Grand Prairie, TX 
Turner Park Share
Uploaded By: strain Hole #4 (Taken 2/2010)
3 / 332ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 66
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Quality

1    7/10/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: grizzledizzle55
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good elevation changes.
-Many technical holes.
-850ft final hole.
-Very well maintained
-Cement Tee boxes
Cons: -A little tough to navigate the first time you play there
-Can get a little muddy at times
-A few holes on the front are a little crammed together
Other Thoughts: I really like all of the elevation changes. Very enjoyable course. Really easy to find. We played there and it was empty. You need to be creative on this course. Not too hard of a course though, I would recommend this course to ppl of all skill sets. Be aggressive, there are some ace runs here. You can get into trouble, but it is not likely to lose a disk.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 not what i expected, but good

1    7/6/2010   7/9/2010
Review By: StumperTX
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: this course will demand your accuracy and punish you if you don't bring it

a couple longer holes to stretch your arm
Cons: layout confusing as all hell. glad I had a course vet with me or half my round would have been finding the next tee

distances and directions not well marked
Other Thoughts: I expected a much longer course, but found myself throwing whippets and leos off the tee more often than not

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of DFW's best!

1    6/10/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 210  Reviewed: 162  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Fantastic use of the land
-Great variety in distance, elevation, and terrain
-Very tricky basket placements for many risk/reward opportunities
-Very challenging
-Lots of interesting obstacles but the fairways are fair
-Wooded areas eliminate certain shots but there are still options and still room to shape lines
-Generally clean and nice-looking park
-Great bridges and staircases over creeks and down hills
-OB and water hazards
Cons: -Can be VERY windy
-A couple long walks between holes
-Many very long holes on the back 9 that will hurt the scores of any noodle arms
-Poison ivy, I saw lots in various places but especially beware the area to the right of basket #8 and the path between 9 and 10.
-The pavilion near hole 3 could be dangerous for other park guests
-Several roads go inside the park so a stray drive could hit a car on a couple holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a really well-thought out course in the middle of DFW. A great addition to the top tier of courses in the area. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone traveling to DFW.

There is great variety here though the course is generally on the longer side. The changes in elevation are what stand out the most. Nearly every hole has some change in elevation and many baskets are placed right next to some kind of drop off or hill. It really puts on the pressure when deciding to go for it or lay up for par.

The signs are also great because they have an entire course map on each one so you can always see where you are and what is next.

A great course for group play and doubles rounds since there is a challenge for any kind of player and the roll-away possibilities make for exciting competition.

Overall, a really fun course and one of DFW's best.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Another Great Park in DFW

1    6/13/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: geoloseth
Played: 44  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 4/22/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are alot of things this course does well. First is the use of land. Almost every hole has some sort of change to it. The front nine holes are where you can make your birdies since most are less than 400'. The mando's can make things interesting and level the playing field for the majority of right handers out there. There are plenty of trees but the course design allows for line shaping as long as your shot is accurate. The back nine brings the distance throwers back into the mix. However, there are only a couple holes that are undeachable in one. If you play every hole as a par 3 then an even score is very respectable. Add the two par 4's and the monster par 5 to the scoring and a few strokes under par is very reasonable for most advanced AM's.
Cons: I can't really think of any. Maybe a few more benches at tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very, very good course. If we have more courses like these going in there could be strong consideration to host the Worlds in DFW. This just goes to show what we can do in the metroplex when a city gets behind the DG community and has a great piece of land. And a big thank you to whoever designed the course. Great job!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Top 3 in DFW!

1    4/24/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: NORML
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well kept up. It is fairly new so hopefully it will stay this way in the futre. Great variations on the holes. Flags on top of the cages. Very well maped. Again its fairly new so it dosnt get that crowded yet.One of my favorite courses I played in Texas.
Cons: Pretty long course to walk. 18 is a beast of a hole. Wish there was a couple more ace runs. Can be a tuff course on a windy day.
Other Thoughts: This course is about a 20min drive for me so probably wont be playing it on weekdays, but a great weekend course if I dont want to drive real far. Also comming from Cedar Hill where my home course is mostly short and wodded, this course gives me a good change, and is fun but changeling.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Extremely Challenging!

2-4    4/25/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: domingomadagascar
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great landscape with tons of different situations and elevations. Extremely challenging! I've been there 4 times and have not put a good round together yet, but I enjoyed it every time. The type of course that tears you up but you wish it was in your backyard because it make you a much better player and strategician. Great time but don't be suprised when your score jumps after the top 9.
Cons: Not for beginners, if you ask me. This courses requires a knowledge of discs and just about every shot known to disc golf. If you are new to disc stick to the top 9 and get that down before taking on the back 9. Not for disabled or handicapped players either because the terrain is very up and down and requres full mobility.
Other Thoughts: Great course where every single hole will challenge you. Watch the water hazards. They are every where. You likely woln't lose a disc, but you can easily lose several strokes if you range out of the fairways.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Most pure fun of any Metroplex course

2-4    4/16/2010   4/23/2010
Review By: t i m
Played: 214  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 17.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course vastly exceeded my expectations. In many cases, I find Dallas-area courses to have average ratings higher than the ratings I would give them. This is an exception that I think is spot on as a true 4.0 -- Excellent! -- level course. And I'd say that rating would be true for White, Blue and Gold level players, which is a great compliment.

This course is very well manicured with well-cut grass, minimal trash, good teesigns, and large concrete tee boxes. The course flows well once you know the layout, with minimal walking between holes.

