Grand Prairie, TX
Turner Park Share
Uploaded By: strain Hole #18 (Taken 2/2010)
5 / 870ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket



Reviews: 63
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Turner Park

1    9/21/2012   9/22/2012
Review By: CyclistOK
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course middle of the day on a friday. There are two practice baskets located adjacent to the first tee for warm up, but the course is designed so that the first 2 holes offer relatively easy shots that warm you into your round.

This course will test a wide range of shots in your bag. Unlike the majority of courses in the area, a long, accurate, left to right shot will get greatly rewarded here.

The course has a good variety of long and short holes.The longer holes offer a variety of driving conditions, from ones that are more open, but benefit from specific shot placement, to those that require proper placement for a chance at par. Shorter holes also vary in this respect, but only one hole offers an unimpeded shot (#2), and on this hole, a little too much distance will put you in a tough place. While some holes can be technical, they are quite fair, and hitting the proper line is rewarded. There are a few opportunities for risk-reward choices on shots (#2, 3, 11, 12, 16) where taking the best line can lead to some trouble if it isn't hit with the right angle or speed.

The elevation changes in the area are used to great effect, and add to the epic feel of the course. Many of the putting areas feature slopes that lead to some scary situations if you fly one past the basket.

The course was very well maintained, with the foliage near the fairway cleared and the grass mowed. Benches and trashcans were emptied and easily accessible along the length of the course. Large amount of shade protect from the heat. Maps are provided on every hole. The walk is great excersise (may be a (-) for some).

I came across 2 groups of player one of which let me play through, and the other which finished before I caught them, both groups where very friendly. While this might be more crowded than your usual course, for the quality compared to other courses in the area, this was not crowded.
Cons: Although maps are provided on the signs for every hole, the walk between 4 and 5 is not intuitive. There are spray painted arrows directing you to the next tee, but getting lost would not be impossible for those without a map to carry.

There is one set of tees, with the baskets at either 1 of 2 locations (long or short). on a couple of the holes with blind tee shots, when you tee off you do not know where the basket is. On one shot I put the drive right next to one of the locations only to find that the basket was elsewhere. Throwing two discs on the blind holes, one to each possible location may be a good way to account for this.

No water fountains on the course means bring your own.

Trees separating the park from the road would make this course feel even better, but I'm not picky.
Other Thoughts: This course offers some of the best disc golf in the area. While not as technical as some courses, this course will make you hit your lines, good shots will be rewarded and bad shots will be punished, but you will be able to find your disc.

There is not much water on this course, but there is enough to make a couple of the holes interesting. If you happen to hit the water, your disc will be easy to find and retrieve without any special tools.

This course will be playable for a wide range of players, but probably not for your first time, or if you can't throw beyond 200 ft.

Overall, a must play in the DFW area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Nice elevation

1    4/13/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a sprawling hilly park. Nearly every hole has elevation in play, with some tough uphill shots, some fun downhill shots and some rollaway greens to add difficulty to the short game. A creek comes into play on a handful of holes, it adds some ob risk without too much chance of lost discs.

There is nice distance variety, with a couple long par 4s requiring drive placement to have a chance at a birdie 3, and some shorter holes that offer birdie and ace opportunities if you hit your lines. There are plenty of open holes with scattered trees and ob road in play that let you rip some drives and work on shot placement. The rest of the holes play through denser trees with some technical lines and a variety of left and right turning shots. I felt like I used a decent variety of discs and line shaping skills on the wooded part of the course.

The concrete tees are fine, as are the baskets. The park was nicely maintained, there's a lot of grass and it was all mowed recently. The signage is good, with directions to the next tee and a good hole layout. The alternate pins can make a big difference in how the course plays.
Cons: I like having alternates that change the length and hole shapes, but when there are long blind holes it would be nice to have them marked on the tee signs so less walking is required. Some of the transitions between holes are pretty long, it adds quite a bit of hilly walking, though at least it's easy to follow if you're paying attention to the tee signs.

