Troy, NC 
King's Mountain Point DGC Share
Uploaded By: chainmonkey Hole #2 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 215ft.   3 / 299ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Short Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
No master-Badin here

2-4    4/11/2014   4/18/2014
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 176  Reviewed: 172  Exp: 10.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: King's Mountain Point can be summed up very nicely. Come for a nice park with amazing views of Badin Lake and tolerate a poorly designed nine-hole course. Did I mention the views of the lake?
- The locale is second to none. If this isn't the most scenic course I've ever played (out of 140+ played), it's easily in the top 3. Every hole has a wonderful view of Badin Lake. Hole #3 plays closest to the end of the peninsula, and you might be tempted just to stop and take in the view.
- Is it a bad sign I start with the scenery? That said, there are 9 baskets, all in good condition. Tee signs make it relatively easy to navigate.
- You like variety? You'll get it here. There are holes with elevation, a couple dog legs, more open holes and tighter holes. Add to that holes with no realistic layout and/or design, and this course should have something for everyone. In all seriousness, it's actually quite impressive they fit 9 holes, with an average length of 240 feet (from the long tees) in such a small area of space. This could have been, and maybe should have been, a short, pitch-and-putt course. There was an effort to make this course challenging, so at least that was a success.
- There are a couple decent holes. #1 is a suitable hole. It's an uphill hole, with a fairway that's actually defined and clear. #2 from the shorts was enjoyable as well. At 215 feet, it's one of the few chances to actually make a realistic run at the basket; rather than relying on luck. #9 is a good closing hole. Similar to #2 short, both layouts here give players a chances to work a shot to the basket. After all the other frustration on the course, it's nice to end the round with an earned birdie 2.
- This is definitely a course for the outdoorsman. It's quite a haul just to get here, the closest town is 40 minutes away and you're completely out in nature. There are camp sites close by. Chances are, if you play this course, you're either camping here, live close by or just a disc golf enthusiast, trying to play as many courses as possible (my category). You're not going to accidentally stumble upon this locale; although, if you do, questions should be asked why you were driving on a dirt road for 15 minutes to get to this point.
Cons: This course was clearly not built by disc golfers. I appreciate the park for installing a course, but it's clear they decided to create random and varied angles, looks and layouts for holes without knowing how discs fly.
- There are too many unrealistic holes on this course. When you have a hole that's in the 200 - 250 foot range, and your best bet is to throw two shots in the 100 foot range just to keep it in the fairway, that's a terrible design. There are holes where the dogleg starts almost immediately (always the giveaway it's designed by a non-disc golfer) and ones that have no defined fairway at all. Look at the photos for #3 and 7 to get a sense of this problem.
- Now, add to that the idea that this course has been virtually neglected. There are downed trees and branches throughout this course, adding even more challenge. Based on the most recent course update before I played, fall 2013 versus April 2014 when I played, and the downed trees and branches were a problem six months early. Even if the downed branches were removed, more work would need to be done, mainly more trees cut down to give some holes actual fairways. Look at the photo for #3 short tee and #9 long tee, you'll see boards running along the ground. That's supposed to indicate the fairways. Yeah, good luck with that.
- Add to that, because there are a lack of fairways, the course relies too heavily on luck. You could hit a tree, get a great bounce and end up with the perfect shot. You could repeat that shot, hit the same tree, and have it bounce the opposite direction, deep into the trees and thicket. Some of the rough is solid enough that it's a challenge to just get back onto the fairway. When your tee shot avoids the first nine trees in the fairway, but hits the 10th, then you're having to take three more shots to salvage bogey, that's a pretty poorly constructed hole. On some holes, you would be better off throwing at a 90 degree angle from the fairway, go so far off line that you actually have an approach shot.
- This isn't the course's fault, but I will throw it in here. This course really is a haul to get to. At minimum, you're driving 4.5 miles on a dirt road. The dirt road is in pretty good shape, at least when I played. Still, SUVs and/or cars with four-wheel drive will have an easier time getting here than smaller cars.
Other Thoughts: I felt this way about this course as I did about the chocolate wonderfall at Golden Corral. I give them credit for trying something different, but who's really going to come here because of that? What new audience are you bringing in with that contrived attraction? You can say King's Mountain Point now has a disc golf course, but if it's poorly designed, you're not appealing to anyone. At least the stains from the chocolate wonderfall blend in with the gravy stains on a t-shirt.
- I'd be hard pressed to see any of these holes appear at any advanced-level course. With some maintenance, maybe you could say a couple holes would be average at best. Really, this is just a course that belongs to itself out in the middle of nowhere.
- I'd be more likely to visit this park with the family for the other aspects - scenery, walking trails, picnic areas, even camping. Even if I were doing that, I don't know if I'd want to waste the time to play this course again without some serious overall.
- I've also used the best title for this course. Anyone trying to steal my title gets the plagiarist thumbs down vote.
- This course could easily get a 0 or 0.5 in my book. I'm giving it a 1.0, due heavily on the scenery and also the fact it wasn't the worse course I played that day. Still, there's no reason to play this course. Save the drive time and play Fox Chase or Goose Landing multiple times instead.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A little out of the way

