Grand Prairie, TX 
Turner Park Share
Uploaded By: strain Hole #3 (Taken 2/2010)
3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 66
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Elevated Course

1    1/26/2014   1/26/2014
Review By: WaterHole
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I think this course is pretty well laid out. I was able to navigate fairly easily with the signs on the tee pads. This is a very challenging course both in DG and in hiking. This is one course that will always bring you back and make you want more.

Even with multiple roads bordering the course you don't "feel" like you are in the city.
Cons: Really couldn't think of any at this time.
Other Thoughts: I would advise that make sure you are well rested for the hike you take throughout this course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

"Hot" Course

1    8/24/2013   8/27/2013
Review By: The Drake
Played: 89  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 11.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well designed course with plenty of variety to keep you coming back for more. This course has literally everything you could ask for in a course. First and foremost it has elevation which having played in Mobile the last couple of years was a huge plus. Nearly every hole incorporates some sort of elevation adjustment be it from the fairways themselves or even just the putting green. Each hole feels like a new one, meaning you don't ever really throw the same shot twice. You will need every shot, and likely disc in your bag in order to score well. The course itself is well maintained with nice tee pads and accurate tee signs using satellite imaging to help with pin location. There are multiple pins for most holes if you like that sort of thing, though this course in my opinion would be just find with a single set. Plenty of natural OB with creeks, and park roads again add to the challenge of the course. There are also bathrooms on the course near the first few holes with a gas station across from 16 which is a nice bonus for a bathroom break or quick stop for a beverage during those hot rounds.

There are a few true par 4s and even the 18th is a borderline par 5 which is always a nice addition to the game.
Cons: Its Texas, and its hot. I played this course during a relatively "cool" Texas saturday morning and it was a solid 90 degrees. Bring water and protect yourself out there. For those players not in at least decent shape a full round out here will test your stamina. This is 18 holes of some real elevation change.

From a specific hole point of view the only issue I really have with the course is around the back few holes. 13-15 are in very close proximity so a heads up is necessary during busy rounds/tournaments. Even 18 can become problematic with 14 and 15 on the second shot when the pin is in the long. This is only a minor con though.

All and all there really aren't too many flaws with the course. The big thing I would point out is it is not beginner friendly. This is a long course. Based on the scores most people have posted this is not one you're going to run out and score low unless you're on your game.
Other Thoughts: I had the opportunity of playing this course during a weekend getaway to the Dallas-Fortworth area. It had been YEARS since my last golf experience in Texas and I'd forgotten just how many courses where in the area. The reviews I found for Turner are what turned me to this one over the myriad of others and it did not disappoint. I also brought with my my friends who I Was visiting and my wife, non of which are avid disc golfers. They agreed it was a very nice course, but the consistent complaint they had was the length of the course. By the 13th hole they were all pretty tired.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


1    7/10/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 45  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Course has very nice teepads and baskets. Very nice course layout with great signage.
Cons: No real cons here. Only thing that could be a con would be the high amount of traffic this course gets.
Other Thoughts: Great course, another must play.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 impressed

1    7/2/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: texhop58
Played: 50  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *maps on every hole
*great use of park space, designers did a good job of keeping throws away from baseball field and kid area park
*concrete tees
*Baskets had high flags to help spot
*multiple pin settings
*great use of elevation (forcing shots down, then having to throw up a hill)
*well shaded, always a plus for texas courses (that means alot of tree so some may consider a negative lol)
*scenic park (but it looks like in winter may not be so pretty)
*appears to have had alot of thought put into course
*very well maintained and mowed
*two convient stores located at 16ish area, incase you need a refil of a drink
*stairs and bridges between holes....this is great that somebody took time to do this.
*fun factor
*pro and beginers can both play and have a challenge on this course.
*the rolling hills really make the course a truely nice course.
*most of the park is just for disc golf
Cons: *transition between 4 and 5, there are maps at every hole, but for a first timer can be confusing
*i feel like the "epic hole" or "trademark hole" (the hole or holes that may define a course)was missing, but there were 3 or 4 holes that could of been just not quite there. that being said this has the biggest selection of great holes i have played on with probably 14 or 15 of them being well above good.
Other Thoughts: *18...really....871 feet in long setting? up hill slightly before going down hill on the back end? this was close to the epic hole i was talking about but needed something else.
*hole 12 almost had the epic feel, but i think the creek needed to be a little more wide and deep as it almost circles the entire hole
*overall probably one of the top courses i have ever played
*park north of hole 1 (behind tee pad, not to parking lot to side of hole), if you park west..you will have a long walk back from 18

