Grand Prairie, TX 
Turner Park Share
Uploaded By: strain Hole #18 (Taken 2/2010)
5 / 870ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 66
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Excellent

2-4    4/20/2013   4/26/2013
Review By: Ryan.Durban
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful Park, multiple pin locations, requires every type of shot in the book. Very diverse, technical course
Cons: Could use another set of tee pads. Extremely long hole #18 that can be discouraging.
Other Thoughts: Other than a lady who brought her dogs to play in the fairway of one of the holes by the creek, there is nothing bad about this course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 one of the top courses in DFW

5+    4/13/2013   4/18/2013
Review By: BangChaians
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great elevation changes and a mix of technical shots and big bombs! The course is very well maintained and has several alternate pin locations. This course will make you a better golfer because it is quite a challenge. Concrete tee pads and signs on every hole. There are a lot of dangerous putts on the side of hills where the dreaded roll away can get you if you come up short, this adds to the risk reward factor.
Cons: If you are new to the course you might have a little trouble going from hole 4 to 5, just walk up the road passing hole 12 on your left.
Other Thoughts: Jim Dart is very dedicated to this course and is always looking for ways to improve the course and make it more challenging. They have just announced another new set of alternate pins to be permanently installed.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Course in the Heart of DFW

5+    3/12/2013   3/12/2013
Review By: thejake78
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course is set in a well-kept city park
-Two practice baskets at the start of the course
-Concrete tee boxes
-Good signage with maps that show pin locations and distances
-A few benches and tables throughout the course
-Course makes use of ample elevation changes throughout the park
-Variety of lines will reward those who have several kinds of shots in their arsenals
-Good use of water (#12 in particular with it's creek that winds back and forth the length of the fairway)
-Big arms will have a few opportunities to air it out, particularly #18 long which is listed at 870ft.
Cons: -Course plays close to the road in a few places- #1, #2, #4, #6, #11, #13, #16, #17, #18. #11 and #13 play along Belt Line Rd, which is a very busy street, but the risk of throwing onto the road there is a bit less than the others
-#3 plays close to a pavilion and playground (marked OB of course)
-Most of the water is pretty shallow on the course, but it can get stagnant and nasty, and there are a couple of deeper spots.
-#8 plays next to both private property and a City of Grand Prairie facility.
-There is a little bit of poison ivy present, like a lot of other DFW courses. Be mindful.
-The path between #4 and #5 is a little tricky at first: follow the arrow that points to the left of the pin locations on #4, cross the road to the south, keep the creek on your right til you get to #5
Other Thoughts: This is a gem of a course in the middle of the Metroplex. While not the most technical of courses, it will test your ability to hit your lines, particularly up and down. It will challenge at times, but is still fit for a beginner (as long as they don't mind the hilly walk). The elevation is truly well-utilized in the design: uphill, downhill...sometimes both on the same hole. I am fortunate that I work fairly close to this course and can get in a round after work most of the year.If you are in the area (it's close to SIx Flags, Rangers Ballpark in Arlington, Lone Star Park, Verizon Theater, Palace of Wax/Ripley's Believe It or Not), bring your bag and take in a round at a great course!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Turner Park

1    9/21/2012   9/22/2012
Review By: CyclistOK
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course middle of the day on a friday. There are two practice baskets located adjacent to the first tee for warm up, but the course is designed so that the first 2 holes offer relatively easy shots that warm you into your round.

This course will test a wide range of shots in your bag. Unlike the majority of courses in the area, a long, accurate, left to right shot will get greatly rewarded here.

The course has a good variety of long and short holes.The longer holes offer a variety of driving conditions, from ones that are more open, but benefit from specific shot placement, to those that require proper placement for a chance at par. Shorter holes also vary in this respect, but only one hole offers an unimpeded shot (#2), and on this hole, a little too much distance will put you in a tough place. While some holes can be technical, they are quite fair, and hitting the proper line is rewarded. There are a few opportunities for risk-reward choices on shots (#2, 3, 11, 12, 16) where taking the best line can lead to some trouble if it isn't hit with the right angle or speed.

The elevation changes in the area are used to great effect, and add to the epic feel of the course. Many of the putting areas feature slopes that lead to some scary situations if you fly one past the basket.

The course was very well maintained, with the foliage near the fairway cleared and the grass mowed. Benches and trashcans were emptied and easily accessible along the length of the course. Large amount of shade protect from the heat. Maps are provided on every hole. The walk is great excersise (may be a (-) for some).

