York, SC
Tirzah ARP Church DGC Share
Uploaded By: the profesor Hole #2 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 204ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Tirzah is a (nine-hole) delight.

2-4    8/2/2013   8/6/2013
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 148  Reviewed: 144  Exp: 9.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tirzah ARP is a surprisingly above-average nine-holer. There are some gimmickries involved, but all in all, this course offers a good bit of variety while playing on the grounds of a classical church.
- There is very good variety here, almost split right down the middle. The first four and a half holes are wooded (to varying degrees). Once your shot clears the trees on #5, the rest of the course is open, with the exception of small trees along the right side of the fairway on #7. You also have doglegs, minimal elevation, a raised basket on #8, and a variety in length: holes ranging from 144 - 504 feet.
- The holes offer some challenging basket placements/hole layouts. Trees are placed right in front of the tees on #4 & 5, but also impact how you throw on #1 - 3 & 7. The approach shot on #9 can be impacted by obstacles (mainly a scoreboard for the baseball field), creating different looks.
- Course can appeal to most skills levels. It's not overly challenging, but it does require precise shot making on most holes to score low. By that, if you're a casual player, you can throw poorly and still come away with pars on most holes. It's very easy to recover from bad shots, hitting trees, etc. and still salvage par. To see birdies, you will need some good shot making, especially on the wooded holes. You're not going to see any high scores here, or blow up holes here, even on your off days.
- There are some nice scenic holes. The front of the course (front of the church) is much quieter than the back part: two-lane, 35MPH road versus four-lane, 45MPH. Also, throw in the big trees and the old church building, and it's a very relaxing stretch. On the flip side, teeing off on #9 right in front of the four lane road is the complete opposite.
- Because of some of the obscure layouts, you're getting tee shots you don't normally see. On #5, especially, you've got to play a big arching shot around the trees. This is the type of shot you would more often see as an approach shot on a long par 5 than as a tee shot. That said, with these layouts, I think some of these holes are great for practice. Not that you normally want to be throwing from behind big trees. But if you do end up there, you'll be glad you have that shot in your repertoire.
Cons: As much as I said I liked the variety, it does feel a little extreme, or forced at times. After just speaking about the positive of hole #5 in my last comment above, I'm now stating the glass half-empty feel of the hole. Like I said, this is an abnormal tee shot, feeling more like an approach shot on a longer hole after a poor tee shot.
- You also see the gimmickry on #4, with two trees directly in front of the tee pad. Basically, you can try to squeeze a shot through the trees (think the bad tee layout on #6 at Boyd Hill), or throw wide around them. Again, it makes a birdie 2 that much more challenging, but still can leave an easy par 3.
- I got a little bit of the 'Be Sharps' feel for this course. The Be Sharps, as we know, was Homer's barbershop quarter on the Simpsons. He said the name should be a little less funny each time you heard it. There was a vibe here, after playing the course twice, that while, it's a perfectly decent course (as you'll see in my rating), I got more bored and less eager to play it as much rounds went on. It was just solidly decent, that nothing really wowed me about the course.
- Course doesn't have benches. Course is obviously closed during church service times. And being on church property, players need to have a higher level of decorum (no smoking, drinking, etc.) than at most courses.
- Tee pads were very short on the first 8 holes. To its credit, on the one long hole - #9 - the pad was plenty long.
Other Thoughts: My expectations weren't too high coming into it. There are probably a negative stereotype for a church course - pitch-n-putt, aimed at newbies, boring, etc. Tirzah had none of that. This was a genuinely pleasant course. The designers have done well to create an interesting layout.
- I've never played around a cemetery before, or had to walk through one to get to holes. Having a cemetery there might have different impacts, or none at all, for different people.
- I did like the Bible verse plaques at each tee. You are at a church after all, so I was a nice touch. It's also nice seeing a church use disc golf as a ministry tool.
- There wasn't one A+, great hole here, just a lot of decent to slightly above average ones. It makes for a good, steady course, just not one you're not going to remember.
- Between this course and Dutchman Middle about 5 minutes down the road, you have the makings of a decent 19-hole layout. You're also 10 - 15 minutes from most of the other Rock Hill courses, so it's easy to play a bunch of different places in one outing.
- I had to look online to find out where the church got its name. It's a Hebrew word meaning "she is my delight." Ok, so maybe the course isn't a complete delight, but it's still one of the better nine-holers in the Rock Hill area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wish my church had a bigger land!

