Oklahoma City, OK 
Dolese Youth Park Share
Uploaded By: Fraser Hole #7 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 155ft.   3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Overview



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Still My Favorate

5+    3/23/2011   3/28/2011
Review By: Daveharvey83
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This park maintained pretty well. Mostly friendly people that play the course, some really good locals out. The holes are routinely changed up to keep the course from getting stale. There is a good combo of lefts, rights, shorts and longs to keep to you on your toes. There is some beautiful scenery to play in now that everything is greening up.
Cons: There seems to be a growing trash problem, the local DG groups do a great job cleaning up when they can but the public needs to be somewhat more helpful on this. The city could also put some extra trash barrels out. With the warmer weather starting to peak out, there is also an increase in non-dg incursions into the course so be careful when you drive!
Other Thoughts: That greening up that I was talking about brings up a another point to the dg people playing the course. There are loads of places to loose your discs when it foliage gets thick and venturing out into can result in some poison ivy rashes. Watch those drives! Also, just a note for everyone out, remember the disc golf courtesy of letting the smaller groups and solos play through if they are nipping at your heels. It makes for a great course when everyone is getting along with each other.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in OKC

1    3/15/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: Lorider680
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: -Great variety
-technical
-easy to follow(especially with course map link)
_
Cons: -can get crowded woth newbs
-located in youth park
Other Thoughts: Thsi is the best course in OKC. Well maintained and a must for anoyone in the OKC area.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Righteous Homie Park

5+    2/7/2011   2/7/2011
Review By: notBOB
Played: 127  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 10.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: RIghteous homie park- bring your crew and throw down for dubs yo!

-Dolese is a must if your in the area
-long and short pin locations per hole- all fun
-plays thru the entire city park, next to the lake- lots of varying terrain
-well balanced open and tight, left and rights
-the "monster" speaks for itself- loooong yo
-holes 11, 12 leading into the monster are badass in the woods w/ elevation
-each hole has a unique name and message- super sick
-D mart holdin down the disc selection a block away
Cons: -gets packed afternoons to evenings give er take
-goofball hangout, bums and shit
-brush can get thick seasonally, ticks, whatever..
-slick tee boxes in the sand- certain boxes have grooves making it a bit better
Other Thoughts: Nicest course in the city..

props to the OKCDGA for their input

can always count on a good time, runnin into the bros out at Dolese no doubt..

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite Course in the City

5+    10/13/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: Apoth
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Out of all the courses in the OKC metro, this is my favorite. It's more complex and interesting than Will Rogers Park, but not as punishing as Tye F. Cunningham.

Varied mix of holes allowing for all shots. First two holes and last three are fairly open, the remainder of the course plays in and out of woods with several blind shots, some elevated shots, and a few holes that you can bomb on if you've got the arm. Multiple pin placement allows for varied play, but the difficulty ratchets up substantially on the "long" placement. So much so that it can add 5-10 strokes to my score.
Cons: Not in bad shape, but not in the absolute best shape with many signs missing. Can be crowded at times. "Long" pin placement ratchets up difficulty a little too much on some holes (hole 7 and 15 come to mind). Some possibility to lose discs on the wooded holes, but not much. Kite Hawks can make your life miserable on holes 16 and 17 during the summer months.
Other Thoughts: Good course with a nice mix of difficulty. Two shops sell discs within about 2 miles (D-Mart and Fred's) and you can find most every disc you want between these two shops. This course doesn't have a tremendous "wow" factor, but its solid and fun.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 I LOVE THIS COURSE!

5+    10/12/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: sweettone1221
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ok, so I am definitely a beginner but I must say, I love this course. We have been playing on it almost daily since our first round there. The hole variations are my favorite. As I said, I am new but my husband is a fanatic and we both have quite a few discs. After playing this course over and over, I am starting to get a good grasp of what discs and throwing styles I need to use for certain layouts. I feel that it is well maintained, there are benches at every hole, and the layout is very fluid. It is extremely easy to find the next hole and there isn't a lot of walking between them. There are also tons of well definied small paths through the rough/wooded areas which definitely come in handy for a newbie who ends up in the brush a lot!
Cons: They could use more trash cans but, ultimately, I have no complaints!
Other Thoughts: Holes 4 and 5 are my favorite but "The Monster" is a bit out of my league. Still, I love this course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Dolese

5+    8/24/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: Brinks
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Love this course!! One of my favorites. Lots of trees. The baskets are in good shape and are placed in one of two positions, "longs" and "shorts". Most of the "longs" are in the trees and most of the "shorts" will be in the open. There are lots of benches as well as trash barrels (please use the trash barrels). Great course for day and night play.
Cons: Lots of traffic during peak weather days! This is a youth park and sometimes when the weather is nice people will walk out in the middle of the fairway (not often, but known to happen).

