Disc Golf Store
Waterport, NY 
Shore Winds DGC - White Course Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 175ft.   3 / 226ft.   3 / 286ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

5+    5/14/2014   5/14/2014
Review By: Timeetyo
Played: 25  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 0.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - beautiful scenery of the lake
- course is VERY clean and well maintained
- tees are well marked. Colored stakes and sunken colored 2x4s.
- very good beginner course with (perhaps too) forgiving pars and generally short distances. I list this as a pro as it complements the blue course well and gets a lot of use by campers new to DG.
- a good variety of righty and lefty holes
- a good variety of hole lengths and pars (7x3, 7x4, 4x5).
- camping on site
- bathrooms, pavilion, & picnic tables
- maps available at the kiosk by hole 1. Pick one up.
- clearly marked OB to spice things up on the open, links style holes.
Cons: - most tees are natural. All red and blue tees and ~6 white tees. The remaining white are concrete.
- signage. Most of the course is easy enough to follow as the tee is close to the prior basket and obvious. 9-10 transition is NOT obvious w/o the map.
- tee signs with hole pictures / lengths would be nice.
- tall grass "rough" can be frustrating more than punishing.
- hole 6 puts a road very much in play. there isn't a lot of traffic but especially with the road hugging the left side on the longest par 3 it is perfect for landing noob hyzers in the road.
- a few of the wooded holes have some very tight lines required. probably too tight for the beginner audience - but these are very short holes so even if you don't hit your line par is usually an option.
- $6 for parking for the day.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great beginner friendly course. On the short side with very forgiving pars, but this makes it a great compliment to the much tougher and longer blue course. Great amenities, great views, and a lot of fun. Bring the family, have lunch, and sneak a round in on this course and another on the blue after lunch. By itself this course wouldn't be a destination course but with the blue courses and scenery its a great way to spend a day.

If you can only play one of the 2 courses on site - I would play this if you are a beginner. If you are int/advanced I would definitely play the blue as it is much more challenging.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great course, but...

2-4    9/21/2013   5/20/2013
Review By: Schmankster
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Scenic views of Lake Ontario. Beautiful area!
-Excellent course for a beginner/amateur. Majority of the holes were shorter par 3's with a few tricky blind/dogleg/tight fairway shots thrown in.
-Very clean. No litter!
-Plenty of benches
-Camping within walking distance for 20$ a night! Play the white one day, the blue the other!
Cons: -Needs more signage!! Hole description signs on each tee would really help as well. Make sure you grab a map provided by the park at the kiosks on both #1's or the main gate if it's open.
-When you go in the rough, you are in the ROUGH! Throw a bright colored disc! The rough (where I spent most of my time) was about a foot high!
Other Thoughts: -Bring bug spray!
-I have played the blue and the white courses here. The blue course (longer) is more for the advanced players. Although, the white course had a few shots I had to think about. It would be perfect to bring your kids to play. The holes are all shorter so they won't get as frazzled.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

1    8/19/2011   12/6/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 754  Exp: 12.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays in a nice park with two courses and onsite camping. The white course is a little shorter than the blue, with a little more variety. There is a mix of a few park style holes, some technical wooded shots and several links style holes mowed through the long grass along the lake. The woods holes offer a few different lines to hit, and the open holes have some length variety. There are multiple tees that at least offer different distances for various levels of players.

Some staked off ob areas add some challenge, and a few holes have enough trees to punish errant shots. There are course maps available at the parking lot that make navigation pretty easy other than one long walk.
Cons: There are some dangerous spots on this course, with roads and picnic areas in play off several tees. It didn't seem like the park gets too crowded, but there definitely are potential issues. The tees are natural, and some of the wooded ones are a bit eroded, I could see many of them getting a bit rough after wet weather. There is no signage at the tees, the course map is nice but hole distance and layout would be nice.

There is a long walk between the front and back 9s that would be pretty difficult to figure out without the map. I'm not a huge fan of long grass rough, it adds frustration rather than real challenge. The different tees really only make small distance changes, and almost always have the exact same line.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course, and it's worth a stop if you're in the area with two layouts on site and camping in the park. Beginners will find the course fairly accessible, the long grass holes are short enough that they won't be too frustrating. Experienced players won't find too much challenge here, there are some nice views and a few fun shots but no real tests.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Aptly named

1    7/25/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/1/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -beautiful park with two full courses, picnic area, and the lake right there!
-good variety of distances but generally shorter
-baskets and natural tees in good condition
-makes good use of different terrain areas and utilizes the minor elevation changes well
-lefty and righty approaches but mostly straight fairways
-lots of tall rough and OB to spice up the open holes
-3 tees on each hole, marked with colored stakes
-plenty of parking
-not crowded
-great scenery, great place to make a day of it
Cons: -natural tees are in good condition but it never stays that way. it would be great to get rubber fly pads here. the tees must be terrible after a rain.
-most of the fairways are straight shots, only a few doglegs and only on very short holes (except hole 9, one of my favorites!)
-i thought the wooded holes were very disappointing. very short and very tight but not a lot of good lines. maybe there are some local routes that aren't very obvious?
-newer players may be frustrated by the wind on the open holes but especially the ones back near the lake, it is quite challenging.
-the walk from 9 to 10 is long and not at all obvious, some next tee signs would be great. i think there was one in the place where you go into the woods to get to 10.
-the multiple tees rarely change the hole, most are just another 20-30' longer
Other Thoughts: This gorgeous state parks boasts two full 18 hole courses and with the amenities and views makes for a great all day experience. It would be easy to bring the family here and keep everyone occupied.

