Waterport, NY 
Shore Winds DGC - White Course Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7 (Taken 10/2009)
4 / 245ft.   4 / 322ft.   4 / 395ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Lakeside

1    5/23/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: swiltse
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful location on the shores of Lake Ontario in a well kept state park. The last few holes play in a field right along the banks of the lake. The entire course is well maintained with natural and gravel tees and painted stakes for tee markers. Nice variety of open and wooded holes. Scorecards and maps available at start of course make it easy to navigate.
Cons: Course plays close to several picnic areas which could be a problem when the park is busy. Several of the fairways on the last few holes are real close to each other and will likely be a hazard during heavy play. Several holes play along some thick brush that is easy to lose discs in. No tee signs.
Other Thoughts: Overall I think this is a great course in a beautiful park with a good variety of holes. We played on a Sunday before Memorial Day with very few people at the park and only a few other disc golfers. This park is about halfway between Rochester and Buffalo, so I'm not sure how busy it gets, but I wouldn't expect the course to get too backed up. It's a great course to spend the day golfing and barbecuing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Stunningly Epic.

1    5/1/2010   5/1/2010
Review By: Stetz1010
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome course with a variety of different shots. Enjoyed starting in the open and working my way through the tight alley way shots in the woods, and then back out to the open. The holes next to Lake Ontario were absolutely stunningly epic. Course map + score card, public bathroom, bountiful picnic tables also made this a great course. Saw zero other people playing which allowed me to take my time. Tee's were marked well and will only be better once cement is put in. Overall a great course, will definitely play it again.
Cons: A crapload of bugs. Picnic tables near holes 1, 2, 3, could be a problem on heavy traffic summer days. Lack of cement tees also a factor, but being that this course is very new it's not that off putting. Other than those minor details this is a great course that only has room for improvements.
Other Thoughts: Great course, great place to spend the day, beautiful scenery, right on the water.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lakeside

1    12/31/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: Gator
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A bueatiful park hosts this course set right on the edge of Lake Ontario. The course was pretty enjoyable with a mild difficulty that would be good for anyone.
Hole Break Down:
1 - A short right to left hole that a good duce chance.
2 - Is a short left to right hole that will punish you if you over shoot the hole.
3 - Is a S turn through a fairly open lane in the woods. Hitting a tree and going on to the woods will surely add a stroke.
4 - Is the longest hole yet and plays from an elavated tee position. Someone with a big arm can probably reach it within one shot that goes over the tree's.
5 - Another fairly open hole that can be played with an anhyzer or hyzer shot.
6 - A fairly open straight hole. The green is on a slight slope and the road boarders the fairway on the left.
7 - I like this hole the schule on the left and right slowly tighten as the fairway gets closer to the basket.
8 - A par 5 that can be duced by experience players. Fairly open but O.B. comes into play on both side of the fairway in the tall grass.
9 - A left to right hole that pretty short. If you over shoot it straight making the approach back could be risky.
10 - Fairly far away from 9 and wasn't well marked. A straight shot through a REALLY tight gap. An anhyzer route is an option if you can see it.
11 - Super short hole that I almost putted at from the tee. Its a left to right hole.
12. Another short hole. I couldn't see a clear fairway for this hole and just threw a thumber trying to poke through.
13 - A long S turn shot. I felt like I really had to lace my shot when I got my duce, but it isn't so bad that its a poke and hope.
14 - The first hole on the back nine that plays out along Lake Ontario. Its a reachable straight shot, but brush comes into play half way up the fair way along the right side.
15 - Reminds me of playing a links style ball golf course. A par 5 that I duced from inside the cirlce. The tall grass and being right next to the lake make this hole majestic.
16 - Is pretty much 15 in reverse. Wide open, reachable, par 5.
17 - Teeing off from inside the woods its a short left turing hole
18 - An up hill hole that you can't see from the tee. You need to be sure that your disc doesn't fade out left into the lake.
Cons: I wonder how difficult it would be to play hole 1 during the summer if people are using all the picnic tables. The walk between 9 and 10 was longer then I've ever seen anywhere else. A map on the tee sign for 9 would have been great because we played to a gap that looked like where the hole would go but ended up being incorrect. We ended up playing to 18's basket from 17's tee. With three sets of tee's I wish they were a little stretched out so the blue and white tee's had more challenge. When the cement teepads go in this would be a 3.5 for me. If some of the tee pads weren't so close to other teepad's and baskets this would probably bump it up to a 4 for me.
Other Thoughts: Just awesome scenery. This course begs for a tourney or some kind of competition between Rochester and Bumsville... I mean Buffalo.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fitting name

1    11/18/2009   11/18/2009
Review By: shirfan
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is going to be a really nice course with a little work. If scenery had a rating, it would get a 5/5 for that -- the whole layout runs through the woods and fields of a bluff on Lake Ontario. Unlike Wilson and Evangola, which are set well back from the lakefronts in their respective parks, you're directly next to the water here, close enough that an awful drive could get wet.

Good mix of wooded and open, short and long holes. 1-3 are tame, short woodsy warm-ups to what quickly becomes a much tougher course. 4 plays out into a field with very tight OB's marked, 5 and 6 should be unremarkable open-field pars most of the time.

That brings us to 7, a really tight tunnel shot with nasty thick hedges on both sides. I'm assuming that the tunnel will be a mando, because as it stands, there's definitely the better option of going high and deep right-to-left. However, that line has the dangerous distinction of blindly ending exactly where hole 8's tee is. Lefties, break out your understable discs on 8 -- the right is a jungle of nearly impenetrable pricker bushes.

10-13 are back into the woods for tight placement shots, and although they play short, it's easy to deflect off a tree for bogey or worse.

14-18 are the "signature" portion of the course. Tight and long mowed fairways are flanked by tall grass with moderate elevation change. These holes are subject to the full fury of the wind coming off the lake, which varies from moderate to just a notch below category 1 hurricane. A calm day back there is going to be rare indeed. If the tall grass is OB, those holes will be highly challenging most days.

Good course flow, with only one short "jump" between 9-10. (And it goes right through the parking lot/restroom area, which is a plus.) Ample parking for even a large tourny.
Cons: Some of the wooded holes could have been longer and less poke'n'hope.

Coming up the fairway of 16, you find 2 baskets in near proximity, and none have #'s on them yet. Which to shoot at? Only after searching for 17's tee and finding it up in the woods, was it clear which basket was which.

Remote -- it's about equally far from Rochester and Buffalo. I suppose this could be a pro as well, if you're searching for a course that won't get much traffic.
Other Thoughts: I love the holes out next to the lake shore -- definitely a unique environment. The mix of wild winds and scenery make this worth the drive.

Heading out from Buffalo, I'd suggest taking route 18. The thruway to 98 might be slightly faster, but it was pure monotony the whole way, as well as harboring a few small-town speed traps.

Should be an ideal location for tournaments.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Going to be great

1    11/15/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: greenrod1
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of open and wooded holes. has alot of potential. A few great alley shots command controll of your discs. A large hyzer should work well on #9 if you can avoid tree in front of you. Hole # 4 could be a great tournament hole with a couple of out of bounds leaving a tight fairway.
Cons: Get the map from this website as map at course only shows the front nine.# 10 starts in woods back of bathrooms to the left. No signs to next tee etc..... Just to new of a course.
Other Thoughts: get the map and enjoy the course . I'm sure you to will see the potential

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.