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Arcadia (B) is only other in 50 miles

5+    8/1/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: OKC444
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Heavily wooded, expertly laid out to maximize the terrain, multiple pin placements to allow for challenge and change... there are so many nice little touches present here (already noted in other reviews) that I could regurgitate but you've heard all that. But thing is... no other local disc course can tout half as many. This is by far the best OKC has to offer... and in the Metropolitan area you won't find another FREE course that's this good.
Cons: Summer time can bring out the bugs due to the courses proximity to Dolese Pond so bring some bug spray. Local youth have in the past utilized the park as a late night hangout and it has pushed the park authorities to remove many of the benches/tables/trashcans from the wooded areas. :(
Other Thoughts: I may eat my words one day after having played "80 courses in 10 states"... which I clearly haven't and others clearly have... but I say with no reservations that this course is underrated and is the most technical and challenging course short of Arcadia (Blue) within 50 miles. To the naysayer Pros who think it's too easy... it's a YOUTH PARK. I stand by my rating.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pins recently moved to short

5+    7/11/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: ManOnTheDoor
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * PINS RELOCATED TO "SHORT" PLACEMENT 2010/07/11. They said they would leave the short placement for a few months.
* Baskets are in good shape.
* Concrete pads for tee boxes also in good shape and have nice decorative markers with a number and hole name.
* Creative basket placement on 4 (long) has large elevation change and is tricky for new players.
* Blind shots from clearings into woods are interesting if you know the course and know where you are supposed to go (is a con if you don't know).
* Few holes where the Oklahoma wind plays a major factor.
Cons: * Desperately in need of some tree maintenance. It's apparently been a long time and there's lots of overgrowth.
* Signage is gone or vandalized.
* Blind shots from clearings into woods make for lots of scouting if you don't know the course (fun if you do know).
* Tons of mosquito bites during summer from the pond.
* Lack of trash cans.
* Lots of blind shots for beginners. For my novice group, there are a few holes where one person throws and another goes ahead and spots where it lands - especially on 3 and 4. (And yes, as we are getting better, we are getting a better feel of where the disc is going to go.)
* There is only a single port-a-potty near the 'island', but lots of woods for male players.
* There are a few holes that are along Meridian. Get a case of grip lock and you might get your disc run over. Most cars are OK, but every once in a while you get the jerk that screams and honks.
* The park is located with a bunch of youth soccer fields and baseball fields so the park itself (not necessarily the DG course) will get pretty busy during the sports seasons.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I ever played and have always judged any other course against this one. Everything from heavy woods with a narrow fairways to wide open spaces. This is a really fun course that should be a quick play (even with a group). It hosted a doubles tournament in July 2010 and had a big turnout. As noted above, the pins were moved to the "short" placement on July 11, 2010 and are expected to be at this placement for a while. On the south west corner of Meridian and 50th, there's a gas station with a fairly healthy selection of new and used discs.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The Pyramid of Putting Power

1    6/7/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This place does have some slight elevation, water (#5), OB (mostly roads), and a couple of mandos. This course has some great pin placements. Hole #4 comes to mind as it is on top of some kind "artsy" pyramid of steps (see photo). There are also some wide-open fairway shots that end up with baskets in the woods. Those were fun pin placements as well. There were enough holes requiring some accuracy skills to keep it interesting. The hole length variation and wooded to non-wooded holes was really nice. The tee pads are of the concrete type and parking was close to hole 1 and 18.
Cons: Many of these baskets are not visible from the tee pads, so you are forced to walk the holes before playing them for the first time. Navigation on your first time here will also require you to have a the map or a guide. Some of these tee pads are shaped, oddly and may even be under-sized. There are also a few spots where you will not be able to run past the front edge of the pad, due to design or location. The tee signs are in bad condition with wear and graffiti and some of them are in need of a distance check. It could have just been timing, but there seemed to be a few vagrants walking or "camping" out. They didn't mind moving when asked and it didn't seem unsafe or anything, but I just though I should mention it.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was fair once I got passed having to walk so many holes to find the basket. If I played this often, it would not be a big deal. I found the first 2 and last 3 holes kind of boring, but most of the rest of the course was kind of fun. I did enjoy my overall time here. I would imagine if you were in town, this is one of the must plays here.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/18/2010   5/20/2010
Review By: Basoos1
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Multiple pen placements, so the course can tend to change a little.
good place to take beginers, as you can't lose discs on the island (holes 1, 2, 16, 17, 18)
Cons: Bit of a left handed course
the middle of the course has some thick wooded areas, with lots of underbrush (easy to loose discs)

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center