Grand Prairie, TX 
Turner Park Share
Uploaded By: strain Hole #4 (Taken 2/2010)
3 / 332ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket

Reviews: 71
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Great course, tons of fun, but a hell of a walk

1    7/26/2015   7/26/2015
Review By: mavsfan0434
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Pretty much everything
Cons: -Pretty much nothing
Other Thoughts: I know it is a short review, but sometimes when a course is great you just let it be. I'm a newer player, and overweight, so this course really challenged me physically. Can't wait to go back and play it again.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Turner Park

5+    3/15/2015   5/15/2015
Review By: jtmoney
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation changes abound in this great 18 hole course. Multiple pin positions do make for different shots. Some of my personal favorite holes- Hole 2- great wide open shot that is deceptive, OB road on your right and woods behind the basket - a precise shot is more beneficial than just airing this one out, Hole 3 - low ceiling downhill with a possible skip- definitely aceable but the trees make for some great lines and strategy- pin is on a slope and will make you pay with a long roll out if you miss this putt. Hole 7- one of the very few holes in which a thumber or tomahawk is possibly the best line from the tee- You will want to throw this one multiple times it is very rewarding to throw - as the trees grow it will become harder and harder another rollout on a bad putt and your birdie will become bogie on this hole. Hole 10 has a line to the basket over a stream that snakes through the fairway takes precise placement to get your disc up by the basket from the tee. Hole 16 is really challenging if the basket is on the island- mandos keep discs from going out over the road and trees create real obstacles to airing it out over the creek. Hole 18 favors the longer arms but is pretty taxing for me after playing this course.
Cons: When there is a lot of wind this course is really difficult- Holes 1,2, 4, will have the wind throw your disc at parked or moving cars, in the street or parking lot. It is a part of this course but you have to play something stable or the wind will turn your disc over and send it into oncoming traffic. Don't park by hole 1's basket.
Other Thoughts: It is a fantastic course, the design is excellent, and it is really challenging, a good work out and you will use every shot in your bag. Great fun-

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


2-4    4/20/2013   4/26/2013
Review By: Ryan.Durban
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful Park, multiple pin locations, requires every type of shot in the book. Very diverse, technical course
Cons: Could use another set of tee pads. Extremely long hole #18 that can be discouraging.
Other Thoughts: Other than a lady who brought her dogs to play in the fairway of one of the holes by the creek, there is nothing bad about this course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  one of the top courses in DFW

5+    4/13/2013   4/18/2013
Review By: BangChaians
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great elevation changes and a mix of technical shots and big bombs! The course is very well maintained and has several alternate pin locations. This course will make you a better golfer because it is quite a challenge. Concrete tee pads and signs on every hole. There are a lot of dangerous putts on the side of hills where the dreaded roll away can get you if you come up short, this adds to the risk reward factor.
Cons: If you are new to the course you might have a little trouble going from hole 4 to 5, just walk up the road passing hole 12 on your left.
Other Thoughts: Jim Dart is very dedicated to this course and is always looking for ways to improve the course and make it more challenging. They have just announced another new set of alternate pins to be permanently installed.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course in the Heart of DFW

