Disc Golf Center
Lowell, NC
Lowell Elementary School Share
Uploaded By: Zaneism Hole #1 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 175ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
For children

5+    9/18/2011   8/2/2012
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -I played here when I first started and it's good for little kids because it's short and lightly wooded.
-Chances for an ace here and likely will happen for intermedites.
-I have a little sister who is 7, having said that, it's for elementary schoolers.
-Trashcans on campus.
Cons: -It's just plain BORING and if you can throw over 200' then go to Robert L Smith or Winget.
-Doors are locked so there is no restroom.
-#3's basket might still be broken and it's not very playable.
-Many fairways are very close to the buildings and if you could hit a window.
-I couldn't find some of the tees. They are not numbered.
-Hole 5 holds the honor in being the most boring hole I have played.
Other Thoughts: This course is good for beginners and boring for players who can throw over 200'. Any elementary school course is not an actual real course. It's for children and beginners. Again, you can come here if you want an "ace". Heelboycraig did.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Newbie Course

1    7/12/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: jblack
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short course - only 9 holes so you can easily play it twice in under 30 minutes. As a newcomer to the sport I liked this course, it's fairly open with only a few obstacles in the way on a couple of holes. It's a nice course for those of us without the big arms and for kids. It's a confidence builder course, I can work on my putt/approach shots and accuracy.
Cons: It is located at an elementary school so access is limited especially during the school year. Also, it's not marked very well but if you walk around the school you will see all of the targets and figure it out. If you are looking for a "challenging" course don't go here. This course is for newbies like me, pros need not bother with this one.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Course needs some TLC

2-4    7/29/2010   7/31/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 148  Reviewed: 144  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2012
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you keep in mind who this course is aimed for, it meets its goal. For anyone not in elementary school, it's lacking in almost every imaginable way.
- This is a great ace race type of course. Every single hole is aceable.
- Course is short, only need to carry a mid-range or putter. Most holes are in the 100 - 150 foot range, with only #6 playing longer. I played through twice with only a Roc, and never was lacking distance.
- Quick, easy course to play. I played through twice in 30 minutes.
- Very nice piece of land. Slight elevation comes in to play on 3 holes (#1, 2 & 7).
Cons: There's almost no variety to the shots. Every one is straight to very-slight dogleg.
- Very little in the way of obstacles / trees that come into play. The trees that could come into play are easy enough to throw around and still make a run at the basket.
- Lack of signage for the course. Tee pads / tee areas are small, concrete squares. Most were easy to find, except for #6 because the tee square is surrounded by other cement blocks on the back side of the school building.
- Because holes are so short, and there are no teepads, it always felt like I was throwing approach shots instead of tee shots.
- Basket for #3 was broken. Your tee shot shouldn't be more than 5 - 10 feet from the basket anyways, so it shouldn't matter too much.
- The biggest lost disc possibilities I noticed on the course are long on #1 & possibly landing on the roof on #6. This hole plays along the back side of the school, so any shot that fades to the right might land up there.
Other Thoughts: This course was bad because it was short and wide open. Even a short course like Fewell in Rock Hill is wooded, so there's some challenge. Imagine the short holes at Dorton Park in Concord (#1, 2 & 4), and turns those into a 9 hole course. That's what this course is.
- The distance on the website are clearly wrong. #6 was clearly the longest hole - playing approx 200 feet. Every other hole I was able to reach throwing 2/3 power (or less). #7 was a joke of a hole. Downhill, short hole (maybe 100 foot, if that) that plays shorter because its downhill.
- This sums up my feelings about the course. I got a 1 on #9 and don't know if it should be considered a genuine ace because it's such an easy hole. It also didn't help that almost every tee shot was landing within 5 feet of the basket. I aimed to finish with score of 36 playing through twice (18 holes). I just missed it, got a 37, and feel disappointed.
- This course is one of the worst two I've played. The only reason this one isn't getting a 0 is because this would be fun to play as an ace race. I got 1 "ace" and barely missed 2 or 3 others. Get several people playing together and you should see multiple aces here.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 New Design

5+    7/29/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: Zaneism
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great for beginners and kids! Challenge your friends to a round of putting practice, you will probably only need one disc so you don't have to carry a heavy bag and it only takes about 20 minutes to play 9 holes
Cons: not a challenge for the experienced chucker but good for mid range putting and practice putting. Interesting elevation changes, wind and O.B.'s make this a more challenging course than it appears
Other Thoughts: Don't drive out of your way for this course, but if you are in the area...drop in and play 9 twice, if you take it for what it is, then it is "passable" and deserves a 1.5 rating. Also I added some tee markers (yellow sticks in the pictures) to give people an idea of where to start. This also added some distance to the original layout that you can see in the Aerial and New Design Maps under the "Links/Files" tab...Thanks! Lets go throw some time!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very Short

1    2/3/2010   6/3/2010
Review By: _.-Dut-._
Played: 50  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 15.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course was very clean and if you lived close to the school it would be a convenient place to practice your short game and putting.
Cons: No variations to shots and short to a fault. No signs or teepads, though you can find dead grass spots here and there where people have been throwing from. Several holes you can jump putt from the tee.
Other Thoughts: Not a course worth going out of your way to play.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lowell Elementary

2-4    1/10/2010   1/10/2010
Review By: bikinjack
Played: 108  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great exposure to disc golf for students.

The baskets are numbered and nice, except #3 was broken the most recent time I played. Hopefully this will be fixed soon.

Short easy throws on wide open holes mean you only have to carry one or two discs, with basically no chance of losing one. It's a good place to work on your short game.

It's easy to get to, being right off the interstate.

There are convenience stores and restaurants (Subway, Hardee's, and Hillbilly's BBQ) nearby.

It's short enough that you could play several rounds in an hour.

There are a couple of nice playground areas on the school grounds, fun for the whole family.
Cons: Short and easy wide open holes aren't the end all and be all of disc golf.

There are no tees. Literally, there are no indications of where to begin the hole. You basically play from basket to basket. This could be fun, you could make the holes as long as you would like, but it is so open, that wouldn't change the experience much.

There are also no benches or trash cans to be found on the course, but this is not a big deal on such a short course.

Restrooms aren't open during the hours the course is open.
Other Thoughts: I think it's great disc golf exposure to kids, which is for whom this course was designed. It's not worth a special trip to play, unless you're just trying to rack up a lot of courses played. It, however, is not bad if you're in the neighborhood needing a disc golf fix, or just want to squeeze in a few more holes on your way home before it gets dark.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.