Grand Prairie, TX 
Turner Park Share
Uploaded By: strain Hole #17 (Taken 2/2010)
3 / 379ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket



Reviews: 69
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next >
 Hey DFW native disc golfers...Got Hills?

1    11/5/2009   11/18/2009
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 201  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/16/2011
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Hills people yall finally have a course in DFW with real rolling hills,decent distances too.After hole three the course is pretty dang decent.I enjoy playing here for sure.The roads and Mando's make this course harder(a good thing).On high wind days the holes up top as opposed to the holes (down in the hollers) here will proove to be alot more difficult.The fact that discs can and will hit the ground/basket and stand up and roll away here makes peoples nerves go haywire here....Sweeet!
Cons: Mosquito den around hole 10's tee box some times in the year bring Deet..Cars drive fast thru the parks streets sometimes.It's a decent round but the first few holes leave somethijng to be desired but thats my personal thoughts.
Other Thoughts: Park is very open to the public who co-mingle here,The Grand Prarie Womens club meets monthly at the house near hole one.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One of the finest in DFW!

1    11/8/2009   11/8/2009
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a very nice technical layout with lots of nice elevation changes throughout most of the course. There are nice concrete tee pads with great signs that show you all hole information. You will need a good arm and good accuracy to score well here. There are a nice variety of different shots you will choose from as most of these holes can be difficult. The DGA baskets are new and have orange flags on top to help locate each pin easier. There are two practice baskets at the beginning of the course help get warmed up before your round.
Cons: This course can be a little tricky from first time players so a map would be helpful. It can get a little crowded here so you might want to get here early to beat the crowd.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun and challenging course. I put it in the top 10 of courses in the DFW. I will play it again real soon. This is a must play course to test your skills.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Turner Park

1    11/6/2009   11/7/2009
Review By: Carter
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First of all, DFW disc golfers are trully blessed to have so many great courses in the metroplex. And Turner is a great addition. This is a technical course that requires power and accuracy to score well. The elevation makes for a good hike and the low ceilings make for some tough uphill shots. I feel that there is a good mixture of lefty/righty shots. This course will test your abilities.
Cons: Hole 4 has a kind of ridiculous "fairway", that's the only hole I really have a problem with. I'll agree that there is a lot of low spots and there will be some trouble come spring and early summer with standing water and mosquitos. The close proximity to a major road makes a few shots nerve racking. On busy weekends, park goers will be a problem.
Other Thoughts: One of the Grand Prairie's Parks Dept. buildings is located in the park, so it should be well groomed.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Meh

1    10/14/2009   10/19/2009
Review By: meatbones132
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.4 Years
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: What I did like about the course was the elevation changes. It had a lot of very big mature trees that did make for a pretty course. A few of the holes (3, 4, 6 , 7, 18) made really good use of the trees and I enjoyed them quite a bit. Hole 13 was pretty interesting but it took me a while to find the basket.
Cons: Reason I am not a big fan of this course is for most of the year it is going to be wet and marshy. Courses in Texas that are generally wet in a lot of areas (unless it is a flowing river / creek or a large body of water) always have a ton of mosquitoes and are bit of a pain in the butt. I had gone after it had been raining for a while but it had two days to dry up by the time I came out, and it was still REALLY wet. There is a few holes where if you have a good drive and get close to the pin you're surrounded by poison ivy. I am allergic and the fact that it didn't seem like the course designers / city had tried to get rid of at the least, some of it, made this course worse.

A few holes with mandos while not too difficult of shots, left me with a feeling that if I were to have an errant throw I could possibly kill someone. The course seemed to be crammed into too small of an area and there is a lot of mandos for this reason.
Other Thoughts: If you took away the fact that it is low lying in a lot of areas (leading to a wet course a lot of times) then it would be a good course but not a great one. Even with the addition of the concrete tees in the next couple of weeks my rating will stay the same.
-Too crammed in, too many safety hazards for non- disc golfers, and majority of the course is lower in elevation leading to a overly wet marshy course.-

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Turner Park

2-4    10/11/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: zflog
Played: 61  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 21 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2009
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Course is laid out very well! Rolling terrain with big huge trees. I saw the biggest acorn I have ever seen in my life. Wide variety of shots from long to short holes to play. Hole 18 was eight hundred and some odd feet. Holy !@#$ it was awesome.
Cons: Some trash in the creek ditches which was expected. Pads were not in yet but was told will be there soon.
Other Thoughts: I can not wait until the concrete pads are put in.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    10/9/2009   10/9/2009
Review By: sananda3d
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.7 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Ditto to previous reviews, it's like this course was meant to be. Great mix up of shots, love the elevation changes. It's nice to see a new course not cut into the rough, aka GayWay. Location, location,location.
Cons: Don't know how much this park is used for other events/activities, but I could see the multi-use of the space as an possible issue.
Other Thoughts: Great drainage, played after heavy deluge could see the high water evidence (lots of washed up trash) but for the most part course was not too muddy.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Top 10 in Metroplex but not world class