I came across 2 groups of player one of which let me play through, and the other which finished before I caught them, both groups where very friendly. While this might be more crowded than your usual course, for the quality compared to other courses in the area, this was not crowded.
Cons: Although maps are provided on the signs for every hole, the walk between 4 and 5 is not intuitive. There are spray painted arrows directing you to the next tee, but getting lost would not be impossible for those without a map to carry.

There is one set of tees, with the baskets at either 1 of 2 locations (long or short). on a couple of the holes with blind tee shots, when you tee off you do not know where the basket is. On one shot I put the drive right next to one of the locations only to find that the basket was elsewhere. Throwing two discs on the blind holes, one to each possible location may be a good way to account for this.

No water fountains on the course means bring your own.

Trees separating the park from the road would make this course feel even better, but I'm not picky.
Other Thoughts: This course offers some of the best disc golf in the area. While not as technical as some courses, this course will make you hit your lines, good shots will be rewarded and bad shots will be punished, but you will be able to find your disc.

There is not much water on this course, but there is enough to make a couple of the holes interesting. If you happen to hit the water, your disc will be easy to find and retrieve without any special tools.

This course will be playable for a wide range of players, but probably not for your first time, or if you can't throw beyond 200 ft.

Overall, a must play in the DFW area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best in DFW

1    5/28/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Great variety of elevation, trees, and distances
- Well maintained grassy fairways
- Excellent teepads and signage
- Very challenging without being annoying, if that makes sense to anybody
Cons:
- If I had to nitpick, probably the overfilled trash cans, but that is more of an indictment on the people playing than the course itself
Other Thoughts:
- This is easily one of the best courses I've played in DFW. I didn't get a particularly good score, but I didn't feel like I played poorly either; it's just a very fun and challenging course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 awesome

1    1/14/2012   1/15/2012
Review By: Fast Eddie
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: overall a great course nice tee boxes. easy to read signs at every hole . great elevation change much like my home coures munson park in denison tx.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: my first time playing here was also my first tournament hole 18 was in the long position they said over 1000 feet. watch out for the creeks on 10 & 12 .

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 New Favorite Course

1    5/19/2011   5/21/2011
Review By: rbsold
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Absolutely enjoyed this course. I'm from Houston, so I never get to see these kind of rolling hills. It's a beautiful park with a nice stream going all the way through it that adds challenge to every hole. The trees create some low ceilings on a few holes that adds to the versatility of the course. It has long open holes, short finesse ones as well. Nice teepads and signs with all the information. The course has all types of shots mixed in, not very dominant towards one throwing style. Will deffinitely love to come back, I personally think the course is underrated on here.
Cons: When I was there, there was quite a bit of trash, but I didnt really mind it, nor did I break out a garbage bag and go to work, so I cant fuss too much. Also there needs to be more signs pointing to the next teepad. a little confusing.
Other Thoughts: If you're in DFW, you have to hit this course up, It's my favorite course right now(even though I've only played like 15-16 courses). Wish it was in North Houston.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Texas Beauty

