Longmont, CO 
Loomiller Park Share
Uploaded By: Leroy Hole #8 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 342ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
That Was Interesting

2-4    10/4/2014   10/7/2014
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 102  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 6.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well designed course that sits in a well maintained park. There are plenty of mature trees to play through and around, which does tend to be rare out of the mountains in Colorado. There are some great new signs and the poured tee pads are all still in great condition. The few tee pads on the side walks are good as well. The baskets were all on good condition as well. The course has a lot of unique challenges from one hole to the next, it will keep you thinking from start to finish. There are a few really classic holes that you just want to remember. There is a great local community that loves this course and seems to take care of it. The park does have other attractions for the non-disc golfers in the family and there is a bathroom in the park near holes 5 and 6. There is also a nice picnic area and the pond has lots of great places to sit and observe. There are two practice baskets that sit on the other side of the picnic area from hole 1's tee pad.
Cons: This park does get a lot of non disc golf visitors and they really seem to be clueless. It is right next to Longmont High School and I imagine there is often an interesting crowd of young people at this course. The two holes that play over the water might be a bit intimidating for players that do not throw that far. There are only 9 holes, but only because I enjoyed my round so much and wished there were another 9 holes of similar design. The course does seem to take up most of the space in the current park.
Other Thoughts: I played this course for the first time at the first sanctioned tournament. I really had an enjoyable time and felt like the course wasn't that hard to figure out. This is the home course of 2014 Amateur National Champion Colten Montgomery. Please do be careful of other park users when playing this course, they tend to be all over the place and pop up randomly. Apparently there is an alternate set of tees that makes up a back 9. They are supposed to be marked but I never found them and apparently they would be tough to play with others playing the normal layout. I would recommend finding a course guide to help with that. The only parking for the park is on the street. Be careful if you park too far west near the first tee as you put your car in the way of the huge anhyzer line for hole 9. Hole 1 is on the North side of the park, furthest away from the high school. Directions given to me by Google Maps were slightly different than what is posted on here, but both work well. There is also a route in from the north that is faster than going all the way down to 119.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Interesting park course

5+    10/4/2014   10/6/2014
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 42  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 23.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great use of land. Not a large park but all 9 holes have decent distance with none being very short

-More obstacles than a small course like this would normally have. Trees, pond, etc.

-Can be made even more challenging by playing sidewalks and beyond as OB, as it was during the recent Lunacy tournament
Cons: -Park goers have no concept of disc golf and don't know to watch out. PLEASE play with caution

-Tons of sidewalks. Can easily make a drive go awry into an area you don't want

-Two holes play a little too close to the playground for comfort. Again, PLEASE be careful
Other Thoughts: Not a destination course by any means but still worth a play. Only 9 holes, so you can get in a quick round if you're in the area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Use that lake!

1    4/8/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 352  Reviewed: 345  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Were there 2 practice baskets? I think so, one at the very least.
-Detailed signs and intuitive layout make this course quite easy to navigate.
-Probably won't lose a disc here unless you really botch holes 1 or 3. If you throw into the lake, your odds are not good. It is fairly murky and looks like it drops off right away. There are some trees that could hang up a disc but you can get those down.
-Adequate tees made of concrete.
-Bathrooms, shelter, playground, paths, are also in this park.
-Mini garbage cans on every tee. They look to be emptied often.
-Decent length and variety of length. Some of the shots were on the long end for a parks style course and others were ace runs but not too short and almost always incorporated some obstacle.
-The park looked well maintained. No erosion issues, garbage, etc
-Multiple pin locations that look to offer a variety of looks at most holes.
-Starts and finishes near the same place (north side of park)
Cons: -Goose poop everywhere.
-Can get quite busy with the school right next door.
-May have to wait for other park users to pass through on the paths. The course does a good job of avoiding other park amenities.
-Bathrooms were locked when I was there. I really had to use them!
-The course is pretty flat.
-They should have incorporated the pond into the layout more. At least as alternate tees so that you have the option to throw the more difficult and interesting tee shot.
Other Thoughts: -Try to not play after school or during lunch, you will be dealing with teens.
-This is a solid combo with Clark Centennial less than 2 miles away. Both courses are pretty fun park style 9s that are challenging enough for a variety of skill levels. Definitely worth playing at least once.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good little challenge

5+    10/24/2013   10/29/2013
Review By: jon_boi
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -nice park
-regular pin placement changes
-mix of long and short holes
Cons: -park is busy
-filled with lots of folks just hanging out oblivious to course.
-lake can eat discs
Other Thoughts: This is a great local course and has a good mix of shots. I woudln't travel hours to play but it's a fun course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice Neighborhood Park Course

