Grand Prairie, TX 
Turner Park Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #1 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 435ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 69
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Awesome course.....when dry

2-4    3/26/2010   3/26/2010
Review By: JLester83
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Super job done with getting the teepads, signs, and bridges throughout the course. Course has an awesome variety of shots.....short, long, and very long. You get a good variety of pins being located both to the right and left and lots of mandos also complicate quite a few holes. And if that wasnt enough variation, there are alos quite a few shots with elevation changes. All in all a very diverse and challenging course
Cons: Alot of the holes run almost ontop of each other and some feel like they share fairways, so it can get hairy at times if lots of people are playing. I played just after it had rained and much of the course was horribly sloppy and quite a few spots did not drain well at all
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite places to make a trip to if im looking to get out. Very beautiful course on a multi-purpose park that really utilizes the space given for it really well. My only suggestion is to avoid it after it rains cuz it gets really sloppy in alot of places

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pro Course Congestion

1    3/14/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: jasondguy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pro course, nice shot variety, great elevation changes, great baskets, great signs, great teeboxes, well maintained. Water hazards, OB's, & mandos make it more challenging. Great use of terrain and park's natural features. Short, mid, and longrange drives, mostly technical, and some bombs.
Cons: Perhaps too many mandos, which leads to why there are so many: 18 holes were squeezed into this park, meaning, some baskets are near each other, some baskets are near teeboxes, the entire course is surrounded by park roads, which create many of the mandos.
Other Thoughts: The course is nice, but is a bit of a trek for me. I will likely only play this course on a weekday again. This place is quickly becoming popular, which means plenty of waiting behind mob golfers and discs flying in behind you before you've holed out.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Must play in DFW!

5+    3/14/2010   3/14/2010
Review By: chingy414
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first thing that I noticed about this particular park was the dual practice baskets. I thought this was a nice touch. Turner Park is one of the most challanging courses in the DFW, which is a huge plus for me. This course will test your arm, and every shot in your bag. I really enjoy the layout of this course. There is a good mix of open and tight shots as well as short and long shots. Turner also has the best elevation in the metroplex. The are very few holes that are flat. Beautiful and well maintained park. The city seems to be on top of the maintainence of this park. That combined with respectful golfers makes for a beautiful course.
Cons: I have very few bad things to say about this course. If you don't like to do a whole lot of walking, this might not be the course for you. It can take a toll on your energy level pretty quick. There are quite a few mandos here, which can get a little redundant to me, but some people might enjoy the extra challenge. I also think this course could use just a few more ace run holes, as there are only a couple that are even possible to hit. This is probably not the best course for beginners. It can give hell to even the very seasoned golfers.
Other Thoughts: Overall, in my opinion, Turner Park is one of the best courses in the DFW, and is well worth whatever commute you have to make. If you like a course that is challenging, but still alot of fun, you need to check out Turner. This has become one of my favorite courses in the DFW area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Almost blown away!!!!!!

1    3/12/2010   3/12/2010
Review By: CTRobuck
Played: 49  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Most definitely a very tough course into the wind. Especially with back basket placements. An excellent course though!!!! I read the reviews on here and had to play for myself and loved everything about this track.
So many different holes, some hazards marked, and very clean.

******This course is marked very well, every hole sign has a map of the whole course as well as a map of the hole and the two baskets locations.
Cons: Nothing really, I just want to play it with out a ton of wind. It was BLOWING around 25 MPH
Other Thoughts: I look forward to playing out here when the wind is a bit more calm.


