Grand Prairie, TX 
Turner Park Share
Uploaded By: strain Hole #11 (Taken 2/2010)
3 / 317ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket

Reviews: 71
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Extremely Challenging!

2-4    4/25/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: domingomadagascar
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great landscape with tons of different situations and elevations. Extremely challenging! I've been there 4 times and have not put a good round together yet, but I enjoyed it every time. The type of course that tears you up but you wish it was in your backyard because it make you a much better player and strategician. Great time but don't be suprised when your score jumps after the top 9.
Cons: Not for beginners, if you ask me. This courses requires a knowledge of discs and just about every shot known to disc golf. If you are new to disc stick to the top 9 and get that down before taking on the back 9. Not for disabled or handicapped players either because the terrain is very up and down and requres full mobility.
Other Thoughts: Great course where every single hole will challenge you. Watch the water hazards. They are every where. You likely woln't lose a disc, but you can easily lose several strokes if you range out of the fairways.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Most pure fun of any Metroplex course

2-4    4/16/2010   4/23/2010
Review By: t i m
Played: 226  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 18.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course vastly exceeded my expectations. In many cases, I find Dallas-area courses to have average ratings higher than the ratings I would give them. This is an exception that I think is spot on as a true 4.0 -- Excellent! -- level course. And I'd say that rating would be true for White, Blue and Gold level players, which is a great compliment.

This course is very well manicured with well-cut grass, minimal trash, good teesigns, and large concrete tee boxes. The course flows well once you know the layout, with minimal walking between holes.

The course features a great mix of shots with very few gimme shots on the course, and most players will be unlikely to shoot the same type of round twice in a row. Almost every hole can be birdied by players at a skill level above ~900, but nothing is a gimme. There are a couple of true par 4s and one true par 5 on the course, and when you take all the OB into account, it's a solid challenge even for gold level players to chalk up a score in the low/mid-50s (assuming the baskets are in their long positions).

The best part about this kind of layout, this mix of shots, is that it makes the game exciting. Every time you walk up to a hole, you know there is likely to be score separation. I played in a threesome of players ranging from 920-980, and it was highly competitive and some of the most exciting and fun golf we have played together.

This excitement is heightened by the awesome basket placements. Almost every basket on the course is on a slope or next to a slope. This means that upshots and putts are trickier than usual -- upshots have to be carefully thrown to minimize rollaways and putts increase in risk/reward because of the uneven terrain and you are forced to make a lot of putts up or downhill. Again, excitement factor.

All in all, a great mix of shots, very little undergrowth, few places to lose discs, a very clean course, and possibly the most pure fun to play of any course in the DFW Metroplex. I can't think of anywhere else in the area that is as much fun and as exciting to play with friends... as it stands it would be an excellent white/blue tournament course. Would need pro tees to be a good gold-level tourney course, but I think the land is there to make that possible.

Cons: The course has several places where it is unclear or unintuitive how to get to the next hole (walk from 4 to 5 is probably the best example). Some signs pointing to next tees would help navigation.

The course has multiple pin placements, but the teesigns fail to indicate which placement the pins are in. Many of the shots on this course are blind shots because of elevation and it would be very helpful to have the pin placements marked.

There are several places on the course where the holes could potentially cause injury or interfere with other park users. Hole 3 is the most serious. The pin is downhill with a fairly steep grade around the basket with a large pavilion only 20 or so feet behind the basket. It's a short hole, and probably 1-in-3 shots will at least hit the pavilion if not skip through it potentially hitting anyone using the space. This is a fun hole, but it is the weakest design decision on the course.

Many of the holes on the back half have an OB marked on the sign for discs that land in the fairway of other holes... this isn't necessarily a bad idea, but without any clear markings, this is just a silly OB to try to implement. It should either be marked in a way that is clear or removed, since it doesn't appear to pose much danger and will only add confusion for players paying attention to the signs.

There are several places that seem like natural areas to mark OB that aren't yet utilized. The swampy low-lying area on hole 6, the valley you throw over on hole 7, the swampy area behind the pin on hole 8, and the muddy area full of posts in front of the pin on hole 18 are the places that readily come to mind. Marking these OBs would force a little more careful shot placement and increase the risk/reward on these holes in a way that I think would help the overall course.

Other Thoughts: This course has the potential of deserving a 4.5 with a little more work -- all of the cons listed above can be fixed with a little work. Add to that a second set of tees to give a few more options to the course, and it would deserve another half star.