5+    3/12/2013   3/12/2013
Review By: thejake78
Played: 21  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course is set in a well-kept city park
-Two practice baskets at the start of the course
-Concrete tee boxes
-Good signage with maps that show pin locations and distances
-A few benches and tables throughout the course
-Course makes use of ample elevation changes throughout the park
-Variety of lines will reward those who have several kinds of shots in their arsenals
-Good use of water (#12 in particular with it's creek that winds back and forth the length of the fairway)
-Big arms will have a few opportunities to air it out, particularly #18 long which is listed at 870ft.
Cons: -Course plays close to the road in a few places- #1, #2, #4, #6, #11, #13, #16, #17, #18. #11 and #13 play along Belt Line Rd, which is a very busy street, but the risk of throwing onto the road there is a bit less than the others
-#3 plays close to a pavilion and playground (marked OB of course)
-Most of the water is pretty shallow on the course, but it can get stagnant and nasty, and there are a couple of deeper spots.
-#8 plays next to both private property and a City of Grand Prairie facility.
-There is a little bit of poison ivy present, like a lot of other DFW courses. Be mindful.
-The path between #4 and #5 is a little tricky at first: follow the arrow that points to the left of the pin locations on #4, cross the road to the south, keep the creek on your right til you get to #5
Other Thoughts: This is a gem of a course in the middle of the Metroplex. While not the most technical of courses, it will test your ability to hit your lines, particularly up and down. It will challenge at times, but is still fit for a beginner (as long as they don't mind the hilly walk). The elevation is truly well-utilized in the design: uphill, downhill...sometimes both on the same hole. I am fortunate that I work fairly close to this course and can get in a round after work most of the year.If you are in the area (it's close to SIx Flags, Rangers Ballpark in Arlington, Lone Star Park, Verizon Theater, Palace of Wax/Ripley's Believe It or Not), bring your bag and take in a round at a great course!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Turner Park

1    9/21/2012   9/22/2012
Review By: CyclistOK
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course middle of the day on a friday. There are two practice baskets located adjacent to the first tee for warm up, but the course is designed so that the first 2 holes offer relatively easy shots that warm you into your round.

This course will test a wide range of shots in your bag. Unlike the majority of courses in the area, a long, accurate, left to right shot will get greatly rewarded here.

The course has a good variety of long and short holes.The longer holes offer a variety of driving conditions, from ones that are more open, but benefit from specific shot placement, to those that require proper placement for a chance at par. Shorter holes also vary in this respect, but only one hole offers an unimpeded shot (#2), and on this hole, a little too much distance will put you in a tough place. While some holes can be technical, they are quite fair, and hitting the proper line is rewarded. There are a few opportunities for risk-reward choices on shots (#2, 3, 11, 12, 16) where taking the best line can lead to some trouble if it isn't hit with the right angle or speed.

The elevation changes in the area are used to great effect, and add to the epic feel of the course. Many of the putting areas feature slopes that lead to some scary situations if you fly one past the basket.

The course was very well maintained, with the foliage near the fairway cleared and the grass mowed. Benches and trashcans were emptied and easily accessible along the length of the course. Large amount of shade protect from the heat. Maps are provided on every hole. The walk is great excersise (may be a (-) for some).

I came across 2 groups of player one of which let me play through, and the other which finished before I caught them, both groups where very friendly. While this might be more crowded than your usual course, for the quality compared to other courses in the area, this was not crowded.
Cons: Although maps are provided on the signs for every hole, the walk between 4 and 5 is not intuitive. There are spray painted arrows directing you to the next tee, but getting lost would not be impossible for those without a map to carry.

There is one set of tees, with the baskets at either 1 of 2 locations (long or short). on a couple of the holes with blind tee shots, when you tee off you do not know where the basket is. On one shot I put the drive right next to one of the locations only to find that the basket was elsewhere. Throwing two discs on the blind holes, one to each possible location may be a good way to account for this.

No water fountains on the course means bring your own.

Trees separating the park from the road would make this course feel even better, but I'm not picky.
Other Thoughts: This course offers some of the best disc golf in the area. While not as technical as some courses, this course will make you hit your lines, good shots will be rewarded and bad shots will be punished, but you will be able to find your disc.

There is not much water on this course, but there is enough to make a couple of the holes interesting. If you happen to hit the water, your disc will be easy to find and retrieve without any special tools.

This course will be playable for a wide range of players, but probably not for your first time, or if you can't throw beyond 200 ft.

