Grand Prairie, TX 
Turner Park Share
Uploaded By: strain Hole #2 (Taken 2/2010)
3 / 351ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 66
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Almost blown away!!!!!!

1    3/12/2010   3/12/2010
Review By: CTRobuck
Played: 45  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Most definitely a very tough course into the wind. Especially with back basket placements. An excellent course though!!!! I read the reviews on here and had to play for myself and loved everything about this track.
So many different holes, some hazards marked, and very clean.

******This course is marked very well, every hole sign has a map of the whole course as well as a map of the hole and the two baskets locations.
Cons: Nothing really, I just want to play it with out a ton of wind. It was BLOWING around 25 MPH
Other Thoughts: I look forward to playing out here when the wind is a bit more calm.


1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/20/2010   2/24/2010
Review By: Cyrus333
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent use of terrain and elevation. Most of the holes either rise or fall with a great deal of elevation. If this is you first course of the day, holes One and Two are challenging enough for play, but also help with warming up the arm. As the course progresses, it becomes more technical, forcing you to use more finesse and technique than just raw power (with the exception being the 867' hole 18). Well placed and thought out foot paths, foot bridges, and use of Mando's. Multiple Mando's on multiple holes make this a fun and challenging course. Teepads had signs with a map layout of the hole and to the next tee. Easy access to get to. I live clear on the otherside of town and it was about a 20min or so drive and about three blocks off the interstate. I believe all holes had Two possible basket positions.
Cons: Little things...
I went on a Saturday. It was a bit busy and had to wait a few minutes to tee off, but not really a con for an awesome course. It had rained a few days prior and drainage on a few holes made things a bit messy, it doesn't rain a lot in the summer so it will balance out. It appeared that not all the stairways are in yet, but it is in processes. A few of the locals didn't know how to pick up after themselves, and thats a shame for such a nice course. Some of the: map layout-to- pin location was a little confusing. This was the first time playing this course and on several hole I drove toward the wrong basket.It is located in a park so be careful of little kids running around being kids.
But like I said, little things.
Other Thoughts: For anyone who has played Morley Field in San Diego, this course reminds me of it. The overall flow of gameplay was very enjoyable. One might want to use either a scout, if it is your first time playing and you are unable to follow a local, or a spotter for a couple of the blind holes. Course is located about a block or so from several gas stations. I believe at hole 14 you can actually see them if you want to pause for refreshments. Overall I see this quickly becoming the most popular course in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  top five

2-4    1/27/2010   1/28/2010
Review By: KCPROROCQUE
Played: 52  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Where to start?
-top of the line baskets
(two of them are practice pins)
-cement tee pads- great satellite imagery tee signs and mutiple pin placements(some holes up to 3)
This course offers every kind of shot you can think of... backhand, forehand, hyzers, skip hyzers. anhyzers, rollers, thumbers, etc. After one round i wanted to unload some of my discs in my bag to make it lighter but had a hard time doing so because I used all of my discs! The first four holes start off with an interesting mix of shots. Hole one gives you a long staight drive with an island green( with wind blowing you can easily card a bogey)
Hole 2, pitch and putt!
Hole 3 gives you the first taste of the rolling terrain that makes this course so amazing! Fire out your midrange but beware cause the pin is placed on a huge slope with ob surrounding it making an ace run almost out of the question.
Hole 4 has a twenty foot high hill about thirty or fourty in front of the tee so you cant really throw a lazer out there or you risk skipping off the hill. the pin is about level with the tee pad and there are huge trees behind the first hill.. cant go high, and you cant go low, so throw a sweet roller over the first hill and you will find yourself parked for a duece.
After hole four make sure you walk down the street a little. Holes five through eleven are on the south side of the park. Hole five introduces you the creek( very shallow and very easy to avoid) These holes are again awesome! I used a different disc on every sing one of them. They are not particularly long so you need to really card some birdies on these holes. Find your line and make sure you hit it(fairways are very close to each other and if you go into another holes fairway then you are ob)
Next is hole twelve...good luck. pure your drive down the middle or you will be either knocked down by a tree or in the creek which winds in and out of the entire hole. Once you finish hole twelve you get a feel for how the course plays. The remaining holes are very forgiving and some of them extremely long(par 4s and 5s) I like the fact that last six holes are long. It lets you to really hone in on your skills. By then you are already loose and your confident in what the course will give you. Nothing feels better than throwing a long drive only to mark your lie and throw another long drive just to reach the pin. Hole 18 is over 800 feet!