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Hills Are Alive With Ching

1    5/28/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: DiffikultD
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In the mostly flat North Texas landcape, the elevation changes really set this course apart, especially since it's not out in the middle of nowhere. I've been playing for almost five years in DFW, and only recently found out about Turner Park. I was amazed at the amount of uphill and downhill holes.

Despite the numerous large shade trees, the course has an open feel to it. There is very little of the scrub brush that you find on the outskirts of the DFW area (as always, do keep an eye out for the occasional locust tree and its spines). Unless you go way off course, you won't spend any time hunting for your disc. There is a creek running through the park, but again, nothing from which you can't easily retrieve your plastic.

It's easy to see that a good amount of thought went into the design of the course. It's in a mixed use park, but the mandos and the layout help to avoid the non disc golfers.

All the tee pads are concrete and in great condition. Some feel a little short, but for the most part they're relative to the distance of the hole. Almost all tees have benches/picnic tables, trash cans, and shade, either on the box itself or very close by. Every tee has a sign, showing accurate hole info and a course map.

The baskets are in great shape, and on the longer holes, have a tall, bright flag on top to help locate the pin. (Another nice touch: at the alternate pin locations, a 2' - 3' piece of white PVC pipe is placed in the post hole. On the longer holes, this makes it very easy to tell what position the basket's in from the tee box.)
Cons: There isn't much to not like about Turner Park. As others have said, the trash cans were overflowing, but then again, that was the ONLY place I saw any trash on the course.

This is not a course at which you should expect to get in a quick round. It's amost 7,000 feet in hole distance alone. Add to that the elevation and the often long walks between holes, and you will feel every bit of your round when finished. (I should note that I played on Memorial Day, and the temperature was creeping into the mid nineties by the time I finished. If you plan to play here any time between May and October, go early!)
Other Thoughts: The layout rewards long and accurate shots of all kinds but, for the most part, you don't have to be huge off the tee. There are definitely some tight, difficult lines, but they feel natural and make good use of the landscape. You won't find any gimmicky or made-up holes here. You do have to be very good around the pins, though. Most of the baskets are situated either on a slope, or right at the edge of pretty severe drop-off. A 20 ft putt can easily become twice that coming back.

I just played here for the first time. It was hot, humid, and I posted a terrible score, and I can't wait to go back.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Precision course

2-4    11/27/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Simply a fun precision course. Nice concrete tee boxes and good baskets with well placed bridges/stairs to make sure your navigation is as dry as possible. It also has awesome maps scattered throughout the course to make sure you don't get lost, This course has a lot of fun looks. Be sure to bring your creativity. This course is not built for "one shot" players.
Cons: I truly struggle to come up with legitimate "cons" for this course. The 800+ #18 seemed random.
Other Thoughts: Be mindful of the maps (or bring your own). The course is built in three parts separated by the park roads.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Competitive Course