2-4    10/6/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 129  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 14.2 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The rating I give might not please some but I think it is very deserving. First off there are some really great holes on this course that make it worth the drive all the time. The elevation is used on every single hole and almost all the greens. And you will feel it in your legs by the time your done, I promise. The bakets are really nice and are labeled so you can pick out the right basket, which is helpful and many times. Some of the memorable holes were 10 and 12. Both were tunnel shots that you have to have an accurate drive or you could get into trouble. Both have a little creek running through them making for a little pucker factor for OB but not for losing plastic. There is a great mix of shots here because you need just about everything you have. You have to be very accurate for the most part and you have to be able to throw low and straight. You also get some holes to air it out. There aren't too "gimmie" birds but you need to get the ones you can when you get to them in order not to lose strokes. The fun factor was really there because like said before almot every single hole is different. You get to thrown uphill, downhill, and everything in between. It is amazing that there is that much elevation in Dallas, it really is. No real places to lose plastic unless you yank your shot over the fence on 9. The gas station is right across the street from 14 so if you need anything you can make a pitstop.
Cons: Some of the greens are too close to other holes making it a little dangerous. There are also a couple of blind greens that could get hairy as well. Right now some of the pads are in akward areas for now making for difficult drives.Too many mandos on this course for my liking, some are needed I understand but I think the mando fairy got a little carried away.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and will get better with time I'm sure. The pads and signs are needed because navigation could be an issue without the map available...print it off, it saved me. I really liked this course and will be back for sure, I just think that they tried to do something with this course that wasnt possible and that was make it a "champion" course which it is not. I read in the post about this course, one guy says "Without the mandos, the course would be a good challenge of skill for the average golfer. With the mandos, it plays like a championship-level course that can easily produce some big numbers." This course is fun and should be in your list to play if you are ever close by, you will enjoy it and it will make you a better golfer.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Righty-Tighty, Lefty-Let-Loosey

5+    3/18/2010   10/5/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 219  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 28.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
This course has great elevation, pin placements, finesse routes, excellent use of surroundings, many mandos, great par settings, variable hole lengths, OB's, light water, and a few really picturesque holes. This course is well designed. If you are a Backhand Lefty or a Forehand Righty, you may have just found one of your favorite courses. The layout is really fun and pushes your shot selections. The pin placements are very tough in the fact that many of them have a danger side. Some pins have a long down hill slopes on one side of them. They make you think about just what angle you want your approach to come in on. Some of the slopes are so steep; you may just pucker up looking at a 20-footer. LOL The surroundings were well used. Straight away lazer shots are a good weapon on many of these holes. There some double mandos on a few holes to prevent shots out over the roads. The holes where aces are possible are still very technical, which makes for lots of fun. There are portable bathrooms available in the center of the park and trashcans at many of the holes. There are real nice 12 foot cement tee pads that were built up to be level at this course. The signs have a digital photo of the entire course on one side and the digital photo of the hole specifics on the other. The one really steep slope you have to walk down from #9 to #10 has steps built in on it to make the hike down less treacherous. For all the creeks that are in play they have installed nice sturdy metal bridges and even put in cement foundation blocks under some of them. They actually dug trenches to help keep the flooding issues to a minimum. Navigation is not much of an issue with every sign having the course map on it; just pay attention on how to get to #5 and #12 (across the road) and you should be golden. ALSO, this place has 2 practice baskets that let you putt back and forth! VERY COOL!
Cons: This may be one of dumbest negatives ever, but I really struggled to find any. There are no benches at any of the tees. I mean realistically, we can't have everything in the world. ;) There are a couple of blind pins, but this is only a negative if you forget to look where they are when playing some of the previous holes. (so kind of a non-issue)
Other Thoughts: The fun-factor for this course is monster for me. Each hole seemed to be completely different from each other. I wanted to throw multiple discs on many of these tees. For me, that means I am really enjoying how the hole is laid out. I love the fact that the approach shots need to be well thought out. And not just a plain approach shot. The hills and slopes are a real fun factor. This is a great place to play. I will be making this 35-minute drive quite often as it is well worth it. Ths is hands down one of the best courses in the DFW area. Thanks Jim, Grand Prairie, and their awesome parks department for this great Diamond in the Rough Course!

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Turner Park - A Grand Course!

2-4    10/3/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: Jim Dart
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Outstanding scenery, rolling hills, majestic trees, winding creeks (but not too deep to loose a disc). Large pavilion, playground, and gazebo. Great elevation changes. Fun and challenging holes. The course lends itself to long laser-like shots. Each hole is unique. There are 2 par-4s and 1 par-5. Fair for both righties and lefties. Centrally located in the DFW area. Easy to find. It is like God created a disc golf course there, and it has just now been discovered.
Cons: The (5ft x 7ft) x 12ft cement tee pads are not in yet. The high resolution satalite imagery course signage at the tee pad areas is not in yet. Three bridges for easy creek crossing are not in yet. Although all of these are funded and are expected to be in over the next few months.
Other Thoughts: This could be one of the best courses in the DFW area. I hear there may be mini-s there on Saturday mornings at around 8AM... The course tour is worth checking out: http://129.107.90.235/WebForms/Show.aspx . Expand the "Disc Golf" option. This course is the home location for the newly formed, Lone Star Lasers Disc Golf Association.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.