Disc Golf Store
Waterport, NY
Shore Winds DGC - White Course Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 153ft.   3 / 203ft.   3 / 218ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Red Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great course, but...

2-4    9/21/2013   5/20/2013
Review By: Schmankster
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Scenic views of Lake Ontario. Beautiful area!
-Excellent course for a beginner/amateur. Majority of the holes were shorter par 3's with a few tricky blind/dogleg/tight fairway shots thrown in.
-Very clean. No litter!
-Plenty of benches
-Camping within walking distance for 20$ a night! Play the white one day, the blue the other!
Cons: -Needs more signage!! Hole description signs on each tee would really help as well. Make sure you grab a map provided by the park at the kiosks on both #1's or the main gate if it's open.
-When you go in the rough, you are in the ROUGH! Throw a bright colored disc! The rough (where I spent most of my time) was about a foot high!
Other Thoughts: -Bring bug spray!
-I have played the blue and the white courses here. The blue course (longer) is more for the advanced players. Although, the white course had a few shots I had to think about. It would be perfect to bring your kids to play. The holes are all shorter so they won't get as frazzled.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 lakeside

5+    9/17/2011   9/25/2011
Review By: jayman33
Played: 43  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - description: shorter of two courses at lakeside state park with many beautiful looks at lake ontario
- tees: natural tees are a con, but they are very well marked with 5 foot, numbered posts
- variety: mostly shorter holes, but several long ones to let you rip it. a few wooded holes. holes have fairways shaped with long grass and white stakes to mark out of bounds.
- basket placement: good. a few placed with a beautiful view behind. hole 4 has been lengthened, which i like, as well as hole 5 by moving tees back. good improvements.
- uniqueness: very unique setting, even though the blue course is right there. two great courses to play together in western ny
- pay to play: you'd think it'd be a con, but it's pretty non-existent. show up early enough and you never pay. even if you have to pay, to courses on one site is a great thing. i saw an RIT student playing solo finish both courses before we finished the white one
- time to play: anytime. never busy. you'd think it would be, but i've never had to follow a group. also, never seen anyone at picnic tables near hole 1.
- amenities: bathrooms near hole 1, scorecards at kiosk
- wind: can sometimes be very windy, but that's part of the fun. i'd say it's only been windy 20% of the time i've gone
Cons: - tees and signs: gotta say i'd love for there to be fly pads or concrete. also, no signs at the tees giving distance or picture of the hole
- wooded holes: are kind of weak (12 is the best of the four). the only redeeming quality is there are only a few of them and they're short
- pars: doesn't seem like a par 71 course (as listed on the scorecard). on dgcr the blue tees on dgcr are listed as a par 54, which to me seems ridiculous with 6 holes over 400 feet, 3 of those 6 are close to or over 500 feet. seems like it should be a par 60.
Other Thoughts: - fast to play. if you're short on time, play the white course for sure.
- if you're not short on time, consider playing both and hang out at the park for some lunch
- if you disc golf with family, you might want to come in the fall and when you're done head on over to brown's berry patch which is only 2 miles away on rt 18. http://brownsberrypatch.com / not just berries, but apples, pumpkins, apple cider donuts, live music, grill, indoor restaurant...simply awesome (just went there this past weekend with my wife and daughter)
- bring your camera or cell phone for some great pictures of the lake

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Bring lunch and make a day of it.

5+    3/11/2012   9/17/2011
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 77  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - scorecards with map available at kiosk at the start of course
- bathrooms available in good location
- open all year round
- all three tees (blue, white, red) are clearly marked
- very scenic course
- pretty good flow of course with most tees pretty close to basket (except transition from 9-10)
- strategic placements of out of bounds to add challenge to course
- pretty even mix of holes that go to the right, left and straight and narrow.
- another great course (even better) right there. this course starts by the westernmost part of the parking lot.
- the park station holds discs in the welcome center if they find them. They will call you if your name and number is on them or just check in occasionally and see if your discs are there.
- no one is ever there. there are picnic tables but I never see anyone. (well maybe one or two) It seems the whole park is dedicated to disc golf.
Cons: - no tee pads
- no signs
- no signs pointing to the next hole. most holes are straightforward but signs would help on some of them.
- the two course intertwine with each other on the back nine and could be confusing as to which course you are playing on. (I haven't had that problem yet but I could see it happening)
- lots of heavy brush to lose discs on. (my friend lost three today)
Other Thoughts: There are some wooded holes but they are not that good, but it does add more variety to the course. The pars are generous which can be good for newcomers. Some of the more experienced players just play all par 3's. I am not one of them. I am going to ask one of the course designers about the out of bounds situation next week some time to clear up any confusion. I will post that when I find out. Overall great course and even better with another course right there. (with tee pads and signs it would be a 4 or 4.5). There are grills on site so bring lunch and make a day of it.

