Waterport, NY 
Shore Winds DGC - White Course Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 132ft.   3 / 163ft.   3 / 181ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Red Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

5+    5/14/2014   5/14/2014
Review By: Timeetyo
Played: 25  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 0.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - beautiful scenery of the lake
- course is VERY clean and well maintained
- tees are well marked. Colored stakes and sunken colored 2x4s.
- very good beginner course with (perhaps too) forgiving pars and generally short distances. I list this as a pro as it complements the blue course well and gets a lot of use by campers new to DG.
- a good variety of righty and lefty holes
- a good variety of hole lengths and pars (7x3, 7x4, 4x5).
- camping on site
- bathrooms, pavilion, & picnic tables
- maps available at the kiosk by hole 1. Pick one up.
- clearly marked OB to spice things up on the open, links style holes.
Cons: - most tees are natural. All red and blue tees and ~6 white tees. The remaining white are concrete.
- signage. Most of the course is easy enough to follow as the tee is close to the prior basket and obvious. 9-10 transition is NOT obvious w/o the map.
- tee signs with hole pictures / lengths would be nice.
- tall grass "rough" can be frustrating more than punishing.
- hole 6 puts a road very much in play. there isn't a lot of traffic but especially with the road hugging the left side on the longest par 3 it is perfect for landing noob hyzers in the road.
- a few of the wooded holes have some very tight lines required. probably too tight for the beginner audience - but these are very short holes so even if you don't hit your line par is usually an option.
- $6 for parking for the day.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great beginner friendly course. On the short side with very forgiving pars, but this makes it a great compliment to the much tougher and longer blue course. Great amenities, great views, and a lot of fun. Bring the family, have lunch, and sneak a round in on this course and another on the blue after lunch. By itself this course wouldn't be a destination course but with the blue courses and scenery its a great way to spend a day.

If you can only play one of the 2 courses on site - I would play this if you are a beginner. If you are int/advanced I would definitely play the blue as it is much more challenging.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

1    8/19/2011   12/6/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 754  Exp: 12.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays in a nice park with two courses and onsite camping. The white course is a little shorter than the blue, with a little more variety. There is a mix of a few park style holes, some technical wooded shots and several links style holes mowed through the long grass along the lake. The woods holes offer a few different lines to hit, and the open holes have some length variety. There are multiple tees that at least offer different distances for various levels of players.

Some staked off ob areas add some challenge, and a few holes have enough trees to punish errant shots. There are course maps available at the parking lot that make navigation pretty easy other than one long walk.
Cons: There are some dangerous spots on this course, with roads and picnic areas in play off several tees. It didn't seem like the park gets too crowded, but there definitely are potential issues. The tees are natural, and some of the wooded ones are a bit eroded, I could see many of them getting a bit rough after wet weather. There is no signage at the tees, the course map is nice but hole distance and layout would be nice.

There is a long walk between the front and back 9s that would be pretty difficult to figure out without the map. I'm not a huge fan of long grass rough, it adds frustration rather than real challenge. The different tees really only make small distance changes, and almost always have the exact same line.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course, and it's worth a stop if you're in the area with two layouts on site and camping in the park. Beginners will find the course fairly accessible, the long grass holes are short enough that they won't be too frustrating. Experienced players won't find too much challenge here, there are some nice views and a few fun shots but no real tests.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Aptly named

1    7/25/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/1/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -beautiful park with two full courses, picnic area, and the lake right there!
-good variety of distances but generally shorter
-baskets and natural tees in good condition
-makes good use of different terrain areas and utilizes the minor elevation changes well
-lefty and righty approaches but mostly straight fairways
-lots of tall rough and OB to spice up the open holes
-3 tees on each hole, marked with colored stakes
-plenty of parking
-not crowded
-great scenery, great place to make a day of it
Cons: -natural tees are in good condition but it never stays that way. it would be great to get rubber fly pads here. the tees must be terrible after a rain.
-most of the fairways are straight shots, only a few doglegs and only on very short holes (except hole 9, one of my favorites!)
-i thought the wooded holes were very disappointing. very short and very tight but not a lot of good lines. maybe there are some local routes that aren't very obvious?
-newer players may be frustrated by the wind on the open holes but especially the ones back near the lake, it is quite challenging.
-the walk from 9 to 10 is long and not at all obvious, some next tee signs would be great. i think there was one in the place where you go into the woods to get to 10.
-the multiple tees rarely change the hole, most are just another 20-30' longer
Other Thoughts: This gorgeous state parks boasts two full 18 hole courses and with the amenities and views makes for a great all day experience. It would be easy to bring the family here and keep everyone occupied.

The white course is the shorter of the two and is pretty forgiving except for the tall grass. This along with the multiple tees make it an ideal place to introduce people to the game or bring beginners.

The course makes its way through several different areas of the park. The first 5 are on the east side of the area with 3 short technical holes then 2 longer open holes. The rest of the front 9 plays around an area south of the park road. Then back across the parking lot and into the woods for a few holes before moving out in the open near the lake. 4, 5, and 14-18 all have tall rough next to the fairways. I really liked how the course plays through these different areas, each section has a different feel and it adds to the sense of variety here.

The wind is a significant factor on the open holes and particularly on 14-18 near the lake. You really have to know your discs and read the wind to stay on the fairway.