1    4/27/2013   4/27/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 123  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice concrete tee-pads
-Nice tee-signs that give distance, show each pin position and show the layout of the hole.
-The baskets are looking at little old, but they still catch well.
-Practice basket right near hole 1.
-Hole 1 and 3 play over the pond that the park has. The water is done well on this course, as it can be easily avoided by beginners but still provides some risk reward for more advanced players.
-The park is well-taken care of and other than the pond, you won't have to worry about losing a disc here.
-They made good use of the available terrain and features here. Many of the fairways are fairly wide open but a decent amount of the holes play to guarded baskets or have the available trees pretty well placed.
-The course is fairly easy to navigate as it is usually pretty obvious where the next tee-pad is.
-Each hole has two different pin positions and hole 2 has an alternate tee-pad.
-The course has a good variety of distance on it with holes ranging from about 207 feet to 440 feet.
-Trashcans on each tee-pad
Cons: -There are a lot of other park users that did not seem very aware of the disc golf course. There were a lot of people that like to sit along the pond. We had to alter the way we played hole 3 because someone was sitting along the edge of the pond that the hole plays over and wouldn't move. There were also quite a few walking through the course that you might have to wait for to throw.
-The pond looked pretty nasty and it would not be fun trying to retrieve a disc that went into it.
-Overall, the course doesn't require you to throw a huge variety of different shots.
-Some baskets throw to baskets hidden in trees, and once or twice we threw toward the wrong basket, so on your first time playing make sure you know which basket you are aiming for.
-A couple of the tee-pads are on sidewalks, which interferes with other park users.
-Several holes play up along a road, and near a playground, and a bad shot could lead to some safety issues.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a fun 9 hole course with a couple nice water holes. The biggest flaw of this course are the other park users that get in the way of play. Despite that flaw, this course is a quick fun stop if you are in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Round and around

1    1/18/2013   1/18/2013
Review By: Shmacka
Played: 23  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate.
Makes use of the few landmarks and terrain items.
Nice signage, with easy to ID pins. You can be sure you know what distance you need to hit.
Cons: Geese, and their doo-doo.
Across from the high school: best behavior! (The kids need good role models).
This is a multi-use park, so delays while sharing the park will be inevitable.
A little tedious shot selection, but it is only a 9er, after all.
Other Thoughts: I played this course at 8 in the morning,it was 19 degrees (f), and sunny. There were no other golfers out, but a few civilians were enjoying the park. The distances and simple shots were good for me, as a beginner with a fair all-around game. I would not drive here just for this course, but I will stop by every time I'm in town on business (unless I decide I like Clark Centennial better; that will be on a different trip, though).

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Compact FULL 9 hole

2-4    1/9/2013   1/9/2013
Review By: b_rosso
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I can play this course within my lunch time and have lots of fun with different types of shots. Baskets are in good condition and the layout is fairly easy to navigate. I believe there is a posting board with the layout at the shelter on the north side. Lots of deuceable holes and even some tricky 3's. A must play if your driving through town.
Cons: Water is on holes 1 / 2. There is no way to retrieve your lost water discs. I heard there is a guy who retrieves them in the winter so make sure your discs have your name and number on them. Lots of water fowl and lots of POOP, don't wear your nice shoes out there.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad

1    8/18/2012   8/23/2012
Review By: Baldzillabill
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great layout. plenty of challenges and short and long shots.
Cons: Holes 1 and 3 are water infused! I lost a disc on my first throw. Couldn't use my retriever because it is so rocky in the water.
Other Thoughts: Just play it safe on holes 1 and 3 if you're a novice as myself. you will lose your disc if not careful.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of 2 solid 9-ers in Longmont

1    8/17/2012   8/18/2012
Review By: TBabb
Played: 50  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 9.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee Pads are in great condition. Baskets are bright yellow Innova baskets and very easy to see. Signs at every Tee Box. Multiple pin Placements. Small trash bins are at every tee sign. Park is clean with well kept grass. Practice Basket at the beginning of the course. Course Map is posted at the bulletin board at the start of the course.

Course makes a loop around the park. The pond is in play on holes 1 and 3 adding to the challenge of the course. A nice gazebo by the practice basket is a great place to take a water break in between rounds. Public restrooms and a drinking fountain on site by the tee pad for 7 (or was it 8?). Hole distances are pretty varied, there's a long position on 9 for 500+ feet. Navigation is pretty intuitive. Friendly locals. Another good 9 hole course is less than two miles away.
Cons: There are few trees to throw around; the course could be a little more challenging. Since it's next to Longmont High School, there is a lot of after school foot traffic through the park. If you lose a disc in the pond, the likelihood that you can retrieve it is very low (that water is murky!). Course also feels a little crammed, there's only about 6 square blocks of space.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice little rec course with a few challenging holes. With Clark Centennial Park close by, its easy to make an 18 hole day of play without leaving town. I saw that they had a little local tournament too split between the two courses. The Longs Peak Disc Golf Club keeps up both courses and it's great to see disc golf alive and well in Longmont.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hole 1 And Then Some !

1    7/18/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Along with Clark Centennial Park this gives Longmont two fine 9 hole courses in close vicinity. They both have much in common, being typical city park 9 holers, that recreational challenging in a grassypark with mature trees and both features water hazards. I thought the pond throw on # 1 was flat out scary. Throwing straight overto the pond directly to the basket was definitely out of my comfort zone and throwing around the pond to the right still left the tree looming to possibly bat my disc into the foreboding murky pond. I later watched a couple of locals take the safe route aound the pond. Hole # 3 is much easier throw across the pond there.
The course features concretepads, nice course sign, Innova baskets with yellow rims and visible numbers. 4 & 5 tee off the sidewalks. There are garbage cans at each tee.
Cons: Except for # 1 & 3, all the holes kinda had the same feel. Just your basic hyser throws, retty wide open and flat.
Other Thoughts: I think the designers did a nice job with what they had here. The two water holes certainly make the course memorable in my book. This, coupled with Clark, would make a nice little 18. This is just a solid little 9 holer but all in all, I prefer Clark a little more.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center