Turner park is extremely well maintained. You will almost always see city workers taking care of buisness. It shows the city of Grand Prairie cares about their parks and rec.
Each tee sign has a trash can attached to it! There is a playground for kids, a pavillion and benches throughout the course. Phenomenol metal bridges to cross over creeks. A beautiful course! Mulch surrounding the baskets!!! helps with roll aways!!
-
Cons: Greens and tees are way to close to each other, as well as fairways! if the park has traffic make sure your paying attention because you wont see a disc coming until its almost too late due the the blind hills. I guess thats it
Other Thoughts: Watch out for cars! they drive fast and are not used to golfers in their neighborhood yet.
I play intermediate so.....the course might play a little different for you but im sure youll love it just the same.
I would make this drive from Mckinney to play this course anytime. One of kind in the north Texas area

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Turner Park Rundown

5+    1/4/2010   1/13/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The only thing missin' for a while was t-pads. NOW THEY'VE GOT EM!!! and they're a nice size
-Huge shot variety...open, treed, tunnel shots, hyzers, anis, doglegs L/R, and water hazards
-Great elevations changes per hole...ups, downs, left and right sloping fairways
-Very scenic
-Little to no traffic
-True par 4's and par 5's
-Good signage
-Steel bridges crossing creek water hazads (you won't lose a disc here, the water is chrystal clear)
Cons: -No t-pads YET!!! Here they're coming soon...before the 30th of Jan. in I'm not mistaken
-Gets really, really muddy after it has rained.
-Winds can eat you up out here.
Other Thoughts: One of the coolest courses in the DFW metroplex...and being right in the center of DFW makes it even better.

Anyone in the area should check this course out. Totally worth the drive.

Front 9:

Runs through some fairly open holes with good elevation changes as well as playing around creek that really cool-like winds through some fairways like a snake.

Bakc 9:

Long holes with huge elevatoins changes...the "big-arm" half of the course. Lots of long, treed, s-hooking fairways.

The two halfs are different and test different parts of the game.

Slowly becoming one of the best courses in DFW in my opinion.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Turner Park

1    1/9/2010   1/11/2010
Review By: fenceman2022
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: the course is layed out very good has alot of different shots that coem into play. nice shot selection and they keep it very clean.
Cons: there are not alot of long holes 18 is a nice 870'.
Other Thoughts: i Would tell anyone to try this course worht the time.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Super Fun Course

2-4    11/28/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: okiebullgod
Played: 44  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is beautiful. It has a large range of shots, and is very well designed. The creek that winds through the front 9 is not deep and is crystal clear, so losing plastic isn't really a threat. There is a huge fun factor on this course. The shots are challenging without being too tough and there are some nice hard wood trees and not much underbrush. A wide arsenal of shots will help you score well here. The baskets are brand new, and the practice baskets are a nicely placed as other reviewers have noted.
Cons: The only con is that the concrete pads weren't in yet, but we did run into the course designer who told us they would go in at the end of December or first of January. The ground is somewhat spongy so it may not be great after a rain.
Other Thoughts: The fun factor here is huge. Trust me, if you're in the Dallas area, this one is well worth your time. Although the tee boxes aren't in, the tees are well marked with flags and are fairly easy to find. We played behind several cards who were in the weekly mini, but they moved fast and we played in with some locals who were friendly and good company/competition. A great time. Do play this course.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course but frustrating