The course features a great mix of shots with very few gimme shots on the course, and most players will be unlikely to shoot the same type of round twice in a row. Almost every hole can be birdied by players at a skill level above ~900, but nothing is a gimme. There are a couple of true par 4s and one true par 5 on the course, and when you take all the OB into account, it's a solid challenge even for gold level players to chalk up a score in the low/mid-50s (assuming the baskets are in their long positions).

The best part about this kind of layout, this mix of shots, is that it makes the game exciting. Every time you walk up to a hole, you know there is likely to be score separation. I played in a threesome of players ranging from 920-980, and it was highly competitive and some of the most exciting and fun golf we have played together.

This excitement is heightened by the awesome basket placements. Almost every basket on the course is on a slope or next to a slope. This means that upshots and putts are trickier than usual -- upshots have to be carefully thrown to minimize rollaways and putts increase in risk/reward because of the uneven terrain and you are forced to make a lot of putts up or downhill. Again, excitement factor.

All in all, a great mix of shots, very little undergrowth, few places to lose discs, a very clean course, and possibly the most pure fun to play of any course in the DFW Metroplex. I can't think of anywhere else in the area that is as much fun and as exciting to play with friends... as it stands it would be an excellent white/blue tournament course. Would need pro tees to be a good gold-level tourney course, but I think the land is there to make that possible.

Cons: The course has several places where it is unclear or unintuitive how to get to the next hole (walk from 4 to 5 is probably the best example). Some signs pointing to next tees would help navigation.

The course has multiple pin placements, but the teesigns fail to indicate which placement the pins are in. Many of the shots on this course are blind shots because of elevation and it would be very helpful to have the pin placements marked.

There are several places on the course where the holes could potentially cause injury or interfere with other park users. Hole 3 is the most serious. The pin is downhill with a fairly steep grade around the basket with a large pavilion only 20 or so feet behind the basket. It's a short hole, and probably 1-in-3 shots will at least hit the pavilion if not skip through it potentially hitting anyone using the space. This is a fun hole, but it is the weakest design decision on the course.

Many of the holes on the back half have an OB marked on the sign for discs that land in the fairway of other holes... this isn't necessarily a bad idea, but without any clear markings, this is just a silly OB to try to implement. It should either be marked in a way that is clear or removed, since it doesn't appear to pose much danger and will only add confusion for players paying attention to the signs.

There are several places that seem like natural areas to mark OB that aren't yet utilized. The swampy low-lying area on hole 6, the valley you throw over on hole 7, the swampy area behind the pin on hole 8, and the muddy area full of posts in front of the pin on hole 18 are the places that readily come to mind. Marking these OBs would force a little more careful shot placement and increase the risk/reward on these holes in a way that I think would help the overall course.

Other Thoughts: This course has the potential of deserving a 4.5 with a little more work -- all of the cons listed above can be fixed with a little work. Add to that a second set of tees to give a few more options to the course, and it would deserve another half star.

Consider this a must play if you are in the area. Not for epic holes or a beating, but for the most pure fun round you'll play in DFW.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course.....when dry

2-4    3/26/2010   3/26/2010
Review By: JLester83
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Super job done with getting the teepads, signs, and bridges throughout the course. Course has an awesome variety of shots.....short, long, and very long. You get a good variety of pins being located both to the right and left and lots of mandos also complicate quite a few holes. And if that wasnt enough variation, there are alos quite a few shots with elevation changes. All in all a very diverse and challenging course
Cons: Alot of the holes run almost ontop of each other and some feel like they share fairways, so it can get hairy at times if lots of people are playing. I played just after it had rained and much of the course was horribly sloppy and quite a few spots did not drain well at all
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite places to make a trip to if im looking to get out. Very beautiful course on a multi-purpose park that really utilizes the space given for it really well. My only suggestion is to avoid it after it rains cuz it gets really sloppy in alot of places

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pro Course Congestion

1    3/14/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: jasondguy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pro course, nice shot variety, great elevation changes, great baskets, great signs, great teeboxes, well maintained. Water hazards, OB's, & mandos make it more challenging. Great use of terrain and park's natural features. Short, mid, and longrange drives, mostly technical, and some bombs.
Cons: Perhaps too many mandos, which leads to why there are so many: 18 holes were squeezed into this park, meaning, some baskets are near each other, some baskets are near teeboxes, the entire course is surrounded by park roads, which create many of the mandos.
Other Thoughts: The course is nice, but is a bit of a trek for me. I will likely only play this course on a weekday again. This place is quickly becoming popular, which means plenty of waiting behind mob golfers and discs flying in behind you before you've holed out.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Must play in DFW!

5+    3/14/2010   3/14/2010
Review By: chingy414
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first thing that I noticed about this particular park was the dual practice baskets. I thought this was a nice touch. Turner Park is one of the most challanging courses in the DFW, which is a huge plus for me. This course will test your arm, and every shot in your bag. I really enjoy the layout of this course. There is a good mix of open and tight shots as well as short and long shots. Turner also has the best elevation in the metroplex. The are very few holes that are flat. Beautiful and well maintained park. The city seems to be on top of the maintainence of this park. That combined with respectful golfers makes for a beautiful course.
Cons: I have very few bad things to say about this course. If you don't like to do a whole lot of walking, this might not be the course for you. It can take a toll on your energy level pretty quick. There are quite a few mandos here, which can get a little redundant to me, but some people might enjoy the extra challenge. I also think this course could use just a few more ace run holes, as there are only a couple that are even possible to hit. This is probably not the best course for beginners. It can give hell to even the very seasoned golfers.
Other Thoughts: Overall, in my opinion, Turner Park is one of the best courses in the DFW, and is well worth whatever commute you have to make. If you like a course that is challenging, but still alot of fun, you need to check out Turner. This has become one of my favorite courses in the DFW area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.