your drivers.
Lots of fun
Loved the couple of elevated tees
Imaginative names for each hole (Nice touch)
Ample parking
Pavillion near parking good for Tourneys
Friendly locals

Favorite Hole(s): #5, #12, #15
Cons: Needs new tee signs bad
The signs that were there are vandalized
Needs a few directionals (2-3, 15-16)
Some tee pads were small (No big deal, they were big enough for me)
Some erosion problems need attention
Could use better walkways across the creek in a couple of spots
Could use more trashcasns
Usually is very crowded (The reason is that it is the most fun course in the city).
16, 17, 18 seem repetetive

Not very many cons, just a fun course
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun course in the city. Well worth the stop if in the city. Also worth a drive of a little ways if it has been a while since you played here. Bring a few buddies and play a while. You won't regret it.

Swing by D Mart just East of the park entrance. They have a huge selection of innova discs and a good selection of Dynamic Discs, along with some used discs.

My reviews are weighted heavily toward "fun factor" which this course has a lot of.

PM me and let me know how I can improve my reviews to be more "helpful.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


1    11/23/2012   11/23/2012
Review By: joshua323
Played: 123  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.5 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Location of pins were nice. Loved how each hole was named. The lay out was decent. I would love to play it again with the help of a local navigating the layout
Cons: Navigation for a first time playing the course made the fun level drop considerably
Other Thoughts: Signage signage signage

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center