The white course is the shorter of the two and is pretty forgiving except for the tall grass. This along with the multiple tees make it an ideal place to introduce people to the game or bring beginners.

The course makes its way through several different areas of the park. The first 5 are on the east side of the area with 3 short technical holes then 2 longer open holes. The rest of the front 9 plays around an area south of the park road. Then back across the parking lot and into the woods for a few holes before moving out in the open near the lake. 4, 5, and 14-18 all have tall rough next to the fairways. I really liked how the course plays through these different areas, each section has a different feel and it adds to the sense of variety here.

The wind is a significant factor on the open holes and particularly on 14-18 near the lake. You really have to know your discs and read the wind to stay on the fairway.

Overall, the course was fun and beautiful but there wasn't anything that really wowed me about it. I think the fact that there are two courses is what makes it worth the trip. I didn't have time to play the Blue course but I might have been disappointed if the White course was all there was out here. If you only have time for one course, I'd probably play the Blue course. But this place is definitely worth the trip, especially if you have the time spend all day there.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 lakeside

5+    9/17/2011   9/25/2011
Review By: jayman33
Played: 44  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - description: shorter of two courses at lakeside state park with many beautiful looks at lake ontario
- tees: natural tees are a con, but they are very well marked with 5 foot, numbered posts
- variety: mostly shorter holes, but several long ones to let you rip it. a few wooded holes. holes have fairways shaped with long grass and white stakes to mark out of bounds.
- basket placement: good. a few placed with a beautiful view behind. hole 4 has been lengthened, which i like, as well as hole 5 by moving tees back. good improvements.
- uniqueness: very unique setting, even though the blue course is right there. two great courses to play together in western ny
- pay to play: you'd think it'd be a con, but it's pretty non-existent. show up early enough and you never pay. even if you have to pay, to courses on one site is a great thing. i saw an RIT student playing solo finish both courses before we finished the white one
- time to play: anytime. never busy. you'd think it would be, but i've never had to follow a group. also, never seen anyone at picnic tables near hole 1.
- amenities: bathrooms near hole 1, scorecards at kiosk
- wind: can sometimes be very windy, but that's part of the fun. i'd say it's only been windy 20% of the time i've gone
Cons: - tees and signs: gotta say i'd love for there to be fly pads or concrete. also, no signs at the tees giving distance or picture of the hole
- wooded holes: are kind of weak (12 is the best of the four). the only redeeming quality is there are only a few of them and they're short
- pars: doesn't seem like a par 71 course (as listed on the scorecard). on dgcr the blue tees on dgcr are listed as a par 54, which to me seems ridiculous with 6 holes over 400 feet, 3 of those 6 are close to or over 500 feet. seems like it should be a par 60.
Other Thoughts: - fast to play. if you're short on time, play the white course for sure.
- if you're not short on time, consider playing both and hang out at the park for some lunch
- if you disc golf with family, you might want to come in the fall and when you're done head on over to brown's berry patch which is only 2 miles away on rt 18. http://brownsberrypatch.com / not just berries, but apples, pumpkins, apple cider donuts, live music, grill, indoor restaurant...simply awesome (just went there this past weekend with my wife and daughter)
- bring your camera or cell phone for some great pictures of the lake

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bring lunch and make a day of it.

5+    3/11/2012   9/17/2011
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 90  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - scorecards with map available at kiosk at the start of course
- bathrooms available in good location
- open all year round
- all three tees (blue, white, red) are clearly marked
- very scenic course
- pretty good flow of course with most tees pretty close to basket (except transition from 9-10)
- strategic placements of out of bounds to add challenge to course
- pretty even mix of holes that go to the right, left and straight and narrow.
- another great course (even better) right there. this course starts by the westernmost part of the parking lot.
- the park station holds discs in the welcome center if they find them. They will call you if your name and number is on them or just check in occasionally and see if your discs are there.
- no one is ever there. there are picnic tables but I never see anyone. (well maybe one or two) It seems the whole park is dedicated to disc golf.
Cons: - no tee pads
- no signs
- no signs pointing to the next hole. most holes are straightforward but signs would help on some of them.
- the two course intertwine with each other on the back nine and could be confusing as to which course you are playing on. (I haven't had that problem yet but I could see it happening)
- lots of heavy brush to lose discs on. (my friend lost three today)
Other Thoughts: There are some wooded holes but they are not that good, but it does add more variety to the course. The pars are generous which can be good for newcomers. Some of the more experienced players just play all par 3's. I am not one of them. I am going to ask one of the course designers about the out of bounds situation next week some time to clear up any confusion. I will post that when I find out. Overall great course and even better with another course right there. (with tee pads and signs it would be a 4 or 4.5). There are grills on site so bring lunch and make a day of it.