A few too many of the holes play pretty open, and don't really make you hit any kind of line. I thought the mandos were a little over-used here, and feel a bit gimmicky. Too many park roads are in play, you'll likely have to wait for cars to go by on several holes and it could be a safety issue on a busy day.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy courses with lots of elevation, and this one uses the available hills well. Beginners will find it a long walk with long holes, but with limited punishment on a lot of the course it's not too frustrating. More experienced players will enjoy the chance to rip some longer drives, and it's always fun to have to take the hills into account.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

impressed

1    7/2/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: texhop58
Played: 44  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 11.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *maps on every hole
*great use of park space, designers did a good job of keeping throws away from baseball field and kid area park
*concrete tees
*Baskets had high flags to help spot
*multiple pin settings
*great use of elevation (forcing shots down, then having to throw up a hill)
*well shaded, always a plus for texas courses (that means alot of tree so some may consider a negative lol)
*scenic park (but it looks like in winter may not be so pretty)
*appears to have had alot of thought put into course
*very well maintained and mowed
*two convient stores located at 16ish area, incase you need a refil of a drink
*stairs and bridges between holes....this is great that somebody took time to do this.
*fun factor
*pro and beginers can both play and have a challenge on this course.
*the rolling hills really make the course a truely nice course.
*most of the park is just for disc golf
Cons: *transition between 4 and 5, there are maps at every hole, but for a first timer can be confusing
*i feel like the "epic hole" or "trademark hole" (the hole or holes that may define a course)was missing, but there were 3 or 4 holes that could of been just not quite there. that being said this has the biggest selection of great holes i have played on with probably 14 or 15 of them being well above good.
Other Thoughts: *18...really....871 feet in long setting? up hill slightly before going down hill on the back end? this was close to the epic hole i was talking about but needed something else.
*hole 12 almost had the epic feel, but i think the creek needed to be a little more wide and deep as it almost circles the entire hole
*overall probably one of the top courses i have ever played
*park north of hole 1 (behind tee pad, not to parking lot to side of hole), if you park west..you will have a long walk back from 18

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Hills Are Alive With Ching

1    5/28/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: DiffikultD
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In the mostly flat North Texas landcape, the elevation changes really set this course apart, especially since it's not out in the middle of nowhere. I've been playing for almost five years in DFW, and only recently found out about Turner Park. I was amazed at the amount of uphill and downhill holes.

Despite the numerous large shade trees, the course has an open feel to it. There is very little of the scrub brush that you find on the outskirts of the DFW area (as always, do keep an eye out for the occasional locust tree and its spines). Unless you go way off course, you won't spend any time hunting for your disc. There is a creek running through the park, but again, nothing from which you can't easily retrieve your plastic.

It's easy to see that a good amount of thought went into the design of the course. It's in a mixed use park, but the mandos and the layout help to avoid the non disc golfers.

All the tee pads are concrete and in great condition. Some feel a little short, but for the most part they're relative to the distance of the hole. Almost all tees have benches/picnic tables, trash cans, and shade, either on the box itself or very close by. Every tee has a sign, showing accurate hole info and a course map.

The baskets are in great shape, and on the longer holes, have a tall, bright flag on top to help locate the pin. (Another nice touch: at the alternate pin locations, a 2' - 3' piece of white PVC pipe is placed in the post hole. On the longer holes, this makes it very easy to tell what position the basket's in from the tee box.)
Cons: There isn't much to not like about Turner Park. As others have said, the trash cans were overflowing, but then again, that was the ONLY place I saw any trash on the course.

This is not a course at which you should expect to get in a quick round. It's amost 7,000 feet in hole distance alone. Add to that the elevation and the often long walks between holes, and you will feel every bit of your round when finished. (I should note that I played on Memorial Day, and the temperature was creeping into the mid nineties by the time I finished. If you plan to play here any time between May and October, go early!)
Other Thoughts: The layout rewards long and accurate shots of all kinds but, for the most part, you don't have to be huge off the tee. There are definitely some tight, difficult lines, but they feel natural and make good use of the landscape. You won't find any gimmicky or made-up holes here. You do have to be very good around the pins, though. Most of the baskets are situated either on a slope, or right at the edge of pretty severe drop-off. A 20 ft putt can easily become twice that coming back.

