Grand Prairie, TX 
Turner Park Share
Uploaded By: strain Hole #5 (Taken 2/2010)
3 / 281ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 66
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Challenges In A Fun Layout

2-4    7/11/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: TejasKajun
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + I appreciated the great use of natural terrain and elevation changes.
+ The tee boxes were solid and comfortable
+ Some of the baskets had tall flags for visual markings
+ I liked the challenges of the trees and tight tunnels that were made naturally (it probably is less challenging in the Winter I assume since its less growth)
+ Enjoyed the 860+ft Hole 18, not because of its length, but because of the challenge it posed through the terrain changes
Cons: - directional markers between basket and next tee box (possibly use painted or arrow shaped paver stones to direct players) so that you know which way to go on your first time playing it

- Holes #5/#6 ground markings and concrete arrows NEED to be repainted. I ended up performing loops to the wrong tee boxes before I saw the very faint arrows on the ground. Contrasting bright/dark paint every month or so won't hurt.

- tee sign vandalism sadly
- trash and waste at the tee boxes and around Hole #12's creeks sadly
- flag markers for some of the baskets would assist
- possibly create a system to let throwers know where the basket is placed at so newcomers (like myself) do not have to walk 3/4 of the fairway to find it... then walk back to their tee box
Other Thoughts: Overall, no course will ever be perfect or maintain that standing very long since there is a critic everywhere (like myself), but I really enjoyed this course.
It was recommended to me as I passed through the area and according to locals I shot very well for a first time player (-2 to +2) on the first rounds.
It was hot and windy and this park allows you to get some lift from the wind and the shade from the trees.
The elevation change and the natural trees, etc. make it fun to play.

Stay accurate, throw consistent, and make placements stay and you will have some good rounds here.

*definitely coming back next time I am in the area*

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Long, multifaceted course

1    4/1/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: Slimrn
Played: 18  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 0.7 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: - This course has a variety of distances which is good and bad. (1000ft 18th hole, really?)

-The signage is adequate to explain the confusing layout.

-I really liked how the baskets had orange flags on top to highlight them.
Cons: -This place taught me what "mandos" means. There are a lot of mandatory obstacles.

-The layout is a bit convoluted. You have to walk pretty far from one "part" opt the course to the next.

-A fair amount of non-DG use here so be ready to yell "FORE!!!"

Other Thoughts: Worth a shot at least once if you live around DFW!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great course

1    1/25/2014   1/26/2014
Review By: freep
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great variety of hole types,tons of elevation changes. Lots of long drives required, I loved it. Well marked signs,easy to find the next hole, also liked the flags on each basket allowing you to see the baskets over hills.
Cons: Could be frustrating for beginners due to length of holes.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth playing if you are in the area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Dallas

1    11/17/2012   5/20/2013
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course used elevation change and wind conditions excellently.
Cons: One hole as a crazy dense bush 20 feet behind one basket. My putter went into it and was never to be seen again.
Other Thoughts: This course used mandos to help prevent discs from going into the street in a way that was well designed.
Many longer holes that require 350 + feet shots to make par or birdie.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice elevation

1    4/13/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a sprawling hilly park. Nearly every hole has elevation in play, with some tough uphill shots, some fun downhill shots and some rollaway greens to add difficulty to the short game. A creek comes into play on a handful of holes, it adds some ob risk without too much chance of lost discs.

There is nice distance variety, with a couple long par 4s requiring drive placement to have a chance at a birdie 3, and some shorter holes that offer birdie and ace opportunities if you hit your lines. There are plenty of open holes with scattered trees and ob road in play that let you rip some drives and work on shot placement. The rest of the holes play through denser trees with some technical lines and a variety of left and right turning shots. I felt like I used a decent variety of discs and line shaping skills on the wooded part of the course.

The concrete tees are fine, as are the baskets. The park was nicely maintained, there's a lot of grass and it was all mowed recently. The signage is good, with directions to the next tee and a good hole layout. The alternate pins can make a big difference in how the course plays.
Cons: I like having alternates that change the length and hole shapes, but when there are long blind holes it would be nice to have them marked on the tee signs so less walking is required. Some of the transitions between holes are pretty long, it adds quite a bit of hilly walking, though at least it's easy to follow if you're paying attention to the tee signs.