Consider this a must play if you are in the area. Not for epic holes or a beating, but for the most pure fun round you'll play in DFW.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course.....when dry

2-4    3/26/2010   3/26/2010
Review By: JLester83
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Super job done with getting the teepads, signs, and bridges throughout the course. Course has an awesome variety of shots.....short, long, and very long. You get a good variety of pins being located both to the right and left and lots of mandos also complicate quite a few holes. And if that wasnt enough variation, there are alos quite a few shots with elevation changes. All in all a very diverse and challenging course
Cons: Alot of the holes run almost ontop of each other and some feel like they share fairways, so it can get hairy at times if lots of people are playing. I played just after it had rained and much of the course was horribly sloppy and quite a few spots did not drain well at all
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite places to make a trip to if im looking to get out. Very beautiful course on a multi-purpose park that really utilizes the space given for it really well. My only suggestion is to avoid it after it rains cuz it gets really sloppy in alot of places

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pro Course Congestion

1    3/14/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: jasondguy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pro course, nice shot variety, great elevation changes, great baskets, great signs, great teeboxes, well maintained. Water hazards, OB's, & mandos make it more challenging. Great use of terrain and park's natural features. Short, mid, and longrange drives, mostly technical, and some bombs.
Cons: Perhaps too many mandos, which leads to why there are so many: 18 holes were squeezed into this park, meaning, some baskets are near each other, some baskets are near teeboxes, the entire course is surrounded by park roads, which create many of the mandos.
Other Thoughts: The course is nice, but is a bit of a trek for me. I will likely only play this course on a weekday again. This place is quickly becoming popular, which means plenty of waiting behind mob golfers and discs flying in behind you before you've holed out.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Must play in DFW!

5+    3/14/2010   3/14/2010
Review By: chingy414
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first thing that I noticed about this particular park was the dual practice baskets. I thought this was a nice touch. Turner Park is one of the most challanging courses in the DFW, which is a huge plus for me. This course will test your arm, and every shot in your bag. I really enjoy the layout of this course. There is a good mix of open and tight shots as well as short and long shots. Turner also has the best elevation in the metroplex. The are very few holes that are flat. Beautiful and well maintained park. The city seems to be on top of the maintainence of this park. That combined with respectful golfers makes for a beautiful course.
Cons: I have very few bad things to say about this course. If you don't like to do a whole lot of walking, this might not be the course for you. It can take a toll on your energy level pretty quick. There are quite a few mandos here, which can get a little redundant to me, but some people might enjoy the extra challenge. I also think this course could use just a few more ace run holes, as there are only a couple that are even possible to hit. This is probably not the best course for beginners. It can give hell to even the very seasoned golfers.
Other Thoughts: Overall, in my opinion, Turner Park is one of the best courses in the DFW, and is well worth whatever commute you have to make. If you like a course that is challenging, but still alot of fun, you need to check out Turner. This has become one of my favorite courses in the DFW area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Almost blown away!!!!!!

1    3/12/2010   3/12/2010
Review By: CTRobuck
Played: 49  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.8 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Most definitely a very tough course into the wind. Especially with back basket placements. An excellent course though!!!! I read the reviews on here and had to play for myself and loved everything about this track.
So many different holes, some hazards marked, and very clean.

******This course is marked very well, every hole sign has a map of the whole course as well as a map of the hole and the two baskets locations.
Cons: Nothing really, I just want to play it with out a ton of wind. It was BLOWING around 25 MPH
Other Thoughts: I look forward to playing out here when the wind is a bit more calm.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    2/20/2010   2/24/2010
Review By: Cyrus333
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent use of terrain and elevation. Most of the holes either rise or fall with a great deal of elevation. If this is you first course of the day, holes One and Two are challenging enough for play, but also help with warming up the arm. As the course progresses, it becomes more technical, forcing you to use more finesse and technique than just raw power (with the exception being the 867' hole 18). Well placed and thought out foot paths, foot bridges, and use of Mando's. Multiple Mando's on multiple holes make this a fun and challenging course. Teepads had signs with a map layout of the hole and to the next tee. Easy access to get to. I live clear on the otherside of town and it was about a 20min or so drive and about three blocks off the interstate. I believe all holes had Two possible basket positions.
Cons: Little things...
I went on a Saturday. It was a bit busy and had to wait a few minutes to tee off, but not really a con for an awesome course. It had rained a few days prior and drainage on a few holes made things a bit messy, it doesn't rain a lot in the summer so it will balance out. It appeared that not all the stairways are in yet, but it is in processes. A few of the locals didn't know how to pick up after themselves, and thats a shame for such a nice course. Some of the: map layout-to- pin location was a little confusing. This was the first time playing this course and on several hole I drove toward the wrong basket.It is located in a park so be careful of little kids running around being kids.
But like I said, little things.
Other Thoughts: For anyone who has played Morley Field in San Diego, this course reminds me of it. The overall flow of gameplay was very enjoyable. One might want to use either a scout, if it is your first time playing and you are unable to follow a local, or a spotter for a couple of the blind holes. Course is located about a block or so from several gas stations. I believe at hole 14 you can actually see them if you want to pause for refreshments. Overall I see this quickly becoming the most popular course in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  top five