1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/20/2010   2/24/2010
Review By: Cyrus333
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent use of terrain and elevation. Most of the holes either rise or fall with a great deal of elevation. If this is you first course of the day, holes One and Two are challenging enough for play, but also help with warming up the arm. As the course progresses, it becomes more technical, forcing you to use more finesse and technique than just raw power (with the exception being the 867' hole 18). Well placed and thought out foot paths, foot bridges, and use of Mando's. Multiple Mando's on multiple holes make this a fun and challenging course. Teepads had signs with a map layout of the hole and to the next tee. Easy access to get to. I live clear on the otherside of town and it was about a 20min or so drive and about three blocks off the interstate. I believe all holes had Two possible basket positions.
Cons: Little things...
I went on a Saturday. It was a bit busy and had to wait a few minutes to tee off, but not really a con for an awesome course. It had rained a few days prior and drainage on a few holes made things a bit messy, it doesn't rain a lot in the summer so it will balance out. It appeared that not all the stairways are in yet, but it is in processes. A few of the locals didn't know how to pick up after themselves, and thats a shame for such a nice course. Some of the: map layout-to- pin location was a little confusing. This was the first time playing this course and on several hole I drove toward the wrong basket.It is located in a park so be careful of little kids running around being kids.
But like I said, little things.
Other Thoughts: For anyone who has played Morley Field in San Diego, this course reminds me of it. The overall flow of gameplay was very enjoyable. One might want to use either a scout, if it is your first time playing and you are unable to follow a local, or a spotter for a couple of the blind holes. Course is located about a block or so from several gas stations. I believe at hole 14 you can actually see them if you want to pause for refreshments. Overall I see this quickly becoming the most popular course in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  top five

2-4    1/27/2010   1/28/2010
Review By: KCPROROCQUE
Played: 52  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Where to start?
-top of the line baskets
(two of them are practice pins)
-cement tee pads- great satellite imagery tee signs and mutiple pin placements(some holes up to 3)
This course offers every kind of shot you can think of... backhand, forehand, hyzers, skip hyzers. anhyzers, rollers, thumbers, etc. After one round i wanted to unload some of my discs in my bag to make it lighter but had a hard time doing so because I used all of my discs! The first four holes start off with an interesting mix of shots. Hole one gives you a long staight drive with an island green( with wind blowing you can easily card a bogey)
Hole 2, pitch and putt!
Hole 3 gives you the first taste of the rolling terrain that makes this course so amazing! Fire out your midrange but beware cause the pin is placed on a huge slope with ob surrounding it making an ace run almost out of the question.
Hole 4 has a twenty foot high hill about thirty or fourty in front of the tee so you cant really throw a lazer out there or you risk skipping off the hill. the pin is about level with the tee pad and there are huge trees behind the first hill.. cant go high, and you cant go low, so throw a sweet roller over the first hill and you will find yourself parked for a duece.
After hole four make sure you walk down the street a little. Holes five through eleven are on the south side of the park. Hole five introduces you the creek( very shallow and very easy to avoid) These holes are again awesome! I used a different disc on every sing one of them. They are not particularly long so you need to really card some birdies on these holes. Find your line and make sure you hit it(fairways are very close to each other and if you go into another holes fairway then you are ob)
Next is hole twelve...good luck. pure your drive down the middle or you will be either knocked down by a tree or in the creek which winds in and out of the entire hole. Once you finish hole twelve you get a feel for how the course plays. The remaining holes are very forgiving and some of them extremely long(par 4s and 5s) I like the fact that last six holes are long. It lets you to really hone in on your skills. By then you are already loose and your confident in what the course will give you. Nothing feels better than throwing a long drive only to mark your lie and throw another long drive just to reach the pin. Hole 18 is over 800 feet!

Turner park is extremely well maintained. You will almost always see city workers taking care of buisness. It shows the city of Grand Prairie cares about their parks and rec.
Each tee sign has a trash can attached to it! There is a playground for kids, a pavillion and benches throughout the course. Phenomenol metal bridges to cross over creeks. A beautiful course! Mulch surrounding the baskets!!! helps with roll aways!!
-
Cons: Greens and tees are way to close to each other, as well as fairways! if the park has traffic make sure your paying attention because you wont see a disc coming until its almost too late due the the blind hills. I guess thats it
Other Thoughts: Watch out for cars! they drive fast and are not used to golfers in their neighborhood yet.
I play intermediate so.....the course might play a little different for you but im sure youll love it just the same.
I would make this drive from Mckinney to play this course anytime. One of kind in the north Texas area

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Turner Park Rundown

5+    1/4/2010   1/13/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The only thing missin' for a while was t-pads. NOW THEY'VE GOT EM!!! and they're a nice size
-Huge shot variety...open, treed, tunnel shots, hyzers, anis, doglegs L/R, and water hazards
-Great elevations changes per hole...ups, downs, left and right sloping fairways
-Very scenic
-Little to no traffic
-True par 4's and par 5's
-Good signage
-Steel bridges crossing creek water hazads (you won't lose a disc here, the water is chrystal clear)
Cons: -No t-pads YET!!! Here they're coming soon...before the 30th of Jan. in I'm not mistaken
-Gets really, really muddy after it has rained.
-Winds can eat you up out here.
Other Thoughts: One of the coolest courses in the DFW metroplex...and being right in the center of DFW makes it even better.