A few too many of the holes play pretty open, and don't really make you hit any kind of line. I thought the mandos were a little over-used here, and feel a bit gimmicky. Too many park roads are in play, you'll likely have to wait for cars to go by on several holes and it could be a safety issue on a busy day.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy courses with lots of elevation, and this one uses the available hills well. Beginners will find it a long walk with long holes, but with limited punishment on a lot of the course it's not too frustrating. More experienced players will enjoy the chance to rip some longer drives, and it's always fun to have to take the hills into account.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Turner Park was a Leg Burner

2-4    10/30/2010   11/3/2010
Review By: sheamous
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/24/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Elevation, mandos, shallow creeks (which I totally had to go in for a disc or two with no problem), immaculately kept fairways and greens, close to the highway for a quick round, and lots of variation between holes. I love the rolling hills on this course. Reminds me of courses in Austin. Nice tee boxes and baskets. Pretty easy to navigate. Two putting and approach baskets near hole #1.
Cons: A lot of trees…and not tree alleys. They're everywhere. In the fall it's not too bad but leaf-on gets pretty limited on this course as small windows become nonexistent. Be prepared to smack some bark on this course, as a lot of the trees are low-lying and require many worm burner drives.
Not a good course for beginners, due to technicality. Ams and Pros will love the OBs and Mandos though.
Other Thoughts: This may be the cleanest and best kept course in the DFW area. No trash and I saw park employees picking up trash from the course Saturday 4 times. Saturday minis look fun. One was running behind us and they never pressured us to go faster or get off the course. We appreciated that a lot. They also asked numerous times if we wanted to jump in the tournament. Maybe next time! :) Pros attend the Tuner Park Tune Up and it was pretty cool to watch those guys play.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pro Course Congestion

1    3/14/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: jasondguy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pro course, nice shot variety, great elevation changes, great baskets, great signs, great teeboxes, well maintained. Water hazards, OB's, & mandos make it more challenging. Great use of terrain and park's natural features. Short, mid, and longrange drives, mostly technical, and some bombs.
Cons: Perhaps too many mandos, which leads to why there are so many: 18 holes were squeezed into this park, meaning, some baskets are near each other, some baskets are near teeboxes, the entire course is surrounded by park roads, which create many of the mandos.
Other Thoughts: The course is nice, but is a bit of a trek for me. I will likely only play this course on a weekday again. This place is quickly becoming popular, which means plenty of waiting behind mob golfers and discs flying in behind you before you've holed out.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Turner Park

1    1/9/2010   1/11/2010
Review By: fenceman2022
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: the course is layed out very good has alot of different shots that coem into play. nice shot selection and they keep it very clean.
Cons: there are not alot of long holes 18 is a nice 870'.
Other Thoughts: i Would tell anyone to try this course worht the time.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Hey DFW native disc golfers...Got Hills?

1    11/5/2009   11/18/2009
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 177  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/16/2011
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Hills people yall finally have a course in DFW with real rolling hills,decent distances too.After hole three the course is pretty dang decent.I enjoy playing here for sure.The roads and Mando's make this course harder(a good thing).On high wind days the holes up top as opposed to the holes (down in the hollers) here will proove to be alot more difficult.The fact that discs can and will hit the ground/basket and stand up and roll away here makes peoples nerves go haywire here....Sweeet!
Cons: Mosquito den around hole 10's tee box some times in the year bring Deet..Cars drive fast thru the parks streets sometimes.It's a decent round but the first few holes leave somethijng to be desired but thats my personal thoughts.
Other Thoughts: Park is very open to the public who co-mingle here,The Grand Prarie Womens club meets monthly at the house near hole one.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Top 10 in Metroplex but not world class

2-4    10/6/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.3 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The rating I give might not please some but I think it is very deserving. First off there are some really great holes on this course that make it worth the drive all the time. The elevation is used on every single hole and almost all the greens. And you will feel it in your legs by the time your done, I promise. The bakets are really nice and are labeled so you can pick out the right basket, which is helpful and many times. Some of the memorable holes were 10 and 12. Both were tunnel shots that you have to have an accurate drive or you could get into trouble. Both have a little creek running through them making for a little pucker factor for OB but not for losing plastic. There is a great mix of shots here because you need just about everything you have. You have to be very accurate for the most part and you have to be able to throw low and straight. You also get some holes to air it out. There aren't too "gimmie" birds but you need to get the ones you can when you get to them in order not to lose strokes. The fun factor was really there because like said before almot every single hole is different. You get to thrown uphill, downhill, and everything in between. It is amazing that there is that much elevation in Dallas, it really is. No real places to lose plastic unless you yank your shot over the fence on 9. The gas station is right across the street from 14 so if you need anything you can make a pitstop.
Cons: Some of the greens are too close to other holes making it a little dangerous. There are also a couple of blind greens that could get hairy as well. Right now some of the pads are in akward areas for now making for difficult drives.Too many mandos on this course for my liking, some are needed I understand but I think the mando fairy got a little carried away.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and will get better with time I'm sure. The pads and signs are needed because navigation could be an issue without the map available...print it off, it saved me. I really liked this course and will be back for sure, I just think that they tried to do something with this course that wasnt possible and that was make it a "champion" course which it is not. I read in the post about this course, one guy says "Without the mandos, the course would be a good challenge of skill for the average golfer. With the mandos, it plays like a championship-level course that can easily produce some big numbers." This course is fun and should be in your list to play if you are ever close by, you will enjoy it and it will make you a better golfer.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.