2-4    1/27/2010   1/28/2010
Played: 52  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Where to start?
-top of the line baskets
(two of them are practice pins)
-cement tee pads- great satellite imagery tee signs and mutiple pin placements(some holes up to 3)
This course offers every kind of shot you can think of... backhand, forehand, hyzers, skip hyzers. anhyzers, rollers, thumbers, etc. After one round i wanted to unload some of my discs in my bag to make it lighter but had a hard time doing so because I used all of my discs! The first four holes start off with an interesting mix of shots. Hole one gives you a long staight drive with an island green( with wind blowing you can easily card a bogey)
Hole 2, pitch and putt!
Hole 3 gives you the first taste of the rolling terrain that makes this course so amazing! Fire out your midrange but beware cause the pin is placed on a huge slope with ob surrounding it making an ace run almost out of the question.
Hole 4 has a twenty foot high hill about thirty or fourty in front of the tee so you cant really throw a lazer out there or you risk skipping off the hill. the pin is about level with the tee pad and there are huge trees behind the first hill.. cant go high, and you cant go low, so throw a sweet roller over the first hill and you will find yourself parked for a duece.
After hole four make sure you walk down the street a little. Holes five through eleven are on the south side of the park. Hole five introduces you the creek( very shallow and very easy to avoid) These holes are again awesome! I used a different disc on every sing one of them. They are not particularly long so you need to really card some birdies on these holes. Find your line and make sure you hit it(fairways are very close to each other and if you go into another holes fairway then you are ob)
Next is hole twelve...good luck. pure your drive down the middle or you will be either knocked down by a tree or in the creek which winds in and out of the entire hole. Once you finish hole twelve you get a feel for how the course plays. The remaining holes are very forgiving and some of them extremely long(par 4s and 5s) I like the fact that last six holes are long. It lets you to really hone in on your skills. By then you are already loose and your confident in what the course will give you. Nothing feels better than throwing a long drive only to mark your lie and throw another long drive just to reach the pin. Hole 18 is over 800 feet!

Turner park is extremely well maintained. You will almost always see city workers taking care of buisness. It shows the city of Grand Prairie cares about their parks and rec.
Each tee sign has a trash can attached to it! There is a playground for kids, a pavillion and benches throughout the course. Phenomenol metal bridges to cross over creeks. A beautiful course! Mulch surrounding the baskets!!! helps with roll aways!!
Cons: Greens and tees are way to close to each other, as well as fairways! if the park has traffic make sure your paying attention because you wont see a disc coming until its almost too late due the the blind hills. I guess thats it
Other Thoughts: Watch out for cars! they drive fast and are not used to golfers in their neighborhood yet.
I play intermediate so.....the course might play a little different for you but im sure youll love it just the same.
I would make this drive from Mckinney to play this course anytime. One of kind in the north Texas area

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Turner Park Rundown

5+    1/4/2010   1/13/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The only thing missin' for a while was t-pads. NOW THEY'VE GOT EM!!! and they're a nice size
-Huge shot, treed, tunnel shots, hyzers, anis, doglegs L/R, and water hazards
-Great elevations changes per, downs, left and right sloping fairways
-Very scenic
-Little to no traffic
-True par 4's and par 5's
-Good signage
-Steel bridges crossing creek water hazads (you won't lose a disc here, the water is chrystal clear)
Cons: -No t-pads YET!!! Here they're coming soon...before the 30th of Jan. in I'm not mistaken
-Gets really, really muddy after it has rained.
-Winds can eat you up out here.
Other Thoughts: One of the coolest courses in the DFW metroplex...and being right in the center of DFW makes it even better.

Anyone in the area should check this course out. Totally worth the drive.

Front 9:

Runs through some fairly open holes with good elevation changes as well as playing around creek that really cool-like winds through some fairways like a snake.

Bakc 9:

Long holes with huge elevatoins changes...the "big-arm" half of the course. Lots of long, treed, s-hooking fairways.

The two halfs are different and test different parts of the game.

Slowly becoming one of the best courses in DFW in my opinion.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Turner Park

1    1/9/2010   1/11/2010
Review By: fenceman2022
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: the course is layed out very good has alot of different shots that coem into play. nice shot selection and they keep it very clean.
Cons: there are not alot of long holes 18 is a nice 870'.
Other Thoughts: i Would tell anyone to try this course worht the time.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.