1    10/23/2011   10/25/2011
Review By: Bmar04
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to find just right off I-30 and belt line. Excellent course to practice a combination of throws and discs. Baskets are placed awesome to really push those risk vs. reward shots. Signs of each whole are posted and tees are easy to find, would advise to always print out your own map though. Great course to play competition matches with friends and practice if you are solo. There are also baskets to practice throws by the playground.
Cons: The terrain is awesome but I played after a rain and it got pretty muddy and slick at times walking up and down some of the slopes to the baskets, so have some good soles on your shoes.
Other Thoughts: Will definitely play this course again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/20/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: papamullins
Played: 27  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful park
-Elevation change - you don't get to see much of this in the D/FW area
-A few porta-potties (sp?)
-Benches at quite a few tees
-Mix of open and wooded shots, so you're not constantly getting beat on by TX sun
-Great signage
-Some challenging shots here. A few holes in particular will make you really work to hit those lines.
-Loved the metal bridges and stairs throughout the course. It's obvious a lot of time, $$$ and hard work has gone into Turner Park to make it enjoyable for anyone that comes through.
Cons: -The only negative that immediately comes to mind is the slight confusion about some tee placements, which I detailed below. I will update this if I can think of any later on.
Other Thoughts: If you're as blind as I am - this might help:
To get to hole 5: walk down the street from the basket @ 4 and cross the street entrance you came in to the park. There's a dirt path on the other side of the road that will lead you to the tee box.
To get to 7: Walk up the street a bit and around the wooded area to find the tee box, just beyond 6's basket.

Hole 18 is a monster when the basket is at the long pin!

Overall I really enjoyed this course. The park was in great shape - baskets and chains were sturdy, concrete boxes, some of the best signs I have seen. It's definitely one of my favorites in the D/FW area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Course for all levels of play

1    5/31/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: jbain2012
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was actually pretty impressive. When you first get there it looks like you will just be playing a make shift course in an open field but it is actually a lot trickier and more fun than it looks. I like the up hills and low lying tree branches on most of the holes it was challenging for me because the course i play is always downhill and the trees are clear for higher shots.
Cons: The creek running through the course is nasty kinda like sewage water so play it safe on those holes and lay it up in the grass.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course that is a diamond in the rough anybody in the area should definitely hit up this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Very challenging indeed!

1    3/15/2011   3/17/2011
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 253  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the best course that I have played on in terms of variety of shot, elevation, risk reward, and length, both short and long. Some tee boxes are elevated and some baskets are elevated so these are both a plus. Also there is the risk of missing a putt and having it roll off/down the hill so that is good as well. A lot of trees on this course. Also there is a stream that flows on the front 9, but not so deep that you couldn't get your disc if you lost it. You could use a variety of shots on this course. Hole #12 has a water threat on it. Hole #13 has some length and has a lot of trees between the tee box and the basket.
There are also several holes that have mandos.
Hole #18 is a beast. 800+ feet, 400 feet of which are up hill and there are several trees in your way before you get to the crest of the hill, by this time you still have at least 300+ feet to go to the basket that is guarded by trees.
Many holes are surrounded by trees which makes a clean shot that much more difficult but also that much more of a challenge. In my opinion there is something for every level of player on this course. Overall it is a great course.
Cons: No bathrooms at this park. The porta potties needed empty/cleaned months ago. The transition from #4 to #5 was a little confusing, luckily I saw a local that pointed me in the right direction. People need to pick up their trash. For such a great course there was a lot of trash on the ground here, sad really.
Other Thoughts: I would have given this course a 4.5 if there were some restrooms and the course was cleaner. I realize this is not the courses fault, but nevertheless it does knock this stellar course down a bit. There was a playground there for the family. The locals were very friendly, and let me play thru and directed me in the correct direction upon me asking. I also asked a local about some places to buy discs and he told me about 2 different places so that was a plus. I wouldn't say that a first timer couldn't navigate this course alone, but I could see where there might be sometimes where you might want a spotter. I played here on a weekday in the afternoon and it wasn't overly crowded but there was traffic. In the spring time when there was more rain, the water threat could be great on #12 especially and maybe #5, #10 and some others on the front 9. Also when the trees get leaves it will make this beauty play even tougher. I will play this course again, and travel 400 miles to do so on my vacation. Great course

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.