Overall, the course was fun and beautiful but there wasn't anything that really wowed me about it. I think the fact that there are two courses is what makes it worth the trip. I didn't have time to play the Blue course but I might have been disappointed if the White course was all there was out here. If you only have time for one course, I'd probably play the Blue course. But this place is definitely worth the trip, especially if you have the time spend all day there.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 massive wind, great scenery

1    10/16/2010   10/17/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tee pads
awesome views
good variety of length and shots
Course is well maintained, perfectly manicured.
Course not very crowded, locals say it is never crowded.
Cons: unclear OB. Some people were playing all long grass is OB if it had stakes in it, others played that you had to pass the stakes for OB.

The wooded holes are not good wooded holes, like Basil Marella. There is no fairway on #12, it's just a lucky crap shoot and there are several saplings right infront of the tee on 13. They are short and dense with no clear shot. Since it is only 2 holes it is not extremly frustrating, but they are 2 weak holes.

Hole 6 is a dangerous hole. You stand next to the road and throw down to a curve in the road, so you can not see a car coming as you are throwing directly at it.
Gravel and grass tees can get muddy and slippery.
Gravel in some areas can chew up discs

Course is set up like 2 9 hole courses, there is a long walk to get to hole 10 from hole 9.
Tee signs would be a nice addition.
Other Thoughts: pretty small chance of disc loss.
Wind is a HUGE factor, I threw a driver and the wind held it still in the air, then pushed the disc back towards me. It was also lifting discs making putts from 15-20 feet fly 20 feet past the basket. It is a unique challenge that may affect your game that day, then the next day you will have a totally different experience with no wind.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Stunningly Epic.

1    5/1/2010   5/1/2010
Review By: Stetz1010
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome course with a variety of different shots. Enjoyed starting in the open and working my way through the tight alley way shots in the woods, and then back out to the open. The holes next to Lake Ontario were absolutely stunningly epic. Course map + score card, public bathroom, bountiful picnic tables also made this a great course. Saw zero other people playing which allowed me to take my time. Tee's were marked well and will only be better once cement is put in. Overall a great course, will definitely play it again.
Cons: A crapload of bugs. Picnic tables near holes 1, 2, 3, could be a problem on heavy traffic summer days. Lack of cement tees also a factor, but being that this course is very new it's not that off putting. Other than those minor details this is a great course that only has room for improvements.
Other Thoughts: Great course, great place to spend the day, beautiful scenery, right on the water.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lakeside

1    12/31/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: Gator
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A bueatiful park hosts this course set right on the edge of Lake Ontario. The course was pretty enjoyable with a mild difficulty that would be good for anyone.
Hole Break Down:
1 - A short right to left hole that a good duce chance.
2 - Is a short left to right hole that will punish you if you over shoot the hole.
3 - Is a S turn through a fairly open lane in the woods. Hitting a tree and going on to the woods will surely add a stroke.
4 - Is the longest hole yet and plays from an elavated tee position. Someone with a big arm can probably reach it within one shot that goes over the tree's.
5 - Another fairly open hole that can be played with an anhyzer or hyzer shot.
6 - A fairly open straight hole. The green is on a slight slope and the road boarders the fairway on the left.
7 - I like this hole the schule on the left and right slowly tighten as the fairway gets closer to the basket.
8 - A par 5 that can be duced by experience players. Fairly open but O.B. comes into play on both side of the fairway in the tall grass.
9 - A left to right hole that pretty short. If you over shoot it straight making the approach back could be risky.
10 - Fairly far away from 9 and wasn't well marked. A straight shot through a REALLY tight gap. An anhyzer route is an option if you can see it.
11 - Super short hole that I almost putted at from the tee. Its a left to right hole.
12. Another short hole. I couldn't see a clear fairway for this hole and just threw a thumber trying to poke through.
13 - A long S turn shot. I felt like I really had to lace my shot when I got my duce, but it isn't so bad that its a poke and hope.
14 - The first hole on the back nine that plays out along Lake Ontario. Its a reachable straight shot, but brush comes into play half way up the fair way along the right side.
15 - Reminds me of playing a links style ball golf course. A par 5 that I duced from inside the cirlce. The tall grass and being right next to the lake make this hole majestic.
16 - Is pretty much 15 in reverse. Wide open, reachable, par 5.
17 - Teeing off from inside the woods its a short left turing hole
18 - An up hill hole that you can't see from the tee. You need to be sure that your disc doesn't fade out left into the lake.
Cons: I wonder how difficult it would be to play hole 1 during the summer if people are using all the picnic tables. The walk between 9 and 10 was longer then I've ever seen anywhere else. A map on the tee sign for 9 would have been great because we played to a gap that looked like where the hole would go but ended up being incorrect. We ended up playing to 18's basket from 17's tee. With three sets of tee's I wish they were a little stretched out so the blue and white tee's had more challenge. When the cement teepads go in this would be a 3.5 for me. If some of the tee pads weren't so close to other teepad's and baskets this would probably bump it up to a 4 for me.
Other Thoughts: Just awesome scenery. This course begs for a tourney or some kind of competition between Rochester and Bumsville... I mean Buffalo.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Going to be great

1    11/15/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: greenrod1
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of open and wooded holes. has alot of potential. A few great alley shots command controll of your discs. A large hyzer should work well on #9 if you can avoid tree in front of you. Hole # 4 could be a great tournament hole with a couple of out of bounds leaving a tight fairway.
Cons: Get the map from this website as map at course only shows the front nine.# 10 starts in woods back of bathrooms to the left. No signs to next tee etc..... Just to new of a course.
Other Thoughts: get the map and enjoy the course . I'm sure you to will see the potential

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.