Waterport, NY 
Shore Winds DGC - White Course Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16 (Taken 11/2009)
5 / 379ft.   5 / 429ft.   5 / 500ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
Great course, but...

2-4    9/21/2013   5/20/2013
Review By: Schmankster
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Scenic views of Lake Ontario. Beautiful area!
-Excellent course for a beginner/amateur. Majority of the holes were shorter par 3's with a few tricky blind/dogleg/tight fairway shots thrown in.
-Very clean. No litter!
-Plenty of benches
-Camping within walking distance for 20$ a night! Play the white one day, the blue the other!
Cons: -Needs more signage!! Hole description signs on each tee would really help as well. Make sure you grab a map provided by the park at the kiosks on both #1's or the main gate if it's open.
-When you go in the rough, you are in the ROUGH! Throw a bright colored disc! The rough (where I spent most of my time) was about a foot high!
Other Thoughts: -Bring bug spray!
-I have played the blue and the white courses here. The blue course (longer) is more for the advanced players. Although, the white course had a few shots I had to think about. It would be perfect to bring your kids to play. The holes are all shorter so they won't get as frazzled.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 lakeside

5+    9/17/2011   9/25/2011
Review By: jayman33
Played: 45  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - description: shorter of two courses at lakeside state park with many beautiful looks at lake ontario
- tees: natural tees are a con, but they are very well marked with 5 foot, numbered posts
- variety: mostly shorter holes, but several long ones to let you rip it. a few wooded holes. holes have fairways shaped with long grass and white stakes to mark out of bounds.
- basket placement: good. a few placed with a beautiful view behind. hole 4 has been lengthened, which i like, as well as hole 5 by moving tees back. good improvements.
- uniqueness: very unique setting, even though the blue course is right there. two great courses to play together in western ny
- pay to play: you'd think it'd be a con, but it's pretty non-existent. show up early enough and you never pay. even if you have to pay, to courses on one site is a great thing. i saw an RIT student playing solo finish both courses before we finished the white one
- time to play: anytime. never busy. you'd think it would be, but i've never had to follow a group. also, never seen anyone at picnic tables near hole 1.
- amenities: bathrooms near hole 1, scorecards at kiosk
- wind: can sometimes be very windy, but that's part of the fun. i'd say it's only been windy 20% of the time i've gone
Cons: - tees and signs: gotta say i'd love for there to be fly pads or concrete. also, no signs at the tees giving distance or picture of the hole
- wooded holes: are kind of weak (12 is the best of the four). the only redeeming quality is there are only a few of them and they're short
- pars: doesn't seem like a par 71 course (as listed on the scorecard). on dgcr the blue tees on dgcr are listed as a par 54, which to me seems ridiculous with 6 holes over 400 feet, 3 of those 6 are close to or over 500 feet. seems like it should be a par 60.
Other Thoughts: - fast to play. if you're short on time, play the white course for sure.
- if you're not short on time, consider playing both and hang out at the park for some lunch
- if you disc golf with family, you might want to come in the fall and when you're done head on over to brown's berry patch which is only 2 miles away on rt 18. http://brownsberrypatch.com / not just berries, but apples, pumpkins, apple cider donuts, live music, grill, indoor restaurant...simply awesome (just went there this past weekend with my wife and daughter)
- bring your camera or cell phone for some great pictures of the lake

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice New Course

1    7/4/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: mobster
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice piece of land for a course. All three tees marked with colored stakes (they look temporary and hope more permanent ones are installed soon). Great mixture of holes with tight woods to long, open bombs. The mowed fairways make blah open holes a little more challenging. The view on the last five holes over Lake Ontario is amazing.
Cons: Super crazy thick rough is abundant around holes 6 though 9 with lots of poison ivy. Long trek from hole 9 to 10. A couple wooded holes just seemed too tight for me, especially from the red tees. No number plates on the baskets.
Other Thoughts: Had a blast playing this new course over the 4th. Apparently if you get to the park after 6 you don't have to pay $6 to enter. I really hope to see the course mature over the next few years with the addition of teepads, directional signage and the brush getting beat down a little more.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lakeside

1    5/23/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: swiltse
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful location on the shores of Lake Ontario in a well kept state park. The last few holes play in a field right along the banks of the lake. The entire course is well maintained with natural and gravel tees and painted stakes for tee markers. Nice variety of open and wooded holes. Scorecards and maps available at start of course make it easy to navigate.
Cons: Course plays close to several picnic areas which could be a problem when the park is busy. Several of the fairways on the last few holes are real close to each other and will likely be a hazard during heavy play. Several holes play along some thick brush that is easy to lose discs in. No tee signs.
Other Thoughts: Overall I think this is a great course in a beautiful park with a good variety of holes. We played on a Sunday before Memorial Day with very few people at the park and only a few other disc golfers. This park is about halfway between Rochester and Buffalo, so I'm not sure how busy it gets, but I wouldn't expect the course to get too backed up. It's a great course to spend the day golfing and barbecuing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fitting name

1    11/18/2009   11/18/2009
Review By: shirfan
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is going to be a really nice course with a little work. If scenery had a rating, it would get a 5/5 for that -- the whole layout runs through the woods and fields of a bluff on Lake Ontario. Unlike Wilson and Evangola, which are set well back from the lakefronts in their respective parks, you're directly next to the water here, close enough that an awful drive could get wet.

Good mix of wooded and open, short and long holes. 1-3 are tame, short woodsy warm-ups to what quickly becomes a much tougher course. 4 plays out into a field with very tight OB's marked, 5 and 6 should be unremarkable open-field pars most of the time.

That brings us to 7, a really tight tunnel shot with nasty thick hedges on both sides. I'm assuming that the tunnel will be a mando, because as it stands, there's definitely the better option of going high and deep right-to-left. However, that line has the dangerous distinction of blindly ending exactly where hole 8's tee is. Lefties, break out your understable discs on 8 -- the right is a jungle of nearly impenetrable pricker bushes.

10-13 are back into the woods for tight placement shots, and although they play short, it's easy to deflect off a tree for bogey or worse.

14-18 are the "signature" portion of the course. Tight and long mowed fairways are flanked by tall grass with moderate elevation change. These holes are subject to the full fury of the wind coming off the lake, which varies from moderate to just a notch below category 1 hurricane. A calm day back there is going to be rare indeed. If the tall grass is OB, those holes will be highly challenging most days.

Good course flow, with only one short "jump" between 9-10. (And it goes right through the parking lot/restroom area, which is a plus.) Ample parking for even a large tourny.
Cons: Some of the wooded holes could have been longer and less poke'n'hope.

Coming up the fairway of 16, you find 2 baskets in near proximity, and none have #'s on them yet. Which to shoot at? Only after searching for 17's tee and finding it up in the woods, was it clear which basket was which.

Remote -- it's about equally far from Rochester and Buffalo. I suppose this could be a pro as well, if you're searching for a course that won't get much traffic.
Other Thoughts: I love the holes out next to the lake shore -- definitely a unique environment. The mix of wild winds and scenery make this worth the drive.

Heading out from Buffalo, I'd suggest taking route 18. The thruway to 98 might be slightly faster, but it was pure monotony the whole way, as well as harboring a few small-town speed traps.

Should be an ideal location for tournaments.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.