** I contacted the course designer on the out of bounds issue and they said the design was for the stakes to mark out of bounds and not the brush. So anything to the side of the stakes opposite the fairway would be out of bounds. However the great thing about disc golf is you can play it however you want too. So if you want to play the brush is out of bounds you can do that too.

Update 3/11/2012

I played this course today. A bunch of holes were redone on the back nine which helped with the flow of the course. The holes added in some extra length. The out of bounds issue I mentioned earlier seems to have been resolved. With the reworking of the holes and the out of bounds I raised the rating of this course to a four. Some of the wooded holes still don't have much of an alley (10-13) and there are nos signs or tee pads or this could be a 4.5 or 5. I am beginning to like it more than the blue course because it is not at tiring and seems more doable at least for me.

I

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 WINDY!!

1    10/20/2010   10/21/2010
Review By: Chiefstang
Played: 75  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In one word: Beautiful! The course is well laid out, with a bit of everything. Some mowed fairways, some tight woods shots, and wide open shots on the shores of lake Ontario. The course is easy to navigate, with 4' white markers at each tee pad with the corresponding hole number. We got to play it on a great autumn day in upstate, NY and it was just breathtaking. Worth the drive from Rochester.
Cons: WIND!! Oh my god, the course name is very accurate. I'm all for a little wind, but we must have gone on a bad day. Five foot putts would lift immediately and carry twenty feet away. Used my midrange as my putter after going back an forth a few times on one. My only other gripe is with the "marked" pars. On a calmer day, a novice could crush the 400 ft. "par 5's" that litter the course. If the wind is down, this course would make an excellent confidence booster. Playing it as all 3's would be more realistic.
Other Thoughts: I had to drive 45 minutes from Rochester to play this one, and it's likely about the same from Buffalo. Absolutely worth the trip. It sits next to a campground on the lake, and we're already talking about a trip for the weekend next summer. I would like a few more cracks at redemption as the wind beat my butt on my first try. Can't wait to play this one again!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 massive wind, great scenery

1    10/16/2010   10/17/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tee pads
awesome views
good variety of length and shots
Course is well maintained, perfectly manicured.
Course not very crowded, locals say it is never crowded.
Cons: unclear OB. Some people were playing all long grass is OB if it had stakes in it, others played that you had to pass the stakes for OB.

The wooded holes are not good wooded holes, like Basil Marella. There is no fairway on #12, it's just a lucky crap shoot and there are several saplings right infront of the tee on 13. They are short and dense with no clear shot. Since it is only 2 holes it is not extremly frustrating, but they are 2 weak holes.

Hole 6 is a dangerous hole. You stand next to the road and throw down to a curve in the road, so you can not see a car coming as you are throwing directly at it.
Gravel and grass tees can get muddy and slippery.
Gravel in some areas can chew up discs

Course is set up like 2 9 hole courses, there is a long walk to get to hole 10 from hole 9.
Tee signs would be a nice addition.
Other Thoughts: pretty small chance of disc loss.
Wind is a HUGE factor, I threw a driver and the wind held it still in the air, then pushed the disc back towards me. It was also lifting discs making putts from 15-20 feet fly 20 feet past the basket. It is a unique challenge that may affect your game that day, then the next day you will have a totally different experience with no wind.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice New Course

1    7/4/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: mobster
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice piece of land for a course. All three tees marked with colored stakes (they look temporary and hope more permanent ones are installed soon). Great mixture of holes with tight woods to long, open bombs. The mowed fairways make blah open holes a little more challenging. The view on the last five holes over Lake Ontario is amazing.
Cons: Super crazy thick rough is abundant around holes 6 though 9 with lots of poison ivy. Long trek from hole 9 to 10. A couple wooded holes just seemed too tight for me, especially from the red tees. No number plates on the baskets.
Other Thoughts: Had a blast playing this new course over the 4th. Apparently if you get to the park after 6 you don't have to pay $6 to enter. I really hope to see the course mature over the next few years with the addition of teepads, directional signage and the brush getting beat down a little more.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Gem on the Lake

1    5/28/2010   5/28/2010
Review By: BeauRoch
Played: 48  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mowed Fairways
Stunning views from holes on Back-9
Good mixture of wooded and open holes.
Great test for AMs
Cons: May be too easy for most Pros.
Other Thoughts: This course really took me by surprise. A very pleasant surprise. You get a little bit of everything here but the views from the last five holes are tremendous and worth the drive. I equate it to the disc golf equivalent of Pebble Beach.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.