Anyone in the area should check this course out. Totally worth the drive.

Front 9:

Runs through some fairly open holes with good elevation changes as well as playing around creek that really cool-like winds through some fairways like a snake.

Bakc 9:

Long holes with huge elevatoins changes...the "big-arm" half of the course. Lots of long, treed, s-hooking fairways.

The two halfs are different and test different parts of the game.

Slowly becoming one of the best courses in DFW in my opinion.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Turner Park

1    1/9/2010   1/11/2010
Review By: fenceman2022
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: the course is layed out very good has alot of different shots that coem into play. nice shot selection and they keep it very clean.
Cons: there are not alot of long holes 18 is a nice 870'.
Other Thoughts: i Would tell anyone to try this course worht the time.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Super Fun Course

2-4    11/28/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: okiebullgod
Played: 51  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is beautiful. It has a large range of shots, and is very well designed. The creek that winds through the front 9 is not deep and is crystal clear, so losing plastic isn't really a threat. There is a huge fun factor on this course. The shots are challenging without being too tough and there are some nice hard wood trees and not much underbrush. A wide arsenal of shots will help you score well here. The baskets are brand new, and the practice baskets are a nicely placed as other reviewers have noted.
Cons: The only con is that the concrete pads weren't in yet, but we did run into the course designer who told us they would go in at the end of December or first of January. The ground is somewhat spongy so it may not be great after a rain.
Other Thoughts: The fun factor here is huge. Trust me, if you're in the Dallas area, this one is well worth your time. Although the tee boxes aren't in, the tees are well marked with flags and are fairly easy to find. We played behind several cards who were in the weekly mini, but they moved fast and we played in with some locals who were friendly and good company/competition. A great time. Do play this course.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course but frustrating

5+    11/25/2009   11/28/2009
Review By: cc0049
Played: 116  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/2/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The absolute best thing about this course is the pin placement. On many of the holes the baskets are situated on a difficult landing area and makes for putts that offer a higher risk vs reward factor. Hole 6 is a supreme example of this type of pin placement. It is situated just at the top of a steep slope that if you overshoot and don't land just perfectly are bound to roll far enough from the pin that you are no longer putting. The "fun" factor is high on this course for me because it is so unlike many of the other courses that we have in the DFW area. Another huge plus for this course is the elevation changes, particularly when the basket is placed on a slope of a hill. A wide variety of shots will help you score well here. This is one of the few courses around that just begs me to throw a backhand roller on several occasions. Standout holes include 7 (nice little ace run across a small valley and through a tight gap in the trees), 9 (probably one of the most unique holes in the metroplex), 12 (has a creek that s's back in forth between the tee box and the basket several times), 13 (par 4 hole, hard to describe, but very challenging), 14 (long drive that is reachable, but difficult to land your disc well on to stay near the bucket), 16 (another par 4 hole with two mando trees to stay to the left of - backhand roller city), and 18 is a great par 5 hole to finish on!
Another plus for the course are the dual practice baskets that are placed around 40 feet apart so that you can putt back and forth between them or spread out more if several people are warming up at the same time.
There are two gas stations right across the street from hole 16 and hole 14's tee boxes for any needed pit stops.
...and now there are level concrete tee boxes on every hole!
Cons: Holes 1, 3, and 4 are near a playground and gazebo area where people can often get in the way of your play. Hole 3 especially is a risky shot for hitting people.
This course will be very difficult to navigate unless you have a guide or a map. Make sure you bring one of those two with you for your first time out. There are now some nice new bridges around holes 5 and 10.
Other Thoughts: There are several mandos and obs in play on this course. I know that some don't like that. I personally feel that it makes the course more challenging, which is always a good thing.
Many props to Jim Dart and the city of Grand Prairie for getting this great course in the ground!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.