Grand Prairie, TX 
Turner Park Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #12 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12



Reviews: 66
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Great Challenges In A Fun Layout

2-4    7/11/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: TejasKajun
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + I appreciated the great use of natural terrain and elevation changes.
+ The tee boxes were solid and comfortable
+ Some of the baskets had tall flags for visual markings
+ I liked the challenges of the trees and tight tunnels that were made naturally (it probably is less challenging in the Winter I assume since its less growth)
+ Enjoyed the 860+ft Hole 18, not because of its length, but because of the challenge it posed through the terrain changes
Cons: - directional markers between basket and next tee box (possibly use painted or arrow shaped paver stones to direct players) so that you know which way to go on your first time playing it

- Holes #5/#6 ground markings and concrete arrows NEED to be repainted. I ended up performing loops to the wrong tee boxes before I saw the very faint arrows on the ground. Contrasting bright/dark paint every month or so won't hurt.

- tee sign vandalism sadly
- trash and waste at the tee boxes and around Hole #12's creeks sadly
- flag markers for some of the baskets would assist
- possibly create a system to let throwers know where the basket is placed at so newcomers (like myself) do not have to walk 3/4 of the fairway to find it... then walk back to their tee box
Other Thoughts: Overall, no course will ever be perfect or maintain that standing very long since there is a critic everywhere (like myself), but I really enjoyed this course.
It was recommended to me as I passed through the area and according to locals I shot very well for a first time player (-2 to +2) on the first rounds.
It was hot and windy and this park allows you to get some lift from the wind and the shade from the trees.
The elevation change and the natural trees, etc. make it fun to play.

Stay accurate, throw consistent, and make placements stay and you will have some good rounds here.

*definitely coming back next time I am in the area*

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Elevation, Grass, Technical - Has It All

1    5/17/2014   5/18/2014
Review By: Topher024
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful course that's well maintained. A nice mixture of long bomber holes as well as shorter technical shots with trees and very minor water hazards. Great use of elevation.

One box per hole, but basket positions are rotated from 2-3 locations based on a weekly schedule. I really like seeing the baskets flagged.
Cons: A couple spots where I couldn't immediately find the next box, but other players were more than helpful.
Other Thoughts: I met Jim, the course designer. Great guy and he hooked me up with a used driver to replace one I'd lost at home just before leaving for DFW.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Long, multifaceted course

1    4/1/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: Slimrn
Played: 18  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 0.7 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: - This course has a variety of distances which is good and bad. (1000ft 18th hole, really?)

-The signage is adequate to explain the confusing layout.

-I really liked how the baskets had orange flags on top to highlight them.
Cons: -This place taught me what "mandos" means. There are a lot of mandatory obstacles.

-The layout is a bit convoluted. You have to walk pretty far from one "part" opt the course to the next.

-A fair amount of non-DG use here so be ready to yell "FORE!!!"

Other Thoughts: Worth a shot at least once if you live around DFW!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great course

1    1/25/2014   1/26/2014
Review By: freep
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great variety of hole types,tons of elevation changes. Lots of long drives required, I loved it. Well marked signs,easy to find the next hole, also liked the flags on each basket allowing you to see the baskets over hills.
Cons: Could be frustrating for beginners due to length of holes.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth playing if you are in the area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Elevated Course

1    1/26/2014   1/26/2014
Review By: WaterHole
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I think this course is pretty well laid out. I was able to navigate fairly easily with the signs on the tee pads. This is a very challenging course both in DG and in hiking. This is one course that will always bring you back and make you want more.

Even with multiple roads bordering the course you don't "feel" like you are in the city.
Cons: Really couldn't think of any at this time.
Other Thoughts: I would advise that make sure you are well rested for the hike you take throughout this course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

"Hot" Course

1    8/24/2013   8/27/2013
Review By: The Drake
Played: 89  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 11.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well designed course with plenty of variety to keep you coming back for more. This course has literally everything you could ask for in a course. First and foremost it has elevation which having played in Mobile the last couple of years was a huge plus. Nearly every hole incorporates some sort of elevation adjustment be it from the fairways themselves or even just the putting green. Each hole feels like a new one, meaning you don't ever really throw the same shot twice. You will need every shot, and likely disc in your bag in order to score well. The course itself is well maintained with nice tee pads and accurate tee signs using satellite imaging to help with pin location. There are multiple pins for most holes if you like that sort of thing, though this course in my opinion would be just find with a single set. Plenty of natural OB with creeks, and park roads again add to the challenge of the course. There are also bathrooms on the course near the first few holes with a gas station across from 16 which is a nice bonus for a bathroom break or quick stop for a beverage during those hot rounds.

There are a few true par 4s and even the 18th is a borderline par 5 which is always a nice addition to the game.
Cons: Its Texas, and its hot. I played this course during a relatively "cool" Texas saturday morning and it was a solid 90 degrees. Bring water and protect yourself out there. For those players not in at least decent shape a full round out here will test your stamina. This is 18 holes of some real elevation change.

