Grand Prairie, TX
Turner Park Share
Uploaded By: strain Hole #9 (Taken 2/2010)
3 / 265ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 63
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Turner Park Rundown

5+    1/4/2010   1/13/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The only thing missin' for a while was t-pads. NOW THEY'VE GOT EM!!! and they're a nice size
-Huge shot variety...open, treed, tunnel shots, hyzers, anis, doglegs L/R, and water hazards
-Great elevations changes per hole...ups, downs, left and right sloping fairways
-Very scenic
-Little to no traffic
-True par 4's and par 5's
-Good signage
-Steel bridges crossing creek water hazads (you won't lose a disc here, the water is chrystal clear)
Cons: -No t-pads YET!!! Here they're coming soon...before the 30th of Jan. in I'm not mistaken
-Gets really, really muddy after it has rained.
-Winds can eat you up out here.
Other Thoughts: One of the coolest courses in the DFW metroplex...and being right in the center of DFW makes it even better.

Anyone in the area should check this course out. Totally worth the drive.

Front 9:

Runs through some fairly open holes with good elevation changes as well as playing around creek that really cool-like winds through some fairways like a snake.

Bakc 9:

Long holes with huge elevatoins changes...the "big-arm" half of the course. Lots of long, treed, s-hooking fairways.

The two halfs are different and test different parts of the game.

Slowly becoming one of the best courses in DFW in my opinion.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Turner Park

1    1/9/2010   1/11/2010
Review By: fenceman2022
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: the course is layed out very good has alot of different shots that coem into play. nice shot selection and they keep it very clean.
Cons: there are not alot of long holes 18 is a nice 870'.
Other Thoughts: i Would tell anyone to try this course worht the time.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Super Fun Course

2-4    11/28/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: okiebullgod
Played: 41  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is beautiful. It has a large range of shots, and is very well designed. The creek that winds through the front 9 is not deep and is crystal clear, so losing plastic isn't really a threat. There is a huge fun factor on this course. The shots are challenging without being too tough and there are some nice hard wood trees and not much underbrush. A wide arsenal of shots will help you score well here. The baskets are brand new, and the practice baskets are a nicely placed as other reviewers have noted.
Cons: The only con is that the concrete pads weren't in yet, but we did run into the course designer who told us they would go in at the end of December or first of January. The ground is somewhat spongy so it may not be great after a rain.
Other Thoughts: The fun factor here is huge. Trust me, if you're in the Dallas area, this one is well worth your time. Although the tee boxes aren't in, the tees are well marked with flags and are fairly easy to find. We played behind several cards who were in the weekly mini, but they moved fast and we played in with some locals who were friendly and good company/competition. A great time. Do play this course.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course but frustrating

5+    11/25/2009   11/28/2009
Review By: cc0049
Played: 103  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 2/2/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The absolute best thing about this course is the pin placement. On many of the holes the baskets are situated on a difficult landing area and makes for putts that offer a higher risk vs reward factor. Hole 6 is a supreme example of this type of pin placement. It is situated just at the top of a steep slope that if you overshoot and don't land just perfectly are bound to roll far enough from the pin that you are no longer putting. The "fun" factor is high on this course for me because it is so unlike many of the other courses that we have in the DFW area. Another huge plus for this course is the elevation changes, particularly when the basket is placed on a slope of a hill. A wide variety of shots will help you score well here. This is one of the few courses around that just begs me to throw a backhand roller on several occasions. Standout holes include 7 (nice little ace run across a small valley and through a tight gap in the trees), 9 (probably one of the most unique holes in the metroplex), 12 (has a creek that s's back in forth between the tee box and the basket several times), 13 (par 4 hole, hard to describe, but very challenging), 14 (long drive that is reachable, but difficult to land your disc well on to stay near the bucket), 16 (another par 4 hole with two mando trees to stay to the left of - backhand roller city), and 18 is a great par 5 hole to finish on!
Another plus for the course are the dual practice baskets that are placed around 40 feet apart so that you can putt back and forth between them or spread out more if several people are warming up at the same time.
There are two gas stations right across the street from hole 16 and hole 14's tee boxes for any needed pit stops.
...and now there are level concrete tee boxes on every hole!
Cons: Holes 1, 3, and 4 are near a playground and gazebo area where people can often get in the way of your play. Hole 3 especially is a risky shot for hitting people.
This course will be very difficult to navigate unless you have a guide or a map. Make sure you bring one of those two with you for your first time out. There are now some nice new bridges around holes 5 and 10.
Other Thoughts: There are several mandos and obs in play on this course. I know that some don't like that. I personally feel that it makes the course more challenging, which is always a good thing.
Many props to Jim Dart and the city of Grand Prairie for getting this great course in the ground!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hey DFW native disc golfers...Got Hills?