I just played here for the first time. It was hot, humid, and I posted a terrible score, and I can't wait to go back.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

One of the best in DFW

1    5/28/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 38  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Great variety of elevation, trees, and distances
- Well maintained grassy fairways
- Excellent teepads and signage
- Very challenging without being annoying, if that makes sense to anybody
Cons:
- If I had to nitpick, probably the overfilled trash cans, but that is more of an indictment on the people playing than the course itself
Other Thoughts:
- This is easily one of the best courses I've played in DFW. I didn't get a particularly good score, but I didn't feel like I played poorly either; it's just a very fun and challenging course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 awesome

1    1/14/2012   1/15/2012
Review By: Fast Eddie
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: overall a great course nice tee boxes. easy to read signs at every hole . great elevation change much like my home coures munson park in denison tx.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: my first time playing here was also my first tournament hole 18 was in the long position they said over 1000 feet. watch out for the creeks on 10 & 12 .

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Precision course

2-4    11/27/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Simply a fun precision course. Nice concrete tee boxes and good baskets with well placed bridges/stairs to make sure your navigation is as dry as possible. It also has awesome maps scattered throughout the course to make sure you don't get lost, This course has a lot of fun looks. Be sure to bring your creativity. This course is not built for "one shot" players.
Cons: I truly struggle to come up with legitimate "cons" for this course. The 800+ #18 seemed random.
Other Thoughts: Be mindful of the maps (or bring your own). The course is built in three parts separated by the park roads.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Competitive Course

1    10/23/2011   10/25/2011
Review By: Bmar04
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to find just right off I-30 and belt line. Excellent course to practice a combination of throws and discs. Baskets are placed awesome to really push those risk vs. reward shots. Signs of each whole are posted and tees are easy to find, would advise to always print out your own map though. Great course to play competition matches with friends and practice if you are solo. There are also baskets to practice throws by the playground.
Cons: The terrain is awesome but I played after a rain and it got pretty muddy and slick at times walking up and down some of the slopes to the baskets, so have some good soles on your shoes.
Other Thoughts: Will definitely play this course again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/20/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: papamullins
Played: 27  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful park
-Elevation change - you don't get to see much of this in the D/FW area
-A few porta-potties (sp?)
-Benches at quite a few tees
-Mix of open and wooded shots, so you're not constantly getting beat on by TX sun
-Great signage
-Some challenging shots here. A few holes in particular will make you really work to hit those lines.
-Loved the metal bridges and stairs throughout the course. It's obvious a lot of time, $$$ and hard work has gone into Turner Park to make it enjoyable for anyone that comes through.
Cons: -The only negative that immediately comes to mind is the slight confusion about some tee placements, which I detailed below. I will update this if I can think of any later on.
Other Thoughts: If you're as blind as I am - this might help:
To get to hole 5: walk down the street from the basket @ 4 and cross the street entrance you came in to the park. There's a dirt path on the other side of the road that will lead you to the tee box.
To get to 7: Walk up the street a bit and around the wooded area to find the tee box, just beyond 6's basket.

Hole 18 is a monster when the basket is at the long pin!

Overall I really enjoyed this course. The park was in great shape - baskets and chains were sturdy, concrete boxes, some of the best signs I have seen. It's definitely one of my favorites in the D/FW area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Course for all levels of play

1    5/31/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: jbain2012
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was actually pretty impressive. When you first get there it looks like you will just be playing a make shift course in an open field but it is actually a lot trickier and more fun than it looks. I like the up hills and low lying tree branches on most of the holes it was challenging for me because the course i play is always downhill and the trees are clear for higher shots.
Cons: The creek running through the course is nasty kinda like sewage water so play it safe on those holes and lay it up in the grass.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course that is a diamond in the rough anybody in the area should definitely hit up this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.