5+    11/25/2009   11/28/2009
Review By: cc0049
Played: 104  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/2/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The absolute best thing about this course is the pin placement. On many of the holes the baskets are situated on a difficult landing area and makes for putts that offer a higher risk vs reward factor. Hole 6 is a supreme example of this type of pin placement. It is situated just at the top of a steep slope that if you overshoot and don't land just perfectly are bound to roll far enough from the pin that you are no longer putting. The "fun" factor is high on this course for me because it is so unlike many of the other courses that we have in the DFW area. Another huge plus for this course is the elevation changes, particularly when the basket is placed on a slope of a hill. A wide variety of shots will help you score well here. This is one of the few courses around that just begs me to throw a backhand roller on several occasions. Standout holes include 7 (nice little ace run across a small valley and through a tight gap in the trees), 9 (probably one of the most unique holes in the metroplex), 12 (has a creek that s's back in forth between the tee box and the basket several times), 13 (par 4 hole, hard to describe, but very challenging), 14 (long drive that is reachable, but difficult to land your disc well on to stay near the bucket), 16 (another par 4 hole with two mando trees to stay to the left of - backhand roller city), and 18 is a great par 5 hole to finish on!
Another plus for the course are the dual practice baskets that are placed around 40 feet apart so that you can putt back and forth between them or spread out more if several people are warming up at the same time.
There are two gas stations right across the street from hole 16 and hole 14's tee boxes for any needed pit stops.
...and now there are level concrete tee boxes on every hole!
Cons: Holes 1, 3, and 4 are near a playground and gazebo area where people can often get in the way of your play. Hole 3 especially is a risky shot for hitting people.
This course will be very difficult to navigate unless you have a guide or a map. Make sure you bring one of those two with you for your first time out. There are now some nice new bridges around holes 5 and 10.
Other Thoughts: There are several mandos and obs in play on this course. I know that some don't like that. I personally feel that it makes the course more challenging, which is always a good thing.
Many props to Jim Dart and the city of Grand Prairie for getting this great course in the ground!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hey DFW native disc golfers...Got Hills?

1    11/5/2009   11/18/2009
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 177  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/16/2011
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Hills people yall finally have a course in DFW with real rolling hills,decent distances too.After hole three the course is pretty dang decent.I enjoy playing here for sure.The roads and Mando's make this course harder(a good thing).On high wind days the holes up top as opposed to the holes (down in the hollers) here will proove to be alot more difficult.The fact that discs can and will hit the ground/basket and stand up and roll away here makes peoples nerves go haywire here....Sweeet!
Cons: Mosquito den around hole 10's tee box some times in the year bring Deet..Cars drive fast thru the parks streets sometimes.It's a decent round but the first few holes leave somethijng to be desired but thats my personal thoughts.
Other Thoughts: Park is very open to the public who co-mingle here,The Grand Prarie Womens club meets monthly at the house near hole one.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One of the finest in DFW!

1    11/8/2009   11/8/2009
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a very nice technical layout with lots of nice elevation changes throughout most of the course. There are nice concrete tee pads with great signs that show you all hole information. You will need a good arm and good accuracy to score well here. There are a nice variety of different shots you will choose from as most of these holes can be difficult. The DGA baskets are new and have orange flags on top to help locate each pin easier. There are two practice baskets at the beginning of the course help get warmed up before your round.
Cons: This course can be a little tricky from first time players so a map would be helpful. It can get a little crowded here so you might want to get here early to beat the crowd.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun and challenging course. I put it in the top 10 of courses in the DFW. I will play it again real soon. This is a must play course to test your skills.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Turner Park

1    11/6/2009   11/7/2009
Review By: Carter
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First of all, DFW disc golfers are trully blessed to have so many great courses in the metroplex. And Turner is a great addition. This is a technical course that requires power and accuracy to score well. The elevation makes for a good hike and the low ceilings make for some tough uphill shots. I feel that there is a good mixture of lefty/righty shots. This course will test your abilities.
Cons: Hole 4 has a kind of ridiculous "fairway", that's the only hole I really have a problem with. I'll agree that there is a lot of low spots and there will be some trouble come spring and early summer with standing water and mosquitos. The close proximity to a major road makes a few shots nerve racking. On busy weekends, park goers will be a problem.
Other Thoughts: One of the Grand Prairie's Parks Dept. buildings is located in the park, so it should be well groomed.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.