1    8/26/2011   8/26/2011
Review By: NCSU2002
Played: 46  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Surrounding scenery is awesome,lots of restroom/picnic facilities, not crowded, nice baskets, seems to flow nicely and did not get confused despite lack of signs, no rough I saw that would make finding a disc too much of a challenge.
Cons: Only 9 holes, although we played both tees and made a decent 18, No tee pads of any kind on most holes, although they are pretty well marked, lots of brush in fairways and some low-hanging stuff around the tees and baskets, distances are short, but holes still somewhat challenging, oh and this course is several miles of the highway down twisty dirt roads and is somewhat hard to find
Other Thoughts: Very Beautiful course, most likely not worth the drive by itself, but we will make this a part of our day trip next time we play Fox Chase. I recommend you bring some food and some charcoal as there are plenty of outdoor grills and picnic areas and the park is stellar

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Bittersweet 9 holer

1    7/23/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 102  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 7.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's disc golf in a beautiful, scenic park that includes a lake view nearly every where you look. There are Discatchers in great condition with double chains. Two, short fence post things designate the tee areas and are easy enough to find. Umm, did I mention it's really pretty here? The holes were obviously not designed by someone who's played disc golf, but are by no means the worst I've ever played in terms of a layout. Two sets of tees that do a decent job of providing 18 different looks at the baskets instead one tee just being longer and behind the other. There are some very visible signs designating where the hard to find tees are so you won't lose much time tracking down all 9 holes.
Cons: Tees: It's just a big stone/concrete tile, about 2' x 2'. These are located between or just past the two fence post/tee markers that flank both sides. It's bizarre really and a borderline safety hazard if you swing wildly on your follow through.

Distance: The holes are pretty short, nothing over 200' as far as I could tell really. Most players could tee off capably from a standstill, which I advise because there ain't any room on the miniscule dance floor that are the tees and those posts are annoyingly close.

Rough: Too much of it. There really needs to be a club or something, some constant flow of DG'ers to play here b/c the fairways are rife with weeds, occasionally briers, and lots of hopeful saplings. It's very easy to lose sight of a disc in the underbrush here. It's not necessarily thick, it's just every where and it all kind of looks the same so your depth/frame of reference is taxed.

The flow is not super great and the course is situated between two park roads or sidewalk areas so what would be at least a very calm, scenic round is kind of ruined by the sight of other park goers on jet-skis and the like.

Basket #6 has briers growing through it. I tried to stomp them all down but I didn't have anything to cut them down so they'll be back up in no time.

Basket #8 was confused for a trash can apparently, I threw the trash away properly. You can see basket #8 past #6 and vice versa so keep that in mind.
Other Thoughts: There is so much land out here that a course could easily rival a Buckhorn, easily. Alas, this is not the case. It's a mildly dangerous, underwhelming 9 holer in the middle of nowhere. I was hoping the course would at least be very secluded and scenic, for calming, get-back-to-nature kinds of rounds but nope. This course is best described as a recreational activity afterthought. If you're in the area, Lowe Warner in Trow is a much more fun 9 holer and obviously Fox Chase in Albemarle is a must play. 'Tis a shame.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 An opportunity missed

2-4    10/13/2009   10/13/2009
Review By: chainmonkey
Played: 41  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: disc catcher baskets, convenient bath rooms beautiful views of Badin Lake, walking and hiking trails, and fishing areas there is a place to launch your canoe or kayak, there are plenty of picnic tables available to rest and have a snack. Some trees have been cut and some cleaning of the area of the course is underway, much more is needed
Cons: No signage at the course entrance, No distances at tee. Plenty of picnic tables provide a good chance of hitting a picnicker, walking path around course also provides an opportunity of hitting someone. Tee area, well there are no tees just tee markers, a paver, also the area is marked with 4X4's that have the hole number on them and these are located so that you can easily hit your hand on them on your follow through also most of the areas are unleveled. . There are to many short holes and nothing over 300 feet, holes. There are a goodly number of trip hazards, downed trees still laying on the ground, briers, thorns, and fireants. Undergrowth is taking over due to a lack of maintenance.
Other Thoughts: The Uwharrie National Forest consist of over 50,000 acres and they only allowed the use of this small plot for a course, a maximum of 5 holes is all the point can support, there is a multipurpose field that could handle another hole. There is a great area for a course next to the point but that area was not allowed to be used. This was a great opportunity missed by the US Forest Service. As you approach the west end of the parking lot you will see white and blue post on each side of the drive to the rest rooms. The ones on the left are to the 1st tee. With time and a lot of work this could be a fun short course to play but only 9 holes it is diffidently not a destination course, if you are in the area and do not mind that a mile and a half of the trip is on a dirt road you can give it a try, and Fox Chase is close by but a good bit further than 7.7 miles So far I have hit 2 picnic tables the good thing is that they were not being used at the time

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center