Rock Hill, SC 
Rawlinson Road Middle School Share
Uploaded By: jrearle85 Hole #12 (Taken 2/2011)
4 / 252ft.   3 / 252ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Excellent Middle School Course

5+    6/23/2014   6/26/2014
Review By: TOB3RT
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is almost always cut and not overgrown.
The holes are fun to play and not too hard. Excellent beginner course.
Cons: Only 12 holes.
Closed during school hours.
Some missing tee signs.
Other Thoughts: Fun, nonetheless.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

5+    6/19/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: turbosteve
Played: 59  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good course for middle schoolers to learn the game. Has some holes that wrap around the woods in the back. Is close to Northwestern DGC.
Cons: The grass on some of the holes is not cut regularly. The tee sign for #10 is missing.
Other Thoughts: This course is not open to the public during school hours.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 easy 12

5+    4/5/2011   4/7/2011
Review By: freakinback
Played: 18  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some open shots, some wooded. The best school course I've ever played. The locals are friendly and helpful but most times the course is wide open. I think the longest hole is 252 feet. Hole 10 is unmarked but is around 100 feet.

My favorite hole is 9.
Cons: Everything should be par three. Wish there were six more holes. Hole 4's sign is on the fence on the track not a post. Hole 10 does not have a sign but the tee is by the large power/telephone pole.
Other Thoughts: People seem to lose disc on hole 4. There is a bunch of thorny brush on the left side of the hole that eats plastic.
I play here often as this course is in walking distance to my house.


0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun school course

1    2/12/2011   2/12/2011
Review By: jrearle85
Played: 68  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I agree with heelboycraig; I think this is probably the best school course in the area.
-The course uses the standard green tee signs that most school courses use. They are easy to spot.
-Holes 5-9 are very unexpected surprises for this course! I literally forgot I was playing on a school course on these holes. They play up through a lightly wooded area behind the track. There are slight elevation changes on each hole here and they are creatively placed.
-The course didn't have the feeling of being "crowded" like most school courses do. It still circles around athletic fields, but the holes seem far more spaced and there is no real danger of throwing onto a field (except maybe a slip on hole #3)
-Easy to find the beginning. You park around back, get out of your car, and you see holes 1 and 12. You know where you start and where you finish.
-Also, I love that this is a 12 hole instead of the typical 9. I think the 3 extra holes make this course.
-The course was very clean and well maintained.
-The baskets are also numbered, not that there is a huge risk of getting lost (with the exception of hole 4).
Cons: -I am reviewing 6 months after heelboycraig and one of the issues he mentioned has not been resolved. The tee sign for hole 10 is still missing. With no tee boxes, and the markers being white pvc caps in the ground, I look for the green signs. I walked all of the way to hole 11 before realizing the mistake.
-I also agree that hole #4 needs a better placement. For one, the tee sign is difficult to find. I finally found it on the fence, but only because I have played other schools in the area that also use the fence in lieu of a sign post (Saluda Trail and South Pointe). There does seem to be room for a shot over the brush or simply bring the tee box down off the hill and closer to #3's basket for a big blind hyzer shot.
-The baskets are misleading! The first 2 are double chained and the rest are single, making putting a little harder. Luckily its pretty easy to get a good tee shot and set yourself up nicely.
Other Thoughts: Favorite Hole: Probably hole #11. This hole shoots off of a short hill through a break in the tree line. There is a huge branch draped across the gap though which blocks the easiest and most common through shot. You either have to go high or low. Fun hole with the added obstacle.

Overall, I enjoyed this course. It's not the best in the area by a long shot, but as a beginner type school course, it plays very well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very good by school course standards

2-4    7/16/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 176  Reviewed: 172  Exp: 10.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This school course turned out to be a pleasant surprise. What starts out as a standard school course (holes #1 & 2), quickly turns into the feel of a decent, wooded course.
- This actually was a fun beginner to intermediate-level course. Hole #1 starts right behind the school, and then you loop around the track/football field and baseball field, with the basket for #12 right by the first tee.
- Good variety of holes. There are standard, beginner-level, way-too-open holes (#1, 2 & 12) and some longer (5 holes between 240 - 294 ft), wooded and doglegs, plus one short hole with a basket strategically placed behind trees (#10). Very little elevation change.
- I like that this is 12 holes instead of 9. With 12 holes, it's much easier to overlook several bad holes because you still have 8 or 9 good ones. On a 9-holer, 4 bad holes is essentially half the course, so it's harder to wash the stink of bad DG holes away.
- There's room in the woods, behind the back part of the course, that would really be inviting for another 6 holes.
Cons: The course is what it is. It's not aimed at advanced players, who will probably have a birdie fest, so they're probably going to be disappointed.
Not a lot of variety in terms of length. No holes longer than 300 feet (although #7 is 282 uphill), with most in the 150 - 250 foot range. More advanced players can easily navigate the course with only 2 or 3 discs.
- Tee signs for #4 & 10 are missing. Not a problem for #10 because you can see the tee numbers in the ground (and the tee area is worn). I had to walk around for a couple minutes to find the tee numbers for #4.
- Standard issues for any school-course: can't play during the school hours, don't do anything that'll cause trouble (beer, smoking, littering, etc).
- There are no amenities here, unless you're a student. Not a major problem because it's a quick play. There's a gas station and Burger King across the street, so you can get what you need there.
Other Thoughts: This is the best of the Rock Hill area school courses I've played. Beginners and students will really enjoy the course; not much of a challenge for advanced players. The course really should get students more interested in the game.
- I was surprised how isolated the back-part of the course felt. I never remember schools having that much room and that much of a nature feel to it.
- I wish they would movedthe tee for #4. There's a better layout for the hole that involves throwing over a slight ravine/thick area of rough, instead of the unimaginative layout there is. Move the tee and you turn one of the worst holes on the course into the best.
- I'm giving this course a 2.0 because it's 12 holes and it's clearly a step up from most neighborhood park 9-holers - think Fewell, Dorton Park, etc as local examples.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginner Course

5+    6/11/2009   7/11/2010
Review By: LiquidIce
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Short, but tests skills for all players
Cons: -Can not play during school hours
-Can be hard to find tee boxes, due to the hole numbers being in the ground
-Maintenance is spotty due to it being a school course
-Cross Country trail runs through part of the course
Other Thoughts: This course serves all ages and play types, but Beginners will find it the most challenging. Adv. and Pro players can enjoy working on their short game and testing new discs here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.