Oklahoma City, OK 
Dolese Youth Park - East Share
Uploaded By: Fraser Hole #8 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 349ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    10/25/2012   10/29/2012
Review By: soonerpa
Played: 37  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/9/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Gorgeous park. The holes are unique. I threw a multitude of shots which is always fun.The tree leafs are turning and really added to the setting on the cold blustery day I played. Still really enjoyed it even with 25 mph winds.
as mentioned below the holes are set with the longer tee to basket lengths. The granite inscribed with the tee hole #/name on each pad is a nice touch.

If I had to sum it up in one word I would say the course is FUN.
Cons: I really cant think of any. I suppose the tee signs could be updated and maybe directional signs from one hole to the next.
Other Thoughts: This time of year its a beautiful setting. The poison ivy seems to be minimal and the changing leaf colors on the trees make for a wonderful sight.

In my short time playing this is easily my favorite course to date. Cant wait to play it again.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 beware they are on the long tees

5+    10/21/2012   10/21/2012
Review By: losdizzel
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: As i said in the tile long tees .every year they change them to the long tees in october .Makes for a way different course more challenging
Cons: as i read in other comments they do need new signs ,keep eye on that disc at some holes gets scary in them woods
Other Thoughts: all ways alot of players so be patience

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and scenic!

1    6/18/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: Luke Francis
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are some challenging holes. A few of the baskets cannot be seen from the tee point. If you like a challenge you will love this course!
Cons: The signs for the holes are old and hard to read if they are even present. The course runs a bit confusing adding difficulty to new players. HINT* find a local to show you the turf!
Other Thoughts: Find a local to walk you through the course for the first time or join a group of players who are there. It can be difficult to navigate.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ok, but we played better

1    4/3/2012   4/24/2012
Review By: dlopez916
Played: 36  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2016
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The layout was good. The park was pretty nice. Concrete pads were long and generous.
Cons: The course looked neglected. They need signs, and new baskets. You could tell the course had heavy traffic, which is good, but requires more upkeep!
Other Thoughts: Would play again, and I enjoyed playing what the locals call "The Island"

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course for Sure!!!!

1    3/17/2012   3/19/2012
Review By: kcautoguy
Played: 18  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/15/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The layout and scenery is excellent. Very fun course to play and offers good difficulty. Tee-Pads are nice with good length.
Cons: Holes are a little on the short side except for the "monster". You rarely need a driver! If you haven't played this course before it's very difficult to navigate and the signs are horrible. Course needs new baskets and signs.
Other Thoughts: Lots of trees and lots of wind!!!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great park in the middle of OKC

1    7/22/2011   8/15/2011
Review By: C-Van
Played: 98  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2014
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of different types of holes. You have some holes with great wide open shots that allow you to practice your big armed shot. There are a good number of wooded shots that allow you to work on your accuracy. And there are even some fun elevated shots. This course is also smack dab in the middle of the community, something that I have always enjoyed in courses in the city. That could be a con for some people though. There are plenty of trash cans throughout the course, and the baskets and tees are well marked with signs. The course overall is well maintained.
Cons: Holes 1 and 2, and 15-18 are all kind of packed together in about an acre area at the beginning of the course. The rest of the course is well spread out, but those holes are kind of cramped (can be especially annoying if there are some terrible discers there, because you would need to be on the lookout for some wild discs). If you don't already know where the beginning of this course is, it could be difficult to find.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course, my favorite of the three I played in Oklahoma (I also played Paul's Valley Flightline and Griffin Park in Norman). Was a great park with a lot of locals out there playing on a Friday night. There is even a gas station nearby with a proshop inside of it with a GREAT selection of discs. If you live near Oklahoma City, which is actually a great disc golf city, you HAVE to check this course out.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Still My Favorate

5+    3/23/2011   3/28/2011
Review By: Daveharvey83
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This park maintained pretty well. Mostly friendly people that play the course, some really good locals out. The holes are routinely changed up to keep the course from getting stale. There is a good combo of lefts, rights, shorts and longs to keep to you on your toes. There is some beautiful scenery to play in now that everything is greening up.
Cons: There seems to be a growing trash problem, the local DG groups do a great job cleaning up when they can but the public needs to be somewhat more helpful on this. The city could also put some extra trash barrels out. With the warmer weather starting to peak out, there is also an increase in non-dg incursions into the course so be careful when you drive!
Other Thoughts: That greening up that I was talking about brings up a another point to the dg people playing the course. There are loads of places to loose your discs when it foliage gets thick and venturing out into can result in some poison ivy rashes. Watch those drives! Also, just a note for everyone out, remember the disc golf courtesy of letting the smaller groups and solos play through if they are nipping at your heels. It makes for a great course when everyone is getting along with each other.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in OKC

1    3/15/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: Lorider680
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: -Great variety
-easy to follow(especially with course map link)
Cons: -can get crowded woth newbs
-located in youth park
Other Thoughts: Thsi is the best course in OKC. Well maintained and a must for anoyone in the OKC area.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Righteous Homie Park

5+    2/7/2011   2/7/2011
Review By: notBOB
Played: 151  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 12.4 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: RIghteous homie park- bring your crew and throw down for dubs yo!

-Dolese is a must if your in the area
-long and short pin locations per hole- all fun
-plays thru the entire city park, next to the lake- lots of varying terrain
-well balanced open and tight, left and rights
-the "monster" speaks for itself- loooong yo
-holes 11, 12 leading into the monster are badass in the woods w/ elevation
-each hole has a unique name and message- super sick
-D mart holdin down the disc selection a block away
Cons: -gets packed afternoons to evenings give er take
-goofball hangout, bums and shit
-brush can get thick seasonally, ticks, whatever..
-slick tee boxes in the sand- certain boxes have grooves making it a bit better
Other Thoughts: Nicest course in the city..

props to the OKCDGA for their input

can always count on a good time, runnin into the bros out at Dolese no doubt..

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite Course in the City

5+    10/13/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: Apoth
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Out of all the courses in the OKC metro, this is my favorite. It's more complex and interesting than Will Rogers Park, but not as punishing as Tye F. Cunningham.

Varied mix of holes allowing for all shots. First two holes and last three are fairly open, the remainder of the course plays in and out of woods with several blind shots, some elevated shots, and a few holes that you can bomb on if you've got the arm. Multiple pin placement allows for varied play, but the difficulty ratchets up substantially on the "long" placement. So much so that it can add 5-10 strokes to my score.
Cons: Not in bad shape, but not in the absolute best shape with many signs missing. Can be crowded at times. "Long" pin placement ratchets up difficulty a little too much on some holes (hole 7 and 15 come to mind). Some possibility to lose discs on the wooded holes, but not much. Kite Hawks can make your life miserable on holes 16 and 17 during the summer months.
Other Thoughts: Good course with a nice mix of difficulty. Two shops sell discs within about 2 miles (D-Mart and Fred's) and you can find most every disc you want between these two shops. This course doesn't have a tremendous "wow" factor, but its solid and fun.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.