** I contacted the course designer on the out of bounds issue and they said the design was for the stakes to mark out of bounds and not the brush. So anything to the side of the stakes opposite the fairway would be out of bounds. However the great thing about disc golf is you can play it however you want too. So if you want to play the brush is out of bounds you can do that too.

Update 3/11/2012

I played this course today. A bunch of holes were redone on the back nine which helped with the flow of the course. The holes added in some extra length. The out of bounds issue I mentioned earlier seems to have been resolved. With the reworking of the holes and the out of bounds I raised the rating of this course to a four. Some of the wooded holes still don't have much of an alley (10-13) and there are nos signs or tee pads or this could be a 4.5 or 5. I am beginning to like it more than the blue course because it is not at tiring and seems more doable at least for me.

I

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice New Course

1    7/4/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: mobster
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice piece of land for a course. All three tees marked with colored stakes (they look temporary and hope more permanent ones are installed soon). Great mixture of holes with tight woods to long, open bombs. The mowed fairways make blah open holes a little more challenging. The view on the last five holes over Lake Ontario is amazing.
Cons: Super crazy thick rough is abundant around holes 6 though 9 with lots of poison ivy. Long trek from hole 9 to 10. A couple wooded holes just seemed too tight for me, especially from the red tees. No number plates on the baskets.
Other Thoughts: Had a blast playing this new course over the 4th. Apparently if you get to the park after 6 you don't have to pay $6 to enter. I really hope to see the course mature over the next few years with the addition of teepads, directional signage and the brush getting beat down a little more.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lakeside

1    5/23/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: swiltse
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful location on the shores of Lake Ontario in a well kept state park. The last few holes play in a field right along the banks of the lake. The entire course is well maintained with natural and gravel tees and painted stakes for tee markers. Nice variety of open and wooded holes. Scorecards and maps available at start of course make it easy to navigate.
Cons: Course plays close to several picnic areas which could be a problem when the park is busy. Several of the fairways on the last few holes are real close to each other and will likely be a hazard during heavy play. Several holes play along some thick brush that is easy to lose discs in. No tee signs.
Other Thoughts: Overall I think this is a great course in a beautiful park with a good variety of holes. We played on a Sunday before Memorial Day with very few people at the park and only a few other disc golfers. This park is about halfway between Rochester and Buffalo, so I'm not sure how busy it gets, but I wouldn't expect the course to get too backed up. It's a great course to spend the day golfing and barbecuing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fitting name

1    11/18/2009   11/18/2009
Review By: shirfan
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is going to be a really nice course with a little work. If scenery had a rating, it would get a 5/5 for that -- the whole layout runs through the woods and fields of a bluff on Lake Ontario. Unlike Wilson and Evangola, which are set well back from the lakefronts in their respective parks, you're directly next to the water here, close enough that an awful drive could get wet.

Good mix of wooded and open, short and long holes. 1-3 are tame, short woodsy warm-ups to what quickly becomes a much tougher course. 4 plays out into a field with very tight OB's marked, 5 and 6 should be unremarkable open-field pars most of the time.

That brings us to 7, a really tight tunnel shot with nasty thick hedges on both sides. I'm assuming that the tunnel will be a mando, because as it stands, there's definitely the better option of going high and deep right-to-left. However, that line has the dangerous distinction of blindly ending exactly where hole 8's tee is. Lefties, break out your understable discs on 8 -- the right is a jungle of nearly impenetrable pricker bushes.

10-13 are back into the woods for tight placement shots, and although they play short, it's easy to deflect off a tree for bogey or worse.

14-18 are the "signature" portion of the course. Tight and long mowed fairways are flanked by tall grass with moderate elevation change. These holes are subject to the full fury of the wind coming off the lake, which varies from moderate to just a notch below category 1 hurricane. A calm day back there is going to be rare indeed. If the tall grass is OB, those holes will be highly challenging most days.

Good course flow, with only one short "jump" between 9-10. (And it goes right through the parking lot/restroom area, which is a plus.) Ample parking for even a large tourny.
Cons: Some of the wooded holes could have been longer and less poke'n'hope.

Coming up the fairway of 16, you find 2 baskets in near proximity, and none have #'s on them yet. Which to shoot at? Only after searching for 17's tee and finding it up in the woods, was it clear which basket was which.

Remote -- it's about equally far from Rochester and Buffalo. I suppose this could be a pro as well, if you're searching for a course that won't get much traffic.
Other Thoughts: I love the holes out next to the lake shore -- definitely a unique environment. The mix of wild winds and scenery make this worth the drive.

Heading out from Buffalo, I'd suggest taking route 18. The thruway to 98 might be slightly faster, but it was pure monotony the whole way, as well as harboring a few small-town speed traps.

Should be an ideal location for tournaments.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.