Grand Prairie, TX 
Turner Park Share
Uploaded By: strain Hole #16 (Taken 2/2010)
4 / 536ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 66
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Elevation, Grass, Technical - Has It All

1    5/17/2014   5/18/2014
Review By: Topher024
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful course that's well maintained. A nice mixture of long bomber holes as well as shorter technical shots with trees and very minor water hazards. Great use of elevation.

One box per hole, but basket positions are rotated from 2-3 locations based on a weekly schedule. I really like seeing the baskets flagged.
Cons: A couple spots where I couldn't immediately find the next box, but other players were more than helpful.
Other Thoughts: I met Jim, the course designer. Great guy and he hooked me up with a used driver to replace one I'd lost at home just before leaving for DFW.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 favorite course

5+    5/14/2013   5/15/2013
Review By: Tremayne
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my favorite course in the area for these reasons:

1) It's a very pretty park throughout all 18 holes. It's all grass, rolling hills and big trees.
2) Lot's of shade. Except for holes 1 and 2 most of the rest of course plays under shaded fairways. Very important for Texas.
3) Course has an even number of dogleg left, right and straight holes. Also, a mix of shorter birdie holes and a few bomber holes that are par 4 or 5.
4) There are benches near the tee pads throughout the course. Don't really need to carry a stool here. And the benches are almost always in the shade.
5) There are water hazards on this course and other out-of-bounds. In my opinion the more obstacles the better, more interesting and challenging. Water can come into play on holes 5, 8 (right and deep), 10, 11, 12, 13, 16 and 17. Hole 12 in particular requires you to cross the same creek about 3 times.
6) Great elevation changes on many of the holes. Hole 3 is downhill, hole 4 is uphill, hole 5 is sometimes uphill, hole 7 is across a small valley, 8 is downhill, 9 is uphill, 13 is a huge hole with a downhill drive across a creek and into a treed valley and then uphill from there. Hole 14 is downhill and 15 back up. Hole 16 is another hole for bombers, starts level and then runs downhill towards a creek. Hole 18, a par 5, requires 3 big shots, the first uphill, the next level and the approach is downhill.
7) There are very well-run minis on Saturday morning and Tuesday evenings.
8) Easy parking near the first hole.
9) The course criss crosses at a few points which allows you to skip past slower playing groups.
10) There are TWO practices baskets near hole 1 which allows you to putt back and forth.
11) The course is near a major highway (I 30) which makes it easy to get to.
Cons: Used to be a fair amount of poison ivy but now that the course is a few years older that seems to have improved a lot.
Other Thoughts: As for righty/lefty bias I would classify the holes this way:
Hole 1: slight advantage righties (OB road along right and short pin is dogleg left)
Hole 2: even (mostly open)
Hole 3: advantage righties (dogleg left)
Hole 4: even
Hole 5: advantage lefties (unless pin is short left which favors righties...overall, slight advantage lefties)
Hole 6: slight advantage righties (OB along right and most pin locations left)
Hole 7: even (probably the advantage here goes to the overhand throwers. Left placement favors lefties but hole is so short it gets birdied by everyone about evenly).
Hole 8: even (hole favors straight throwers in main location...also lefty and righty alt locations)
Hole 9: slight advantage righties (one position is even, the other favors righties)
Hole 10: slight advantage lefties (main location is even, straightaway, other locations favor lefty)
Hole 11: slight advantage righties (main location favors righties, short location favors lefty but a birdie opportunity for both)
Hole 12: even (dangerous for everyone)
Hole 13: advantage lefties. difficult off the tee for righties. strong dogleg right.
Hole 14: even. favors the straight thrower.
Hole 15: slight advantage lefty but really depends on hole location.
Hole 16: even. Drive favors a power righty with an S drive. Approaches favor the lefty.
Hole 17: slight advantage righties, especially in short location.
Hole 18: even. slight advantage off the tee for lefties, approaches to pin favor righties.

Add it up and you get a well-balanced course and one that requires a good all around game.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Crown Jewel of the metroplex

5+    6/15/2013   4/30/2013
Review By: MPG15970
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 6/17/2013
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course will test your shot skills as well as stamina and endurance. Accuracy and long shot ability will get you a respectable round.
Cons: The course is not close enough to me to play daily.
Other Thoughts: An overall awesome must play course for this region. Kudos to Jim Dart.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Decidedly my favorite course.

1    8/5/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: mattj
Played: 27  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course has what I want in a course. Dramatic elevation change, variation and complexity are abundant, and well thought out.
A wonderful variety of holes ( 3-4 of which I place in the top ten holes in DFW) that challenge players to use all their shot-making skills, and rewards success very consistently.
The majority of the holes provide a great deal of lattitude for approaches, for as we know, disc throws can follow unlimited different flight paths, and due to the consistently windy conditions there, this characteristic is HUGE!
Cons: I disagree with the rating system of 5 being "perfect in every way". Sorry disc course review, but if a rating of 5 is impossible, then why have it.
Other Thoughts: Try a roller on 16, but get a spotter.
This is a fun course, and an awesome test.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.