1    11/5/2009   11/18/2009
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 168  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/16/2011
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Hills people yall finally have a course in DFW with real rolling hills,decent distances too.After hole three the course is pretty dang decent.I enjoy playing here for sure.The roads and Mando's make this course harder(a good thing).On high wind days the holes up top as opposed to the holes (down in the hollers) here will proove to be alot more difficult.The fact that discs can and will hit the ground/basket and stand up and roll away here makes peoples nerves go haywire here....Sweeet!
Cons: Mosquito den around hole 10's tee box some times in the year bring Deet..Cars drive fast thru the parks streets sometimes.It's a decent round but the first few holes leave somethijng to be desired but thats my personal thoughts.
Other Thoughts: Park is very open to the public who co-mingle here,The Grand Prarie Womens club meets monthly at the house near hole one.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 One of the finest in DFW!

1    11/8/2009   11/8/2009
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a very nice technical layout with lots of nice elevation changes throughout most of the course. There are nice concrete tee pads with great signs that show you all hole information. You will need a good arm and good accuracy to score well here. There are a nice variety of different shots you will choose from as most of these holes can be difficult. The DGA baskets are new and have orange flags on top to help locate each pin easier. There are two practice baskets at the beginning of the course help get warmed up before your round.
Cons: This course can be a little tricky from first time players so a map would be helpful. It can get a little crowded here so you might want to get here early to beat the crowd.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun and challenging course. I put it in the top 10 of courses in the DFW. I will play it again real soon. This is a must play course to test your skills.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Turner Park

1    11/6/2009   11/7/2009
Review By: Carter
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First of all, DFW disc golfers are trully blessed to have so many great courses in the metroplex. And Turner is a great addition. This is a technical course that requires power and accuracy to score well. The elevation makes for a good hike and the low ceilings make for some tough uphill shots. I feel that there is a good mixture of lefty/righty shots. This course will test your abilities.
Cons: Hole 4 has a kind of ridiculous "fairway", that's the only hole I really have a problem with. I'll agree that there is a lot of low spots and there will be some trouble come spring and early summer with standing water and mosquitos. The close proximity to a major road makes a few shots nerve racking. On busy weekends, park goers will be a problem.
Other Thoughts: One of the Grand Prairie's Parks Dept. buildings is located in the park, so it should be well groomed.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Meh

1    10/14/2009   10/19/2009
Review By: meatbones132
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: What I did like about the course was the elevation changes. It had a lot of very big mature trees that did make for a pretty course. A few of the holes (3, 4, 6 , 7, 18) made really good use of the trees and I enjoyed them quite a bit. Hole 13 was pretty interesting but it took me a while to find the basket.
Cons: Reason I am not a big fan of this course is for most of the year it is going to be wet and marshy. Courses in Texas that are generally wet in a lot of areas (unless it is a flowing river / creek or a large body of water) always have a ton of mosquitoes and are bit of a pain in the butt. I had gone after it had been raining for a while but it had two days to dry up by the time I came out, and it was still REALLY wet. There is a few holes where if you have a good drive and get close to the pin you're surrounded by poison ivy. I am allergic and the fact that it didn't seem like the course designers / city had tried to get rid of at the least, some of it, made this course worse.

A few holes with mandos while not too difficult of shots, left me with a feeling that if I were to have an errant throw I could possibly kill someone. The course seemed to be crammed into too small of an area and there is a lot of mandos for this reason.
Other Thoughts: If you took away the fact that it is low lying in a lot of areas (leading to a wet course a lot of times) then it would be a good course but not a great one. Even with the addition of the concrete tees in the next couple of weeks my rating will stay the same.
-Too crammed in, too many safety hazards for non- disc golfers, and majority of the course is lower in elevation leading to a overly wet marshy course.-

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Turner Park

2-4    10/11/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: zflog
Played: 61  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2009
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Course is laid out very well! Rolling terrain with big huge trees. I saw the biggest acorn I have ever seen in my life. Wide variety of shots from long to short holes to play. Hole 18 was eight hundred and some odd feet. Holy !@#$ it was awesome.
Cons: Some trash in the creek ditches which was expected. Pads were not in yet but was told will be there soon.
Other Thoughts: I can not wait until the concrete pads are put in.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    10/9/2009   10/9/2009
Review By: sananda3d
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Ditto to previous reviews, it's like this course was meant to be. Great mix up of shots, love the elevation changes. It's nice to see a new course not cut into the rough, aka GayWay. Location, location,location.
Cons: Don't know how much this park is used for other events/activities, but I could see the multi-use of the space as an possible issue.
Other Thoughts: Great drainage, played after heavy deluge could see the high water evidence (lots of washed up trash) but for the most part course was not too muddy.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.