From a specific hole point of view the only issue I really have with the course is around the back few holes. 13-15 are in very close proximity so a heads up is necessary during busy rounds/tournaments. Even 18 can become problematic with 14 and 15 on the second shot when the pin is in the long. This is only a minor con though.

All and all there really aren't too many flaws with the course. The big thing I would point out is it is not beginner friendly. This is a long course. Based on the scores most people have posted this is not one you're going to run out and score low unless you're on your game.
Other Thoughts: I had the opportunity of playing this course during a weekend getaway to the Dallas-Fortworth area. It had been YEARS since my last golf experience in Texas and I'd forgotten just how many courses where in the area. The reviews I found for Turner are what turned me to this one over the myriad of others and it did not disappoint. I also brought with my my friends who I Was visiting and my wife, non of which are avid disc golfers. They agreed it was a very nice course, but the consistent complaint they had was the length of the course. By the 13th hole they were all pretty tired.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


1    7/10/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 45  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Course has very nice teepads and baskets. Very nice course layout with great signage.
Cons: No real cons here. Only thing that could be a con would be the high amount of traffic this course gets.
Other Thoughts: Great course, another must play.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Dallas

1    11/17/2012   5/20/2013
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course used elevation change and wind conditions excellently.
Cons: One hole as a crazy dense bush 20 feet behind one basket. My putter went into it and was never to be seen again.
Other Thoughts: This course used mandos to help prevent discs from going into the street in a way that was well designed.
Many longer holes that require 350 + feet shots to make par or birdie.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 favorite course

5+    5/14/2013   5/15/2013
Review By: Tremayne
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my favorite course in the area for these reasons:

1) It's a very pretty park throughout all 18 holes. It's all grass, rolling hills and big trees.
2) Lot's of shade. Except for holes 1 and 2 most of the rest of course plays under shaded fairways. Very important for Texas.
3) Course has an even number of dogleg left, right and straight holes. Also, a mix of shorter birdie holes and a few bomber holes that are par 4 or 5.
4) There are benches near the tee pads throughout the course. Don't really need to carry a stool here. And the benches are almost always in the shade.
5) There are water hazards on this course and other out-of-bounds. In my opinion the more obstacles the better, more interesting and challenging. Water can come into play on holes 5, 8 (right and deep), 10, 11, 12, 13, 16 and 17. Hole 12 in particular requires you to cross the same creek about 3 times.
6) Great elevation changes on many of the holes. Hole 3 is downhill, hole 4 is uphill, hole 5 is sometimes uphill, hole 7 is across a small valley, 8 is downhill, 9 is uphill, 13 is a huge hole with a downhill drive across a creek and into a treed valley and then uphill from there. Hole 14 is downhill and 15 back up. Hole 16 is another hole for bombers, starts level and then runs downhill towards a creek. Hole 18, a par 5, requires 3 big shots, the first uphill, the next level and the approach is downhill.
7) There are very well-run minis on Saturday morning and Tuesday evenings.
8) Easy parking near the first hole.
9) The course criss crosses at a few points which allows you to skip past slower playing groups.
10) There are TWO practices baskets near hole 1 which allows you to putt back and forth.
11) The course is near a major highway (I 30) which makes it easy to get to.
Cons: Used to be a fair amount of poison ivy but now that the course is a few years older that seems to have improved a lot.
Other Thoughts: As for righty/lefty bias I would classify the holes this way:
Hole 1: slight advantage righties (OB road along right and short pin is dogleg left)
Hole 2: even (mostly open)
Hole 3: advantage righties (dogleg left)
Hole 4: even
Hole 5: advantage lefties (unless pin is short left which favors righties...overall, slight advantage lefties)
Hole 6: slight advantage righties (OB along right and most pin locations left)
Hole 7: even (probably the advantage here goes to the overhand throwers. Left placement favors lefties but hole is so short it gets birdied by everyone about evenly).
Hole 8: even (hole favors straight throwers in main location...also lefty and righty alt locations)
Hole 9: slight advantage righties (one position is even, the other favors righties)
Hole 10: slight advantage lefties (main location is even, straightaway, other locations favor lefty)
Hole 11: slight advantage righties (main location favors righties, short location favors lefty but a birdie opportunity for both)
Hole 12: even (dangerous for everyone)
Hole 13: advantage lefties. difficult off the tee for righties. strong dogleg right.
Hole 14: even. favors the straight thrower.
Hole 15: slight advantage lefty but really depends on hole location.
Hole 16: even. Drive favors a power righty with an S drive. Approaches favor the lefty.
Hole 17: slight advantage righties, especially in short location.
Hole 18: even. slight advantage off the tee for lefties, approaches to pin favor righties.

Add it up and you get a well-balanced course and one that requires a good all around game.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Crown Jewel of the metroplex

5+    6/15/2013   4/30/2013
Review By: MPG15970
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 6/17/2013
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course will test your shot skills as well as stamina and endurance. Accuracy and long shot ability will get you a respectable round.
Cons: The course is not close enough to me to play daily.
Other Thoughts: An overall awesome must play course for this region. Kudos to Jim Dart.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.