Ann Arbor, MI 
Mary Beth Doyle Park Share
Uploaded By: Innovadude Hole #10 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 180ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 

5+    10/29/2009   11/3/2009
Review By: jaydee
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In the City of Ann Arbor, can be played fairly quickly, some nice holes (4-7, 9,10,15,16,18), good workout for the short game, working on wind management, good course for newbies, some technical shots.
Cons: No challenging longer drives, too many holes crammed onto the available land, some of the holes are just too easy, only need 2 discs to shoot 7-10 down.
Other Thoughts: It's the course where I started playing -- I prefer the old layout but it's great to have a disc golf course back in at this park. Originally, we were to get the land around the wetland and the course was going to be much more interesting with challenging long pads and user-friendly short pads. If it were me, I would have gone with less holes, taking quality over quantity. Nonetheless, it's a great gang golf course, there are some good shots, and your short game will get lots of exercise. It is often windy at this park so that can make things interesting. I give it 2 stars which is designated as "Reasonable". Lastly, the course does allow for some safari shots which can make it more challenging for folks that want to pump some drivers.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 change of pace

2-4    10/20/2009   10/23/2009
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 81  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2010
Pros: cement tees, marked baskets, tight layout. a very technical course. the beauty exists in holes 4 though 8, back in the woods by the freeway. very challenging, if not lengthy. was fairly crowded when i played but things moved well - always a good sign. the majourity of holes play to sidearm/leftys, which makes you pull out every disc in your bag
Cons: the first three holes are cramped along a trail, so watch out for people strolling/running. don't throw into the wetland area by these baskets, i don't think you'll be able to get your disc back. you have to backtrack a bit and the back nine is all contained in one big field, cramped again. in reading innovadude's post, i guess they had the course designed to go around the wetland/lake, but they had to change it. a shame, because that would have set up some nice holes.
Other Thoughts: a breath of fresh air in the ann arbor area. a quick jog off of I-94 and quick and tight throws throughout. when you need a break from rolling hills, the ponds, or bandemer, hit up doyle for sure. Should be nice to play in the fall/winter as well.

 BROWN PAAAARK

5+    10/23/2009   10/23/2009
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dual cement tee pads on half the holes. Tee signs coming soon. Well maintained, mowed.
Larger parking lot than before. Beginner friendly layout has enough technical shots to learn from and challenge a pro on occasion, especially in the relentless wind (most of the course is on top of a small hill). Mix of open and woods. Glow golf is allowed as park closes at 10.
BROWN PARK HAS RETURNED!
Cons: City forced designer to literally re-design the course the day the cement trucks showed up. We lost #1-5, which went around the pond and had some good length, and had to shorten other holes and cram them in too tight. Factor that in when you play it and realize it was not the intention.
A few tees are too close to each other (due to last second changes).
A few backtracks up fairways are required.
Short, pros will not need a driver (for distance shots) on any hole. The land was never suitable for an epic course, it consists mostly of scrub brush, olive bushes, etc.
Other Thoughts: Counting times played former layout, 1,000's.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Brown Park

1    10/20/2009   10/20/2009
Review By: esdubya
Played: 93  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 19.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2010
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Other Thoughts: Mob Golf Talking Trash, Dirty Dollaz. Glow. Ace Races. Quick rounds after work. Beers with buddies. STALL shots. The return of a home course.

Could it use a few tweaks? sure what course couldn't. I don't think the city should have planted all of those young trees in the line of fire, even if the line of fire consists mainly of putters. That one blind hole has drives coming in near another pad or something. Come out here expecting to throw a putter, gun for aces and talk trash when your buddy takes a 4. It's challenging in the sense that you want to deuce every hole.

I like the first three holes. Get warmed up. Don't go OB. Gold course hole 1 tees from parking lot.

The Brown Park 'gold' course is just dieing to be designed.

Abomination? definitely not. Brown Park? Oh yes. Welcome back old friend.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.