1    3/23/2011   3/24/2011
Review By: sandford
Played: 25  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: OVERALL FUN FACTOR (16% weight) - 5 - I enjoyed this course so much, one of the favorites I have played so far. I had this sense of hope that I could make my disc do something really cool as I stepped up to each tee - I think that was inspired by the course.
COURSE DESIGN (14% weight) - 5 - Course design is fantastic. Located in a very large park, but mostly out of the way from other non-DG park goers. All the holes are well thought out with various tree, water, hill locations that force you to use a variety of shots.
SIGNS/MAPS/MARKERS (11% weight) - 3 - Signs at each tee are very descriptive to tell you how to play the hole, etc. Only thing missing were signs after each basket pointing to the location of the next tee pad.
TEE PADS (8% weight) - 4.5 - Liked the large concrete tee pads which taper down to point in the direction of the target
ELEVATION (8% weight) - 5 - I love the use of elevation in this course, throwing up over hills to the other side, down valleys and back up and both uphill and downhill shots. Very few simple flat holes.
SCENIC BEAUTY (8% weight) - 5 - This is a beautiful park, well kept and nice streams and landscaping
BASKETS (5% weight) - 5 - Baskets in great shape and well marked with flags to see from far away. Basket placements make for strategic putting - on edges of hills and near trees, etc. there are multiple pin placements that get rotated by the park also.
EPIC HOLES (5% weight) - 5 - Hole #12 with the s-curving stream running through is a keeper!
DISTANCE VARIETY (5% weight) - 5 - Great variety of short and long holes here.
SHOT VARIETY (5% weight) - 5 - I had to use every shot I know how to throw
FOLIAGE MAINTENANCE (3% weight) - 5 - Well maintained park
MIX OF TIGHT AND OPEN (3% weight) - 5 - The tight holes are that way because the throwing lines are set up through large trees have to keep control of both horizontal and vertical control of the disc. Open holes provided some "whew" type thoughts of relief when you step up to the tee pad because the tighter ones make you think so much.
OVERALL CHALLENGE (3% weight) - 5 - Good challenge, but not to a point of discouragement.
Cons: BENCHES / TRASH BINS (3% weight) - 2 - There are plenty of benches in the park, but none at the tee pads. There is a trash can every few holes. Could use benches, so I'm listing this as a con. Also could have used a bathroom there.
Other Thoughts: Locals are great too. I met up with another DGCR guy and swapped tags, he brought his friend along.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    2/19/2011   2/21/2011
Review By: gek76
Played: 38  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 11.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Each hole was unique. Never felt like I was throwing the same hole over and over.
Loved the use of the hills. The layout really took advantage of the hills. Making you throw up hill, down hill or over hills.
Well marked mandatories. Most tree mandatories are spray painted with an arrow and Road/Out of Bounds where marked on Tee Signs.
Water hazards where fun but not intimidating. No giant pond to throw over but nice pretty creeks.
Great signs.
Excellent Concrete Tees.
Great baskets.
Cons: Would be nice if there was a marker pointing to next tee. Luckily I hooked up with a local other wise I would have spent a few minutes trying to find the next tee.
Other Thoughts: Was up in the area and decided to try out a new park. Though it took me longer to drive to the park then I anticipated, GPS routed me a really weird way, I wasn't disappointed with the course. Park was clean and well taken care of. It felt safe. Plenty of other disc golfers around yet didn't feel crowded. Started out playing alone but quickly hooked up with a local. If you see Steve with his black lab ask to play a round with him. He was friendly, knew the course well and helped me understand the layout of each hole. They have installed metal stairs in a couple of places on the path between holes. Watch your step on stairs, easy to misjudge the step size( seemed like each step was a different width ) and stumble. Park seemed dog friendly but you would want to keep them on a leash because of the park road that crosses the course. Except for the 2 sets of stairs you could easily push a stroller or cart around the course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Turn and return

1    2/16/2011   2/16/2011
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great DG course. I wikl come back to play again. Full review in other box...
Cons: No real cons "cept no alt tee pads... but variety of lengths on this course makes it not as important... if many were way long I would loke some shorter choices...
Other Thoughts: This is my disc golf course rating system. Each element of the course is worth ˝ disc for a total of 10, ˝ disc units or 5 full discs of rating.
My 10 categories are:
1. Quality of tee pads.
2. Quality of signage, both individual hole signs as well as a sign board and course layout at the hole one beginning location.
3. Course amenities. Benches at tees, garbage cans on course, disc bag posts/hooks, next tee arrows, etc.
4. Overall park amenities. Things like bathrooms, drinking fountains, playground areas, anything that improves the overall location.
5. Overall use of available terrain features. How well did the designers use what they had to work with?
6. Changes in elevation. Some courses have this occurring naturally. Others have created it. Either way it is vital that a good course is beyond flat… even in Iowa or Nebraska.
7. Variety of hole length. Is it mixed up? Some long, some short. Keep things interesting.
8. Tee and basket options. Are there tee options and/or alternate basket locations? Can the course be played different on different visits?
9. Signature hole? Is there one hole in specific that leaves an impression? Creates a unique memory?
10. Fun Factor - Purely subjective on my part. Did I have fun?

Turner Park, Grand Prairie, TX

1. Yes. Good tee pads.
2. Yes. Good signage on posts. Main map on each tee sign to show transitions. Multiple pin locations shown.
3. Yes. Trash cans, benches, bridges over creeks. All well done.
4. Yes. Overall nice clean park. Benches, BBQ grills, playground equipment, bathrooms, water fountain, etc.
5. Yes. Very well done. Flows well through park. Minimal cross over of other park users. Creek areas and hilly sections were well incorporated into hole designs.
6. Yes. Existing elevation and terrain is incorporated well into course layout.
7. Yes. Some longer, some shorter. A good mix is offered.
8. Yes/no. No tee options but there are alt. pin locations here.
9. Yes. I might pick 5 as a great example of this course… has it all… elevation, water, trees, protected basket. Not too long for amateurs.
10. Yes. I had big fun. A local could play here every week and it would always plan great. Could host a tourney well here, too.
11.
Rating = 9 yes, 1 no = 4.5 disc rating

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.