Layout Extinct

Dallas, OR 
Dallas City Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: Flies to the Left Hole #1 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee: Basket is right of center behind all the trees.



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice 9, hoping for a great 18

5+    4/17/2010   4/19/2010
Review By: kilowan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9 Years
Pros: -Great variation (Trees, dog-legs, elevation changes)
-Good use of the park
-Have to think about the shots
Cons: -Signage is lacking, if you have not played before finding 3 and 6 can be "interesting".
-Teams (Softball, Football and Soccer) can be on the field for 8 and 9, most move, some just will not.
Other Thoughts: The course really opened up the park.
I just hope that with the new baskets added they do not make the course unfriendly for a family or people just starting to play.
If you are playing alone can be difficult to follow the disc if it goes into the blackberries, ivy, woods or water. A spotter is nice on a few of the holes, but not a must have.
Town really seems to be behind it, lets show them it was worth it.

 great course, soon to be 18 holes

5+    4/18/2010   4/19/2010
Review By: JonnyQuest
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great course for a quick game, but not to short.
-The course is in the middle of being reworked to be 18 holes.
-Great variation of wooded and open holes.
-never too busy, mostly local players
Cons: -Last 2 holes tend to get blocked by softball or soccer practice (they usually move to the other side when we get there)
-1st hole is close to the river which is bad when the water is high
Other Thoughts: Great course to learn on, i had to learn a lot of throwing techniques in my first game.
Still being developed and getting better.

Cant wait to go again!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Course

2-4    1/14/2010   1/15/2010
Review By: runnaman
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/27/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Baskets are new Mach V and excellent.
- Well layed out to include left turns, right turns, short holes, long holes, elevation changes, open shots, wooded, and even water is present on a few holes.
- New course, but has room to improve greatly.
- Course flows rather smoothly except for in a few places.
Cons: - Quite a walk between holes 2 and 3, as well as 5 and 6.
- Some of the holes are a little muddy in the winter, but not too bad.
- Only dirt tee pads right now, but the course is new and I would imagine that they plan to put in concrete ones soon.
Other Thoughts: For a 9 holer, this is an excellent course with many risk and reward shots. The water around some of the holes provides just enough challenge to make the course interesting, but not to the point where you're always scared that you're going to lose a disc.

I would recommend this coursee to any disc golfer of any skill level. Very fun and I can't wait to go back and play again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Potentially Sweet Neighborhood 9-Hole

1    10/17/2009   10/20/2009
Review By: nevermore321
Played: 163  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -There's actually a course is DALLAS,OR (yet another sign of the imminent rise of this HIGHLY superior recreational past-time)
-Good Variety of Forehand/Backhand Shots
-Water hazards in the form of a river on the first two holes are within the nearby picture forcing you to focus more so than otherwise
-Above average utilization of given elevation on several holes (5&7 come to mind)
-Park is in a small town, thus minimizing the crowding of non-disc golfers
-The small town (Dallas) isn't far from other more sizable Willamette Valley population centers.
-With that being said, it's not that far from other great courses associated with these larger cities (i.e. Adair, Woodsmansee, Willamette Park etc.)
-Quality baskets
-At least when I was there, the local non disc-golfing citizens seemed pleasantly curious and supportive of this new "phenomenon" as opposed to the annoyed demeanor of citizens in other mixed use city park settings.
Cons: -Natural tee pads are usually fine in the drier third of the year in this region of the state, but for the math-challenged, that leaves 2/3 of the year with muddy as sh@t tee pads to work with.
-Course flow was a little helter skelter for a few holes (2-3-4), but then again the park WAS built long before the words disc and golf were associated with each other...bring a map!
-blackberry thickets are prevalent on several holes. A spotter might be necessary on hole 5, even though it's only 200 ft. I lost my brand new wraith on that one.
Hole 8&9 are flat open field holes with little to no obstruction.
Other Thoughts: I drove up after playing Adair with intent to just simply "bag" what I anticipated to be a simple pitch and put 9-hole course. However, I was pleasantly surprised by the technical nature of some of the holes on this course. If I lived next door I would be thrilled to have this recent installment in my neighborhood.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.