1    7/28/2013   7/28/2013
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This is a fun nine holer on Tirzah ARP Church's land. It's a great, big land and it's definitely a good place for a disc golf course! It has some interesting laid out holes and you should play it!
-I enjoyed reading the bible verses beside every teepad! It starts on hole 1 with Genesis 1:1 "In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth." It ends with 2 Timothy 4:7 "I have fought the good fought, I have finished the race and I have kept the faith." You got to put your faith into all your throws. It seemed like I didn't on every hole with my score of only -2.
-It has some fun holes out here. #9 is a really fun bomber. It's 504 feet long but you don't have obstacles until you are 150' from the basket. #4 is the only hole with actual elevation, it's an interesting, uphill, hyzer shot. And my favorite...
-#6, this hole rocks! It's a valley shot about 300 feet long (I think it's longer than 270') with a hill in play to the left side and you can catch a roller. Rollers can be frustrating but it won't roll too far if you do, the baseball field isn't too far to the left of the hill.
-Trash cans are out around on the course. It's very well kept. Do NOT litter on church property, don't smoke, litter, or drink alcohol. Show this place extra respect because this is a place to talk and to follow God.
-This is good for beginners! There is a good chance for an ace. I tried to ace #8 for a few minutes! #1 is also short but it takes a good LHBH or a righty flick shot or anhyzer to ace it. I got a par on it and I birdied #8 along with #4.
-Very secluded! This course is closed on Sunday mornings but when it's open, no one is out there or not many people at the worst.
-There is a mini basket on the playground beside #1. Pretty sweet!
Cons: -#5. #5 is very poorly designed. It's a LHBH/RHFH shot around the parking lot, unless you go through the small gap between the trees in front of the tee pad. A ditch is beyond the basket and a bad putt will roll down the ditch next to the road.
-Holes 3 and 4 cross each other.
-The walk from 4 to 5 is long and confusing. Hint, look for cluster of trees and walk past them and you should be able to see the tee. There is no tee pad so look for the gray stone marker.
-I'm like New013. It's pretty flat, it's not that I didn't have fun, I did! Thing is, the course could be hillier! For example, #7 is down in the field but I wish the tee was up the hill next to one of the buildings and BAM! You got a fun, downhill 350 foot shot!
-Measurements seem inaccurate. I thought I would shoot maybe -5 and I did have some long throws and good accuracy! According to the hole info, #3 is 225' feet which sounds absurd because I threw my discraft XL and I was short. It was at least 275'. #6, I'm pretty sure is longer too but not much longer.
Other Thoughts: -Overall, Tirzah is a fun nine holer! I think that it's got potential to be a bit better but it's a good nine hole course on a beautiful church property. I had a great day today as I also played York Middle School (From the longs) and it's a lot better than you think! It's one of the several courses that is not too far from here. I'd say this is a great warm up for Boyd, York Middle (longs) or Winthrop. Tirzah is a forgiving course (Probably because it's on church property, Jesus is very forgiving.) You can get out of trouble quickly (Unless you hit a car) It's not as forgiving as Jesus but it doesn't take that much to get out of trouble.
-As a Christian myself, I go with my youth group to Bonclarken retreat and the youth at this church also go there and I've gotten to know a couple of the youths that go to this church. By the way, Bonclarken is where I got hooked on disc golf and whoever reads this review, I recommend you bring a friend over here as this is a pretty easy course or to York Middle School as it is also easy on the short pads. Play somewhere in York county if you are there because there is some good disc golf!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

5+    7/4/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: turbosteve
Played: 57  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice mix of open holes and mature hardwood holes.
-Elevated basket on one of the holes.
-Not too crowded.
-Variety of shots that require a backhand and forehand.
-Course is well kept.
-There are signs leading to the church on surrounding roads.
Cons: -Because the course is on church property it may be unplayable when church activities are going on.
-Holes 3 and 4 cross each other
-It is only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a typical 9 hole course. It does have some narrow fairways and will be a challenge to newer players. Advanced players should birdie most of the holes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tirzah

2-4    8/30/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: rpeterson24
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice course close to Rock Hill, very quiet, never crowded. Very easy to play for beginners. People are friendly no problems playing anytime of day there.
Cons: Really have to look around to find the tee boxes, could use some maint but it's not played alot. No extremely challenging but very family friendly
Other Thoughts: Great course that's close by to Lake Wylie area!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 nice suprise

1    2/26/2010   2/26/2010
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 93  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: really nice 9 hole course about 10 minutes from rock hill. all brand new burgandy disccatchers, pave stone tee-pads. not crowded with good use of trees on the first 4 holes. the last 5 holes are open with the last one being at least 400ft. for a 9 hole course i was happy to see it play like a regular course as far as distance goes.
Cons: the layout surronds a cemetary, which is kinda creepy, but not really a con
Other Thoughts: if you want to throw a quick 9 and use your driver on a few holes, this is the course rather than fewell park. i was suprised to see nice baskets with two sets of chains, and a raised basket. the tee-pads were nice to see as well. i liked this course check it out

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tirzah

1    10/2/2009   10/2/2009
Review By: asu225
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/17/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good mix of wooded and open holes
- plays well for LHBH throws
- friendly people
- good use on limited space
- nice new baskets
- easy to navigate
- clean course and never crowded
Cons: - not real challenging
- most holes are short with few obstacles
- some holes slightly overlap
- course is bordered by roads on three sides so noise could be distracting
Other Thoughts: This is your typical church course. Mostly a family oriented pitch and putt. The first 4 holes are slightly wooded and while they're not too long, the tee placements force you to navigate around some trees. Shouldn't be a problem for you average player. The tee pads are on the small side and they are brick but since none of these holes would require a run-up, they are adequate. Holes 5-9 are open and a little longer than the first 4. #6 plays along a grassy hill so you could catch a roller here. #7 is straight and short. #8 is another short hole but has a neat raised basket. #9 is the longest hole, around 400-450. This is the only hole you'd need anything more than a midrange.

This course would be a good place to work on your short game or if you're introducing someone to the game or are playing with kids. Intermediate and advanced players would probably be bored. I wouldn't make a road trip out of it but if you just want a place to practice or add a course to your played list, it is worth playing.

The people here are friendly but try to remember you are on church grounds a be respectful while on the property.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.