Overall, a must play in the DFW area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best in DFW

1    5/28/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 56  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
- Great variety of elevation, trees, and distances
- Well maintained grassy fairways
- Excellent teepads and signage
- Very challenging without being annoying, if that makes sense to anybody
- If I had to nitpick, probably the overfilled trash cans, but that is more of an indictment on the people playing than the course itself
Other Thoughts:
- This is easily one of the best courses I've played in DFW. I didn't get a particularly good score, but I didn't feel like I played poorly either; it's just a very fun and challenging course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    1/14/2012   1/15/2012
Review By: Fast Eddie
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: overall a great course nice tee boxes. easy to read signs at every hole . great elevation change much like my home coures munson park in denison tx.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: my first time playing here was also my first tournament hole 18 was in the long position they said over 1000 feet. watch out for the creeks on 10 & 12 .

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 New Favorite Course

1    5/19/2011   5/21/2011
Review By: rbsold
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Absolutely enjoyed this course. I'm from Houston, so I never get to see these kind of rolling hills. It's a beautiful park with a nice stream going all the way through it that adds challenge to every hole. The trees create some low ceilings on a few holes that adds to the versatility of the course. It has long open holes, short finesse ones as well. Nice teepads and signs with all the information. The course has all types of shots mixed in, not very dominant towards one throwing style. Will deffinitely love to come back, I personally think the course is underrated on here.
Cons: When I was there, there was quite a bit of trash, but I didnt really mind it, nor did I break out a garbage bag and go to work, so I cant fuss too much. Also there needs to be more signs pointing to the next teepad. a little confusing.
Other Thoughts: If you're in DFW, you have to hit this course up, It's my favorite course right now(even though I've only played like 15-16 courses). Wish it was in North Houston.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Texas Beauty

1    3/23/2011   3/24/2011
Review By: sandford
Played: 25  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: OVERALL FUN FACTOR (16% weight) - 5 - I enjoyed this course so much, one of the favorites I have played so far. I had this sense of hope that I could make my disc do something really cool as I stepped up to each tee - I think that was inspired by the course.
COURSE DESIGN (14% weight) - 5 - Course design is fantastic. Located in a very large park, but mostly out of the way from other non-DG park goers. All the holes are well thought out with various tree, water, hill locations that force you to use a variety of shots.
SIGNS/MAPS/MARKERS (11% weight) - 3 - Signs at each tee are very descriptive to tell you how to play the hole, etc. Only thing missing were signs after each basket pointing to the location of the next tee pad.
TEE PADS (8% weight) - 4.5 - Liked the large concrete tee pads which taper down to point in the direction of the target
ELEVATION (8% weight) - 5 - I love the use of elevation in this course, throwing up over hills to the other side, down valleys and back up and both uphill and downhill shots. Very few simple flat holes.
SCENIC BEAUTY (8% weight) - 5 - This is a beautiful park, well kept and nice streams and landscaping
BASKETS (5% weight) - 5 - Baskets in great shape and well marked with flags to see from far away. Basket placements make for strategic putting - on edges of hills and near trees, etc. there are multiple pin placements that get rotated by the park also.
EPIC HOLES (5% weight) - 5 - Hole #12 with the s-curving stream running through is a keeper!
DISTANCE VARIETY (5% weight) - 5 - Great variety of short and long holes here.
SHOT VARIETY (5% weight) - 5 - I had to use every shot I know how to throw
FOLIAGE MAINTENANCE (3% weight) - 5 - Well maintained park
MIX OF TIGHT AND OPEN (3% weight) - 5 - The tight holes are that way because the throwing lines are set up through large trees have to keep control of both horizontal and vertical control of the disc. Open holes provided some "whew" type thoughts of relief when you step up to the tee pad because the tighter ones make you think so much.
OVERALL CHALLENGE (3% weight) - 5 - Good challenge, but not to a point of discouragement.
Cons: BENCHES / TRASH BINS (3% weight) - 2 - There are plenty of benches in the park, but none at the tee pads. There is a trash can every few holes. Could use benches, so I'm listing this as a con. Also could have used a bathroom there.
Other Thoughts: Locals are great too. I met up with another DGCR guy and swapped tags, he brought his friend along.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.